BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Brookover and Son Construction

Find a Location

Phone: (419) 233-3826Fax: (419) 974-4005123 State Street, BettsvilleOH 44815http://www.brookoverandsonconstruction.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Brookover and Son Construction is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Brookover and Son Construction's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Brookover and Son Construction

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
05/31/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The work that we paid for was not finished.
He told us that the job would be completed in 2 weeks. We agreed to pay him 1/3 up front, 1/3 a week later, and the balance at completion. We paid the 1st 2 payments and purchased all materials. He started 3/18/13. On 4/15/13, the work was not even halfway complete. They left early every day and did not show up at all 1 day. He then asked for part of his final payment. We refused since the work was not done and we were worried he wouldn't finish if he had the rest of the money. He then became belligerent, packed up his tools and told us that he was not going to finish the job. Our new contractor says much of the work done needs redone because it wasn't done to code. We will have to purchase new material and pay them to correct what we already paid $4156 to ****** ****** for.

Desired Settlement
We expect a refund for the work that was not completed as well as reimbursement for the materials necessary to redo the job to code.

Business' Initial Response
This initially started on Friday morning, the last day we were at the customer's home. We were there loading up the trash that the customer asked us to remove due to a load of lumber he had being delivered. I asked about the receipts that I had left on the day prior for materials that I purchased. The contract stipulated that the customer was to buy all the materials and pay me for the labor. Upon asking about the receipts, the customer stated he was not paying me for the materials that I had purchased. The customer then started using bad language, and became very angry stating things that were not true. I have two witnesses that can verify this. I asked what we had done wrong and the customer replied nothing. I started loading up tools that were not needed any longer due to the job almost being complete. The customer then asked what I was doing and I stated that we were going home for the day to let him **** down, and then he ran into the house. I went to get some more tools, and the customer stated that he was calling a lawyer. I asked if he was threatening me, and then he ran across the kitchen with fists drawn and I warned him not to put his hands on me. He ran back across the kitchen and stated that he was calling the cops. He then stated that I was fired and to get my sh... and get the f... out of his house. He told me to get out now that my employees were to retrieve the rest of my tools. I left the house, my employees went and retrieved my tools, and then the police came. I spoke with the police and then we left. The job was not completed due to the customer firing me without cause. Any work that he is claiming that was not done to code, is not my fault, he fired us and we did not have a chance to complete the job. I even went out of my way to remove the bathroom items that we had installed so the customer could paint the walls at their request, which delayed us from finishing the job for four days. I have two witnesses to this entire incident that will give sworn statements to what took place. If you have any questions you may contact me at any time. I thank you for your time.

Consumer's Final Response
The response by the contractor was not true. We have decided to contact an attorney since this was not resolved to our satisfaction. We have found several of their other customers who have had similar complaints. We will no longer trust the bbb for trustworthy business listings and have advised our friends to do the same.

10/01/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors - General, Home Improvements, Basement - Remodeling, Bathroom Remodeling, Construction & Remodeling Services, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Kitchen Remodeling, Remodeling Services, Home Improvements - Additions, Room Additions, Windows, Windows & Doors - Installation & Service, Windows - Installation & Service, Windows - Repairing, Contractors - Flooring, Flooring, Movers, Movers - Office, Piano & Organ Moving, Doors, Manufactured Homes - Repair & Service, Waterproofing Materials, Siding Contractors, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/17/2009Business started: 01/01/1992
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Buster Brookover (Owner)
Number of Employees

7

Business Category

Contractors - General, Home Improvements, Basement - Remodeling, Bathroom Remodeling, Construction & Remodeling Services, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Kitchen Remodeling, Remodeling Services, Home Improvements - Additions, Room Additions, Windows, Windows & Doors - Installation & Service, Windows - Installation & Service, Windows - Repairing, Contractors - Flooring, Flooring, Movers, Movers - Office, Piano & Organ Moving, Doors, Manufactured Homes - Repair & Service, Waterproofing Materials, Siding Contractors, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Products & Services

This company offers kitchen & bath remodeling, siding, doors, basment tile, waterproofing, sun rooms, additions, and mobile home repair.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Brookover and Son Construction

123 State Street

Bettsville, OH 44815

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 123 State Street 

    Bettsville, OH 44815(419) 233-3826
    Fax: (419) 974-4005

  • PO Box 161 

    Bettsville, OH 44815-0161

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest and West Central Ohio and Southeast Michigan. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Brookover and Son Construction is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in Northwest Ohio and Southeast Michigan on 7/1/2012, in West Central Ohio on 1/1/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Contractors - General

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.