BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northwest and West Central Ohio and Southeast Michigan

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/09/2013

Amerigas

Find a Location

Phone: (800) 345-5049Fax: (419) 865-1330View Additional Phone Numbers10501 Airport Hwy, SwantonOH 43558

0TRUSTS
0 People Trust Amerigas

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/09/2013

BBB has determined that Amerigas meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Amerigas' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Amerigas
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
03/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Inappropriate behavior by customer service personnel

Complaint: The receptionist that answered my wife's phone call insulted my wife and was very demeaning to her.
My wife called to express a concern with a possible leak or malfunction with our tank. While on the phone with the receptionist, they told her she did not know how to read the gauge (despite her informing them that I have worked with building propane tanks in the past). They alluded to her being stupid, and talked to her in a very demeaning manner.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******* District Mgr
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@amerigas.com
I have reached out to **** 3 times and have left my phone number to call me back. I pulled the call between ***** wife and CRR ********** and non of the below about a leak or being able to see was ever communicated. This is a will call customer trying to expedite a delivery with out having to pay fees. In the end we did deliver yesterday and waived all fees. I consider this slander against AmeriGas as non of the below was ever stated in the phone conversation.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

06/18/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: I am not an Amerigas customer but they are trying to charge me for over $700 in gas.
I left Amerigas early in 2011. I paid off Amerigas when I left. Now they are trying to charge me over $700 for 2 deliveries from 2012 that they never delivered to my house. It is not mine! I have emailed them and received an answer that they will look into it. It has been a month and a half and they have not touched it. In the meantime I have received another invoice. I want them to clear my record immediately. I owe them NOTHING!!!!

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Dist manager
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ************@amerigas.com
The issue has been resoved and the account has been credited to full satidfaction

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

01/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ON SEPTEMBER 14, 2012 @ 2:40 I CALLED AMERIGAS AND SPOKE WITH A PERSON NAME *******. IN THAT CONVERSATION WE DISCUSSED HAVING THE CAGES AND PROPANE CYLINDERS PICKED UP, AS WELL AS A CREDIT WE WERE TO RECEIVE FOR 1 LEAKING CYLINDER THAT PREVIOSLY PICKED UP. AFTER IT WAS CLEAR THAT OUR COMPANY WOULD DEFINATELY GET A REFUND FOR ANY UNUSED PRODUCT, WE SET UP A DATE FOR PICK UP. ON SEPTEMBER 18,2012 THE CYLIDERS AND CAGES WERE COUNTED AND PICKED UP. WE HAD RETURNED 9 FULL CYLINDERS AND 26 EMPTY CYLINDERS. WITHIN A WEEK OR SO WE RECEIVED A BILL! I CALLED AND SPOKE TO ******* AND ASKED HER WHAT THIS WAS ABOUT AND SHE TOLD ME HER BOSS ************ SAID WE COULD NOT HAVE ANY MONIES DUE BACK TO US. I ALSO SPOKE WITH ************ AND HE TOLD ME "I WAS OUT OF LUCK". IF I DID NOT BELIEVE WE WERE GETTING A REFUND BACK I SIMPLEY WOULD HAVE WAITED UNTIL WE USED THE REST OF THE PRODUCT. THE LEAKING CYLINDER THAT WAS PICKED UP BY AMERIGAS PRIOR TO THIS INCIDENT WAS ALSO PROMISED AS A REFUND WHICH HAS NOT HAPPENED TO MY KNOWLEDGE.
Product_Or_Service: PROPANE CYLINDERS
Order_Number: XXXXXXXX
Account_Number: NONE

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title:*************
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@amerigas.com
The was an ACE cylinder exchange account, per the contract agreement we do not refund ACE cylinders upon removal. At no time did we communicate any type of refund.We did however advise the customer they could keep the tanks and cage until they sold off the product, they elected not to do this.

Complaint Resolution: Company offered a partial (less than 100%) settlement which the consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

12/04/2012Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Amerigas put me on a budget and it was set up in Swanton. I started out at $90 per month and then they increased it to $147 per month. I contacted them and told them I can't pay that since I am on a fixed income, so they agreed to go back to $90. Their financial office did not know of the agreement, so they sent me invoices telling me I am behind. No one seemed able to fix this problem so in December 2011 they invoiced me for over $300 and would not fill my tank until I paid them. I had no idea I had to pay off a tank I had delivered in May and it was to be paid off by July 1, 2011. I never received any invoices from them for the months of June, July, August & September, so I did not know it had to be paid off. In March I terminated the service and had to pay them a $150 termination fee. I was charged a fee for being on budget, fee for tank rental, termination fee and now I have to pay almost $40 for them to pick up their tanks. If I don't pay, I am sure they will charge me late fees.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

02/11/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my tank filled with 260 gallons on Jan. X XXXX. That put my tank from 1% to 80%. No leak test done by the driver because he said we had 1% in the tank. My house is a new construction less then 10 years old and the only thing that uses propane is the furnace and we keep that at 66-67 degrees. The tank was fill around 4pm that day and when I got home around 1am it was down to 70% and in less then 3 weeks we were down to 40%. So I lost 40% or 130 gallons in propane in three weeks. Which of course I was shock. I called the local office and they tell me this is normal because of the cold weather. They looked up my pass ******* use of propane and found out that I use on average of 90 gallons of month and I just lost 130 gallons in three weeks. So they came out last week Jan. 27 and did a leak test and of course they said it was not leaking. Which I did not think they would even say it was even if they found a leak do to the amount of propane I lost. But as it turn out since they came out to check my propane it has only gone down from 40% to 35% in one week time and this was the week we had two on the coldest days of the year. A confused and concern customer.
Product_Or_Service: Propane

Initial Business Response
I talked to them on 2/6 and placed a fuel order for them, he said they were at 30%. I didn't talk to him about usage though. We did waive half the expedite fee for them in Jan as well because they were mad that did not deliver within the exact 24 hour timeframe.There are no leaks in the system, folks are just having a hard time dealing with more usage this year due to the cold weather.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Gas - Propane

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/05/2012Business started: 03/30/1980
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike McCurdy (District Manager)
Number of Employees

12

Business Category

Gas - Propane

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Amerigas

10501 Airport Hwy

Swanton, OH 43558

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 10501 Airport Hwy 

    Swanton, OH 43558(419) 467-7821

  • PO BOX 238 

    SWANTON, OH 43558

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest and West Central Ohio and Southeast Michigan. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Amerigas is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (419) 467-7821
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in Northwest Ohio and Southeast Michigan on 7/1/2012, in West Central Ohio on 1/1/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Gas - Propane

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.