BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 04/19/1995

University of Toledo

Phone: (800) 586-5336Fax: (419) 530-3411

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
07/22/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The University of Toledo refuses to process my financial aid.
I have been contacting financial aid for over a month regarding the status of my Grad Plus loan. I have been given multiple reasons for the delay which were obviously distraction and stall tactics. I have done everything they asked and every time I am told the loan should disburse in a few days. When it does not, I contact them and I am given a new excuse. The last thing they told me to do was complete endorser counseling on the Dept. of Education website. I completed this and received an email from the Dept. of Education on 6/23/15 saying the University of Toledo would be notified within 24 hours. On 6/30/15 I was informed by financial aid that they had not yet received the confirmation. Also, when I asked financial aid why they had not informed me this was the issue a month ago I was told I should have been informed of the issue through information sent directly from the Dept. of Education.

It appears either financial aid made a mistake on my account or they do not know what is causing the delay. Either way, my family should not be punished for their incompetence. We are about to be evicted because we relied on my promised financial aid money to pay rent and other expenses. I should have received my financial aid by the end of the first week of summer classes which was 5/22/15. I was informed there might be a couple week delay in the processing of my loans but it has been seven weeks since the beginning of the semester!

Desired Settlement
Immediately process my financial aid and deposit my refund in my checking account.

Business Response
Complainant applied for a federal PLUS Loan on May 18, 2015 and was denied. This required Complainant to obtain an endorser. After her Plus endorser loan was approved Complainant was required by Department of Education regulations to complete PLUS credit counseling. Federal regulations require this counseling to be completed before funds can be disbursed. Complainant did not complete the Plus credit counseling until July 6, 2015. Complainant's loan was disbursed on July 7, 2015 and her refund was set up by the University's Treasurer Office on July 8, 2015. The disbursement and refund procedures require overnight processing.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I received my refund. However, the way everything was handled was completely unacceptable. Their response left out the numerous communications where they told me the issue was something else. It took over a month with constant contact for them to fix something that could have been solved in one day.

03/18/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The University of Toledo grossly misinformed me regarding my Financial Aid and refund.
I planned to attend the University of Toledo for the Spring Semester of 2016. On December 9, 2015, the University of Toledo began requesting documents needed to process my financial aid. I complied and sent each of the nine requested documents within 24 hours of the request. On January 20, 2016, the University of Toledo placed a $50.00 late fee on my account because they were still requesting documents from me, therefore, leaving me with an outstanding bill.

Finally, after calling the university several times, my financial aid was dispersed on January 22, 2016, two days after they assessed the late fee. My lack of financial assistance led me to fall behind in my classes, which ultimately left me no choice but to drop all of my classes.

Once again, I reached out to the Rocket Solution Center to see how this would impact my financial aid (The University of Toledo website I spoke with both Eric and Tenley on several occasions. I was told that I was in the 80% refund period and therefore, would be responsible for 20% of my bill, and refunded the rest. I specifically spoke to Tenley on February 2, 2016 and expressed my concern to her about my bill and how it would be paid. She informed me that my unsubsidized loan would be sent back to the Dept. of Education, while my subsidized loan of $2,041 would be left on my account to cover the bill. I felt relief that Tenley assured me I wouldn't be responsible for this bill out of pocket, however, she did tell me to call back to the Rocket Solution Center by February 5, 2016 if my refund had not dispersed.

Today, February 2, 2016, I call the Rocket Solution Center again because my refund had not dispersed like I was told it would. I immediately ask to speak to a supervisor to bypass the front desk employees who cannot even answer my most basic questions regarding financial aid. I was transferred to Todd, who let me know that both my unsubsidized and subsidized loans would be sent back to the Dept. of Education, leaving me with a bill of over $500 to pay out-of-pocket. Both of these loans were sent back while I was on the phone with Todd, leaving me with no option but to cover this bill through personal expenses.

Not only did employees at the University of Toledo grossly misinform me, they also refuse to show me where in their policy it states that loans cannot be used to cover a bill when a student withdrawals. This is a basic question that anyone who works in a financial aid office should be equipped to answer, and even after speaking to the office director, I still cannot find anyone who can provide me with details.

Desired Settlement
Refund the $50.00 late fee that I was wrongfully charged and show me where it is university policy to not allow students to use financial aid to cover a bill.

