BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/16/2004

Computer Renaissance

(419) 475-46955809 Monroe St, SylvaniaOH 43560-2210

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/16/2004

BBB has determined that Computer Renaissance meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Computer Renaissance's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Computer Renaissance

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
06/29/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I brought my laptop in a sales employee hooked it up to cables to use their laptop to get into & test my hard drive after 1 hour my screen went blank
I wanted to sell my laptop because I needed the money. The sales clerk looked at it & said it was a nice laptop and looked in good shape. He hooked it up to some cables that was attached to another laptop to get into & test my hard drive to see if it was in good working condition so he kept going back and forth typing on their laptop and mine he became a little flustered after about an hour my laptop screen went blank now he started asking me when was the last time I used my computer I said all day on Facebook the day before on 05/08/16 then he asked how much you pay for it $300 or $400? I said NO you're not even close. The manager finally came over looked at what was now a problem accessed the situation and said if you paid more then a couple of hundred dollars for it you got ripped off that my computer was junk. I reiterated that I Bought my lap only 2-3 years ago New and I still have the receipt to prove it. I purchased it on 03/02/14 on HSN for $763.16 and was absolutely nothing wrong with it when I brought it in to sale it and that I rarely used it for anything it would sit in my bedroom closet in a truck locked up for several months before I would pull it out to use it so no one could mess with it this is what I told him after he committed on how long my password was. It is a HP 15in Notebook Bundle that I purchased on a 6 month payment plan of $127.19 a month with a Debit Master Card.
The model #*********; Product #***********; Serial #**********. I left after they handed my laptop back to me an non working condition because they fried it and did not want to take the responsibility for it but I went back later on that day after work about 6:00pm to see the manager again He took my laptop apart in front of me and said my mother board is shot and it just happens that way for no reason. So I left with my broke computer.

Desired Settlement
The value for my laptop.

Business Response
Lori brought her HP laptop into the store in an attempt to sell the laptop to Computer Renaissance. When attempting to test the laptop to verify that the the laptop was in good working condition, the laptop would not start up correctly for us after multiple attempts. We tried to research the problem that would cause the laptop to not start correctly while Lori waited for the testing to be completed. We were unable to get the laptop to start properly and informed Lori that there is something wrong with her laptop and that we are not interested in purchasing equipment that is not in working condition. Lori was upset that we would not purchase her laptop and insisted that Computer Renaissance did something to her laptop to make it not function correctly. Lori left with her laptop and came back to Computer Renaissance a couple days later saying that we broke her laptop. As a courtesy to Lori, we performed hardware diagnostics on her laptop free of charge. Upon completing the diagnostic tests, Computer Renaissance determined that the laptop has motherboard failure. We informed Lori of this and she claimed that Computer Renaissance did something to make her laptop not function anymore. We informed Lori that none of the tests that we performed to the laptop would cause the issue that was described. Motherboard failure is a common problem with laptops and can happen anytime from right out of the box to never happening at all.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I do not accept Computer Renaissance response because their version of the situation is completely false. In store cameras will show that on 5/9/16 the sales person had my computer hooked up to cables for at least an hour typing something on their and my laptop & that he had it turned on his first try while committing on how long my password was. I came back the same day after work to see what the issue was with why my computer why it had a blank screen & a couple of days later I showed up thinking I was going to try and resolve that issue with them by talking to the manager but I didn't get out of my car and drove away thinking I could handle the problem another way. That is when I filed a complaint with the BBB. I NEVER went back inside the store or talked to anyone from Computer Renaissance after the day of the incident, the store camera will show that as well. No one tried to research the problem until I went back the same day after work when the manager opened my laptop in front of me to see what he could find and that is when he said my mother board is shot and it just happens that way for no reason. I did send my laptop to the company where I purchased it because it was still under warranty and they did fix the problem my computer is working again now. I still should be compensated for my troubles and an apology. THANK YOU.

