BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/27/1988

Roto-Rooter

Phone: (419) 476-8648Fax: (419) 476-3940View Additional Phone Numbers5278 Telegraph Rd, ToledoOH 43612-3536

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/27/1988

BBB has determined that Roto-Rooter meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Roto-Rooter's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Roto-Rooter

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
08/11/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
called them out for smell in bathroom they diagnosed for something else and charging $500 for nothing
horrible service. excuse of a company . call called them out since there was a smell in one of the bathrooms that wouldn't go away. we tried everything we could. so i thought i would get a "professional " opinion. they come out the plumber was there for three and half hours. and did not do anything but snake the toilet and pour buckets of water in the toilet. he changed the flush lever and fill valve. all that has nothign to do with the smell. and they are charging me close to $500 for that. after all that they still couldn't fix the toilet and recommend changing the toilet. I tried contacting them to talk about it they said they would get back to me but they didn't and sent me a collections notice after 4 months. we were going back an forward to solve the issue they brought the invoice down to 350.which is still a rip off for what they did they didn't even diagnose the real issue and they hung up on me.... I paid the 350 so my credit does not get messed up but I am expecting a full refund from this joke of a company who did not do anthing, and they are way over charging and they are rude.

Desired Settlement
I want a full refund of 350 that was charged on my card. I gave them the card so my credit does not get messed up. but i want a full refund.

Business Response
This invoice was from 11/02/215, It always seems when you try to collect for payment you hear they were not satisfied with the work performed. We did not hear from customer for 4 month and only after we sent him to collection. We reduced the bill $136.00, to work with customer. He then did agree to pay, just to keep the collection service from calling for payment. We lost $160.16 of the full amount owed to collections and also the $136.00 we adjusted for payment. Our records indicate work was order by their maintenance person not the owner. 6 months is way to long for service tech to even remember the job. We are sorry that this invoice could not be resolved but our accounts payable office did try to work it out before turning the bill over to collections.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
that is a lie,.... I called as soon as i received invoice and asked for and explanation of the charges and if the tech was there for that long. Allen mentioned she would get back to me. so i called again. and still didn't get back to me.and then 4 months later i get a collections notice. the invoice for 485.31... this is what it says


" labor and machine to rod stool. stool still doesnt flush when you pour bucket of water in stool it flushes good. per maintance remove flush mate from tank and replaced it with flush valve and full valve. water still not making it to bowl properly recommend replacing stool"

the call was placed by the manager at the property for a smell not going away in the bathroom. they want me to pay 485 to pour buckets of water down the toilet and a recommendation to change the toilet. this is what they call professional service. this company is a joke and a rip off. they have retards working there.

so they settled for 349.31. I can show you the invoice. they are a scam. and when negoatiing the payments. she had the nerve to hang up on . I demand a full refund and and termination of allen. she is a very rude person. they does not belong any where in the customer service area. she should be isolated in a profession where she does not have to deal with people.


If i do not get a full refund in 14 days I will be going Department of consumer affairs!!!!


01/11/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
OVercharged for services!
There repairman was at my house and began working a few minutes before 9am. At 9:02 the clog was gone, but he continued to rinse out pipes. He worked until just before 10 am, he started to pack up and left at 10:20 am. He charged me for 2 hours of work. When calling the rotorooter office a very rude young lady told me he got to my house at 845 and left at 1040, considering I was on the phone complaining at 10:20am, I find it hard to believe the time he left. Yesterday the repair person was told NO MORE THAN 1 HOUR, he purposely took his time so that this company could rip me off, just before Christmas too. The girl stated she would try to have the manager talk to me, but more than likely she won't call me back. So I have no choice but to cancel the check.

Desired Settlement
I will pay them for 1 hour only, I want an apology from the rude receptionist.

Business Response
BBB received response from business by phone.

The business stated that the matter was resolved on the 15th, before they were notified of the complaint.

The consumer was not present during the service call, only her son was. The business has a tracking system for precise times. However, the business is refunding 30 minutes of time/$59 back to the consumer. She received an apology from the manager. The consumer should expect the check shortly. It is being processed today.

10/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failed to remove all roots resulting in sewage backup in house 6 wks ltr. Will not reimburse for repair.
Hired Roto Rooter 8/6/13 due to sewer backup from roots for $222.50. They sent a camera through the pipe to show work complete.

Six weeks later on 9/19/13 sewer backed up again. Called them back and was told warranty only for roots and I would have to pay $222.50 or more again depending on cause if not roots. Woman who answered the phone agreed it was not likely roots could be the cause again. As a single mother I could not afford to pay if not roots and logically I thought it couldn't be roots if they were just out six weeks before!

Called my plumber who recommended someone who charges $90. He did the same thing Roto Rooter did with the knife down the pipe while I watched and he pulled out wads of roots between the access and the house. Water gushed through the pipe as it opened once roots were cut/removed. Showed me the root pile and immediately I contacted Roto Rooter. Was told by receptionist to fax a copy of the receipt to *********** and she emailed me the fax number agreeing I should be reimbursed.

*********** called me back saying they, "didn't get an opportunity to honor their warranty" by hiring them come out again. He admitted when reviewing the recording of the camera that the service technician did not run the camera between the access and the house, only from the access to the street so he couldn't see if it was done. I told him I couldn't afford to pay them if it was something other than roots, and logically it shouldn't be roots six weeks after a cleanout by them, so I was forced to hire someone cheaper. He refused to reimburse me. I asked to speak to his superior. Was told that would be the owner who was on vacation but would call me this week. ***** again left me a message yesterday, 9/30/13, (owner didn't call me personally as I was promised.) I called back today, 10/1/13, and he said owner agreed I should not be reimbursed. I explained again I could not afford to pay them if it wasn't the roots and that before they ever start the work I am always required by them to sign a contract that I will pay for the services. He still refused saying I didn't give them a chance. He also said he retrained the receptionist to say the warranty would cover more than roots which means I was lied to.

I feel I should be reimbursed the $90 I had to pay another company to fix what I had already paid Roto Rooter $222.50 for six weeks before!

Desired Settlement
I feel I should be reimbursed the $90 I had to pay another company to fix what I had already paid Roto Rooter $222.50 for six weeks before!

Business Response
Co response: Company apologizes and stated that they will issue a refund to the consumer in the amount of $90.

05/23/2016Problems with Product / Service
09/23/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Sewer Pipe, Sewer Contractors, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Plumbing - Contractor, Plumbers - Commercial

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/05/1955Business started: 01/01/1934
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Business Management
Customer Contact: Ms. Karen Boecker (General Manager)
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Lonnie Fleck (Owner / President)
Number of Employees

20

Business Category

Plumbers, Sewer Pipe, Sewer Contractors, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Plumbing - Contractor, Plumbers - Commercial

Alternate Business Names
Fleck Enterprises, Fleck Enterprises/Roto-Rooter

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Roto-Rooter

5278 Telegraph Rd

Toledo, OH 43612-3536

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5278 Telegraph Rd 

    Toledo, OH 43612-3536(419) 476-8648
    (734) 457-5550
    (419) 476-8640
    (419) 476-8649

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest and West Central Ohio and Southeast Michigan. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Roto-Rooter is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (734) 457-5550
  • (419) 476-8640
  • (419) 476-8649
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in Northwest Ohio and Southeast Michigan on 7/1/2012, in West Central Ohio on 1/1/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Plumbers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.