BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/19/2003

Arnolds Home Improvement, LLC

Phone: (419) 476-9600Fax: (419) 476-9605

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service16
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints17

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (17)
03/02/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Work on replacing rotted wood around skylight was not completed at my home located at *****************, Toledo, Ohio 43623.
After calling Arnolds Home Improvement for a water issue I was having in my roof around a skylight, ***** with Arnolds Home Improvement came out to my home to inspect the issues in September, 2015. I showed him the water damage inside the house and a rotted piece of plywood in attic close to the skylight. He took pictures of everything I showed him. ***** then inspected the roof and skylight and wrote up an estimate to have the skylight replaced and any rotted wood around the skylight. After agreeing to the price I signed the proposal. Three weeks later the installer came out and replaced the skylight and claims to have replaced all the wood around the skylight and re-shingled. At that point I trusted the job was done and sent payment 3 days after. Beginning of this month I noticed water again in the same areas in the ceiling around my skylight so I called Arnolds Home Improvement back on Jan. 19, 2016. After a few phone calls back and forth I was told that they would find out the installers schedule and call me back. Wednesday, Jan. 27, 2016, the installer just showed up at my house without an appointment and my elderly mother let him in because she recognized him. He said he was there to fix the roof. She called me at work and put him on the phone and he proceeded to tell me that the water was due to a rip in the tar paper and that the whole roof was rotted and needed to be replaced, that, that was the problem. So I questioned him about the rotted wood in the attic still there above the skylight that I originally showed the salesman, and he said that was new and the wood was 1 to 2' from the window. The original salesman never stated that my roof was rotted and needed replaced. When I got home from work yesterday, Jan. 27th, I called back the original lady in the office, ******, all she could say was that roof sheathing was delivered to the job originally from her material invoice and explained to me how water can travel through that ripped paper in the roof and they would not do any further repairs that they could come out and give me an estimate to replace my whole roof.

Desired Settlement
I want them to replace and re-shingle the rotted wood above the skylight where I originally showed the salesman, *****.

Business Response
******************************************************************************************************************************
On Saturday, February 20, 2016, Arnold's Home Improvement was out to the home of the *******'s. Our installer met with Mr. *******. We removed the shingles so we could get to the decking to get a better look at the leaking issues. As you can see from the attached photo we did replace the wood where needed as indicated originally in our contract. AHI contract states "replace any rotted sheeting". Our installer went into detail with Mr. ******* and he also agreed that this wood was not rotted and AHI did not need to replace any additional sheeting. Upon further investigation the leak is coming from six feet above the skylight which is not in connection with our install of the skylight. Mr. ******* was informed of this issue.

Because AHI tore off shingles to get to the decking we again laid ice and water guard around the skylight and re-shingled this area.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The original intent of this job was to stop a leak. If I was told from the beginning that the leak was above the skylight and not the skylight itself I wouldn't have replaced the skylight. The installer did explain where the leak was coming from and re-roofed the problem area. No roof sheathing was replaced. We are satisfied with his work.

03/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Plumbers found floor under toilet that remodeling company had supposedly fixed was rotten. Sink pulling away from wall.
After bathroom remodel in September 2014, plumbers were called in for different issue Jan 5. They found the following problems that should have been fixed or at least informed me about.
1. Floor under toilet was rotten-they put down a floating floor but should have seen the rotten floor when replacing the toilet. 2. Master sink has no vent(While they used the existing plumbing they should have noted this. 3. Sink is pulling away from the wall. 4. Floating floor they installed is coming up in spots. Sales rep.************ and Production manager *********** (Talked to *** on Jan.7 was told our guys would never do that. Said he would call back the next week. Still have not heard anything. Paid $6086 by check

Desired Settlement
I want them to replace the flooring under the toilet and put down the floating floor again. Install a different sink and repair wall and paint behind sink if plumbers have to cut a hole to vent the sink. I do not want to deal with the production manager because I felt talked down to and brushed off by him.

