BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northwest and West Central Ohio and Southeast Michigan

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Ernie's Building Service

(419) 304-84301933 Oxleigh Cir, HollandOH 43528-9106 ! There is an alert for this business !

0TRUSTS
0 People Trust Ernie's Building Service

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

On 01/29/2014 the accreditation was suspended due to unresolved complaint(s). The matter will be reviewed by the BBB's Board of Directors at its next meeting.

The company verbally disputed the suspension and told BBB they would be providing documentation to appeal the decision. The company has not provided BBB their appeal.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Additional Complaint Information

Consumer complaints reflect a pattern of delays in starting or completing contracted work, poor workmanship as well as consumers reporting the company not responding to their calls or texts.

Better Business Bureau advised Ernie's Building Services that the pattern of complaints existed and the need to correct the underlying reasons for the pattern.

The company has not responded further.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ernie's Building Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
06/25/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: I signed a contract with Mr. ***** to remodel my kitchen back in Oct. 2012. It is now June 2013 and my kitchen still isn't done.
I hired ***** ****** of ***** Building Services back in October 1st 2012 do remodel my entire kitchen. It is now June 2013 and my kitchen is still unfinished. I've paid Mr. ****** for this job and he's cashed every check I have giving him to complete this job. He will not return my phone calls or text messages. He has left me with exposed wires for electrical not being done. I have a sink not hooked up and I'm using my utitilty sink to wash my dishes. I'm unable to use my dishwasher due to not hook-up along with my microwave. My refrig has an extension core coming out of the back of it case he never did an electrical outlet for the refrig to run from. This has been an ongoing process with Mr. ****** and I've been very patient. He hasn't installed my Island or installed my track lighting in my kitchen. Mr. ****** was paid to do a job and he isn't honoring the contract to complete this kitchen. I also have exposed electrical wires upstairs that could set a fire because he has left them exposed. I would like for this remodel nightmare to go away and for him to complete a job I paid for. I also paid him for my appliances and he will not give me receipts for my purchases. So if I ever have problems with my appliances I have no record of purchasing them from where he said he got them from. I paid him 5500.00 for my appliances and do not have a receipt for them.

Business' Initial Response
Co response: Co stated this job would have been completed months ago but consumer has made many changes and doesn't want to pay for upgrades. Consumer has changed the countertops, floors and sink. Co said that they told the consumer that they will finish the few things left which is install the island, hook up lights and sink if consumer puts the balance that is owed in an escrow account. That amount is $3700.00. Co feels that the consumer has gone over her budget and they do not thinks consumer intends to pay them after job is complete. Co said they have tried to be very nice but can't keep this up. The BBB is willing to open an escrow account to hold the balance.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I'll agree that this job should have been done months ago but it wasn't because of the changes with the so called upgrades that Mr. ****** is posing that I made for my kitchen. Mr. ****** right off the back tried to put things into my kitchen that he didn't get my aproval on. I don't know how any upgrades I could have made to delay this remodel if the only choices I had for the floor was laminate, my counters was formica and a kitchen sink was stainless steel one sink or two. Mr. ****** wanted to give me whatever he could get cheap or discounted to save him money and not me the customer money in the remodel. Mr. ****** purchased the wrong countertops for my kitchen and that error was on his part due to the lack of phone communication or texts to complete this kitchen. I'm very diappointed in Mr. ****** due to he says he told me that I was over budget for my remodel of my kitchen. When asked for and itemize statement to reflect the overage he couldn't and wouldn't give me a statement to reflect such overages. In my journal that I keep for Mr. ******'s overall preformance of my kitchen remodel there is alot of days of "NO Work" being done to my kitchen so for him to say my upgrades played a factor in this kitchen getting done he is dead wrong. Mr. ****** was giving two months to work on my kitchen of not having anyone in this house before I moved in. Everything Mr. ****** has put into my kitchen has come from Menard's even the kitchen sink..Mr. ****** has had more than enough time to complete this kitchen. Giving him anymore money would be not be wise thing to do at this point and time for him to come and take more months to complete what I feel I have aready paid him for. He has failed to come and fix the things he started and leaving expose electrical wires and me having a extension cord running from the back of my refrig just so it can get power I don't know what contractor would do that to a family to have to live with to function day to day. He wouldn't do that to his own family why would I pay to have a contractor to do that to my family. I have paid Mr. ****** everything thing he has ask me to do to complete this job and all he has giving me is time wasted and the run arounds. All I want is for this kitchen to be completed and done and functional for my family to use. For Mr. ****** to ask for anything more to complete this kitchen would be dead wrong on his part to even ask for such due to the living conditions I have had to make through all of this. If money was and issue then those issues should have been address and handled at that time so that this project could have been done and over. Now that I feel Mr. ****** owes me for the inconvenience he has put me through he now wants to bring up that I am over budget. I will not give anymore money to Mr. ****** to complete a job I have already paid him to do. A refund for the work that he was contracted to do is what I am looking for and I will find someone to complete a job he should have completed himself. Mr. ****** for whatever reason is not honoring his contract with me or willing to complete my kitchen by avoiding my phone calls and texts. The hookup of my appliances shouldn't have taken this long for him to get them installed and an in working order if I was so over budget from his calulations for budget. I feel those matters should have been brought to my attention way before Mr. ****** deceided to not complete my kitchen and not return any of my phone calls or texts. Mr. ****** never informed me of any funds that were needed to complete this kitchen and that those funds were needed to complete my kitchen. For him to speak of those funds needed now would only be a cop-out on his part of not completing a remodel of a kitchen he was contracted to do.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

