BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/06/1996

La-Z-Boy Inc. (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (734) 240-2421Fax: (734) 457-3084View Additional Phone Numbers1284 N Telegraph Rd, MonroeMI 48162-3390View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/06/1996

BBB has determined that La-Z-Boy Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised La-Z-Boy Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 322 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

322 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 145 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues20
Billing / Collection Issues2
Delivery Issues23
Guarantee / Warranty Issues30
Problems with Product / Service247
Total Closed Complaints 322

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on La-Z-Boy Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 7
Total Customer Reviews 8 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (322)BBB Closure Definitions
02/25/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Recliner rocker purchased. Extremely noisy mechanism not evident with floor model. Bait and switch. Extremely dissatisfied.
Forester recliner rocker XXXXXXDXXXXXX FN007,LAZB-XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX ordered 11/9/2014,delivered 12/20/2014 Control #XXX-XXXXXX,first repair call on 12/26/14 was told that this was normal mechanism noise,also pointed out defect in material of seat-settled on $100.00 refund instead of seat replacement and was told by *** in a supervisory capacity that they would replace the mechanism on 1/20/15. Technician arrived and let me know it was the same mechanism and the noise would be the same(like the clanking one hears ascending a roller coaster) and the foot rest not rising completely.Phone calls of complaint were made on 1/8/15,1/11/15,1/15/15,1/21/15,1/21/15 and 1/30/15. During the latest calls I was assured return phone calls from someone in authority. I never received a call and am tired of so-called follow-up. This chair was paid in full by credit card before delivery in the amount of $619.13

Desired Settlement
I am desirous of a refund, less the $100.00 I was returned for the seat defect. I feel this recliner was not represented as the quality product sold.I have had many recliners in the past and hold la-zboy to much higher standards than the chair I purchased.

Business Response
Dear BBB,

Thank you for the letter from Ms. ********.

We have reviewed the customers complaint and she will be contacted by our office that she is authorized to have the chair replaced for equal value, up to and including her purchase price of the chair at the same store where her purchase was made.

When she selects a replacement and the replacement is delivered to her, the chair in her home will be picked up and returned to our distribution center.

Ms. ******** should be hearing from our office in approximately 1 week.

Kindest Regards,
La-Z-Boy Incorporated

****** **
Escalation Specialist

02/19/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We purchased a ******** sofa in December of 2013. This is the first new furniture item we have purchased in 20or more years. We sat on the sofa in the store and it had the right amount of firmness and the type of comfort and style we wanted. The couch was delivered over Christmas. We loved it. Just what we expected. Then several months later the back pillows lost the fluffiness and went flat. I called and they proceeded to tell me that the stuffing comes out and it is in a bag. We were told to shake it up and put it back in. This was never mentioned to us by the sales person. This needs to be done on a constant basis. Now the throw pillows are like pancakes and the worst thing is that the reason we bought a new couch was because ours was so old people could not get out of it and I have a father who has medical issues with his legs and most people had difficulty getting out of our old couch. Now because the 2 couch cushions are soft and when you sit on it you sink we are no better off. I was told they can send service out and I have to pay labor costs up front of $109 for the first hour and $30 for each additional 15 minutes to come and put new cushions in. The couch is only a year old. It is absolutely ridiculous that we have to pay to have some come out to fix bad cushions that have only been sat on a year. In addition I have to restuff the throw pillows and keep taking the stuffing bags out of the back cushions so that people sit up straight. We have purchased furniture from Lazy Boy before and had great service. This is not good customer service for a couch that is one year old to mKe us pay again for what Lazy Boy classifies as premier sofa.
Product_Or_Service: Sofa

Desired Settlement
I would like to have the cushions replaced with quality cushions that will not go soft after 1year and the replacement of the throw pillows AT NO CHARGE. I will restuff the back pillows myself

Business Response
Dear BBB,

Thank you for the letter from Ms. *****.

Ms. ***** took delivery of her sofa on December 11, 2013 and contacted our Comfort Care department on January 3, 2014 and spoke with an Escalation Specialist who advised the customer that the type of style she chose has blown fiber bags in the back of the sofa and they would need regular, routine maintenance.

Replacement blown fiber bags were ordered and shipped to the customer on January 11, 2014.

We will order and send the customer replacement seat polys for the sofa and replacement poly for the throw pillows.

If the customer wants the seat polys installed, our fee is $109.00 an hour to have a service technician install them.

The customer would be able to take out the seat polys that are in the seat casings and replace the seat polys that we are going to send to her along with replacing the poly for the throw pillows.

