BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Calphalon Corp.

Find a Location

Phone: (419) 666-8700Fax: (419) 666-0101View Additional Phone NumbersPO Box 583, ToledoOH 43697-0583http://www.calphalon.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Calphalon Corp. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Calphalon Corp.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Calphalon Corp.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
10/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Customer service not responding to emails, never received return shipping label like they said they would send.
I contacted Calphalon support Sep 13, 2014 to ask for replacement of "Calphalon Nonstick 2-Piece Brownie Pan and Baking Sheet Set". The inside lip of the pans rust profusely after washing. The rust from the pans stained my mat and tile grout when I removed the "dishwasher safe" pans from the dishwasher. The rust leaks out from the lip and gets everywhere. I asked the manufacturer to replace the pans with a different model to not deal with this issue again. ******, the support contact, informed me that they can only do a store credit and that I would have to ship the product back. They said in the same email that my return shipping label will be sent shortly after. It is is Sep 30, 2014, I have still not received the return shipping label and I've attempted to contact support since then and no one responds to my emails. I have copies of all emails sent to and from Calphalon support. They are available upon request.

Desired Settlement
I want the return shipping label sent to me so I can ship this back and receive the store credit I was told I would get.

Business Response
I have resent a shipping label to the consumer and offered a refund or gift card for their product. We will refund based on the consumer's preference.

06/09/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I sent a Calphalon skillet to the Calphalon Corp for a replacement that was covered under the company's 10 year warranty. The company has a warranty on their nonstick pans that they will replace any pan that loses its nonstick coating. The pan was sent in and received by the company in February 2014 and the company not replaced the pan. Each time I have called, I have been told that the pan will ship out the following day. It is now 4 months later and i still am waiting on them to replace the pan. I have called the company at least six times.
Product_Or_Service: Calphon Nonstick pans

Desired Settlement
I would like the replacement pan to be sent to me ASAP.

Business Response
A system error had prevented the original order for Mr. ****** from shipping. A new order was placed on 6/5/14, and carrier tracking shows it will be delivered on 6/10/14. We sincerely apologize for the delay in the order.

Consumer Response
I have received the pan and therefore the complaint can be canceled. Thank you.

02/19/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues
02/08/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Warranty replacement of Unison 6 qt saucepan, 8" & 10" frying pans. Cannot reach someone at 800# to initiate return. It disconnects every time I call.
I purchase a Unison 10pc non-stick cookware set ($599.99) PLUS a 6 qt. Unison Sauté pan ($274.99) a few years back at Bed Bath and Beyond. Calphalon states that their cookware has a "full lifetime warranty." The sauté pan and the both the 8" and 10" frying pans both have lost their non-stick ability. They are discolored, and have no non-stick covering left on them. I take extremely good care of my cookware. Although it says that they are dishwasher safe, I have NEVER put them in the dishwasher, and carefully hand wash them with a non-abrasive sponge. Furthermore, I do not use metal utensils.

I have made every possible attempt to contact the company through the proper channels. Their 800# (800-809-7267) brings you to a series of prompts. When you press "8" to speak with a representative, your call is disconnected. Their initial recording, before prompting you to press a number says that returns can now be initiated on their website. NOT TRUE! Yes, you can register your purchase. But there is no option to initiate a return. I tried calling back and pressed another extension and was told I was #71 in line! They gave me the option for a call back, but never did call back.

When a consumer spends nearly $900 on cookware, they at least deserve some sort of customer support. I have all my receipts and would be happy to upload photos to support my claim. I bought their cookware, thinking that they would be a reputable company. Not so! Calphalon needs to stand by their warranty.

Desired Settlement
I would gladly just accept a replacement of the three Unison pans (6qt sauté, 8" and 10" frying pans). And if they are not willing to send me those, then I would happily pack up the entire set and request a refund of the $875 plus tax I've spent.

Business Response
Thank you for taking the time to contact Calphalon. We truly appreciate your interest in our products and apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced with your cookware. Calphalon will replace any item found defective in material or workmanship when put to normal household use and cared for according to the instructions. Minor imperfections, surface markings as a result of shipping, and slight color variations are normal. This excludes damage from misuse or abuse, such as improper cleaning, neglect, accident, alteration, metal utensil use, fire, theft, or use in a commercial establishment.
If the nonstick coating is worn on your cookware, you may send it to us for warranty evaluation and replacement. If the cookware has a cover(s), please keep the cover(s), as this will make shipping easier and less expensive.

