BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Modern Builders Supply, Inc.

Phone: (419) 241-3961Fax: (419) 254-4847

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
05/18/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Not getting proper service from the Defiance branch. 2 months and still waiting.
Ordered a Pella patio door the 1st. of January 2015, received the door on the 29th. Had height issues with the door and wrong hardware was on the door. The Defiance branch ordered the material for frame expanders and hardware from pella on February 9th, the hardware was shipped to Defiance branch on Feb. 15th. On March 9th when I refused to pay for this door because it was not complete , they bring me the hardware that was sitting there for 3 weeks and was never notified that any materials came in. On March 9th I was told that a pella rep would come out for the hardware, this is April 21 and still no rep for repairs on the door. The comment I got from the Defiance branch on April 20 is that the pella rep is really busy and booked up and will try and get back with us next week for repairs. Not for sure if pella has this much trouble with their products and it takes 2 months for repairs or if they was just notified about the problem. The expanders was shipped on Feb. 25 and I was notified on April 20 that they was at the Defiance branch. Why they did not bring the expanders with the hardware on March 9, I don't know. Just thankful this was on my own house and not one of my customers that has been waiting since Jan. 29 to get these issues resolved. This door is still in the box. With this length of time and still no service, they can return the door. All these dates are accurate from receipts and post marks on boxes.

Desired Settlement
No service. They have not contacted me on getting this resolved until after 2 months of not paying the bill and MBS upper management ( not from Defiance branch ) contacted us on this matter. We talked to Defiance branch 3 times since Jan. 29 and said they would take care of these issues with materials and they never got back to us. We was never told that they ordered the frame expanders or that they was in. Due to time frame that we needed to get this project done for plaster and cabinets we ordered another door and it is installed. I feel that with this length of time and on communication for MBS they can return this door. Door is still here and in box with the wrong hardware. This started Jan 29 and today is April 21.

Business Response
Complainant ordered the door in January and it arrived at the Respondent's business on February 3. On February 9, Complainant contacted respondent to state that the door did not fit, although the ordered product was the exact dimensions that had been submitted to the manufacturer and had been approved by the Complainant. The frame expanders were ordered the same day and arrived at the Defiance, Ohio location on February 27th. On March 10th a representative from the Defiance branch took the replacement for the lock set and foot bolt to the Complainant at which time he was informed that he had installed another door and that MBS should arrange to pick up the Pella door which he was refusing to pay for. Based on these comments no further parts were provided to the Complainant. However subsequent conversations between Complainant and Respondent's corporate management seem to have softened Claimant's position on the issue of refusing the door. The frame expanders were subsequently delivered. Because Respondent is not the manufacturer of the door, we must rely on the scheduling of the service representative from the manufacturer to install the parts. A request has been made to Pella and it is our understanding he will be able to attend to the installation the week of April 27th. At the time of this writing the door remains in Complainant's possession and is not yet paid for.

03/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Product arrived damaged and the wrong color. They will not accept return of the product.
I ordered two pair of shutters that were supposed to be Burgundy. When they arrived I was out of town so they were not inspected for several days. Once I opened them, one was cracked and the they were not burgundy in color. They will not return them and said that they tell customers that they should order a color samples to ensure a color match. As I ordered them online I talked to no one that told me that and the page does not state that color matching is an issue and color samples should be purchased to ensure that they match. They now are saying that they will not return the damaged product as I did not inform them within 24 hours of receipt. Again something that is in their return policy on another page and is not shown to the customer while ordering on line. I have ordered hundreds of things on line and have never dealt with a company with such deceptive policies. They deliberately hide these details when ordering online. If I would have known of these policies I would have ordered elsewhere.

Desired Settlement
I would like a return and refund of the product or replacement of the product with paintable shutters.

Business Response
Mr. ******* ordered 2 pairs of Custom Louver (Cathedral Top, Center Mullion) 65"x18" *********** - Burgundy Red shutters from buymbs.com on 11/04/2013 at 3:31:44 PM. They were delivered on 11/12/2013 at 6:15 PM. We received an emailed response from Mr. ******* on 11/21/2013 at which time he pointed out he received a cracked shutter and that he wanted to exchange the shutters for a different color that is "paintable".