Business Response
Student enrolled for spring semester of 2016. Student applied for financial aid and went through the verification process from approximately December 8, 2015 through January 21, 2016. The verification process was completed on January 21, 2016. The student was awarded a unsubsidized loan of $2,968 and a subsidized loan of $2,226. The loans were dispersed to student's account on January 22, 2016.Student subsequently dropped her courses during the 80% refund period. As a result the unsubsidized loan of $2,968 was returned to the Department of Education as was $1,547 of the subsidized loan. It was determined that the student owed the University $457 or based on the Return to Title IV calculation. The amount previously estimated to the student was approximately $679.Of the remaining $457, the student was provided with a grant of $150 to defray some of the money owed to the University and a $50 late fee was waived as the student was working through the verification process and as it took longer than normal. The student was not told she would be getting a refund, but that she would most likely owe the University money.

09/08/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am looking for the rest of my FSEOG and scholarships to be applied this has hindered my learning process.
I spoke with your financial department numerous times not only did they not apply the scholarships I was told I was to get they also charged double tuition. I am looking for the rest of my FSEOG and scholarships to be applied this has hindered my learning process. I was unable to buy books for two of my classes and failed both however the class that supplied me with the text I received the highest grade possible. IThere is a lack of communication at your university that has hindered the learning potential of a student and now I am being told something different by your financial department than what is clearly stated on your website. There are three scholarships that would apply to me Adult, First time freshman, and transfer. I did not receive any I am hoping that you **** look into this and correct your universities errors or I **** contact the better business bureau and federal govt.
That says that I could get the adult then and my grades did transfer and since you do not want to accept my credits for me as a student from a nationally accredited school which is larger than a region I **** contact the BBB and let them know your admissions department did say because my GED transferred and it stated that on your website, you all should have more meetings and make sure you and your staff are up to date on all your guidelines because you are misleading students and I am reporting you. I am not a little kid that you can manipulate and I know what I was told, this may work on younger uneducated students but I do not believe you for one second I hope that you get sued and they take away your jobs. You lack consideration and professionalism and I think all of you should go to counseling because thieves are the only ones who sideways talk someone into going to school with no financial supporting contributions and then take what they can get for themselves. Very unprofessional and misleading on your part please forward this to your complaint department you **** be hearing from me in the future, or not considering people get fired for doing nothing these days so you **** probably get fired for your inaccuracy in number punching.


I was told that I would get a transfer scholarship by admissions and they went over my transfer gpa also.


Desired Settlement
I spoke with your financial department numerous times not only did they not apply the scholarships I was told I was to get they also charged double tuition. I am looking for the rest of my FSEOG and scholarships to be applied this has hindered my learning process. I was unable to buy books for two of my classes and failed both however the class that supplied me with the text I received the highest grade possible. IThere is a lack of communication at your university that has hindered the learning potential of a student and now I am being told something different by your financial department than what is clearly stated on your website. There are three scholarships that would apply to me Adult, First time freshman, and transfer. I did not receive any I am hoping that you **** look into this and correct your universities errors or I **** contact the better business bureau and federal govt.

Business Response
Complainant was a conditional admit to the University of Toledo because the courses she transferred in were below a 2.0. Complainant indicates that she was eligible for three scholarships. Those three scholarships included:1) transfer scholarship; 2)adult scholarship; and 3)a first time freshman scholarship. All three scholarships have a minimum 2.75 GPA requirement. Complainant did not have a 2.75 transfer GPA. Complainant was conditionally admitted as a transfer student and as she did not have a transfer GPA of 2.75 she was not eligible for the transfer scholarship. A transfer scholarship is defined as an award for students who have attended any regionally accredited institution after high school graduation or GED completion prior to attending the University of Toledo. Complainant was not eligible for the adult scholarship, defined as an award for students who have never attended regionally accredited institution and are not enrolled at the University after high school graduation, as she attended a regionally accredited institution known as Lorain Community College and did not have a 2.75 transfer GPA. Complainant was not eligible for the first time freshman scholarship, defined as an award for students that are enrolling at the University of Toledo in the fall semester directly following graduation from high school, as she was not enrolling in fall semester after graduation from high school and as she did not have a 2.74 transfer GPA.