Kindest Regards,
La-Z-Boy Incorporated

****** **
Escalation Specialist





02/16/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure of product twice with in 30 days of delivery. Conflicting power instructions both lead to voiding the warranty. earliest serf appt is 10 days
Purchased 2 Power recliners ******* CXXXXXX ** 000) and console ******* CXXXXXX FN 007 PB) purchased 10/25/14 del'd 12/17/14. First failure 1/12/15. Recd power transformer 1/17/15; installed. Second failure 1/19/15. Called for service, earliest appt is 1/29/15. Comfort care rep said unit must be plugged directly into wall socket. We were given LA Z BOY form 02/14 ******* which specifically states under the MECHANISMS & COMPONENTS section: " THISROTECTION PLAN DOES NOT INCLUDE SERVICE NEEDED ON PARTS AS A RESULT OF ANY OF THE FOLLOWING: FAILURE BY THE CONSUMER TO USE A HIGH-QUALITY SURGE PROTECTOR DURING THE ENTIRE SERVICE TERM." The installers expressed their delight that we indeed had a high quality surge protector upon delivery and they plugged in the power units to the surge protector. Upon speaking to **** in Comfort Care she said the unit should have been plugged into the wall socket and she cited the safety instruction that stated it should be plugged directly into the wall. This in effect negates their warranty either way and both sets of instructions are from LA Z BOY. THEY WILL NOT TAKE BACK A DEFECTIVE PIECE OF FURNITURE. not acceptable and I feel duped and bilked out of $3,552.42.

Desired Settlement
Return of this furniture because if this is the problem and inadequate service response within the first 30 days of ownership, it won't get any better.

Business Response
Dear BBB,

Thank you for the letter from Mr. ****.

As a manufacturer of the furniture, we provide a warranty that is limited to repair or replacement of parts of the furniture.

The technician was sent out on January 29th to inspect the furniture and determine what parts would be necessary for repairs.

The operating instructions that come with the furniture from us the manufacturer should be followed.

We apologize for the inconvenience in the matter.

Kindest Regards,
La-Z-Boy Incorporated

****** **
Escalation Specialist



02/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The product I received is not the same as the product I tried out in the store for over 30 minutes. The back and leg supports are not the same.
On June 10, 2014 I ordered a ******** *** ******** in butter rum and paid a total of $2,029.45. It was finally delivered on September 16, 2014. At the delivery, I told the two guys that it wasn't like the chair I sat on for 30 minutes in the La-Z-Boy Store in **** ******** *** I never have received a copy of the delivery sheet as promised. The chair was very uncomfortable for me. There was a huge gap between the back and the seat when reclined. Also, the leg support collapses into a sunken dip when reclined. It didn't do that in the store. I told the store that I wanted to return it because I have back problems and the chair made it worse instead of better like the one in the store did. I offered to pay a restocking fee. I was told that since it was a special order, I couldn't return it. I was never told that if the chair was made wrong, that I couldn't return it. ******, my sales representative, only told me that the leather could be several colors, which I understood.
After several calls, ****** at the La-Z-Boy warehouse in **** ******** came to our house on October 3, 2014, and inspected the chair. He went to the La-Z-Boy Store and checked the chair I tried, and he agreed that there was a lot larger gap between the back and the seat when reclined. One November 17, 2014, ***** picked up the chair and said he was going to work on the back. He added extra stuffing and/ or padding. On November 24, 2014 he returned the chair to my house. He said there was nothing he could do about the leg support collapsing, but the gap in the back wasn't as big now. I tried the chair, and after a few days, I had to move back to my old chair, because it made my back worse, and my legs cramped up badly since the leg support was sunken and didn't support my legs like the one in the store that was rounded when reclined.
***** then said that there was nothing else he could do. He said it met the specifications even though it was different from the store sample I tried.
He gave me the number to the main corporate headquarters, and I spoke with ******* ** there. She started case # XXXXXX for me. She contacted me a few days later and said there was nothing else they could do, so, basically, I was stuck with a defective chair.
The bottom line is that the chair they delivered to me is not built the same as the chair I sat in at the store for 30 minutes, while talking with ******, my sales representative. All they kept saying to me was the chair delivered to me meets specifications. What ever happened to considering the customer's needs and expectations? Customer satisfaction is obviously not practiced at the local store or the national headquarters. I was not being unreasonable. I offered to pay a restocking fee. I just wanted a chair that works like the one I tried in the store.
I have wasted over $2,000 on a chair that I cannot use because I have back problems and leg circulation problems, and this chair is very uncomfortable for me and makes them worse. I am very disappointed with the **** ******* La-Z-Boy store and the national headquarters. They do not put the customer first and back their products as they should.

Desired Settlement
Since they didn't accept my offer to pay a restocking fee, I want a full refund of the amount paid. $2,029.45.

Business Response
Dear BBB,

Thank you for the complaint from the customer.

We are the office of the manufacturer here in Monroe, Michigan. We provide a warranty that is limited to repair or replacement of parts of the furniture.

We rely on the independently owned and operated dealership where the customer made their purchase to inspect any furniture in question since they are our eyes and ears in the field.

Our office contacted ***** at the La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries service department in *** ******** CO.

***** advised he did add poly to the back of the recliner and the customer was then satisfied with the comfort of the back. The customer then wanted ***** to add padding to the chaise seat. ***** advises us there is no manufacturing or material defect with the padding in the seat and he will not be adding padding to that area.

Comfort is subjective and we manufacture many different styles of furniture to attempt to meet the needs of our various customers.