01/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contracted Job not finished. Phone calls not returned. Promises and assurances not fulfilled. Difficulty in contacting person in charge of job.
On 9/2/2014, my husband and I contracted with ******'s Home Improvement for a new roof, gutters, and replacement of missing facia on our garage. We were in agreement of installing Duration Owens Corning Shingles with purchase of additional Platinum Warranty, new gutters, and repair to missing facia. Price was contracted at $14,600. The representative (***) stated that if we paid in cash and not make payments, we would save 5% off of total bill. We decided to go that route and pay cash. That changed the total to $13,870. A down payment of $4,863 was given at that time of the contract write-up. This check cleared the bank on 9/4/2014. Work was started by the 1st crew beginning the first week of October. The roof crew finished on 10/9/2014 and they stated that $9,000 would pay up the account in full. So my husband wrote out a check for that amount. The check cleared on 10/15/2014. The bill was now paid in full. The roofing crew said that another crew would be dispatched to do the gutter and facia work that was also contracted. They said that they only do the roof part. In good faith, we paid the full balance at that time and trusted that the gutters and facia would be serviced. The gutter crew came a few weeks later and replaced the contracted gutters. But, they said that they are only the gutter crew. They do not do facia work and that the 1st crew should have finished that job already. After finally talking to someone in the office, and after many attempts to get this unfinished job done, it was promised many, many, many times when we called to Arnolds to discuss this lack of attention and to finalizing the contract conditions. We have been very understanding when we finally did get to talk to a number of representatives of the company as they told us many hard luck stories of busy work crews and employee traffic accidents and just loosing us in the paperwork. The last representative that was spoken to on the phone was **** **********, Production Manager. He had been out to the house to inspect the roof job while the 1st roof crew was on the job. He said he would be back later to inspect the final job. When talking to him on 12/15/2014, he apologized many times and assured us that he would send out a crew to fix the contracted facia. He said if all the crews were busy, that he, personally, would come out to repair the facia soon. I told him that I want a final date that it would be completed, because, we have been promised and promised and promised so many times before and that it is so hard to get to talk with anyone in the company because the secretary says that they are all tied up, unavailable, and in a meeting. So I told Mr. ********** that I am only giving them until Christmas Eve, 12/24/2014, to get this job done or I will file with the Better Business Bureau on the first day after Christmas if I did not hear from them. We did not hear from them and the job is not finished. My husband and I just want to have the job finished in good faith just as we paid in full our obligation. We are sorry to say that we can not recommend this company to any of our acquaintances and we are unhappy that any future work contracted will not be with Arnolds. In hindsight, the reason that we chose ******'s Home Improvement out of 7 other contractor estimates was the presentation of all the accolades: BBB rating of A+, member of the HBA of Toledo, Professional Remodelers Organization, Angie's List, Remodeler of the year(two years in a row) and more. Their pamphlets were deceiving.

Desired Settlement
My husband and I want the unfinished job completed as stated in the contract ASAP. This contract was paid in full for repairs not completed. In good faith we paid the full amount on the contract and the job was put off numerous times with many excuses. Please finish your work.

Business Response
First of all, even though I have already done this, I would like to formally apologize to these customers for their experience with our company. Although we try for perfection, we are not perfect and this is an instance where we dropped the ball in terms of communication and I can emphatically say that this is unacceptable for us as a company. I appreciate the input I received regarding this situation, as I have most definitely made some significantly positive changes within our company to prevent this lack of communication from happening again.

With that being said, the simple truth of what happened is that we were told by the crew on that job that they had done all of the work; they even billed us and we paid them for the work, but obviously the small portion of the work about which the complaint refers did not get completed. Immediately upon finding this out, we went out and completed this work to the customer's satisfaction and I spoke personally with the customers to express my sincere apology and to make sure they had no other issues.