08/21/2012Problems with Product / Service
01/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: contract on work on the house and plumbing was not completed, no work in over 3 weeks
we had a contact to replace the siding,including caulk, caulk not done, the siding on the chimmey, paid extra for 800.00 not started, metal around the front doors and porch paid extra 675.00 not finished, the metal trim around the front windows not done . the orgianl work for doing the outside well faucets, holes dug and the faucets attached, there is a short in the fuse box where they hit the line for the water, unable to check to see if the faucets work, and can't bury the lines before winter that they might freeze cauing more problems, we have made many calls and texts to ***** , been to his house, unable to get in contact with him.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

12/30/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Construction & Remodeling Services, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling, Kitchen Remodeling, Contractors - General, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing, Hardwood floor installation, Floors - Laminate, Garage Builders, Home Builders, Home Improvements, Home Improvements - Additions, Patio & Deck Builders, Deck Builders, Deck Builder, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Roofing Contractors, Siding Contractors, Room Additions, Bathroom Remodeling, Remodeling Services, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction, Flooring, Vinyl Flooring, Floors - Hardwood, Tile Installation, Contractors - Flooring

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/25/2012Business started: 01/01/1986
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ernie Messer (Owner)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling, Kitchen Remodeling, Contractors - General, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing, Hardwood floor installation, Floors - Laminate, Garage Builders, Home Builders, Home Improvements, Home Improvements - Additions, Patio & Deck Builders, Deck Builders, Deck Builder, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Roofing Contractors, Siding Contractors, Room Additions, Bathroom Remodeling, Remodeling Services, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction, Flooring, Vinyl Flooring, Floors - Hardwood, Tile Installation, Contractors - Flooring

Industry Tips
BBB Warns Spring Time Brings Home Improvement Scams
Buying An Unbuilt Home
Home Improvements
Safe & Sound: Securing Your Home
Storm Clean-up Schemes Cause Additional Heartache
Winterizing Your Home

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Ernie's Building Service

1933 Oxleigh Cir

Holland, OH 43528-9106

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1933 Oxleigh Cir 

    Holland, OH 43528-9106(419) 304-8430

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest and West Central Ohio and Southeast Michigan. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Ernie's Building Service is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in Northwest Ohio and Southeast Michigan on 7/1/2012, in West Central Ohio on 1/1/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

Consumer complaints reflect a pattern of delays in starting or completing contracted work, poor workmanship as well as consumers reporting the company not responding to their calls or texts.

Better Business Bureau advised Ernie's Building Services that the pattern of complaints existed and the need to correct the underlying reasons for the pattern.

The company has not responded further.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.