BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/03/1998

AIR-EEZ Comfort Systems, LLC

Phone: (419) 332-8904Fax: (419) 334-4376View Additional Phone Numbers901 N. 5th Street, FremontOH 43420

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/03/1998

BBB has determined that AIR-EEZ Comfort Systems, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised AIR-EEZ Comfort Systems, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on AIR-EEZ Comfort Systems, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
11/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company failed to honor the quoted price for a furnace gas valve replacement.
Referencing furnace repairs, Make: Air Ease, Model: GIN80AR075D12A-1A, Serial#: 1601LXXXXX. Owner, ******************************************* XXXXX, my 87 year old grandmother.

On XX-XX-XX Air-Eez was called to service the furnace because of no heat. The technician determined the gas valve was at fault and was given a written quote for an installed price of $420.00 to $450.00 for the repair. For this service he submitted work order #XXXXX for $219.00 which Mrs.***** paid by personal check.

On XX-XX-XX Air-Eez sent two technicians, each at different times, to Mrs.*****'s home, they determined the furnaces' circuit board was also defective and that part would be ordered. No written estimate was given. This service was documented on work order #XXXXX, no charges were submitted.

On XX-XX-XX Air-Eez sent one technician who replaced the gas valve and circuit board. He submitted work order #XXXXX for payment, Mrs.***** was charged $318.00 for the circuit board and $566.00 for the gas valve. She paid by personal check and asked that the replaced parts be left with her. The technician took the parts when he left.

Desired Settlement
Mrs.**** is requesting a refund of $116.00, the difference between the actual and quoted gas valve price and return of the removed parts.

Business Response
In response: 10/21/13 Invoice #XXXXX Mrs **** called for service. Troubleshoot upon calling Mfg Tech Support our technician was instructed to change the gas valve. Part Ordered. Customer billed $219.
10/22/13 Invoice#XXXXX Changed gas valve & furnace still had problems. Called Mfg Tech Support they suggested that the circuit board may be bad. Ordered part. Left electric space heaters for customer. Cust billed $0 (no charge)
10/23/13 Invoice#XXXXX Installed circuit board per Mfg Tech Support. Furnace still not working correctly. Mfg Tech Support recommended to replaced both board & gas valve. Cust billed $0. Will return with gas valve.
10/24/13 Invoice #XXXXX Installed both gas valve & circuit board and furnace working correctly. Cust billed $566 for installation of gas valve & $318 for circuit board. This included parts & labor.
What Mr ****** failed to state is that the original price quoted to Mrs **** to replace circuit board was $382.50 however upon purchasing the board it was $64.50 less. So we charged her an installed price of $318. On 10/22/13 @ 11:30am **** ****** called Mrs **** and quoted her $566 for the gas valve installation since it was different than the original quote.
10/30/13 @ 11:15a Mr ****** came into AIR-EEZ and ask me (****) to explain 3 of the 4 invoices. Which I did. Upon leaving the office, he stated that "Now it makes sense to me, but I'm just looking out for my Grandma you know. Thanks a lot for explaining it to me."

Mrs **** was not charged any overtime costs even though all service calls were afterhours. 2 of which were not billed at all.
I might note that if parts are not under warranty, they are disposed of. So we do not have the parts that were replaced.

01/16/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Excessive amount of labor for very routine minor repairs. When I called for a breakdown of the labor charges, the owner told me he could not do that.
I have used Air-Eez services for years and have always been very satisfied and felt I was charged reasonably and fairly. However, on Tuesday, December 30th, I had Air-Eez come to my home for some very minor routine repairs. I was at work at the time, but three other family members were there. I had my furnace filter changed, a bathroom and kitchen faucet replaced, a light ballast replaced and a toilet flusher lever replaced. I am very satisfied with the work that was done. There were no complications with any of the jobs. I was very surprised to get my bill and see that I was charged 7.5 hours of labor for these minor repairs. I have had many of these things done by Air-Eez many times in the past and I know they can do them very quickly. As I stated earlier, there were three people at home during these repairs and they told me that there was one guy in the bathroom for 4 hours installing a faucet and the flusher lever. This seems like a very excessive amount of time for a professional plumber and also based on my previous experience with Air-Eez. I was even more disappointed when I called and spoke to the owner to get an explanation and breakdown of the labor time and was told he could not do that. When I told him about one guy being in the bathroom all that time doing those small jobs, he told me "well you weren't there." Well, this is true, but I do believe what I was told by my family and his bill certainly confirms that as well, and much more unexplained time. The owner told me I was billed for the amount of time his guys were at my home. I do not dispute that at all, but what I want to know is the amount of time it took them to do each of these small jobs. He would not do that for me. I really can't believe that he didn't work with me more on this and at least give me the breakdown for each repair as I asked for. It is a shame that after such a long time of having Air-Eez come to my home I now have to look for a new plumbing and heating company. I will start asking around for recommendations and look on internet recommendation companies as well this time. I will no longer recommend Air-Eez as I have done so many times in the past.