The other problem was the lack of communication and follow up. This is most certainly not an excuse, but this past year, from fall into winter, we were overwhelmingly busy with way more jobs than we had anticipated and we did get behind as a result of that, not to mention the horrendous weather we had pretty much the entire year. Again, that is not an excuse for poor communication and I have implemented the necessary positive changes so that no matter how busy we get, our communication and follow up doesn't fall off.



**** ********
Vice President
******'s Home Improvement, LLC
XXX-XXX-ROOF
www.arnoldshomeimprovement.com


09/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We have had several follow-up appointments for things done incorrectly. We have one last follow-up appointment. We are continually given dates they will call or arrive. The do not follow up, they only respond when we keep calling. We were told 9/15/14 for next appointment, when they did not arrive I called only to be told they changed it to Wednesday - or Thursday if it rains. Still can't get a solid date. They received a check from us on 5/2/14 and still the repairs are not complete. To date, I am not sure they will show up for this appointment either.
Product_Or_Service: replace shingle roof
Order_Number: 4/3/14

Desired Settlement
I need someone to help follow up with this company to complete the repairs. Calling for several months is overwhelming and unnecessary, in my opinion, for a company that prides itself on customer service. We feel we have been patient enough.

11/13/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
05/03/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Incompetence while working with insurance after storm damage. Unable to prove to insurance that work was done- insurance does not pay in full.
After the tree fell on our house during the storm in June of 2015 we were in need to replace roof and siding. Most of work would be covered by insurance company except some additional siding work and upgrade on shingles. We decided to use Arnolds Home Improvement- they assured us that they will work with insurance company and all I will need to do is sign over the checks that insurance sends us and pay for the extra siding work we chose to do. Work was completed in November, but insurance was not sending the last check.
On January 4, 2016 I received "a curtesy call" from contractor stating that since I haven't paid my bill in full, in 2 days my account will go to collections. ****** stated that that is their company policy if account is not paid in full and there is nothing she can do and advised me to call insurance. After contacting insurance I found out that Arnolds Home Improvement haven't submitted final paperwork to finish claim. When I relayed this information to ******, she still insisted that account will go to collections and to avoid extra cost I paid my bill in full January 7, 2016. For the next couple of months I kept calling contractor trying to get them to submit required paperwork. I was having trouble reaching ********** who was our sales person and getting any timely response. Insurance worked with me and took some extra steps to be able to release most of the money. They also performed Eagle view that showed that contractor's roof measurements exceeded what was determined by satellite measurements and advised that it needs to be negotiated. Insurance released money based on their measurements.
That still left us with $946.80 that insurance could not release without the proof (photo) that there was the 3rd layer of shingles to remove. According to their initial inspection after the storm, there were only 2 layers. Arnolds Home Improvement charged us for 3 layers.
In the past 3 weeks I have been in contact with ************ (Owner), but we haven't come to resolution of this issue. In our initial conversation he stated that he does not think there is an issue at all and that he does't care if I feel differently. He has beed rude to me and insurance adjuster during phone conversations. According to insurance adjuster he yelled at her and said that he never got paid for the 3rd layer anyways so she should stop asking for proof. Final invoice submitted to insurance by Arnolds Home Improvement clearly states that they charged for "tear off existing 3 layers of roof".
After 3 months of continuous and unpleasant conversations with contractor I am submitting this complaint in hopes of finally getting it resolved. I believe that Arnolds Home Improvement should either prove to insurance that there was 3rd layer of shingles so insurance can release remainder of money; or they should issue refund check of $946.80 if they can't prove that the work needed to be done in the first place and probably was never performed therefore I was charged for work not done.
Addressing issue of charging me for bigger roof than I have would be nice too. Insurance can provide more information on this if needed.
Please advise if there is any additional information that would help resolve this issue.

Sincerely,

***** *********
************

Desired Settlement
I believe that Arnolds Home Improvement should either prove to insurance that there was 3rd layer of shingles so insurance can release remainder of money; or they should issue refund check of $946.80 if they can't prove that the work needed to be done in the first place and probably was never performed therefore I was charged for work not done.
Addressing issue of charging me for bigger roof than I have would be nice too. Insurance can provide more information on this if needed.