08/28/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
wanted money back from buying used computer which had spyware on it without my knowledge.
On 07/25/2015 I purchased a used computer at 5809 Monroe St, Sylvania, ohio for $193.04 including tax. On 07/27/2015 I took the computer back and told them there was a virus on it. On 07/28/2015 they called me and told me I could get the computer. I went in and paid $64.35 for advanced diagnostics and was told the computer was clean and had not been infected. I returned to the place in temperance mi where I'm visiting and I checked he computer out without getting online. I found a program called team viewer. I went to the library to check out the program and found out it was used as spyware by some people. I searched the computer and found a virus had put a default operating system on the computer and was redirecting everything to a remote computer that I was unaware of. I went back to the store and told them I wanted my money back and they refused but did offer to take team viewer off the computer. I don't trust them and I want my money back. I have online banking and other online accounts and some has access with my comouter

Desired Settlement
purchase price and advanced diagnostic refund in full $193.04 + $64.35 I requested a refund on 07/30/2015. It was the last time I have spoken with them.




Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ***** Store Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *************@gmail.com
Mr. ***** purchased his laptop on 7-25-2015. He was happy with the computer and was able to review any software that was installed on the computer. We were also happy to answer any question that Mr. ***** had about the computer.
On 7-27-2015, Mr. ***** brought his laptop back to the store because he thought the computer was infected with a virus. Mr. ***** also stated that he was unable to connect to the Internet with his ****** wireless network adapter.
After inspecting the laptop for any hardware or software defects, our technicians found that the laptop was in good operating condition and no infections were present on the laptop. The ****** wireless network adapter was not configured correctly to connect the Internet. That issue was corrected and the appropriate service fee of sixty ($60) was charged for that repair. Mr. ***** then returned to pick up the laptop and paid for the service rendered. Mr. ***** returned again on 7-31-2015 at 10:25am with his complaint that we installed malicious software on his laptop.
TeamViewer is software that is used for businesses and for private use for remote access services. These services can be beneficial to many of our customers due to the lack of knowledge about computers. This allows us, with their permission, user ID, and password that changes upon each use of the software, to assist through remote means. Mr. ***** is correct in saying that there are "some people" that use this software in ways that are not in the highest of moral standing and with no good business ethic behind their actions. Computer Renaissance does not use the TeamViewer software for any malicious or nefarious intentions. To please Mr. *****, I did offer to remove the software from the laptop and he declined this offer.
As per our return policy, a refund was not issued for the following reason:
"Used computers may be returned within 5 days of purchase, with receipt, assuming that they are unused and in identical condition to which the ware sold in. All returned computers will be subject to testing to verify that they are in the same condition, which can take some time. There will be a 20% restocking fee on any returned computers."
Mr. *****, on 7-31-15, was outside of the 5 day return period for used computers. Therefore, no refund was issued. If the computer was defective, the warranty that was issued with the laptop would have been used to repair the laptop at no cost to Mr. *****.


Industry Comparison| Chart

Computers - Service & Repair, Computers - Used, Computers - Supplies & Parts, Computers - Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/24/2004Business started: 05/01/2003New Owner Date: 01/01/2015
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Dermot Cummings (Owner)
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Kyle Baden (Member)
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Computers - Service & Repair, Computers - Used, Computers - Supplies & Parts, Computers - Dealers

Hours of Operation
Mon: 10:00 AM to 08:00 PMTue: 10:00 AM to 08:00 PMWed: 10:00 AM to 08:00 PMThu: 10:00 AM to 08:00 PMFri: 10:00 AM to 08:00 PMSat: 10:00 AM to 07:00 PMSun: 11:00 AM to 05:00 PM
Service Area

Northwestern Ohio and Southeastern Michigan

Alternate Business Names
Toledo Computers LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Computer Renaissance

5809 Monroe St

Sylvania, OH 43560-2210

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5809 Monroe St 

    Sylvania, OH 43560-2210(419) 475-4695

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest and West Central Ohio and Southeast Michigan. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Computer Renaissance is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in Northwest Ohio and Southeast Michigan on 7/1/2012, in West Central Ohio on 1/1/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Computers - Service & Repair

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.