Kindest Regards,
La-Z-Boy Incorporated

****** **
Escalation Specialist

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This response to my complaint is totally unacceptable. It is not about customer comfort, it is about misrepresentation of a product. The chair that was delivered to me does not have the same support for the back and legs, that the chair I tried in the store for 30 minutes. If I had been told that, if I ordered a chair of the same model, they could not guarantee that the support would be the same, I would not have ordered it. I bought it for the power adjustment and support that was demonstrated in the chair on the showroom floor.

Final Consumer Response
In response to this dispute, I need to verify that, by replacing the seat with the same matching leather, it includes the leg support area that appears to be attached to the seat. If it doesn't include the leg support portion of the chair, then it does not solve my problem.

Final Business Response
Dear BBB,

Thank you for the response from the customer.

The style of recliner has a chaise seat with legrest attached all as one piece, so a replacement upholstered seat will include the legrest attached to it.

Please advise if the customer wants it ordered and shipped to the dealers service department.

Kindest Regards,
La-Z-Boy Incorporated

****** **
Escalation Specialist

02/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Order two Lazboy chairs from the store in ******* ***** ********. Delievery was suppose to be 4-6 weeks. After time had passed contacted them and then they now said 3+ months. I told them that since we were military moving soon that it would not work and I needed my money back. She said corporate would have to cut me a check and stated that it could take until March to get my money back (2 months). They cashed my check within 3 business days and now I can't get my money back. I also contacted corporate Lazboy and they are giving me the run around regarding my money. Please help! They also said that there are no guaratees in life not even Lazboy in response to a timely delivery.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund immediately and ******* ******* to be fired.

Business Response
Dear BBB,

Thank you for the letter from Ms. **********.

Our records show a check in the amount of $800.00 was mailed to the customer on January 23rd.

Kindest Regards,
La-Z-Boy Incorporated

****** **
Escalation Specialist

Page 1 of 45
02/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bot 2 sofas 2/2014. Bad sofa we use daily, lost 40%-60% of support when we sit on it; 31% of support when not on it; Comfortcare never calls me back.
When I receive BBB e-mail confirmation, I'll foward e-mails already sent to Comfortcare, Monroe, MI.
Bot 2 La-Z-Boy sofas 2/17/2014 @ ******* (********, *** store for $2,684.21, model XXXXXX, from ***** ******, Sales Mgr, who told us this was most firm and supportive couch, should last 20-25 years and so strong can even stand on it and it won't fail. 2 sofas delievered 3/26/2014. On 11/6/2014, contacted ***** ****** re: sagging cushions/support on bad sofa. ON 11/10/2014, contacted ******* ******* *** *** ** XXXXX re: sagging cushions/support on bad sofa. ON 12/2/2014, ***** 3rd party tech inspected bad sofa but refused to sit on it or look at me sit on it said everything was within manufacturing specs. On 12/5/2014 & 12/6/2014, I e-mailed ******* ****** & ****** ******** (Comfortcare Mgr, Monroe, MI) 3-page word processing document & 1 page spreadsheet with details of complaint and showing that cushions and/or support on bad sofa had lost 40%-60% in 6-7 months vis-a-vis the "up to 10% loss at the end of the 1st year" told to me by Comfortcare specialist detailed in 3-page report. About 10 minutes after I sent the e-mail with attachments on 12/5/2014, I get e-mail saying that they saw pictures from tech and as a courtesy will send new foam for cushions for bad sofa. But I have to wait a month for foam replacement; then probably wait another month for tech to install foam replacement. On 12/12/2014, I sent e-mail to ****** ******** saying I have 0% confidence that the replacment foam will fix the problem. Asked for ****** to call me - gave him 3 days with time options. He never called. In 40 years I've been out of college and buying sofas/chairs for my apartments & homes, this bad La-Z-Boy sofa is the worst, the most sagging, and the least supportive to the point of back pain. Today, 12/17/2014, I measured the distance from the top of the arm of the sofa to the top of the cushion at the end of the sofa: it's 6 1/2" on the good sofa; but 8 1/2% on the bad sofa. This means with no one sitting on either sofa, the bad sofa has sagged 2" or 31% in 8 1/2 months. I have 24 months same-as-cash and have met all payments. I still owe almost $1,100 on the same-as-cash offer. What ***** ******, Sales Manager @ ******* (***, ** XXXXX) told us about this sofa was not truthful; or at minimum the bad sofa did not match his salesspeak. The 3rd party tech, who took a month to come out, did at best a superficial examination of the bad sofa, especially in refusing to sit on either sofa or even look at how high or low I sit on either sofa. Comfortcare's ignoring my request for ****** ******** to call me back to discuss the issues is unacceptable. No one at Comfortcare has ever telephoned me; they sent brief e-mails saying the foam is ordered but will take another 2 months. Family members and friends who come to our home to sit on the good and bad sofas, cannot believe (as we cannot believe) that the bad sofa is sagging so much, is so non-supportive, and does not provide comfort it should as as sold in the months we've had it. If I an do measurements with a tape measure to determine that the bad sofa cushions and/or support system has failed by 40% to 60% in months when we sit on it; and if I can do simple tape measurements to determine that with no one sitting on the cushions, the sofa sags 31%, why does the tech not do this? I'm very concerned that the poly replacement *** not bring the bad sofa back to the level of the good sofa. It's not fair to me as a consumer who either contracted for or paid thousands of dollars to La-Z-Boy that once the sofa sags, that after I initially contact Comfortcare, to send a tech, that it takes a month for the tech to arrive; then another month to order whatever needs ordered; then a third month to install what was ordered. Meanwhile, I'm sitting on a bad sofa that sags considerably, that provides very little support that causes pain in my back.