Desired Settlement
I want to be charged fairly for the jobs I had done and would like a breakdown of the labor I was charged. I believe the labor is excessive.

Business Response
This is the response to Ms **** after our conversation-As you can see, when this job was scheduled there were only 3 items requested. However, when we arrived, there were 3 other jobs that were requested:
Also, I **** like to send a copy of the invoice for BBB to review.

***** ****
******************
Fremont, OH XXXXX

January 2, 2015


Dear Ms ****,

These are the technicians notes that we need to share with you:

Upon receiving the work order for the requested service, there were only 3 items that were listed on the work order for repair. Upon arrival, the customer had 3 more items that were in need of repair for a total of 6. The plastic toilet handle was defective, we replaced with a new metal tank lever. We diagnosed kitchen faucet seals were bad. Faucet was leaking from 3 different areas. Customer decided to go with a new faucet. Troubleshoot kitchen light, found ballast bad. Talked to customer about caulking bathroom vanity. Customer wanted to go with bone/almond color to match countertop. Picked up materials, ballast, faucet & caulk. I (****), was replacing the bathroom faucet (customer supplied) while the other technician (***) was picking up materials. We replaced the kitchen faucet, ballast & replaced filter on furnace in crawl space. Showed customer the color of the caulk before I started. Customer had second thoughts on the color of caulk & decided to go with white instead. Ran to pick up a tube of white waterproof caulk. Tested all fixtures. No leaks & verified proper operation.


I believe that the work performed, was done in a timely and professional manor. Since you were not at the location at the time the work was done, I don't think that you have the ability to judge if the work was done "slow". We had a full service day scheduled, but we still took care of your requests. Even though there was more work than what we had set aside for you on the schedule.

Sincerely,

***** E ******
President
AIR-EEZ Comfort Systems, LLC



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In response to the letter from Air-Eez dated 1/2/15. This is not the information I am requesting. I am well aware of the work that was done and I have no complaints whatsoever regarding the work completed. I have always been very satisfied with the work I have received. I called to question the amount of time I was billed for and asked for a breakdown of that time. Since I have been a regular customer for seven years and have had these exact same or very similar jobs done by Air-Eez in the past, I was very surprised by the amount of labor I was billed for. It is true that since I made the appointment, I did have a couple of other minor things break and asked if it was possible to have them looked at as well and I certainly expected to pay the additional labor. That is not the issue at all. Based on the description of the work that was done in the letter I received, there were no complications with any of the things done that would make them take longer than other times in the past. I was not home at the time and that is exactly why I requested information regarding the labor. I am basing my opinion as "slow" on my past experiences with Air-Eez. For example, on 12/2/11, work order #XXXXX, I had a kitchen faucet installed, 2 electric outlets installed and my garbage disposal had actually fallen out and needed to be re-installed, for these three repairs, the technician was there 1.5 hours. This time I had two faucets installed, a light ballast replaced and the toilet flusher lever replaced, so I would expect it to take maybe twice as long or around 3 hours. I know the furnace filter does not take very long based on work order #XXXXX, dated 1/20/14, when I had both my whole home water filter and furnace filter changed and it took the technician 30 minutes. Based on that, the furnace filter alone probably takes about 15 minutes. So far, I come up with about 3 hours and 15 minutes. I know the technician needed to go to the supplier to pick up the kitchen faucet and ballast, so I would think that would take an additional 45 minutes to 1 hour at the most. So, I have now come up with approximately 4 hours. Since I was charged for 7.5 hours of labor, I guess my question is, does it really take 3.5 hours to caulk across the top of my bathroom vanity?

