BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/26/2012

Clean Sweep

(419) 562-3948916 Hull Ave, BucyrusOH 44820-2906

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/26/2012

BBB has determined that Clean Sweep meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Clean Sweep's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Clean Sweep

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
08/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Took half of an insurance claim chimney fire estimate and never followed through with fixing the job. Still trying to get 449.50 back.
Called **** at Clean Sweep after a chimney fire 11/29/2011 Got and estimate in the amount of 2,999.74 and said he needed half 1,499.50 before he started the job, which he picked up.After that it was one excuse after the other as to why he couldn't make it over. soon it became too cold to fix, then I got sick with cancer and a broken back, and I never got a phone call from him. After I started feeling better in September I called him to see why he hadn't made an attempt of fixing our chimney since he had the parts. Then after I kept calling him to come over he said he didn't have ALL the parts and buisness was slow so it would be later until he had the money for the rest of our job. At that point, I was seeing that he wasn't as qualified and trust worthy to do the job. I then called another company, which came that same Saturday and had the job done within the month. I was told from this company that I should not have paid until the job was done.I then have been making an attempt at getting my money back since he never did anything other than an estimate and take my money. I have 449. 50 that I want back soon before I send this to small claims. I have spent more money in phone calls and have been pretty nice since I gave him money for nothing. I just want the 449.50 back. I called last friday because I am tired of contacting him and said I was taking this to collection. He called back yelling that he was sick of my threats, but I trusted I was getting somebody with a good rating. I would give him an F

Desired Settlement
$449.50 from an insurance claim chimney job never done

Business' Initial Response
**** called our office. He stated business is very slow in the summer & your materials had been stolen in a theft. He will send you the $349.50 (which would not be $449 because of the $100 inspection cost he had to pay others) when he has it. He hadn't sent the refund earlier because you had stated you would be in the hospital & he didn't want to send it to your home during that time.

Consumer's Final Response
I also have a cancelled check for the initial visit where he did nothing but estimate and charged me 44.00 which I paid him for with check number ***** on XX-X-XXXX and ******* on 12-09-2011. If you need copies I can send them.

08/28/2014Problems with Product / Service
04/07/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Chimney Cleaning, Chimney Lining Materials, Pressure Washing, Chimney Sweeper, Power Washing, Building Cleaning - Exterior, Remodeling Services, Roofing Contractors, Plumbers, Painters - Commercial or Residential, Painting Contractors, Mason Contractors, Home Improvements, Chimney Builders & Repair, Carpenters

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/06/1995Business started: 01/01/1976New Owner Date: 01/01/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Marc Wyeth (Owner)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Chimney Cleaning, Chimney Lining Materials, Pressure Washing, Chimney Sweeper, Power Washing, Building Cleaning - Exterior, Remodeling Services, Roofing Contractors, Plumbers, Painters - Commercial or Residential, Painting Contractors, Mason Contractors, Home Improvements, Chimney Builders & Repair, Carpenters

Alternate Business Names
Colonial Painting & Construction

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

7 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Clean Sweep

916 Hull Ave

Bucyrus, OH 44820-2906

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 916 Hull Ave 

    Bucyrus, OH 44820-2906(419) 562-3948

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest and West Central Ohio and Southeast Michigan. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Clean Sweep is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in Northwest Ohio and Southeast Michigan on 7/1/2012, in West Central Ohio on 1/1/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Chimney Cleaning

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.