BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 04/24/2013

Pierce Medical Products Inc.

Phone: (734) 854-7864Fax: (734) 854-2418

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
10/31/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Here is a copy of a recent letter sent to ****** Medical. It sums up my complaint.Pierce Medical Products, Inc.X-XX-XXXXXXXX ***** **************** ** XXXXXTo Whom It May Concern:I have been trying to close my account with you since X-XX-XXXX over the phone. I was told that you would be in touch with me in a day or two to make arrangements to have the equipment picked up. As of today, you have not called. I have called you twice since then and am getting nowhere. Calling doesn't seem to be working. Today I received account information from my insurance company that you have billed them again.I want this account to show that it was closed the first time I called on X-XX-XXXX and I want you to come and pick up the equipment that I am getting billed for. If I had known that our insurance wasnt paying for this I would have closed this account months ago. I didnt receive a bill from you until late last month. I can't afford it and I don't use it. I still have the original two cylinders of oxygen I got from ******* *********** I have never used them. Since the first day neither you nor ******* ********** have checked to see if I needed any assistance or anything refilled or replaced. Now you want a bundle. A copy of this is going to the BBB. Please make arrangements to have the equipment picked up after 5:00PM.any week day call ahead to be sure someone is home. ****** ************************. XXXXXX-XXX-XXX-XXXX
Product_Or_Service: oxygen equipment (rental)
Account_Number: invoice number: 8814

Desired Settlement
I received no customer service or care. I received no billings for service from the beginning-March, 2013 until late last month- 8-29-2013. I assumed my insurance was paying for the equipment. I received a bill for over $800.00 and it continues to grow because they will not return my calls. Had I been billed when this started, I would have made other arrangements. I want them to pick up their equipment and only bill me for March, 2013.

Business Response
Dear *****

There are several issues to touch on in response to Mr. *****'s complaint.

Lets first start with how ****** came about providing service to Mr. *****. There was another DME ******* ********** that was going out of business, ****** purchased equipment packages from ******* *********** of which; Mr. ***** had a oxygen equipment package. ******* ********** patients were mailed letters giving them the option to find another provider or maintain their equipment with ******. Please find attached a copy of Mr. *****'s letter.

After ****** received Mr. *****'s letter agreeing to maintain ****** as his oxygen provider there are several steps that we had to complete prior to us being able to bill Mr. *****'s insurance for his oxygen. We had to verify his insurance benefits and eligibility, which is not a guarantee of payment, verify first and last date billed for by ******* *********** obtain from his physician qualifying blood gas testing in addition to a current signed certificate of medical necessity, all of which takes
time.

In a review of Mr. *****'s file on X-XX-XX it was revealed that to date ****** had not received payment nor an explanation of benefits from Mr. *****'s insurance ****** ***** It was at that time ****** was informed by ****** that they do not send the DME an explanation of benefits but instead they send them to the subscriber being Mr. *****. Please find attached duplicate copies of explanation of benefits dated 6-17-13, X-XX-XX and X-XX-XX that ****** obtained from ****** which were sent to Mr. ***** explaining allowed charges, that they were applied to his deductible and are his responsibility. It was when ****** received these duplicate copies that we were able to create an invoice for Mr. *****.

****** did receive a request from Mr. ***** for the pickup of his oxygen equipment his request was to have the equipment to be picked up after 5:00 P.M. which special arrangements were going to have to be made as our regular working hours are 8:30 A.M. - 5:00 P.M. The other issue which needed addressed is that oxygen is a prescribed drug and has to be discontinued by his physician which to date we do not have putting ****** at a liability since the equipment has been picked up.

Mr. ***** did call ****** after hours on X-XX-XX and a return call was made at 9:00 A.M. on X-XX-XX please see the attached call log from our service.

Due to Mr. *****'s letter dated X-XX-XX please see attached we did opt to have the oxygen equipment picked up on X-XX-XX with a notation to have the billing end 9-9-13 please see attached packing/delivery slip. At the time of pickup we were going to have Mr. ***** sign an against medicai advice form, Mr. ***** was not home at the time of pickup and his wife refused to sign any of our paperwork. We mailed copies of the paperwork to Mr. ***** along with a self addressed stamped envelope for Mr. ***** to return the signed paperwork to date we have not received the paperwork exposing ****** if something were to happen to Mr. ***** due to nonuse of the oxygen.
If there is any additional information or clarification you may need please feel free to contact me.