Desired Settlement
I have two suggested settlement options. My first settlement option is that La-Z-Boy replace the bad sofa with chair(s)/recliner(s) that we pick that will not sag in 6+ months by 40%-60%. I do not wish any replacement for any La-Z-Boy sofa because of all of the problems and pain I've experienced in the bad sofa.

My second suggested settlement is that La-Z-Boy take back the bad sofa and either cancel the approx $1100 I still owe and/or refund the $1,342.10 for the cost of the bad sofa they refuse to discuss with me over the phone or try to fix other than poly replacement. I'll have to go to another store to buy chairs/recliners that don't fail in months for my daughter and I to sit on daily. We're coming up close to the 1 year labor warranty on the sofa and if it does not get fixed right the first time, I'll have to pay over and over again for labor. If in addition to the support system on the bad sofa, if the poly sags 40%-60% every 6 months, it's not fair for me as a consumer who pays thousands of dollars to La-Z-Boy to go through this 6 months okay, then wait 3 months for tech + poly + install every 9 months. If I knew that bad sofa would cause all of these problems and so little support and so much pain, I would not have paid one cent for it in Feb. 2014.

Business Response
Dear BBB,

Thank you for the complaint from Mr. *******.

As a manufacturer of the furniture we provide a warranty that is limited to repair or replacement of parts of the furniture.

Mr. ******* took delivery of the sofa on March 26, 2014 and a service technician inspected the sofa on December 2, 2014.

The following email was sent to the customer on December 5, 2014:

From: Comfort Care Sent: Friday, December 05, XXXX X:XX PM To: '********@aol.com' Subject: ********** ***** ******* Dear Mr. *******, This is the email address I was referring to that you may submit your letter to that you wanted to sent to ****** ********âTMs attention. Upon reviewing your service ticket I see a technician was to the home on December 2nd. The tech indicated the two units were showing normal compression of the poly on the units; however, the unit that is positioned in front of the television appears to be receiving more use than the other unit. We have reviewed the photos the technician submitted and agree the unit the tech indicated is in front of the television is showing more compression of the poly. As a courtesy to you, I have ordered the 3 replacement seat poly for this unit. You will receive the replacement parts in approximately 2-4 weeks. Upon receipt of the replacement parts please contact Comfort Care back at XXX-XXX-XXXX to schedule the technician to come back and install the replacement parts in your unit. As **** discussed previously, we do recommend you very routinely rotate and flip the cushions within your two units to promote even wear of the poly. Thank you for being a valuable La-Z-Boy customer. Regards, ****** ** La-Z-Boy Incorporated Comfort Care Executive Escalation Specialist 866-424-4197 ***********@la-z-boy.com

Mr. ******* was not satisfied with the response and wanted to hear from ****** ******** our Contact Center Manager.

The following email was sent to the customer on December 10th:

From: ****** ******** Sent: Wednesday, December 10, XXXX X:XX PM To: '********@aol.com' Subject: La-Z-Boy Concerns Mr. *******, Thank you for taking time to contact me pertaining to the poly compression experienced with the La-Z-Boy sofa. I apologize for the delay in my response. Reviewing the case it appears we have offered to replace the poly on all three seats. The pieces were ordered on December 5 and are scheduled to ship the week of December 31. We normally allow seven to ten days for shipping so they should arrive by January 10. IâTMm confident this will remedy the issue and bring your sofa back up to your expectations and the quality which La-Z-Boy is known. Thank you again for taking time to contact me and please let me know if there is anything I can do to assist. Sincerely, ****** ** ******** Contact Center Manager.

The parts show they were delivered to the customer by UPS on January 7th.

Please have the customer contact our office to have the seat polys installed.

Kindest Regards,
La-Z-Boy Incorporated

****** **
Escalation Specialist

Consumer Response
January 25, 2015

Dear **** *******, Toledo, OH BBB:

This rebuttal/response is re: Case #XXXXXXXX, La-Z-Boy. I read their 1/15/2015 response on the web site and was very disappointed. La-Z-Boy ignored almost all of the points that I made in my complaint; and only sent me back copies of the two e-mails I had from them months ago.

FYI, I now have new recliners from ****** in our den for my daughter and me to sit on. ******* the #4 retailer in the U.S., has an incredibly amazing refund policy: if for any reason today or anytime in the future the customer is not satisfied with a product, the product can be returned to Costco for 100% refund, no questions asked. ****** also has amazing customer service. Other retailers could learn a lot from ******* No one sits on the bad La-Z-Boy sofa anymore. Also FYI, I just received the results of the MRI examination done on my back the unfortunate results of which were exacerbated by the atrociously bad La-Z-Boy sofa that sinks like an 80-year-old sofa.