Modern Builders Supply makes every possible effort to make certain that a customer receives an order without damage, however on occasion there are unforeseen conditions out of our control that may cause damage during the shipping process. Our store policy states "... ALWAYS INSPECT YOUR SHIPMENT PROMPTLY AND REPORT ANY DAMAGED OR MISSING ITEMS TO US WITHIN TWO (2) BUSINESS DAYS! ..." If we do not promptly report damage to our shipping company, we will be unable to receive compensation for the product in a damage claim. Although we did not hear from Mr. ******* for nine days, we still offered to correct the issue by replacing the shutter.

Unfortunately replacing the shutter will not solve Mr. *******'s issue. Mr. ******* would like to return a custom product in exchange for a different color. It is not only BuyMBS.com policy, but also *********** policy (manufacturer of customer shutter) that "Custom Shutters are non-returnable".

In bold letters on the product page (http://buymbs.com/p-534-***********-custom-style-a-louver-vinyl-shutter.aspx) is displayed "Custom Shutters are not returnable". The same statement is also displayed within our Return Policy (http://buymbs.com/t-returns.aspx) that is linked in the footer of every page on our website.

If a specific color was needed to be matched, an image and link to *********** Shutter Samples are displayed on the custom shutter page Mr. ******* purchased from.

We have sold shutters to thousands of satisfied customers nationwide and this is the first complaint we have had. We will be more than happy to work with Mr. ******* to correct the incidental damage that occurred during shipping by sending a replacement Custom Louver (Cathedral Top, Center Mullion) 65"x18" *********** - Burgundy Red Shutter if desired.




Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
A custom product is not returnable. This is typically a reasonable position. However, in the case of these shutters it is a bit more complicated. When ordering these shutters you have to state design, sizes(height and width), as well as color. In other products such as countertops, blinds, etc.. it is reasonable that once the supplier has the product made to the sizes the customer supplied to the business, they cannot return the product if it is the wrong size or design. In the case of the shutters, I chose the design and size of the shutters as well as choosing the color (burgundy). I would agree that I could not call them up and say I need to return these shutters as they are the wrong size or design, but what I did was tell them the color is wrong, they are not burgundy. They have an orange hue to them. Having the shutters match the color stated is not an unreasonable expectation. The website had color examples on there for customer to look at, the color I received does not match the color on the website.
As far as the return and exchange goes, I travel for work, when I ordered the shutters the website said they were in stock and available for immediate shipment. They did not ship immediately, therefor when I received them I was out of town. There website states that no returns are accepted unless contacted within 24 hours of receipt, (again this is something that is not very clear to the customer until it is gong to work against them). I e-mailed them upon opening the package in regards to the damage and the color. I asked for an exchange and suggested sending the paintable ones so that I could paint them burgundy. That way, the color would be correct. They are correct in saying, replacing the shutters will not solve my problem because they will probably send me the same color shutters that are not the correct color. I do not want to receive a replacement shutter and have the same color problem I currently have. The idea that they can send out a product described as a certain color and not have the color correct is not acceptable. To tell the customer, "well there are many variations of burgundy and that the product must be suppliers definition of burgundy" is not acceptable.
The color variation is too significant to consider within any reasonably acceptable range. I work in plastics, I deal with color matching all of the time. A simple spectrophotometer test of these shutters would have shown that they were not burgundy. Any competent manufacturer would have flagged these samples as off color and not shipped them. Instead they ship them to the customer and say, well we call them burgundy so you have to take them because they are custom and there are not returns is unbelievable. With that type of loose definition they could have sent me any color with a bit of a red hue, called it burgundy and stuck me with them under there "no customer order returns" policy. The policy on the website should state that "any color we send you cannot be returned if it is a custom order." That way I would have known not to purchase from them.


Final Business Response
We have been working with the customer via phone to arrange desired resolution of replacement of the product with paintable shutters.

Consumer Response
As of today, I have not received another set of shutters or been contacted by the MBS. Luckily I had put a hold on the payment through my credit card, so I have not had to pay for the items. If not for this action, I would not have had any resolution at all, I would have been stuck with shutters that were the wrong color. MBS has not contacted me to say they are not shipping the replacements due to the credit card hold, or to explain the delay or even to tell me to go pound sand. While MBS paid lip service to the BBB to get them to mark the case as resolved, it is not the case. I still do not have the shutters that they stated they would provide and am now going to have to go to another company to get what I need.