The only form of contact we have for the customer is email. We have reached out to ask for the customers mailing address and contact number for full resolution. Upon approved inspection, we will replace any item that has material or workmanship errors under the warranty policy.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It took having to contact the BBB before getting any sort of response from Calphalon. Yes, I did receive an email with a shipping label to send the items back. But am I supposed to live without cookware during the weeks it takes them for "warranty determination?"

In the time it took to receive a response from Calphalon, I happened to be at Bed Bath & Beyond, looking into purchasing new cookware altogether. In speaking with a sales associate, I learned that the Unison line has been discontinued, and that they had a lot of returns on them. (No surprise there.) The sales associate told me that Bed Bath & Beyond stands behind everything they sell, and if I had the original receipts - which I do - that they would immediately refund me, and they will return the product to Calphalon.

Kudos to Bed Bath & Beyond for their great customer service. And shame on Calphalon for treating consumers the way they do, and not responding to them until a public complaint is made through the BBB! To state that they had no other means to contact me, other than through my email address that the BBB provided them with, is a complete lie. If they look through their records of phone calls that were supposed to be returned, emails that I've sent them, and online requests I've made, they would find plenty of options on how to contact me, as I provided my phone number, address and email address in all those cases. In addition to redesigning their faulty Unison line, they should consider redesigning their consumer relations department.

Luckily, consumers have the platform of the Better Business Bureau to voice their complaints and have them mediated. I appreciate your help.

04/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have two pans that are about three years old. The exterior finish is disappearing. These black pans now have white irregular "stripes".
On one of the pans, I thought I would clean it vigorously to remove what I thought was soap residue from my dishwasher. Parts of the pan then showed through as metal "in color". I emailed the manufacturer and I was told that unless the pan had "dishwasher safe" marked on the bottom, it should be washed by hand. I received a two skillet set as a gift a few weeks ago and I had not removed the packaging. Nowhere can I find ANY reference regarding how to wash the pans. I believe it would be appropriate for the manufacturer to stamp "hand wash only with mild soap" on their pans. I was told to send the pans to them and they would determine if I could ask for a refund. Of course, they know I have been washing the pans in my dishwasher so I am sure that mailing the pans to them would be silly as I would be out the postage and they would say that I had misused the pans. These pans are more expensive than many.

Desired Settlement
I believe the manufacturer should replace the pans. Frankly, if I knew a pan could not be
put into the dishwasher, I would not purchase it!

Business Response
The consumer was sent warranty and cleaning instructions on 3/18/15 after she explained that her cookware had been regularly washed in the dishwasher. She confirmed that her cookware is not marked as dishwasher safe, thus voiding the product warranty. On 3/19/15 we offered to replace one of her two pans as a courtesy and gave instructions and the address on how to receive the replacement. We have not yet received the cookware back as of 4/7/15.
Use and care instructions are typically marked on the packaging of the product or on an insert inside the box, as well as on the calphalon.com website. It is the industry standard to mark cookware as dishwasher safe as the indication for cleaning rather than marking it as hand wash.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I mailed the pan to the business at a cost of $15.
When I receive the replacement pan, I guess I will have to accept this situation. However, there should be a better way to resolve these situations rather than my having to pack and mail a big pan. Surely a retail center could have taken the damaged pan and replaced it.

Final Business Response
The warranty does state that the cost of returning the product to Calphalon is up to the consumer. Retailers are not obligated to handle replacements and all warranty claims should be directed to Calphalon directly. As a one-time courtesy we can refund the shipping cost with a receipt. An email has been sent to the consumer on 4/9/15 so they may reply with a copy of the receipt.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Manufacturers & Producers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1964Business started: 01/01/1945
Business Management
Principal: Mr. Diounte Gibson (Manager, Consumer Care North America)Mr. Steve Sampson (Plant Manager)
Contact Information
Ms. Cindy Kitz (Human Resource Manager)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Manufacturers & Producers

Alternate Business Names
Commercial Aluminum Cookware Co., Newell Rubbermaid
LocationsX

2 Locations

  • Third & D Street 

    Perrysburg, OH 43551(419) 666-8700

  • PO Box 583 

    Toledo, OH 43697-0583(800) 434-4314
    (419) 662-2207

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest and West Central Ohio and Southeast Michigan. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Calphalon Corp. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 434-4314
  • (419) 662-2207

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (419) 666-2859
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in Northwest Ohio and Southeast Michigan on 7/1/2012, in West Central Ohio on 1/1/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Manufacturers & Producers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.