Per our phone conversation last week, I'm giving La-Z-Boy an opportunity to reconsider and make an offer that I find acceptable. The bad La-Z-Boy sofa sags 40%-60% below the good La-Z-Boy sofa. Comfort Care personnel have said it could compress 10% or 1" after a year. It's has compressed, sunken and failed 4"-6" in six months with someone sitting on it. Also, with no one sitting on the sofas, the bad La-Z-Boy sofa is about 35% below what the good one is. In my opinion, La-Z-Boy has reneged on its warranty. The superficial examination on 12/2/2014 by a 3rd party failed to even address any of these issues - they were just ignored, just as La-Z-Boy has been ignoring me for months now. ***** ******' (Sales Manager, ******** ***, ** XXXXX) claims that the sofas we bought were some of the firmest and provide a tremendous amount of support; and should last 20-25 years; and one could stand or jump on them without doing any damage to them were nothing more that untruths. The bad La-Z-Boy sofa didn't even last 20-25 weeks yet alone the 20-25 years that ***** ****** claimed in his sales speech to me. No one ever stood or jumped on the bad La-Z-Boy sofa; it could not even be sat on with any support after 20-25 weeks. The support system on the bad La-Z-Boy sofa has failed; it isn't just the cushions. No one at La-Z-Boy even addresses this issue, it's just ignored just like my complaint has been by La-Z-Boy. Since I filed the BBB complaint, no one at La-Z-Boy has ever called me on the telephone - there is "NO" Comfort in the bad La-Z-Boy sofa; and La-Z-Boy just DOESN'T Care. But ***** ****** didn't hesitate to take my $2,684.21 - too bad I was ripped off by La-Z-Boy.

I am considering different options regarding the La-Z-Boy sofas. One options would be to have representatives of the local media, especially television who do consumer advocacy programs, come to my house to see how La-Z-Boy ripped off a senior citizen and individual with special needs with the atrociously bad La-Z-Boy sofa - this option would possibly get La-Z-Boy significant publicity to expose them for reneging on the warranty, making false promises, and all of the other things that I've already documented in writing in the complaint. I have the names, dates, times, etc. of the individuals I spoke with and can provide this to the local media. This way the news media and the public in ******* **** could see for themselves just how atrocious the bad La-Z-Boy sofa is, especially compared with the good La-Z-Boy sofa still in the same room. Of course, if both La-Z-Boy sofas were removed from my house and the $2,684.21 were refunded to me, there would be no La-Z-Boy sofas for the local media to see or examine for themselves.

Another options could possibly involve the results of the MRI examination that has damaged my back, exacerbated by the bad La-Z-Boy sofa as I noted to La-Z-Boy months ago (another issue completely ignored by La-Z-Boy). Perhaps this option could be integrated with the local news media. I have had some preliminary discussions with professionals, but have not chosen which option(s) to choose yet. Perhaps La-Z-Boy can help me choose an option, or not.

The next move is up to La-Z-Boy. **** ******* said I should hear a response from them in about 7-10 days.

***** ** *******
*** ********* ******
******** ** XXXXX-XXXX
(XXX) XXX-XXXX
********@aoll.com



Final Business Response
Dear BBB,

Thank you for the response from Mr. *******.

In our response dated January 15, 2015, we advised that our manufacturer's warranty provides for repair or replacement of parts of the furniture.

If the technician who inspected would have found that the support system needed to have repairs or parts replaced, the technician would have put that in his report.

Also, in our response on January 15th, we advised that UPS shows the parts were delivered to the customer on January 7th and for the customer to contact our office to have the seat polys installed.

Again, the phone number that Mr. ******* may call to set up the service appointment is XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Kindest Regards,
La-Z-Boy Incorporated

****** **
Escalation Specialist

02/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On December 26 I purchased a Barrett LaZBoy Reclina Rocker at a base price of $825 and upgraded the fabric increasing the price to $922. In that contract was a guarantee to "gladly" match any lower price of identical merchandise found within 30 days of purchase. In conducting an on-line search for the Barrett Reclina Rocker (just as their guarantee challenged me to do) I did find a lower price of $595 at ******************* Interestingly, upon bringing this to the attention of the staff at the LaZBoy store, no one knew the procedure for price matching as if it had never been done before. I later received a phone call informing me that the guarantee would not be honored, their claim being it was not identical merchandise. That's funny, no one mentioned that when the evidence was shown that day.I did not request the price be lowered to match the chair with less expensive fabric but that the base price be matched and then the additional cost of the fabric upgrade be added to that ($595 + $97) = $692 for a refund of $230. My contention is there really was no guarantee as stated for my purchase if a change in fabric indeed negates it, and the guarantee should have been stricken from the contract if there was no intention of honoring it. To happen upon this scenario is virtually impossible. A Barrett Reclina Rocker is a Barrett Reclina Rocker regardless of a fabric upgrade. At best, their guarantee is poorly written if it allows for such weasel room. I did find a lower price and I believe the guarantee should be honored.
Product_Or_Service: LaZBoy Barrett Reclina Rocker
Account_Number: XXX-XXXXX

Desired Settlement
As stated in the guarantee, refund $230, the difference in the base price of the chair.

