BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northwest and West Central Ohio and Southeast Michigan

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/31/2013

Art Van Furniture

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues2
Problems with Product / Service7
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints10

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)BBB Closure Definitions
06/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: Purchased a Daybed and wall art placed a deposit on 4/29 ask if they would hold a check due to bank is out of state and had to transfer funds they stated they would hold till May 1st. Cash check next day when I called they told me it was not policy to hold check. I then ask why they told me it was okay and Manager *** told me they never told me that. I cancelled my order and she said I would be refunded in 10 day. Called 1877 939 5373 which was to main office in Detroit to make compliant on May 14. Today is May 21 and still have not received my refund.

Initial Business Response
We are in receipt of your email dated 05/27/2014, which outlines concerns raised with your office by our guest, ***** *****.

We sincerely regret the miscommunication with Ms. ***** in regards to the purchase of her daybed. We have processed her request and her $255.08 deposit has been mailed to her.

We remain available for further comment at your convenience.

Sincerely,

ART VAN FURNITURE

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

06/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of repair

Complaint: I bought furniture in Feb from art van. I called back in march for a service repair on my couch. They said it was April 8. I never heard from them
Same as above. So they never came out for the repair then stated it wasn't in the system even though they gave me a date. I wanted a manager to speak with. I was told one would call me back. I have yet to receive that call. I've called almost every day since the eight for a manager and a repair. I've been told they will call me back or they're in a conference call and will call back. Sat the April 12 I went to the store and got t a manager ***. He put info in the computer and said he get back to me Sun and hasn't yet and its now Tue. I called today and was given the run around that the manager was in a conference call again. All through this I have not been offered a new service date

Initial Business Response
We are in receipt of your email dated 04/16/2014, which outlines concerns raised with your office by our guest, *** ****.

On 04/30/2014, Mr. ****'s sofa was inspected by service. Upon inspection, it was determined a replacement part would be needed. Mr. **** has been contacted and informed that the parts have been ordered for him. Once we obtain the part, he will be contacted to schedule installation.

We remain available for further comments at your convenience.

Sincerely,

ART VAN FURNITURE

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: Art Van damaged furniture while delivering it. Items aren now discontinued.
They were supposed to deliver a 6-piece bedroom set (head and footboards, side rails, chest, nightstand and dresser with mirror), and mattress and box spring set on Tuesday, Feb. 25, 2014. After I came home to find just a mattress, head and footboard and side rails installed, guest services told me that my sales person "mistakenly informed me that it was a mattress & box spring set but it is actually just a mattress". She also stated they did not deliver the dresser because it "was damaged". The delivery person stated to my son earlier that it was due to faulty packing and shipping. Furthermore, since they were no longer dealing with that vendor, they were "out of stock" of the chest and to "let her see if there were any more dressers in stock". I stated that since the items were unavailable that I wanted what they delivered picked up and to cancel the contract. She stated that I needed to speak with a sales manager and began transferring me. After three attempts to reach a sales manager, someone put me on hold again. After transferring my call four times, which resulted in a total of 30 minutes waiting and explaining my situation with every transfer, my call ended up transferred to the "Service and Warranty" department. I then went to the store instead of opting to transfer the call again. I entered the store close to closing time, went to Guest Services and spoke with a young woman at the counter. After several distressing moments of her telling me that my items were no longer available with that location and that another location "may or may not" deliver another dresser to the Holland store so I would have a the dresser but would have to select another piece, she called over a sales manager to "help me select" something else. I told him that I just wanted to cancel. The Guest Services person said that I could cancel and have the items picked up with a 15% restocking fee. I asked why I they would charge a fee to restock when it was not my fault they could not replace the items I ordered. She said that they were not charging me a fee to restock the items not delivered just the ones delivered. We had a debate as to why they are penalizing me for their mistake to which she conferenced with someone in a separate area before giving her answers. I then stated that I did not want to speak with her any longer and requested to speak with a Manager. His name is ***. I began the same debate with him about the penalization for their mistakes. *** stated the same things the woman stated earlier only now emphasizing that it was "the policy" and that the contract was for "the price of the items and not the items themselves". The contract doesn't state that. Since "all sales are final" and "there are no exchanges or refunds on clearance items", he was doing me a favor by offering to my replace with other merchandise of similar value from the clearance section. I once again explained to him that I chose those items because I wanted those particular items. After several minutes speaking with ***, I asked to speak with his manager. *** stated again that he was the manager and there was no one "over him". It was at this time that a man who was standing in the waiting area (line) suggested that I look at some other pieces. He stated that they would match and he was willing to "take the loss" for the pieces, because they were more expensive than the items I wanted. The man from the line, *** and I walked over to Clearance and viewed the pieces. After much trepidation, I agreed to accept them. *** and I walked back over to Guest Services and he sat down at the computer. He told me the items were on delivery to the warehouse but they would at the warehouse in time for delivery to my house on Feb. 28. By Thursday evening, I had not received a call telling me what time to expect the delivery the next day so I called the store. A woman informed me there was no delivery scheduled and they were waiting for corporate to "do something".

Initial Business Response
Hi *******

Our Toledo store is still working on trying to resolved Ms. ******** concerns. We apologize for the delay in responding with a outcome.

*******

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/15/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Non-delivery of products

Complaint: Special order placed on 12/28/2013 with an 8-10 week lead time. 03-08-2014 the sofa was supposed to be delivered, but a section was missing.
The original order was placed at the Art Van furniture store on 12/28/2013 for a 5-piece sectional order. Special order item with an 8-10 week lead time. I was called in late February that the sofa was ready to be delivered. I requested that the sofa be delivered on 03/08/2014 based on mine and their schedule availability.

