BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/30/2010

Dan R's Automotive Sales & Service

Phone: (419) 693-6141Fax: (419) 693-9464

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
03/03/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
on or about 11/19/14. my vehicle was brought to Dan R's to be fixed. I decided to put engine in vehicle. got it back on 12/19/14. it broke on 1/19/15.
On or about 11/19/14 my **** ***** ******* was taken to Dan R's to be serviced. I gave them $2800 cash for deposit on services. It was decided that a used engine with 6 month/ 6,000 mile warranty would be installed. It took them 2 1/2 weeks to get the correct engine to the shop. An additional week to be installed, and I got ******* back on 12/19/14. Paid balance in full. Total cost was $6590.47 invoice#XXXXX Had them tighten upper radiator hose before I left property. I came back on 12/31/14 for my 2 week/500 mile inspection *******, I had 337 miles ran on *******. 01/19/15,my engine failed on highway I-75 (south) on my way to work. I let Dan R's know where it was located after I was stopped safely at BP gas station in ******* *****, ***** I left my keys in ******* as instructed. My supervisor drove 25 miles to pick me up for work. Dan R's tows ******* from ************* to their shop, look the engine over. Dan R's says the engine overheated you ruined it. They say this over and over, as if to justify why they are not going to honor their guarantee. Dan R's says the warranty has been voided. On 01/22/15 Dan R's offered me a different engine for $4089 invoice#******Dan R's also offer me another vehicle with trade-in for $4400. When I mention Dan R's i mean ***** *******. My complaint is this.I realize that I have 6 month/6,000 mile warranty. They are shifting blame on me for driving the *******,I think I paid enough money to drive the truck. I didn't abuse or misuse or ignore anything. I demand to know what happened to the *******. I paid too much to have the engine fail me after 30 days. Not to mention I was off of work from 12/23/14 to 01/03/15. ******* was barely driven. This is not right what Dan R's is trying to pull. Also on 01/22/15 I drop off loaner car and keys. I arrange for AAA to pick up ******* from Dan R's. AAA calls me back and say I have a balance from Dan R's. I call Dan R's back and I'm told that I didn't bring their car back. So now i feel like they think I'm a thief and a schemer. So i tell them with whom I left the car keys with and it's verified. I did not appreciate that in slightest. However, after reminding them how much that I have spent with them, they did waive the tow fee for picking up my truck, after it broke down after me having it less than 30 days. They say that they guarantee their work so guaranteed service should be expected, not shamed or threatened out of them. Totally unprofessional on the owners part. Something this serious the owner should be out in front of it. Not hiding in the shadows. I cannot afford to have this complaint fall upon deaf ears. My wife and I work too hard to have our money just go down the drain. We just dont want results we need them.

Desired Settlement
1)Either they replace engine at their expense.
2)Refund me money from replacing engine labor and parts.
3)Trade cars as an even exchange.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@danrsauto.com
11/19/2014 Vehicle was towed to our shop and a free loaner car was provided to Mr. ***** to use while his vehicle was in the shop. His original complaint was the vehicle had been overheating and loosing coolant he kept driving the vehicle until it quit running. We inspected the vehicle and determined he drove the vehicle to the point where the head gaskets were blown. The engine also had a lower end knock, since the vehicle had 147,307 miles on it we suggested either a used engine or remanufactured engine. Mr. ***** opted for the used engine. We ordered the engine and unfortunately the salvage yard shipped us the wrong engine so we had to wait for the correct engine to be shipped. This process did delay the installation for a week however as stated before we did provide Mr Fobbs with a free loaner vehicle. Mr ***** picked up his vehicle on 12/19/14. I am sending a copy of the invoice in a separate email. We had him initial that he would come back for us to reinspect the vehicle in 15 days or 500 miles. Part of the disclaimer is that if he has a problem he will address the issue immediately. He came in on December 31, 2014 for his reinspection. See attached invoice. On Saturday January 17th Mr. ***** called me at 7:32 pm and stated his engine was overheating. I told him don't drive the vehicle and I would send a tow truck. He said he would call me back once he figured out how he was going to get to work and let me know where the vehicle was. He called back at 7:46 pm - 14 minutes later and said the vehicle was at the ** station in ******* ***** ***** I dispatched my tow truck to go get the vehicle. On Monday AM Mr ***** came in and picked up a loaner car. We looked at his vehicle that afternoon. The engine had gotten so hot that the plastic on the oil filter had melted. I am sending a picture of the oil filter in a separate email. The engine was also loud and noisy, Mr ***** had driven the vehicle so long while it was overheating that is destroyed the engine. At that point it was impossible to determine what started the problem because he drove it so long while it was hot. He drove a total of 1133 miles on the replacement engine. I explained to Mr. ***** that is was his responsibility to shut the engine down immediately when it started overheating and not to continue driving the vehicle. The salvage yard will not warranty the engine because he drove it to the point of no return. I gave Mr. ***** an estimate of replacing the engine or trading the vehicle in on one of our used vehicles. I offered him $1019.65 trade in on a **** **** ******* He asked me to give him a week to make a decision. Later that same day when AAA called to pick up his vehicle I did not realize he had left the loaner car with us I thought he still had it. I apologized to him once he told me he had returned the loaner car. That was a misunderstanding since he did not give the keys to me but someone else at the counter. It was not my intent to make him feel uncomfortable. Mr. ***** is dealing with the owner of Dan R's so I am not sure what he means about the owner hiding in the shadows. If we do something wrong we fix it however I can't fix someone driving their vehicle to the point of no return. As a driver Mr ***** has a responsibility to pay attention to his warning lights, smells(he said he smelled a burning smell), and conditions of his vehicle.
The 6 month / 6000 mile warranty is against a failure that may occur inside the engine not if it is caused by the driver.