Business Response
Dear BBB,

Thank you for the letter from Ms. ***********.

Our office has also received a complaint from the customer that she made with the Office of the Ohio Attorney General.

Below is our response to the Attorney General office dated February 5, 2015:

From: Comfort Care mailto:************@la-z-boy.com
Sent: Thursday, February 05, XXXX XX:XX AM
To: ****** ** ********
Subject: complaint # ****** ***** ***********

Hello ******,

Thank you for the letter dated January 27, 2015 regarding complaint # XXXXXX.

We have been in contact with ***** the Store Manager at the La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries in ****** ****** ***

***** advises the client provided a printed copy from an online website offering the Barrett style chair to the stores Sales Manager, ****** ******* Upon further review, the unit that was advertised on the printed document was for a specific fabric. When the client entered the ****** ***** location, she proceeded to custom order the same style frame, however, she chose a different fabric. As with any custom order fabrics, this will alter the price depending on fabric specifications.

The chair that was ordered at the ****** ****** ** store was a 010740 (Barrett) in fabric DXXXXXX. In order to be eligible for a price adjustment, the client would have to order the unit in the exact fabric as the advertisement.

Kindest Regards,
La-Z-Boy Incorporated

****** **
Escalation Specialist


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It appears all La-Z-Boy representatives agree with me that the chair purchased is the same chair found for $230 less at another store. I believe the fabric on the chair viewed on their floor is also the same fabric I found at the store online. The same change in fabric from the online store would still render a price of $230 less. If La-Z-Boy did not intend to honor their price guarantee which was pointed out to me at the time of purchase, I still contend that it should have been stricken from the contract or stated to me that a change in fabric renders the guarantee void. This, of course, did not occur so I took them at their word and did weekly searches online for this chair and found a match. In choosing from the wide array of fabrics offered, I doubt it would be possible to find the same chair in the same fabric. The fact remains: A Barrett Recliner Rocker is a Barrett Recliner Rocker. That is identical merchandise.

Final Business Response
Dear BBB,

Thank you for the response from Ms. ***********.

Kindest Regards,
La-Z-Boy Incorporated

****** **
Escalation Specialist

02/16/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
(This 3 page letter plus copies of 3 forwarded emails dated 11/11/2014 to Lazy Boy to follow, including 12 pictures)

I purchased a CALVIN rocker/recliner chair on 08/18/2014 from Lazy Boy Furniture Galleries, **************************************** XXXXX. Their email address is ***********@la-z-boy.com, their phone is XXX-XXX-XXXX.

I bought this CALVIN chair to go with one of the same that I previously purchased from the same store. I paid a total of $1190.89; ($1022.99 plus tax and delivery for this one custom order chair.)

The chair was delivered to me on 10/15/2014. Immediately when it was delivered I told the delivery person the chair was defective and unacceptable. I called the ************ store while the delivery man was still at my house, spoke with Tim and told him the condition of the chair. He told me that their Customer Service would handle. The delivery person told me that they load the delivery truck the night before and that probably something was sitting on top of the chair and that could be why the arms looked flat instead of rounded and why it was wrinkled. He said usually after the furniture sits for 24 hours at room temperature the cushion will expand and fill out. It did not.

The customer service sent someone out to look at the chair and take pictures. Their response was that they would reorder the left arm and send someone out to replace the left arm and that is all they would do.

On 10/30/14 I contacted one of the managers, **** ******* at the ************ store and informed her of what they said. **** said the file was at the Escalation Department. **** said she would send the Customer Service/Comfort Care another email stating that I am not satisfied with their decision.

On 11/11/2014 I received a message from ******** @ XXX-XXX-XXXX. She said she understands that I am still unsatisfied but that the chair "meets the manufacturer's specifications"; she also said the looseness is the design of the fabric style and maybe the product specialist can adjust the fabric on the footrest when he comes to replace the left arm. She told me to call to set up an appointment for the product specialist to come to my home to replace the left arm. She told me replacement of the left arm is my only option.

I thought maybe the pictures the product specialist took when he came out to inspect the chair did not come out good enough to show all the flaws, so I took the time to take my own pictures. The pictures clearly show the product does not look like the other chair I bought from them.

I have the chair in my living room along with the chair that I bought in 2009 and my guest said the new chair looked more like it was five years old. It looks smooched and wrinkled. I wanted to refuse delivery of it but that was not a given option.

On 11/14/2014 I sent three emails to **** at the ************ store containing a letter and twelve photos of the chair that I took. Also I sent a copy of the photo of the CALVIN chair from the Lazy Boy Furniture Galleries website. **** forwarded the emails to the Customer Service/Comfort Care.

On 12/04/2014 I received notice from "******." (would not give me her last name) at Lazy Boy Head Quarters, 1284 N Telegraph Rd, Monroe, MI XXXXX, phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX that they reviewed my pictures and they thought the chair met the manufacturers specifications and that they would do nothing more to make adjustments than replace the left arm. They did ship me a replacement for the left arm but the material is gathered and loose and does not look good either, although the cushion on the top of that arm is slightly rounder. (The phone # on my caller ID was XXX-XXX-XXXX). **** said that there is going to be some gathering because of the fabric that is on the chair.

