BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northwest and West Central Ohio and Southeast Michigan

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Corporate Research International

Phone: (419) 422-3196 (Disconnected)Fax: (206) 984-2817

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
06/21/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I contracted to perform a service for this company and when their system did not collect data for services rendered my compensation was jeopardized.
I performed a service paying $12.15 with an additional $8.25 reimbursement normally disbursed through Paypal upon completion of said service project #XXXXXXX. The work was to complete an assignment and submit it online in a survey data entry form they provide. In the past their computer system has gone down on 4 occasions and they would work with the independent contractor to get the assignment in. I completed an assignment on Thursday May 16, 2013 and submitted the information on-line a little after 12 Midnight. The report did not receive/transmit on their end and sat on my computer so I made a copy of the report and e-mailed it to all e-mails I had on file for their company so that I would not be penalized as I noticed they were starting to make stricter policies. I also sent a request through their live chat that was closed over the weekend before the assignment would close through an automated system and be reassigned. I sent a total of 4 messages to their company on 5/17 and 5/18 as to make them aware that I completed the assignment. The shop number was #XXXXXXX. The response I received when I followed up on 5/21 was that I did nothing to let them know and that I had all weekend to contact them. This confused me and brought up every reason to make a complaint because I do not feel I should have to be liable if I did the service, input the data, pressed send through their survey, upon it not going through I then made a copy and sent it via e-mail two times along with their LIVE chat posting form, and in an internal e-mail. Again, when the survey did not go through, I send it via e-mail per their computer system failure that was not working at the time I went to input work. They said that they do not accept e-mailed reports. They even told me they saw that I tried to enter a report in their system on the 16th then said I made no attempt to fix the problem. In the end, they were satisfied to make it my problem that their computer system was down and they said they apologize and that there is nothing they can do. They are withholding paying me for service rendered under no fault of mine. This is negligent and bad business practice for anyone. I would like to be paid for the fully completed work that I had submitted within 6 hours of completing the assignment as per assignment contract.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund for the purchase I had to make in the amount of $8.25 and payment for services rendered in the amount of $12.15 per said contract.

Business' Initial Response
Payment for Ms. ******** was approved on June 6, 2013 and her payment will be processed next week.

05/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
CRI has stated that they will not accept my report, therefore not paying me, because of a poorly-worded requirement.
As an independent contractor for CRI, I selected a mystery shopping opportunity for *********** located in Kenvil, NJ. After performing the shop and submitting a thorough report, I was told by CRI employee ************, that my report would not be accepted.

Her claim is that I do not follow the instructions, specifically "you must not order anything other than what is listed in the choices above". (The report asked that the contractor select one item from two lists.) My order contained one item from each list, as well as an additional item. ******* contends that this violated the rules, whereas I believe my order did not.

The report suggests to me that I could not deviate from the choices; I did indeed order from the listed items -- a mini blizzard and medium sundae. Correct wording for what they're implying would be "You must not order anything additionally than what is listed in the choices above".

Being that the wording can be interpreted either way, I contacted ******* to resolve the situation. Unfortunately, she is refusing to even reimburse my purchase price, much less pay for the report they received for free.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking monetary reimbursement of the product (ice cream) as well as the agreed upon commission for the report.

Business' Initial Response
Consumer Info: ******, ******
** Park St.
Wharton, NJ XXXXX

******,

Thank you for forwarding me the information on the above referenced complaint. We have reviewed the service provided to us by Mr. ****** and although we do not agree with his assumption that the language in the project instructions is unclear, we do agree to provide payment to him per his request:

$ 8.37 product reimbursement
$ 3.33 base commission

A payment of $11.70 will be processed and submitted to him on May 10, 2013. We will consider this matter closed.

Thank you,

****** ******
Director, Legal & Regulatory
Stericycle, Inc.
2670 Executive Drive
Indianapolis, IN XXXXX

11/26/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Shop was done under contract agreemnt and expect payment.
I was authorized to do 2 shops on 10/31/12 as confirmed by e-mail but I couldn't submit those two shops because Corporate Research International has changed the date to 11/15/12 because the effects of Sandy hurricane but didn't notify me about the changing date and I took it as a mistake on their website since we never schedule shops for more than 3 days in advance for gas station shops it is the reason why I did my work on the date and time I asked for and I was authorized originally, other way I could go down on rating and would not get paid for.

Desired Settlement
I am asking the commission $10.00 + $2.00 for c. store expenses on shop XXXXXXX; and $12.50 commission + 5.00 gas purchase and c. store expenses on shop XXXXXXX.I can submit the shop information on their web site or ask them to unassign the shops without affecting my rating.

Business' Initial Response
Due to notification not being sent to you regarding the status of these shops, you will receive $10.00 commission and $2.00 reimbursement for shop XXXXXXX and $12.50 commission and $5.00 reimbursement for shop XXXXXXX. You rating will not be affected and you are still assigned to complete these shops when they are up and running. Thank you.

07/23/2012Billing / Collection Issues
03/19/2012Billing / Collection Issues
12/03/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Cashier's Check in the amount of $1700 was sent and now payment was not sent to bank to cover said check.
I received an email from this company with "*******" in the subject line about making extra money as a mystery shopper. I filled out the information, got my first assignment and check on 11/**/14. I was to deposit the $1700 cashier check into the bank and 24hrs later withdraw $1530. Take $15 and purchase an item from ******* and give them an evaluation of my experience. Then I was to go to one of the following stores that sells MONEYPAK cards: (a.) ******* (b.) *** (c)********** (d) ******** (e) ***** at $4.95 a card and add $500 to each card and then contact them with the 14 digit pin number on the back of each card. The assignment took a bit longer than expected and I was sent an email with a threat to have my information sent to the FBI if I did not give them their information.
The assignment paper has the name of Expert Audit at the top with Corporate Research Int'l at the bottom. It is signed by a ****** *****. I have 3 email addresses for him and one phone number that I was to send text messages only (XXX) XXX-XXXX
Emails: ********@gmail.com
***********@me.com
*********@me.com
Please note I do not have a checking account and I used my mother-in-law's and now her account is overdrawn because of this.
Please help me get this money back as quickly as possible.

Desired Settlement
A refund with compensation for the hassle that I have gone through due to the work I have missed trying to settle this matter.

10/27/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Secret Shopper, Shopping Service - Protective, Comparative, Market Research & Analysis

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.