On 03/08/2014 the delivery truck arrived and the drivers informed me that one section was "out-of-stock". Considering this was a build-to-order, out-of-stock wouldn't apply.

While the truck was still at my house, I called the store and spoke to Kimberly, the office manager and she informed me that the warehouse never received the item but mistakenly marked it as received.

I have called Kimberly every day since the 8th and have not gotten any answers by her. All I have been told is that they cannot find the sofa. On 03-12-2014 I requested they place a new order. On 03-13-2014 at 5:30PM I requested confirmation of the new order and was told it she didn't have any PO number yet.

As of 03-14-2014 Art Van has not provided a clear answer as to whether the missing sofa will be located or when a replacement will be available.

I also have a full purcahse amount on my credit card, which was not supposed to be billed until the sofa was delivered in full.

Initial Business Response
We are in receipt of your email dated 3/17/14, which outlines concerns raised with your office by our guest, Mr. ******* *****.

Unfortunately, one piece of Mr. *****'s sectional was misplaced in our warehouse prior to his delivery date. After several attempts to locate the piece, the sofa section was located and delivered to Mr. ***** on 3/18/14. For his inconvenience, the delivery charge ($106.99) was credited back to his ** money card.

We remain available for further comment.

Sincerely,

ART VAN FURNITURE

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

04/02/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Delivery Complaint Issue

Complaint: Art Van is not standing behind their own products . I would espect a refund or at a mimimum a good quiality replacement.
Purchased two shelving units from store, these units were display models. Upon delivery it there was clearly damage to one of the units and the other had numberous warped shelves. The deliver personel took pictures. The store called back and stated "we did not purchase the warranty", they would come out as a one time visit, but indicated "we did not but THE WARRANTY". THey have been paid in full, so I have no recorse on payment.
The units are clearly damamged

Initial Business Response
We are in receipt of your email dated 2/10/2014, which outlines concerns raised with your office by our guest, **** ******.
Art Van is proud of its long-standing reputation for valuing our guest, and for making every effort to ensure they are delighted with their purchase. On 2/1/2014, Mr. ****** purchased several items; which included two floor sample wall units. Upon delivery, a shelf on one of the wall units was damaged.
After inspection, it was determined that the shelf needed to be replaced. On 3/5/2014, a replacement shelf was sent to Mr. ****** via FedEx. Several attempts were made to contact Mr. ****** to confirm delivery, and also to see if he had any further concerns. To date, Mr. ****** has not returned our calls. We have now closed the service report.
We feel we have addressed Mr. ******'s concern and remain available for further comment.

Sincerely,

ART VAN FURNITURE

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 2
03/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a living room set from them on 12/13/13 and some of it was not in stock therefore delivery was arranged for late December (*at that point they would not honor there ad of if not in be Christmas $500.00 store gift card - False advertisement). Then upon checkout they asked if delivery could be 01/07/2014. We agreed; salesman had said they would call & it would be sooner. Anyway, we did agree on 01/07/14, Ohio had bad weather that week and we figured they would cancel, but they called on Monday, 01/06/14 and confirmed the address and that it would still be delivered as planned, so we moved all our furniture out and an hour before they were set to come a girl called and said "Due to the weather we are unable to deliver", fine we rescheduled for Friday 01/10/14 then she LAUGHED and said "oh that won't work, it'll be a week before we deliver to your area again" - No apology just rudeness. So, we rescheduled delivery again. They did deliver the furniture on 01/14/14 (1 month and 1 day after purchase) BUT they forgot the power supplies for the Power reclining love seat & sofa. The delivery people said service would deliver them that day or the next. We called the store and the service department and no one had any idea where they were. My complaint....1 week after delivery we have yet to get them or find out when & how they will be gotten to us. My husband & myself have called them numerous times and today I called and spoke with the manager "*****" and I requested a return call by closing today - never got a return call or my two power supplies. I would not suggest Art Van to anyone...the customer service skills are horrible!
Product_Or_Service: Sofa, love seat, recliner & 2 tables
Order_Number: invoice # XXX-XXXXXX
Account_Number: invoice XXX-XXXXXXX

Initial Business Response
We are in receipt of your letter dated 1/24/14, which outlines certain concerns raised with your office by Ms. ***********.
Art Van Furniture is proud of its long-standing reputation for valuing our guests andfor making every effort to ensure they are delighted with their purchase. Unfortunately, in Ms. ***********'s case, we failed to properly deliver all the merchandises ordered on our first attempt.
At Ms. ***********'s request, we have mailed the missing power cord to her sofa. For the inconvenience that had occured, a credit of $106.99 has been credited to her credit card.
We remain available for further comment at your convenience.

Art Van Furniture

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No because we have yet to receive all of the power cord. Please have them check the service records and they could see that. As to the credit, it has yet to show up on my account. So I would appreciate a receipt mailed to me. Also, the loveseat is not working properly when closed, clicks and quits. It has not been used much as we are moving the one and only power cord back and forth between love seat and sofa. I have yet to call them about that as I am still waiting for the cord and the service department nor store manager has been in contact.
I would really appreciate it if the person who sent this reply to the BBB would contact my husband or myself. We are going on 4 months since we bought the furniture and still have non working furniture.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture - Retail, Bookcases, Furniture - Childrens

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.