BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northwest and West Central Ohio and Southeast Michigan

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/10/2007

Tuffy Associates Corp.

Phone: (419) 865-6900Fax: (419) 865-7343View Additional Phone Numbers7150 Granite Cir Ste 100, ToledoOH 43617-3114

0TRUSTS
0 People Trust Tuffy Associates Corp.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/10/2007

BBB has determined that Tuffy Associates Corp. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Tuffy Associates Corp.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tuffy Associates Corp.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
11/05/2012Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: Over charged for an oil change. Charged $21.74. Had a coupon for an oil change from them for $14.95.
10/22/2012 My son brought our 2006 CR-V to Tuffy for an oil change. He presented them with a coupon for an oil change for $14.95. The coupon was valid up to January 2, 2013. He charged my son $21.74. My son chalanged him and they said it was because the price of the oil had gone up. I brought the reciept in and challenged him. He showed me another coupon for a 19.95 oil change and said "see the price of the oil went up" as if it was justification for not honoring the valid $14.95 oil change coupon. He would not correct the diffrence.

Business' Initial Response
************, manager at the Tuffy in Palm Coast, has left a message for the customer to facilitate a refund of $5.75. Mr. ****** can reach *** at XXX-XXX-XXXX at his earlies convenience.

We apologize for any inconvenience this situation has caused.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

02/06/2012Problems with Product / Service
10/29/2012Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the service

Complaint: On 11/18/2011 we took our ****************** to the Tuffy Auto Center in Spring ****** , FL for an oil change. At that time they found a cracked axel which needed to be replaced. They also told us we would need a wheel alignment after the axel was replaced. We agreed to have both services preformed. Mr. ****** was the service desk manager that day and he specifically told us he was a Tuffy Corporate manager who was filling in for the normal store manager. He recommended that we purchase a Lifetime Wheel Alignment Policy. We hesitated at first but he told us the policy covered any car we own (we also own a *****************) and that it would be good at any Tuffy nationwide. We asked Mr. ****** about cars we might purchase in the future and he told us YES they would be covered because the policy stays with the OWNER - NOT THE CAR. We agreed to purchase the policy under these terms. We would never have purchased this policy if it only covered our 15 year old ******.On 9/10/2012 we called Tuffy in Spring ****** to schedule a wheel alignment on our ********** and learned that shop had closed. We called the New Port Richey Tuffy to schedule this service and were told that they would NOT honor the lifetime alignment policy on any car we owned, including the 1996 ******. So we contacted Tuffy's corporate office, spoke with ******* ****** and explained the problem. She in turn contacted her district manager, whose name we were never told. Ms. ****** got back to us and said they had spoken to the New Port Richey Tuffy and that they would honor the alignment policy, but ONLY for the 1996 ******. That was the extent of their resolution. She said they would do nothing more.Due to the fact that we were deliberately lied to & deceived by Tuffys Corporate Manager, Mr. ******, we are seeking resolution by having $110.00 refunded to us ($199.99 for the policy less $89.99 for the wheel alignment performed on 11/18/2011).
Product_Or_Service: lifetime wheel alignment policy

Business' Initial Response
Dear ****,

I received your notice of Ms. ******'s complaint regarding a lifetime alignment warranty she purchased at the Tuffy Auto Service Center in Spring ******, FL. As she mentions in her complaint, the Tuffy Auto Service Center in Spring ******, FL has closed and the nearest Tuffy in New Port Richey has agreed to honor the lifetime alignment warranty. As with most lifetime warranties, they are only valid for the vehicle or item with which they are purchased. In this case, the warranty is valid on the ******. This warranty was sold by this particular franchise owner in his location. The only lifetime warranties offered by all Tuffy Auto Service Centers are on mufflers, brake lining, shocks and struts for parts only. With regard to Mr. ******: we are not familiar with this employee and he was/is not an employee of Tuffy Associates Corp. Attached is a copy of the original invoice Ms. ****** sent us. Mr. *********, **************** for this area, has reviewed this issue and we maintain the offer made in September that the New Port Richey Tuffy will honor the alignment warranty on the ******.

Thank you,
****** ******
Customer Service Rep./
************************
Tuffy Associates Corp.


Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response from Tuffy is not an acceptable resolution to our complaint. A Tuffy employee, Mr. *******, who represented himself as a Tuffy Corporate Manager, purposefully lied, deceived and scammed us. Tuffy is a corporation with name recognition and we relied on that name recognition when we decided to purchase the lifetime wheel alignment policy from Tuffy. We trusted Mr. ******* when he said that the lifetime wheel alignment policy would be honored on any car we might ever own, at any Tuffy location in the United States. We specifically asked Mr. ******* if we should have anything in writing to this effect and he said "no, your name is in the computer and all the Tuffy service centers have access to this information and your lifetime alignment policy". Therefore, Tuffy's offer of resolution is not even remotely close to the promise that they made to us on November 18, 2011. We did not buy this lifetime warranty from a fly-by-night con-artist on a street corner in a seedy section of town, we bought it from a Tuffy Service Center in Spring ******, FL, and we think it is a disgrace that Tuffy would attempt to distance themselves from one of their own authorized service centers. We, and every other potential Tuffy customer, have the right to expect that Tuffy will stand by their commitments and promises, including those of their franchise service centers. We will not be satisfied until they refund to us the money that we spent to purchase this fraudulent and bogus lifetime wheel alignment policy.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Small Engine Repair, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Radiators - Automotive, Mufflers & Exhaust Systems, Brake Service, Auto Repair - Maintenance, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repair - Shocks, Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension, Auto Repair - Suspension, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Air Conditioning, Tire Dealers, Brake Fluids, Starters - Engine

Additional Information

top

This is the business review for all the Corporate owned Tuffy Auto Service Centers in the country. If you have a question or concern about one of the Corporate owned Tuffy's listed then please direct your inquires to the Toledo, Ohio BBB. Any other Tuffy Auto Service Center not listed is a franchise location and inquires need to be directed to BBB in the area of the Tuffy shop.

BBB file opened: 01/01/1969Business started: 01/01/1969
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 1986, DE

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Roger Hill (President/CEO)Ms. Karen Vellequette (CFO)Customer Contact: Ms. Bridgette Newman (Administrative Assistant)Mr. Bryan Kaufman (Director of Marketing)Ms. Wendy Assally (Administrative Assistant)
Number of Employees

40

Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Small Engine Repair, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Radiators - Automotive, Mufflers & Exhaust Systems, Brake Service, Auto Repair - Maintenance, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repair - Shocks, Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension, Auto Repair - Suspension, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Air Conditioning, Tire Dealers, Brake Fluids, Starters - Engine

Alternate Business Names
Tuffy Tire & Auto Service Centers
Industry Tips
The Hail Season is Here

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Tuffy Associates Corp.

7150 Granite Cir Ste 100

Toledo, OH 43617-3114

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 7150 Granite Cir Ste 100 

    Toledo, OH 43617-3114(419) 865-6900

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest and West Central Ohio and Southeast Michigan. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Tuffy Associates Corp. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 228-8339
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in Northwest Ohio and Southeast Michigan on 7/1/2012, in West Central Ohio on 1/1/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

The Hail Season is Here
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.