Business Response
(BBB - converted from original document. See file.)

In response to Mrs. ********* complaint, we first apologize for the inconveniences that these issues may have caused. We value our customers and strive to deliver exceptional customer service as well as a
quality job. For future projects, we have made necessary adjustment, so that moving forward, we can learn from this instance and improve.

To clarify our contract was with the homeowner only, not the insurance company. AHI was not responsible
for finalizing paper work with the insurance company. However, when the insurance company requested
information, AHI provided the information. We only charged the homeowner for 2 layers per our signed
contact that I have attached. If the homeowner is rewarded $946 from the insurance company that money
would be owed to AHI for the additional layer. Since we did not provide proof of the additional layer AHI
surrenders our additional costs. If the homeowner is awarded that money her intention is to keep the
money which is borderline insurance fraud and this is unethical.

In regards to the roof measurements, our measurements and the insurance company measurements that
were given to the homeowner are within the same range plus or minus waste.

The owner ************ has made several attempts to set up a meeting with the homeowner in person to
come to a resolution but she stated she would not be able to do this until after April 18, 2016. In the
interim we have made the homeowner a financial offer of $473.40 to settle the issue with the layers which
is half of what she is requesting and she has refused. We believe this is above and beyond our obligation. This should not be a complaint against AHI.

This project was completed on November 13, 2015. We did not receive final payment until January 12,
2016. Per our contract payment is due in full upon completion. We did our best to accommodate the
homeowner and worked with her as much as possible.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
After reviewing AHI response I have to disagree. I have my original contract signed on 8/8/15 that states that there will be 3 existing layers of roof torn off as well as final invoice that AHI submitted to insurance company clearly stating that there was removal of 3 layers. I was charged and paid for removal of 3 layers of shingles as opposed to what AHI is claiming.
Also, when work was finished (and also before job was even started), ********** repeatedly and clearly stated that they will work with insurance- submit all necessary paperwork to finalize the claim and that I should pay the final payment after the last check from insurance is received. Therefore I was very surprised to find out that AHI not only did not submit necessary documentation, but is planning to send my account to collections- AHI picked up a check for full payment on January 7, 2016 at my work place.
I am also submitting insurance calculation that shows the amount in question $946.80 on page 6 line #39.


Final Business Response
(BBB received rebuttal by voicemail.)

The business owner stated that the contract the business provided with their previous response is the contract. The consumer has a rough version that has been altered, which is fraud. This should not even be a complaint with BBB against the business. The business owner has been talking to their attorney on this matter.

01/28/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
******'s Home Improvement (AHI) offered an 7 item proposal to address the problems associated with their October 13, 2015 in which they were to (1) repair tile 3-4 6" at window, (2) Install customer provided 24" by 19" vanity w/faucet, (3) replace a 60 x 32 acrylic tub with accessories, and (4) Clean up and haul away. As the work was completed a number of issues emerged and were not addressed. I did not feel comfortable with a bathroom that was not only embarrassing due to the quality of the work but also unfinished. Thus, I scheduled an appointment to speak with ****** ****** to address my dissatisfaction and concern.

I met with Mr. ****** and ****** ****** on November 3 to address the issues. We concluded that meeting in agreement that the work was not complete and AHI would submit a proposal, to facilitate communication, about what they would do to address the issues. Though I was promised that information by Thursday (November 5) I did not receive the information until the following week. Once I received the proposal and after consulting with a number of professionals I responded to the 7-item proposal. AHI and I agreed on 7 of the 8 items proposed. The proposal we did not agree on was item number 5 in which AHI proposed, Homeowner to purchase vinyl flooring with accessories at 55 square feet and AHI to provide labor at no cost. My response to AHI's proposal was, this is not an acceptable proposal. I do not wish to install a vinyl floor. Rather I expect AHI to replace the area with the same type of material (tile). I accept your proposal to install the new floor and provide labor at no cost. I also expect that appropriate "pre work will be done in accordance with necessary and appropriate use of the tile in the area" will be done to replace the tile floor and ensure quality work as part of the labor at no cost. Yesterday, December 7, I heard from ****** that Mr. ****** said they cannot move forward with the tile on the floor that I requested due to my contract. This remains unacceptable.
Product_Or_Service: Bath tub, shower/surround, vanity
Order_Number: Work Proposal and Ag
Account_Number: No contract, account