Final Business Response
In response to Ms ****: We had 2 men on the job. Since both technicians are paid to work, we charged for 2 technicians. Hence, getting the job done in half of the time. 3.25 hrs per man. Also, our labor rate has changed since 2011. I might add that we did much more that "caulk across the top of my bathroom vanity". Our techs were working separately on the multiple jobs that were requested. When Ms **** called for service, she was told it would be T&M (time & materials).
I have emailed the BBB a copy of the invoice so that you can see the work that was done, with the labor times.
In the future, we will get a materials list prior to going to the jobsite. However, if something is added midstream and the customer can not make a decision as to what they want, they will be charged accordingly. Such as we did with this call.

I also might add that we had to run to the supplier to pick up the faucet. The original complaint was that the faucet leaked. It was recommended to replace the faucet. The customer then added the repair for the light ballast and then wanting the sink caulked. Of which the lady at the home didn't did not like the "almond" that she thought she wanted. So we had to go to the supplier again to get the white that she wanted.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have asked repeatedly and Air-Eez is not willing to give me a breakdown or even an estimate of the 7.5 hours of labor I was charged. I want to know how much time it took for each of the minor repairs I had done. Air-Eez is not willing to give me that information. I believe I was charged an excessive amount of labor.

02/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unprofessional company overcharging customers and possibly causing furnace to need to be replaced. Personel very disrespectful and immature.
On January 8, 2014, our furnace stopped working so we contacted AIR EEZ on 5th Street in Fremont Ohio. They sent one of their technician out, what we thought, to properly inspect our furnace and inform us what the problem was and possibly to fix it.
The technician came in pulled the whole blower fan out, told us it was dirty and that it needed to be cleaned in order for the motor to run smoothly. He then told us that the belt on the motor needed to be replaced. He drove to his shop got a belt tried to put it on our motor, when that did not work he then told us we needed a new motor. We were charged $234.00 for the visit. Was our problem a dirty blower fan, was it really the belt or did we really need a new motor? Did this technician know what he was doing or even looking for?
I immediately emailed AIR EEZ telling them that I believed we were over charged and that I had heard other people tell us that they overcharge their customers. The woman we originally talked to called me about my email and tried to explain why they charge what they charge. I could tell she was a little upset that I had voiced my opinion. Her explanation would have justified the billing of $234.00 if a decent inspection was done.
She asked if we still wanted to order the motor which would cost $370.00 plus $13.00 for a belt. I told her yes because our furnace still wasn't running right and we needed heat. I asked her if she could please call me when the motor came in so we could set up a time to have the technician come over and install the parts and she said yes. She told me the motor should be in the next day on January 9th.
On January 9th as I am on my way home for my lunch hour I receive a call from the AIR EEZ woman telling me that a technician was on his way to my home and would be there any minute. I asked her why she didn't call me to inform me the parts were in like we had agreed. She instantly got an attitude and tried to tell me she didn't agree to anything, when I tried to talk to her about it she kept talking over me and pretending to agree with me to get me to stop talking. I have never dealt with someone who calls themselves professional when they acted so unprofessionally and very immature.
Once I got home the technician was at my door. He came in, installed the motor and left. The next evening around midnight the motor stopped again and my husband went down and noticed the blower fan was never cleaned. The technician was the one who told us the motor runs smoothly when the blower fan is cleaned. Why would he put a brand new motor in when he knew the blower fan was still dirty. When my husband came home he called me at work asking me if I knew why the furnace wasn't blowing any heat. I told him to call and see if we have to wait awhile for the new motor to get going or why it wasn't working properly. He called AIR EEZ back and again talked to this woman. She treated him like he was a child asking him if he knew how to check his furnace. My husband tried to stay calm and told her it wasn't working and that they needed to get someone out to our house and get it fixed. They sent a different technician out which I am glad they did because the new technician told us the motor parts were put in backwards. After fixing this problem we notice our furnace was making a howling sound and when it would start up it would run for a while then shut down and immediately try to start up again but then would shut back down. My husband called AIR EEZ once again and spoke to a gentleman this time, he told us that the furnace was fine that it was set on high and when it starts and stops the way it is that, that is just the motor overheating and cooling itself down.
Our furnace stopped again on January 25. We had someone else come and look at it and they told us that the howling was probably from the barrings which could have been replaced and that the Exhaust Draft Inducers had overheated and cannot be fixed. We had to replace our furnace.

