BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/15/2004

Burkett Restaurant Equipment

Phone: (419) 242-7377Fax: (419) 245-34823011 Council St, ToledoOH 43606-4637

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/15/2004

BBB has determined that Burkett Restaurant Equipment meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Burkett Restaurant Equipment's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Burkett Restaurant Equipment

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
10/22/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company shipped the product to a wrong address then lied about when I will be able to receive the product so the order wont be canceled.
Order number XXXXX for 536TGD Star 536TGF 36" Electric Griddle was purchased on September 29, 2014. The company shipped the product to Montana which is 2000 miles away from Maryland where it should have been sent. My customer was expecting this to be installed by October 10. Due to Burkett's mistake, we had to offer our regular restaurant customer free labor to extend the install date. When I called on the 10th, the customer rep verified that we will receive it in few days. When asked for clarification as to what a few days meant because I cannot wait another week, she stated 2-3 days. Now its October 16th and I am now told another week.
I will never order from this seller again and buyers beware if you don't want your company reputation ruined.

Desired Settlement
.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******** - Makreting
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *********@basequipment.com
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and allowing us the opportunity to respond.

Our Customer Advocate team is here to make sure your order is handled to your satisfaction and are encouraged to communicate as many details as possible to help you understand the situation and make the right decisions for you and your business. Our employees are never instructed to lie to preserve an order. It's much more important to us that our customers can trust us to tell the truth and to go above and beyond to find solutions.

We take shipping errors and late shipments very seriously and prior to your message this order already had management's attention. We found that the originating issue occurred during a warehousing step when the zip code was overwritten with the order number in error. We continue to make improvements to make sure issues like this don't happen again.

After speaking with the Customer Advocates that you have spoken to, we determined that they attempted to correct the issue by placing a second order as a drop shipment directly from the factory to meet your deadline, but the manufacturer informed us after the order was placed that the unit was on factory backorder. We then rerouted the original unit's shipment to your location. Unfortunately the rerouted shipment would not have arrived in time to suit your needs.

We realize that reputation is the most important part of any business and we apologize for the mistake on our part and the inconvenience this has caused. Your refund has been processed on 10/21 back to the original credit card.

For any questions at all about your full refund, please reach out to the Customer Advocate team at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

08/23/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After repeated requests, company has not picked up item that is to be returned.
I ordered a refrigerator, model no. TGM-22RV in late July. I was charged $1549. The item was delivered on 8/1/12. I measured it and realized it would not fit through my doorway. I contacted the company the next day and read the return policy. It said returns had to be reported within 7 days I was well within this period. After repeated requests, the company has not picked up the refrigerator nor has it indicated a time when it would be picked up.

Desired Settlement
I will comply with the terms of the company. I will pay for shipping charges plus 20 % restocking fee. I would like the item to be picked up and a return of my balance.

Business' Initial Response
We take customer issues very seriously and make every attempt to seek out an expedient resolution. We will, as always, fully honor our return policy. The ****** customer service department was originally contacted Friday, August 3rd, in concerns to returning the Turbo Air TGM-22RV. The customer had stated the unit was too large and would have to be returned. The customer's sales rep was notified of the request to return that Friday. The sales representative made an attempt to work with the customer to find a comparable unit which would fit into the customer's location. Unfortunately, an agreeable unit was not found. Customer service was notified Tuesday, August 7th, the unit must be returned and the customer refunded, there would be no exchange. The return authorization was created the same day, August 7th. The pickup could not be made earlier than Monday, August 13th, due to the returning unit being located in a residential area, special arrangements were necessary.

I regret that the customer is unsatisfied with our performance and offer my sincerest apology. We are making every attempt to rectify this situation and refund the customer.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Appreciate the response. Still waiting for my refund.

03/11/2014Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Restaurant Equipment & Supplies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/23/1989Business started: 01/01/1977New Owner Date: 01/01/2000
Contact Information
Mr Nathan Beucler (Sales Manager)Ms. Christina Collins (VP of Operations)Mr Travis Lusky (Business Development)Ms. Heather Nelson (Executive Assistant)Mr Joe Reetz (IT Manager)Principal: Mr. Jameel Burkett (President)Ms. Jackie Brown, SPHR (Human Resource Mgr)Customer Contact: Ms. Kari L Slater (VP of Marketing)Ms Rachel Miller (Financial Controller)
Number of Employees

41

Business Category

Restaurant Equipment & Supplies

Products & Services

We carry a full line of food service related products for pizzerias, bakeries, convenience stores, restaurants, bars, delicatessens, schools, hospitals. We have over 25 years experience in the food service equipment industry.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:30 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 08:30 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 08:30 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 08:30 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 08:30 AM to 05:00 PMSat: 10:00 AM to 03:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

*SATISFACTION - If you are not 100% completely satisfied with your experience at Burkett Restaurant Equipment and Supplies call us and we will make it right for you. All of our equipment comes with a 30-day parts warranty.

Alternate Business Names
Burkett & Sons Inc.

Photos & Videos

Photographs

1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Burkett Restaurant Equipment

3011 Council St

Toledo, OH 43606-4637

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3011 Council St 

    Toledo, OH 43606-4637(419) 242-7377

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest and West Central Ohio and Southeast Michigan. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Burkett Restaurant Equipment is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in Northwest Ohio and Southeast Michigan on 7/1/2012, in West Central Ohio on 1/1/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Restaurant Equipment & Supplies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.