My husband says there's just not enough stuffing in it.

I went back to Lazy Boy Furniture Galleries in ************ where I bought the chair to look again at the Calvin chair that they had as a floor sample but the salesman said it was sold off the floor and that the Calvin chair is discontinued.

They did have a sofa and a different style of chair on the floor that is the exact same fabric and color as mine and none of the arms look like the workmanship of the chair I received. Those arms are more tailored.

I also went to another furniture store and found a sofa and a chair with the exact same fabric and color as mine and the look was also all more tailored and neat.

I feel very insulted that they tell me the chair meets the specifications of the manufacturer.

I really need some intervention here because there is a total lack of respect for me as a consumer. The photos clearly show that the chair is made poorly.

I also saw much cheaper chairs on the floor at the ************ store and they even had better arms than the one they sent me. I've looked around at a lot of furniture and rocker recliners and they just don't look as poorly made as mine, even where I could have bought two chairs for the price I paid for this one chair.

I feel this company has no regard for me as a customer who in good faith I purchased a product that I believed would be worth the money I paid, and be a well made product, but instead all they want to say is some rehearsed quote of "we believe it meets the manufacturer's specifications"

I am forwarding to you the emails that I sent to **** ******* on 11/14/2014. She in turn forwarded these emails to their Customer Service/Comfort Care and their headquarters in Monroe, Michigan.

As a resolution I want them to make some adjustments to the chair which include:

Straightening and tightening the fabric on the sides of the chair;

Add some padding to the arms so that they are more rounded;

Straighten out the fabric on the arms so that the fabric is not so wrinkled or gathered;

Straighten out the fabric on the footrest;

On the front side of the chair, where your back would lay, add some padding so that: it matches the other CALVIN chair I bought from them in 2009 and so that; the one deep wrinkle is not so prominent;

Add some padding to the top of the sides to fill in the two wrinkled areas.

Please let me know if you would like any additional information.

I was told the ticket number with Lazy Boy is XX-XXXXX.

Sincerely,
******* ********

Business Response
Dear BBB,

Thank you for the letter from Ms. ********.

We are the office of the manufacturer here in Monroe, Michigan.

I have researched the customers service ticket and photos.

La-Z-Boy Incorporated will not be servicing the chair or customizing the chair and adding padding in the various areas that the customer has listed.

We will authorize a replacement chair for equal value, up to and including her purchase price of the recliner.

The style is no longer manufactured in our line, so the customer will need to choose a different style.

The customer will be contacted by my office in approximately 1 week to go over the reselection process with her.

Kindest Regards,
La-Z-Boy Incorporated

****** **
Escalation Specialist

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As I previously stated, I bought this chair to go with the same one I already had. I am not interested in a different style chair.

If they are not willing to do the adjustments I requested to the chair then I want them to pay the charges it is going to cost me to have an upholsterer come to my home to make those adjustments in order to make the chair look right.

02/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Couch purchased in Aug 2013 has a patch where color has rubbed off leather. Neither La-z-boy nor the fabric protection guarantee company will cover it
We purchased an almost $3000 leather recliner couch from La-z-boy furniture in August 2013 along with a $179 guaranteed policy on repair of fabric/leather. We called La-z-boy and they told us because it was over 1 year old (it's 1 year and 5 months), they no longer cover any defects and we should call the fabric policy company.
When we called them the first thing they wanted to know was if we had children or pets. Then they wanted to know if it was something that we had noticed just recently but it started a long time ago. We wondered why they were asking such questions so we read the small print in the policy. Where it said any negligence, any fading, any chipping or cracking would not be covered. I said to the woman, right here in your brochure, it says peeling and cracking is covered and she said "no, it doesn't."
When I finally convinced her the pamphlet I had in my hand did indeed say it was covered, she said "it's not our pamphlet." I told her it has your company's name right on the front and peeling and cracking is covered and she said "it's not ours". I asked why anyone would bother to put her company's name on a pamphlet, put it at La-Z-Boy and sell your product? She did not answer that one.
When we purchased the couch, we were told by multiple salespeople that the policy that we bought through La-Z-Boy would cover anything including if your grandchildren cut it with a pair of scissors. I asked would it cover anyone spilling something on the couch and it staining and they said yes, anything you could imagine, this policy would cover.
None of the things mentioned above would it cover as those would all be negligence, small children or pets. About the only thing it seems to cover is they want $179 for it. We have sent pictures for case CM# _XXX-XXXXXX) to La-Z-Boy and are waiting to hear back from them, but so far, the only answers we have gotten from them is "we don't cover that."

Desired Settlement
We are looking to have the seat back replaced or the leather repaired as the policy promised.

Business Response
Dear BBB,

Thank you for the letter fro Ms. *****.

We are the office of the manufacturer of the furniture here in Monroe, Michigan.

We provide a limited 1 year leather parts and labor warranty from the customers date of delivery for manufacturing/material defects.

Ms. ***** purchased an Ultra Shield extended warranty on the leather when she made the purchase of the furniture.

Ultra Shield is a third party warranty and they have a very speicific warranty on what they cover and what they don't cover.