With regards,
******* ******* ***
10-2-13


Final Consumer Response
To Whom It May Concern:

I am writing you concerning my account. As you know, I have contacted the BBB about my account with you. I do not have an issue with you taking over my account from ******* *********** My issue is the total lack of customer service and communication from your company. When I first got my oxygen equipment from ******* *********** I asked about what it would cost. They told me that since I had insurance not to worry about it. I never received any kind of bill from them. After I picked up my equipment from them, the only thing I heard from them was the letter informing me that Pierce Medical Products were taking over as of March 1, 2013.

Since we didn't receive any billing from you, I assumed that insurance was covering the cost of the equipment. I never heard anything from you until the end of August, 2013 via a bill for $833.52. Not once did you contact me to see if the equipment was functioning correctly, tanks were empty, if I needed new tubing etc. Had you contacted me in March, 2013 when ******* ********** said you were taking over and informed me what the costs were going to be, I would
have stopped your services then. I never used the two oxygen tanks during the entire time they were in my possession but was charged for,them. During this past summer, I rarely used the concentrator and didn't use it at all during August due to a change in my medication from my doctor. Again, had I been informed of the cost from the beginning, I would have made other arrangements.

As you know, l called you when I received the above mentioned bill and asked that your services be cancelled immediately. Eventually arrangements were made to pick up the equipment since the Angola, Indiana office where I received the equipment had been closed. There was never any mention of a charge to pick up the equipment. When your pick-up person arrived, which we didn't know he was coming because he called in the middle of the day when no one was home, he handed my wife two papers to sign. Since I was not yet home, she did not feel comfortable signing them especially since one of them was for a bill we had not been informed about. The driver would not leave the papers here for me to look over and send back to you with some flimsy excuse about sending them to us so an envelope could be Included. That just didn't seem right. As you also know, I have not signed those papers nor do I intend to

We have not received a new billing from you. Please take all the information I put in this letter into consideration and send me a new complete bill. Then I will make arrangements for payment.


Final Business Response
This is in response to Mr. ***** consumer rebuttals dated 10-10-13 and 10-21¬13. In the 10-10-13 rebuttal Mr. ***** indicated that he did not sign to agree to allow ****** Medical Products Inc. to take over his account. This was addressed in ******'s original response to Mr. *****'s complaint and in Mr. *****'s 10-17-13 he indicated that he indeed did sign the paperwork allowing ****** to take over his account and in his 10-18-13 rebuttal Mr. ***** stated that he did not have an issue with ****** taking over his account.
In response to Mr. *****'s complaint of timely invoicing ****** explained in our original response the lengthy and tedious process involved in completing and submitting a claim to the patients insurance.

In response to Mr. *****'s complaint of insurance covering the cost of the equipment, as indicated in Pierre's original response Mr. ***** was informed of his patient responsibility by his insurance even before ****** was via his explanation of benefits. It is extremely rare in this day and age that anyone has 100% medical benefit coverage, there most always seems to be deductibles and or co-pays involved.
In response to Mr. *****'s complaint of his insurance continuing to be billed for service, this is due to Mr. *****'s failure to sign and return to ****** the packing! delivery slip for the pickup of the equipment which indicates to stop billing for the equipment as of 09-09-13. Once ****** receives this paperwork signed and dated by Mr. ***** we can forward the paperwork to our billing company for the billing to cease retroactive.

The paperwork our service tech had with him at the time of pickup of the equipment was the packing/delivery slip not an invoice and the against medical advice form. I am sorry Mr. ***** feels it is a flimsy excuse that the service tech was taking the paperwork back so that we could mail it to his with a stamped self addressed envelope however we do this as a convenience for the patient.

When ****** receives the proper signed and dated paperwork from Mr. ***** so that billing can cease we will at that time be more than happy to evaluate Mr. *****'s billing for any possible billing adjustments.

Finally in response to Mr. *****'s complaint of lack of service, per the guidelines by the manufacturer of the oxygen concentrator Mr. ***** had the unit needs to be serviced biannually, during the period of time Mr. ***** had the concentrator with Peirce it was not due for service thus we would not do anything with the
concentrator unless it became defective. It is industry standard for the patient to call the supplier when they run low on full oxygen cylinders so that the supplier can make arrangements to delivery additional cylinders. In the case of Mr. ***** he has indicated that he was not using the concentrator or the cylinders thus his feeling of lack of service there was no need to deliver additional cylinders and or supplies.

In closing:

It is the hope of Pierce Medical Products Inc. that Mr. ***** signs and dates the pickup paperwork (packing/delivery slip) along with the against medical advice form, so that we can get the billing to cease and review the billing in an attempt to come to a conclusion which is a happy median for all involved.


******* ******* ***
Operations Manager
10-25-13

03/18/2013Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Hospital & Medical Equipment & Supplies, Oxygen Therapy Equipment, Medical Equipment & Supplies, Wheel Chairs, Diabetes Services & Supplies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.