Desired Settlement
No one should have to deal with a company as unprofessional as AIR EEZ in Fremont Ohio. The woman we had to deal with was very disrespectful and immature. We paid $234.00 for a poor inspection that could have saved us some money and made them some and paid $383.00 for a motor that we could only use for 2 weeks because our whole furnace had to be replaced.
In my opinion if AIR EEZ would have listened to us and did a proper inspection we would have never had to replace our furnace. It would be noble of AIR EEZ to refund us some, if not all of our money. At least buy the motor back. After dealing with them first hand, I really don't expect them to do anything.

Business Response
On 1/7/14 Mr ***** (new cust)called our emergency number approx. 10pm.He said that he had problems with his furnace & that he had tried numerous attempts but couldn't figure it out.When he was told that we could get someone out right away, he said he'd be fine until morning since it was overtime @$129. We sent our tech 815am 1/8/14 to find a 20+ year old furnace. There are currently no OEM parts avail for this 20+ old Olsen furnace. However, our tech attempted to replace the belt (due to being worn)but the new belt would not work on the old motor (due to motor going bad). He checked to see if we may have a motor that would work at the shop, but we did not. When customer was quoted a new motor/belt she was also told that this would be an installed price. This is common practice when a quote is given. However, she was also advised that the furnace is 20+yrs old and asked if she wanted to put this kind of money into this old of a furnace. She said that she wanted us to order the motor-1/8/14 charges were $99 diagnostic/travel, extra labor $135. Later that evening 5:59pm, we received a very nasty "complaint" email that she would never recommend AIR-EEZ to anyone since we "overcharge" (have copy). Immediately, we called her to discuss, she had misunderstood and thought the quoted price was without labor & that additional charges would apply. We explained this was not the case, that the quote included labor-quote $383 installed. She said that she was going to have us get the motor & have her husband and his friend install it. I explained that we do not sell retail.We confirmed that she wanted us to still order the motor. 1/9/XX X:XXpm we called Mrs ***** to let her know that our tech was on his way. She "gasp" & said I thought you were going to call first. This is what I was doing, calling. We arrived @ 1:17pm replaced motor. We received a call 1/9/14 to tell us that it didn't seem to be heating properly. We returned to check and correct any problem that was occurring. The draft inducer that Mrs ***** is speaking of was working perfectly fine while we were there both times. As for immature, unprofessional, disrespectful, maybe words used because the customer didn't want to listen to what we were trying to tell her. Both telephones were cell phones apparently with delayed response times.As for our charges, everyone is competitive in our area. But when you have a new customer that could not get a hold of her regular contractor, they are most likely already upset. We have been in business longer than any contractor in our area, not to mention the largest. We pride ourselves in Service & 24/7/365. No other company in our area takes care of customers the way that we do. Even if it is someone else's customer.
As for returning money back to them, NO! We asked them because of the age of the furnace, are you sure that you want to put money into this old furnace, they didn't have the money for a new furnace. Furthermore, if they did want to go with a new furnace even after repairing their old one we would have given them total credit towards a new furnace.

11/24/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Water Heaters - Dealers, Plumbers, Electricians, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/29/1998Business started: 01/01/1992
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Wagner (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Sara Wagner (Vice President)
Number of Employees

7

Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Water Heaters - Dealers, Plumbers, Electricians, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for AIR-EEZ Comfort Systems, LLC

901 N. 5th Street

Fremont, OH 43420

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 901 N. 5th Street 

    Fremont, OH 43420(419) 332-8904

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest and West Central Ohio and Southeast Michigan. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*AIR-EEZ Comfort Systems, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 594-4003
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in Northwest Ohio and Southeast Michigan on 7/1/2012, in West Central Ohio on 1/1/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.