Ms. ***** sent our office photos of the reclining sofa and we see on the left side sitting top of the headrest the finish of the leather is no longer there.

As a 1 time only courtesy, we are ordering a new upholstered left side sitting back and will send it to the customer at no charge. The customer will be able to remove the back that is on the reclining sofa now and install the replacement upholstered back on their own.

The customer should be receiving the upholstered back in approximately 4 to 6 weeks.

Kindest Regards,
La-Z-Boy Incorporated

****** H.
Escalation Specialist

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When we went to the LaZboy dealership (and we have gone several times) we were told by multiple salespeople that the warranty would cover anything that could happen to the couch. We were told that even if our grandchildren would take a pair of scissors to it and cut a hole in it, it would be covered. No one mentioned that it was a third party warranty, they spoke of it as if it were a LaZboy guarantee and we paid $179 for this guaranteed fabric warranty and we came to find out it has more loopholes in it than food sieve.

The point is we paid $179 for a policy that is absolutely worthless.

Final Business Response
Dear BBB,

Thank you for the letter from the customer.

The customer was given the written specifics of the Ultrashield warranty.

Ultrashield is a third party company and the brochure says Ultrashield on it.

The Ultrashield warranty is not worthless if the terms of the warranty are followed.

Kindest Regards,
La-Z-Boy Incorporated

****** **
Escalation Specialist

02/04/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Wear of fabric cushions loosing firmness,color coming off.
We purchased a leather mix sectional from lazy boy in May 2014. We have been having several quality wear issues ever since. It has lost all firmness in cushions,stitching has come off in several areas,and color and material wearing off of couch in areas that are most noticeable. There is only my husband and I here at our home we are 55 and 67 years old. We are definitely not causing excessive wear or abuse on the sectional. We are still paying for this and I am so disappointed. We bought lazy boy because of the name,it used to stand for quality. The sales lady said that it would wear the same as leather,which is what our old couch was. Had we known of all the problems we would have gone elsewhere and bought leather. We have already had three service calls on this item. The foot rest has to be replaced and is on order now because the fabric is coming apart.In April it is going have all cushions restuffed on advice from service man.this is only 6 months old. What do you think it will look like in another six months or year?

Desired Settlement
We want this couch replaced with a leather couch. We were told when we purchased this couch it would wear the same as leather we were bold face lied to.In another six months to year this couch will be garbage.

Business Response
Dear BBB,

Thank you for the letter from Ms. ********.

We are the office of the manufacturer here in Monroe, Michigan.

Please have the customer advise the name and address of the dealership where her purchase was made.

Kindest Regards,
La-Z-Boy Incorporated

****** **
Escalation Specialist

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have contacted the Lazy boy dealership that I bought the sectonal from,I was told by them that they could not help me. I needed to contact the customer service department of lazy boy. I have contacted the local office here in ****** for repairs. A service tech was sent to my home and I was told that I should wait to have the cushions stuffed closer to my buy date that way Lazy boy will cover the cost as it will still be under warranty. I have another six months to go. The color is rubbing off in areas and material is not wearing well. Meanwhile I still make my payments and remain true to my commitment to Lazy Boy.

The store was:
**** Boy Furniture Galleries
**** ** ****** ****
********* ******
(XXX)XXX-XXXX


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The reason I stated "No" is because of my repeated calls to my local Lazy Boy. When I contact the dealership I am told to speak to customer service. I then call customer service who sends out a tech. Then I am told this is normal for this fabric to wear this way. I am then directed to call customer service if I have any more issues. This scenario has been going on now since the purchase of our couch. My concern is after the warranty has expired I am going to be left with a couch that is falling apart and still be making payments. I feel we were misinformed form the start. Like I stated before we would have bought the leather sectional but our saleslady told us this fabric "renew" wears just as well. So I believe we were essentially lied too.

Sincerely,
*********

Final Business Response
Dear BBB,

Thank you for the response from Ms. ********.

The dealerships service department advises they had their technician make another inspection of the sectional on January 30th and the technician finds no manufacturing or material defects with the leather.

Kindest Regards,
La-Z-Boy Incorporated

****** **
Escalation Specialist

Page 1 of 20

Industry Comparison| Chart

Manufacturers & Producers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/26/1986Business started: 01/01/1928
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kim Fraley (Support Representative)Mr. Kurt L. Darrow (President and CEO)Ms Nicolina Galati (Marketing Promotions Specialist)Ms. Kim Long (Accounts Payable)Mr. Robert Monteith (Comfort Care Manager)Ms Kim Roussey (Vpres)
Number of Employees

500

Business Category

Manufacturers & Producers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for La-Z-Boy Inc.

1284 N Telegraph Rd

Monroe, MI 48162-3390

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest and West Central Ohio and Southeast Michigan. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*La-Z-Boy Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (734) 241-2435
  • (734) 241-2650
  • (734) 457-2019
  • (734) 384-4841
  • (734) 242-1741

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (734) 457-2020
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in Northwest Ohio and Southeast Michigan on 7/1/2012, in West Central Ohio on 1/1/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Manufacturers & Producers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.