04/16/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They company doubled ordered my original order and want to charge me a 20% re-stocked fee for the extra order!
On 3/11/12 I attempted to order merchandise from XXXXXX successfully so I called the munber listed on the website. I informed the "rep", named **** that the website refused my Visa Card three times citing that the "card was invalid. The "rep" said he would investigate the matter and get back to me on this day at after 1PM. He didn't call me back so I called him the next day on the 12th. At this time he said my order wasn't accepted do to the way the information was being entered by the credit cart company but he could order the merchandise for me if I gave him my credit card information. This I did and he confimed that the order went through after he called the company that processed their credit cards. A few days later I received my merchandise and thought that was the end of the matter but it wasn't. It wasn't because a few days after the initial order arrived a second order came. So, I called the Website and informed them of the mistake they had made since they were the only one I gave my Visa information to after the credit card was denied by their on-line site. They said they would contact *** and made arrangements to retrieve the second order. I also said they wouldn't assume any responsibility for the overdarafts they had caused me at my bank as a result of their double transaction causing a number of my transactions to be covered by an overdraft protection fee of $5.00 each time. They said they would arrange for the second order to be picked up and would get the 20%re-stocking fee charged by *** wavied. They gave me an excuse each time I inquired almost daily as to why nothing was being done to alievate the problem they caused me. Finally, today, I was contacted via phone and informed that the second order they ordered would be picked up tomorrow but I would be charged a 20%re-stocking fee and would also be liable for the overdrafts they caused on my bank account.

I told them this was unacceptable since they caused the problem and not me. I informed them that I wanted my full refund of $345.10 and payed for the overdrafts that their error incurred on me. I also want to know how they got the second order approved since I only gave the credit card information after all three of my attempts to order on site was denied. I did not get to check-out with any attempt to order on line.

Desired Settlement
I want a full refund of $345.10 for the second order of merchandise they sent by mistake WITHOUT A 20% RE-STOCKING FEE. And, I want them to cover the overdraft fees they caused at my bank.

Business' Initial Response
Hello,
This letter is a notice that a resolution has been reached with Mr. ******and a full refund has been issued. A resolution was made within several hours of viewing the complaint; however, this resolution does in no way agree to the claims submitted by Mr. ****** A detailed account of the transactions is described below.
According to our Authorize.net order error report, Mr. ******keyed his credit card number incorrectly on two separate occasions prompting a, "The credit card number is invalid" message. These errors occurred once at 3/10/XXXX XX:09:42 PM and again at 3/10/XXXX XX:10:16 PM.
According to our documentation, Mr. ******was able to successfully place an order online on Sunday, 03/10/2013 at 12:11:31 PM during non-business hours. Following the order a receipt was sent to *****@hotmail.com on 3/10/XXXX XX:12:32 PM.
According to our documentation, an additional order was placed on Monday, 03/11/2013 at 1:08:17 PM via phone order called in by Mr. ****** As our database does not capture credit card information, it would not be possible for an ******employee to place an order without card information given directly from a customer. Mr. ******informed our team member of products he wanted to order and volunteered credit card information to place the order by phone. Following the order a receipt was sent to *****@hotmail.com on 3/11/2013 1:09:17 PM.
Our system did not duplicate an order nor did an ******team member duplicate an order without his authorization. The reason that Mr. ******was charged and received two orders was because Mr. ******ordered once via the internet during non-business hours and then called in a phone order the very next day.
As we supply to many contractors, it is not uncommon for a customer to repeat an order or order additional product for future jobs. This situation was viewed by our customer service team as a standard return of an order. According to our return policy online, "All returns are subject to a 20% restocking fee. All returns must be shipped, freight prepaid."
We offered to help out the customer by arranging UPS to pick up the order to be returned and also covered return expenses. After we arranged UPS to pick up his order and cover the expenses, we were made aware of multiple complaints Mr. ******has filed against ********************** across the internet. After talking with Mr. ****** we have determined it was an honest misunderstanding and have given the customer a full refund of $345.10 on 3/28/2013 2:49:32 PM. Mr. ******has informed us that the bank will drop all fees associated with this claim. He has also informed us that all complaints against ********************** will be withdrawn as companies follow up.
Thank You,
****************************
XXX-XXX-XXXX Phone
www.**********

Industry Comparison| Chart

Building Materials, Windows, Siding Materials, Roofing Materials, Kitchen Cabinets & Equipment - Household, Doors

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.