BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/28/2012

Northwest Ohio Medical Equipment

Find a Location

Phone: (419) 423-9712Fax: (419) 332-33841749 Tiffin Ave, FindlayOH 45840-6833View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/28/2012

BBB has determined that Northwest Ohio Medical Equipment meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Northwest Ohio Medical Equipment's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Northwest Ohio Medical Equipment

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
07/28/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I got a CPAP from them they never told me I was renting it. I returned it and keep getting billed.
I got a CPAP machine from them in December of 2013. when I got it I was told my insurance would be billed and I then I would be billed the balance. I received two bills in January after that one for $43.11 and another for $59.74. I paid both of them (check numbers 2803 & 2813). I then got more bills from them after that. I had my wife call to find out what was going on. That is the first time I was told I was renting the machine.

I told them I don't want to rent the machine because I can't afford it. They told me if I returned the machine that day they would wipe out my balance. So I returned the machine that day.

I got another bill the following month for $59.74. Called them to find out what the deal was since I returned the machine. they said it was for last month. Told them the machine was returned and my balance was suppose to be wiped out. Then I was told no I still owed the $59.74 and after that I was good. So I just went ahead and paid the $59.74 with check number 2836.

Well now I get another bill for $59.74 plus a $15 late fee for a total of $74.74. Called them up again, again I'm being told this is my last bill. I have been told this twice already. Told them no the machine has been returned you got your money our business is done.

Called my insurance company they didn't know anything about the machine being rented. They also didn't know that I had returned the machine. So I don't know if my insurance company already paid them and what they did with that money if they did.

I have a condition where I could literally stop breathing and die in my sleep. They seem to be trying to take advantage of me because of this.

Desired Settlement
They have there machine back. I want my remaining balance wiped clean, and I want a refund of $59.74 for the last payment I made. I want them to honor their original agreement that if I returned the machine that day I would not get billed anymore.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **********.-Billing Mgr.
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@**************.org
I have reviewed the delivery ticket, which indicates the items received were rental items. The delivery ticket was signed on 12/18/2013, and the pick up ticket was signed on 04/15/2014. NOME billed the patient and the insurance company for a total of 4 months: 12/18/2013, 01/18/2014, 02/18/2014, and 03/18/2014 for the rental of the items received. I have made copies of the information, and mailed to the customer on 07/07/2014. I have also included all payments that were posted to the account. I have also called and left a message for the customer to return my call to review the account. If you have further questions, please don't hesitate to contact me to review the account.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Again when I got the machine I WAS TOLD that my insurance would be billed and that I would be billed the balance. I was NEVER told it was a rental. The papers he had me sign I was told were insurance papers not rental papers. My son was there when I got it and he never heard anything about renting it.

Besides the fact remains I was told that if I returned the machine I would no longer get billed and my balance would be zero. Since I returned the machine I have been billed twice for "back payments" one I paid, one I'm not paying.

You can't tell someone to return the machine and they will no longer be billed and then keep billing them. no matter how they justify it that is wrong. like I said in the original claim they have there machine back. I want a zero balance like they said I would have if I returned it.

Final Business Response
We will meet you in the middle and adjust off the 1 month copayment that is currently due.

02/28/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had a piece of equipment and returned it it was rented by the month they bill for all the next month after i had returned they refuse to work withme
i had a piece of equipment and returned it and was billed for all next month because it was sent to the insurance they will not do any thing they said i had to talk to the insurance i called the insurance company and filed an appeal for fraudulent claim they are looking in to it and told me to try and work something out with northwest ohio medical equipment they refuse to do any thing about it not right billing for something i did not have that is very fraudulent

Desired Settlement
not billed for the second month bill paid in full and close the account i well not do business with this complany any more i paid for the prior month i do not owe any thing

Consumer's Final Response
northwest ohio medical equipment caled me back on FEB 26 tell me they were going to adjust the bill an write it off and they did i made them send me a letter stating that and they did i got the letter on FEB 27 this matter has been resoloved

thank you *************

Industry Comparison| Chart

Medical Equipment & Supplies, Wheel Chairs, Respirators, Canes, Scooters - Medical, Oxygen Therapy Equipment, Oxygen, Hospital & Medical Equipment & Supplies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/01/2011Business started: 01/01/1999
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jean Snyder (Director)Mr. Brian Hutton (Manager)
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

Medical Equipment & Supplies, Wheel Chairs, Respirators, Canes, Scooters - Medical, Oxygen Therapy Equipment, Oxygen, Hospital & Medical Equipment & Supplies

Alternate Business Names
Memorial Medical Equipment

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Northwest Ohio Medical Equipment

1749 Tiffin Ave

Findlay, OH 45840-6833

To | From

LocationsX

5 Locations

  • 855 W. Main St. 

    Bellevue, OH 44811(419) 483-3424

  • 1204 W Wooster St Ste 4 

    Bowling Green, OH 43402-2672(419) 352-7021

  • 1749 Tiffin Ave 

    Findlay, OH 45840-6833(419) 423-9712

  • 1211 Oak Harbor Rd 

    Fremont, OH 43420-1020(419) 332-4938

  • 5757 Monclova Rd. 

    Maumee, OH 43537(419) 891-4046

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest and West Central Ohio and Southeast Michigan. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Northwest Ohio Medical Equipment is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in Northwest Ohio and Southeast Michigan on 7/1/2012, in West Central Ohio on 1/1/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Medical Equipment & Supplies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.