10/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was denied an 80% refund even after speaking with customer service and ensuring I would receive said refund. Now the university is billing me.
I began a post graduate program last fall (Aug 2013). I was on the payment plan and during the 80% refund period I decided to drop the program in its entirety for several personal reasons. Prior to dropping, I contacted Rocket Solutions Central twice to ensure I would receive a refund. I even had a rep email me the refund policy. Once I was assured of receiving this refund I dropped the courses (during the 80% refund period). I am now being billed the remainder of my balance for the semester (and never received the refund). I am also being threatened regarding the seizing of my property. I spoke with a manager at UT and she agreed with me that the wording customer service uses is misleading. Nonetheless, I am still being billed. My Rocket ID number is RXXXXXXXX. I do not owe the remaining balance of the semester, as I was grossly misled by the university's customer service practices. Please stop billing me or I will have to involve my attorney in this. The rep who emailed me the refund policy is named ******* G ****** The manager I spoke with is ******* ***** and my account rep is *** ******** Unfortunately, I did not get the names of the other two reps I spoke with at Rocket Solutions Central.

Desired Settlement
I am not asking for my 80% refund any longer. I would like the university to please zero out my balance. Customer service cannot tell someone they will receive a refund (even if on the payment plan) and then the student receive a bill. It is bad business.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ********, Dean
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **************@utoledo.edu
Hello **** *****,

Your student fees were refunded at 80% based on the date of your drop, and the balance that was created resulted because the out of state scholarship was removed from your account rather than being reduced. As such, we have spoken with Distance Learning and were able to correct the out of state scholarship award. Your late fees of $150 have been removed from your account, and a request has been processed for correcting your credit report and the **** record. As a result of the scholarship adjustment, you are now due a refund of $196.98. We will need an updated address to mail your refund.

Please email me your current mailing address so we may issue your refund; my email address is **************@utoledo.edu.

Best regards,

****** ********
**** of ********

04/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I called UT before dropping classes to ensure an 80% refund. They said yes on 2 different occasions and are now saying I owe money.
I had called UT's customer service line twice during the 80% refund period prior to dropping my courses. I asked 2 different reps if I would still receive my 80% refund of what I had paid even though I was on a payment plan. They both said yes. Then I proceeded to check UT's website regarding any stipulation about the refund process and the payment plan. There was absolutely nothing on there. So I dropped the courses and waited for the refund. A couple of months later I receive a bill asking me to pay the rest of my tuition for the semester. I contacted one of the managers and she said yes they were correct in telling me this, but unfortunately their wording isn't too clear and she wishes they would change it, but there was nothing she could do for me. I sent in a couple different appeals to UT asking them to grant me the refund, but they keep mailing back a letter stating their policy for the different refund periods which I already knew about. They are not understanding that I was mislead but instead are sending me pamphlets in the mail explaining how refunds work. These pamphlets, however, do not explain how refunds work when on the payment plan. I am not able to find that information anywhere, even when I ask UT staff to point me in the right direction.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting my 80% refund back or at the very least to please zero out my balance. I was mislead by several customer service reps. They have also failed to provide me with sufficient tangible material explaining exactly how the refunds work when a student is on the payment plan.

Business Response
******( ****** ******* enrolled in three courses at the University of Toledo for the fall **** semester, and signed up for the installment payment plan (IPP) to divide her tuition payment into four payments over the course of the semester. When ****** withdrew from her classes on ****** *** ***** she withdrew within the 80% tuition refund period, which means she is responsible for paying the University 20% of her tuition bill. Refunds are based on overall tuition and fees, not the amount a student has paid on their tuition. Therefore, the outstanding balance that is reflected on Mrs. *******'s account is the remaining portion of the 20% she owes, minus the $985.41 which she had already paid.

When investigating how information was relayed to Mrs. ******* from the staff in ****** ******** ******** I discovered the misunderstanding was in the how Mrs. *******'s questions were communicated. In January, the ********* ******** of ****** ******** ******* spoke in-depth with Mrs. ******* and clarified that her questions were phrased referring to a "refund of her bill" and "refund of her account", in which staff correctly answered referring to the 80% refund. However, during the same conversation with the ********* ********* Mrs. ******* rephrased her question specifically referring to a refund for the payment plan. At that time, Mrs. ******* was informed that refunds are not based on payments but overall charges for tuition and fees. The Assistant Director apologized to Mrs. ******* that the staff was unable to decipher the questions referring to payments rather than overall tuition and fees; she also suggested Mrs. ******* either submit a Petition for an Administrative Adjustment, or work directly with Loans and Special Accounts to make payment arrangements.

Mrs. ******* applied for an Administrative Adjustment in ******** requesting a 100% refund from fall ***** Her petition was denied in ******** because there was no evidence of any extenuating circumstances beyond her control or University error.

At this time, Mrs. *******'s outstanding balance will remain, which is currently $637.02. I am encouraging her to work directly Loans and Special Accounts (XXX-XXX-XXXX) if she is interested in making payment arrangements.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.