Desired Settlement
My desired resolution is that each of the 7 items I responded to are corrected per my response. See below.
Item One
Proposal: AHI will replace the left door casing.

My response: In addition to replacing the left door casing my expectation is that the casing will be replaced so that it is in line with the door before the door was damaged.

Item Two
Proposal: AHI to install matching base (same style) @ short wall next to it.

My response: My hope is that the work is done so that it is uniform with the current base (same style).

Item Three
Proposal: AHI to caulk holes on both sides of the vanity to match as close as possible.

My response: I anticipate that AHI will bring the tiles (where the holes are located) back to the same uniformity and there is a flow in appearance-not a ?patched? appearance.

Item Four
Proposal: AHI to stick showerhead escutcheon to wall with caulk or bottle tape.

My response. I appreciate that you are the experts and anticipat

Business Response


Consumer Response
Consumer stated she would like company to tile the whole floor, she would pay for material and company can install at their cost.

Final Consumer Response
I shared with AHI that I would be willing to assume cost for materials and they assume
the cost of labor. Below is what I shared in my November 18th response (via email and certified mail) to item five (5) of AHI's proposal.

Item Five

Proposal: Homeowner to purchase vinyl flooring with accessories at 55 square feet and AHI to
provide labor at no cost.

My Response: This is not an acceptable proposal. I do not wish to install a vinyl floor. Rather I expect AHI to replace the area with the same type of material (tile). I accept your proposal to install the new floor and provide labor at no cost. I also expect that appropriate "pre-work will be done in accordance with necessary and appropriate use of tile in the area" will be done to replace the tile floor and ensure quality work as part of the labor at no cost.

I, too, have investigated and exhausted efforts to find the tile that is currently on the floor.
Given this reality, I have obtained estimates for addressing the floor problem with tile rather
than vinyl. While I appreciate AHI proposing to replace the floor with vinyl, this solution continues to be unacceptable. There are a number of reasons that vinyl is not acceptable. Below are a few of the reasons I discovered as a result of talking with a number of independent contractors after realizing that AHI was not willing to move beyond their proposal to install a vinyl floor.

The floor is tile not vinyl.
Vinyl has a lesser life span than tile.
There may be warranty issues associated with putting vinyl over tile.

The expectation is that AHI will bring the floor back to where it was; that would be not vinyl, it would be tile.

Again, below please find my comments to AHI regarding the item #5 issue related to the floor.

Item Five

Proposal: Homeowner to purchase vinyl flooring with accessories at 55 square feet and AHI to
provide labor at no cost.

My Response: This is not an acceptable proposal. I do not wish to install a vinyl floor. Rather I expect AHI to replace the area with the same type of material (tile). I accept your proposal to

install the new floor and provide labor at no cost. I also expect that appropriate "pre-work will be done in accordance with necessary and appropriate use of tile in the area" will be done to replace the tile floor and ensure quality work as part of the labor at no cost.

I appreciate the response to replace some tiles in front of the tub with a decorative accent color. I thought of this as a solution as well. I proposed a similar solution to a number of the independent contractors that I met with. A theme among the contractors was that this was not a recommended solution as other tiles on the floor would more than like be damaged and/or compromised.

I had the privilege of investigating this and other issues inclusive of but not limited to those addressed above as a result of AHI's unwillingness to replace the tile and proposal to replace with vinyl. When I met with Mr. ****** and Ms ****** on November 3, Mr ****** appeared confused and questioned why the installer did not share a written change order, per AHI policy. We talked, somewhat in length, about the appropriateness of such behavior and how the change order would facilitate communication about the problem and give me more insight into what needed to be done (inclusive of cos and work proposed) so I could make a decision about how to move forward. That did not occur. Note too that the sales person, as part of his work to sell me on working with AHI, shared that AHI had a tub that would fit the configuration of the floor. I took that as a positive and we did not talk about the possibility of damage or compromise to the existing floor. Again, as a result of working with independent contractors I have sense discovered that the possibility of compromising the existing floor was clear and they would have shared that up front.

I appreciate AHI's explanation for the reason associated with the holes on the wall next to the vanity. However, please be advised that I was instructed by the sales person to purchase a vanity measuring 24" by 19" with faucet. I purchased a 24.5" Wide by 18.75 " Depth vanity and contacted the salesperson about the acceptability/appropriateness thereof. Note that the salesperson and I discussed and confirmed, as I was shopping for a vanity, that the measurements I proposed were acceptable/appropriate.


Final Business Response
******'s said that they wish to help resolve this complaint, however the consumer's offer to purchase tile for the entire floor and the company to install at no cost to the consumer is not something they can commit to, as the labor involved to remove the old/existing tile, clean-up and prep-work prior to laying an entire new ceramic tile floor is labor intensive and costly.

Although their goal is to make this consumer a satisfied customer (with their work) they simply cannot commit to the cost (of labor) involved to make that happen.

Company stands by their original response and 2 options:

1.) Homeowner to purchase vinyl flooring with accessories and and Arnolds to provide the labor (at no cost) to install new vinyl floor in bathroom. The tile that is in question, cannot be obtained, as it is from the 1950's. We have exhausted every avenue of trying to find it, with no success.

2.) Replace some tiles in front of tub, with a decorative accent color, using new tiles that are available.

The tiles that came up in the bathroom, didn't have any glue on the back of them - indicating water damage that had caused them to loosen over time. There was a water damage issue in the bathroom.

Also, the reason there are a couple holes in the tile on the wall next to the vanity, is because consumer selected a smaller vanity than the wider one that she originally had - Nothing we do will make the holes go away that are in her tile on the wall - these tiles cannot be replaced.

12/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Work involved did not correct problem.
Water leak involving front entrance, was told needed flashing on roof and additional downspout. The crew sent to my home hardly spoke English and
and this was their first day on the job. They proceeded to leave without finishing the job. I had to call the project manager to have him finish the job. I then contacted my painter to come and replace rotted wood and paint and caulk. He told me he would not do the job since water is still entering the home and I needed a new front door. He also corrected some of the previous work done incorrectly. Example downspout which was placed too close to the foundation. I have called to complain about the incorrect work and was told there was nothing they could do. They would apply
some of the money I spent to replace the front door. I refused since I do not trust their workmanship. I feel the estimator advised me incorrectly and should have been aware of what I actually need. Meanwhile when I open my storm door nails are popping out and hinges are loose and water is still entering the home.

Desired Settlement
I paid $765.00 for this repair work and I want a refund.

Business Response
AHI was contracted on 10/1/2014 to perform the following work:

Repair leaks at the entry door:
Removed siding around and above entry door and window
Replaced rotted brick mold at entry door
Install flexible "white" J-Channel at round top
Re-installed siding
R&R gutters
Installed Mullion Strip behind storm door closures
Wrapped brick mold to match trim
Gutters:
Replaced 14' of 5" gutters over entry eave cap at ends
Gutter at left hand side
Downspout at entry step extend around corner and dump into driveway

AHI fulfilled the contract above on 10/31/2014 per the scope of work. This was a repair and the homeowner received no warranty for this work at the time she signed the contract. On 10/31/2014 our project manager ********** met with the homeowner and finished the job himself. At that time, the contract was 100% completed and the homeowner was happy with the repair and she also paid for her repair at that time.

We were not contacted until October 19, 2015, a year later that the homeowner was still having leaking issues with her entry door and that her downspout was placed too close to the foundation. At the time of the original install the project manager explained to the homeowner that there was nowhere else to place the downspout as you can see from the photos of her front door. The homeowner at that time agreed with the project manager regarding the downspout and that was no longer an issue. The homeowner had a different contractor add elbows to the gutters after we completed our work. One elbow was put on near the driveway. The reason we didn't put an elbow on the driveway is because ice will be all over where people walk which can obviously create issues. We clearly are not responsible for this as we did not add the elbows.

The homeowner also had a different contractor out working on her front door after we completed our work as well. It is now leaking. AHI cannot be responsible for this as she had no warranty and had a different contractor working on her entry door. We explained to the homeowner that the door is in poor condition and has to be replaced. The storm door doesn't function because of the rotting door it's fastened to. The new contractor the homeowner hired also agrees that the entry door needs replaced.

AHI went a step further in trying to satisfy this customer in giving her a very reasonable quote for her new entry door. The homeowner specifically asked for the exact same door plus the fiberglass option. Our project manager met with the homeowner on 11/16/2015. AHI emailed the quote to the homeowner on 11/19/2015. She requested a breakdown as to how much does the door cost and installation charges. We responded immediately with the breakdown which she received. The homeowner was also given by the AHI project manager the details about the Polaris entry door along with the warranty information which I have also attached. The estimate we gave the homeowner was extremely detailed which we attached as well.

Unfortunately, we cannot offer her a full rebate for work that has been performed over a year ago. Even though we know that would have prevented this BBB complaint, but we firmly believe in the work we completed on this project along with our customer service and also we incurred costs to do this work. This is an example of AHI doing the ethical thing and not be taken advantage of in situations like this. The easy solution would have been to refund her money but it goes against our policy and we have stressed to others as well as this homeowner this is a repair only which does not have a warranty especially a year after the repair was completed and other contractors were out to do work after us. Again I need to reiterate that AHI was contracted to do a repair and a repair only provides a temporary solution to an ongoing problem.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all let me clarify some issues. When I first called Arnolds Home Improvement regarding the leak I was never told I NEEDED to replace my front door system to correct the leak into my home. This is where the issue lies. I was assured adding flashing and downspouts would correct the leaks into my home. I had two friends with me at the time the Todd came to my home and gave me the estimate. He assured me this would fix the problem. He NEVER indicated to me I needed a new front door system. The reason I waited a year was I was waiting for my painter to come and paint inside and outside molding where there was water damage, I assumed the problem was corrected since it is difficult to determine old damage versus new damage. Mr. A***** has twisted the complaint into me wanting to repair when I wanted a permanent fix from the leak. As far as other contractors doing repairs the only thing which was done was my painter installed a longer downspout away from my foundation. The problem lies with the original estimate which states REPAIR LEAKS AT ENTRY DOOR...I am so offended that Mr. A***** states I only wanted a repair. Why would I want to spend the money I did only to have the problem continue. This is my home and I certainly want to protect my investment.

08/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They haven't finished a skylight installation job that was started over three months ago
They came out to install skylights but never finished putting the screens on them. When they open, any bird or insect can fly into the house without the screens on. I have gone back and forth numerous times with my customer service rep that we just need someone to come out and install them. She either ignores my emails or sets up a time and then cancels on me. This project has been paid by us in full.

Desired Settlement
Just please come out and install the screens

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ********, VP
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ****@arnoldshomeimprovement.com
I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused by this delay to get the skylight screens installed. We have to get scaffolding inside the house to do this install and that has caused some delays, but certainly not all of the delays. There is no excuse, this should have been done already and my employee should have been way more responsive to our customer's emails.

I have spoken very sternly and on paper to the person whose responsibility it was to make this happen. It was flat out a mistake and I made it very clear that we can not have these kinds of mistakes that affect our customers.

I do however, wish the customer would have called in to speak with a supervisor, once it became apparent she was not getting the desired response from my employee.

Since none of us are perfect, getting another member of our team involved would have solved the problem with no need to escalate this to a BBB complaint.

However, I do understand the customer's frustration and once again apologize. I know that we now have a date scheduled to get these screens installed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did speak to a supervisor and that's when they scheduled the person to come out in early July but then cancelled on me. I really feel we exhausted all options before complaining to the BBB and won't be using or recommending your company again.

07/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We had ******'s install a new tub, surround, and accessories. We have had them back at least 6 times to fix issues with caulk and overflow cover.
In March of 2014 we hired ******'s to install a tub, surround, faucet, and overflow cover. Within a week or 2 we had to have them come back to recaulk as the caulk was peeling away. We also had problems with the overflow cover spinning and was loose and the faucet was not secure. We have since had to have them back 5 to 6 times for the same issues. I have asked several times to speak to the owner because the sales manager spoke to me very rudely each time I spoke to him. I was told each time that the owner was out or on the phone and that he would call me back. Then I would get a call from the sales manager.At this point the only thing that has been fixed to my satisfaction is the faucet. The caulk is not peeling but there are ridges throughout. The overflow cover does not sit correctly and ever time I clean the tub and bump it even slightly, one section of it falls into the hole that it is supposed to cover. I feel I have tried working with them but that I am no longer willing to put up with the bathroom the way it is and it has not been fixed to my satisfaction.

Desired Settlement
I want the overflow cover fixed and the caulk removed and recaulked so that it doesn't have ridges in it. I would also like to receive at least a partial refund due to the fact that we paid this in full and over a year later are having the same problems that we had from the time the job was "finished." This situation has gone on for too long with unsatisfactory resolution.

Business Response
I would like to apologize for our customer's experience and her dissatisfaction with our company. We work very hard to take care of every one of our customers and it is our relentless goal to have all completely satisfied customers.

I spoke with the people involved and the sales manager she says was rude to her insists that at no time was he rude. Her complaint to me was he was addressing her husband and ignoring her. I am not taking his side, as I was not there. Therefore, I have had a very serious talk with him on our #1 policy of treating all of our customers with the utmost dignity and respect.

In regards to her repair issues, we have immediately responded to each one of her calls. The caulk problems were either a result of the caulk itself or the cleaner used. But regardless, we took care of the caulk issue quite a long time ago, based on my phone call with the customer. As well, her faucet issue has been taken care of long before she registered her complaint.

She also contacted us with an issue with her curtain rod, which she ordered a curved curtain rod and was not happy with it sagging in the middle. When I called her in response to this complaint, she indicated that that issue has also already been taken care of. The issue she informed me of in my phone call was with her overflow cover and we are responding to that in a timely manner as well. I do however, apologize for the issues she has experienced. It is extremely rare for us to have any issues on our jobs, let alone the number of issues she has had. But I did and still can assure her that we always take care of any legitimate issues a customer may have.

I will continue to be in communication with this customer until all of her issues have been correctly resolved and once again, apologize for any and all inconveniences she has experienced.



Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors - General, Fiberglass - Bathtubs & Showers, Windows, Windows & Doors - Installation & Service, Shower Doors & Enclosures, Doors - French, Doors - Installation, Doors, Bath Liners, Home Repair & Maintenance, Windows - Installation & Service, Remodeling Services, Bathroom Remodeling - Walk-In Tubs, Bathroom Remodeling, Room Additions, Construction & Remodeling Services, Skylights, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Deck Builder, Deck Builders, Patio & Deck Builders, Contractor - Insulation, Home Improvements - Additions, Home Improvements, Contractors - Gutters, Gutters & Downspouts, Garage Builders, Floor Coverings & Installation, Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Kitchen Remodeling, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.