Consumer Response
The fact of the matter is I spent my wifes and I money on a product and a service. Dan R's warranty does not state that I am not covered if the engine fails on me. What it does say is that the my warranty is good for 6 months and or 6,000 miles. I did nothing wrong, I addressed the issue immediately and truthfully. This is sad and disheartening that this is being handled in such a bad way. I'm not looking for handouts. I smelled the something odd after I was off the road. So what does that mean? Tell me how I caused the engine to lose coolant and oil again. That is absolutely not my fault as to this engine failing on me. It is Dan R's responsibility to give consumer what they paid for, especially when they apply a warranty to said purchase.

Final Business Response
First let me say I am sorry that Mr. Fobbs had a problem. We realize he spent a great deal of money on his vehicle. With that being said as I stated before as a driver you have a responsibility to pay attention to your vehicle and shut it down if there is a problem prior to catastrophic failure. He signed on his engine replacement work order that he would shut the engine down immediately. Immediately means immediately not 2 minutes or 10 minutes or 20 minutes but now. He clearly drove the vehicle to the point of no return because the oil filter plastic started to melt and the four heat tabs on the engine block melted. These require temperatures of 260 degrees to melt. The salvage yard will not offer a replacement engine under warranty if the heat tabs are melted. He overheated the engine severely. Mr ***** filed a complaint with ****** ********* ****** ******** ******* ********** ******** On February 18, 2015 Mr ***** and myself met with our mediator ***** ***** (XXX-XXX-XXXX). I offered to provide Mr. ***** with a replacement used engine and change over parts such as oil, oil filter, coolant and misc. gaskets needed for the engine installation. He would be responsible for paying to have another shop install the engine. The parts are the biggest expense vs. the labor cost. He said it was his wife's decision and asked for a week to make that decision. After one week he did not call the courts. I called Mr. ***** several times and finally was told today March 3rd that Mr. ***** rejected my offer. During our mediation session I asked if I could speak to Mrs. ***** directly and was told no by Mr ***** ~ he did not want anyone to speak to her. I found that odd since she is clearly the decision maker in the family. Since Mr. ***** had the vehicle towed from our shop the same day we discovered the engine was burnt up we really don't know why it failed. Mr ***** had originally said he needed a week to make a decision so we did not look at the vehicle any further and then he sent a tow truck without much notice for the vehicle early that afternoon. Damage could have been caused by something he hit in the road ~ we did not have the opportunity to investigate further before it left our shop. Furthermore Mr. ***** wrote a complaint to you the BBB, he called ******* ** **** for ****** and he filed a complaint with the Court system. I called him and asked him which venue he wanted to work with to try to settle the issue and he picked the court system. Now since he rejected our offer with the courts he wants to involve BBB and ******* ** again.
My offer still stands that our shop will provide the parts for the engine change over and they will just have to provide the labor from another shop. I feel this is a fair settlement for both parties.

07/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Problem was incorrectly identified resulting in unnecessary repairs
I took my 2007 Dodge Grand Caravan with 26,619 miles to *** R for an oil change I purchased in a prepaid package. I informed them that the ac was blowing out warm air. They told me that the compressor was hardly spinning. They replaced the compressor and I paid them $1,013.13 on 4/24/13 invoice #XXXXX
The ac continued to blow warm air. I returned the van to *** R and was told that they found the leak and it was in the rear ac. I told, *****, that Chrysler had a service bulletin with an extended warranty on the rear ac. He said he would call ******** the next day with my vin # and find out more information.

The problem was covered but I needed to take the van to a ******** dealer for the repair. This left me with no ac in extremely hot weather causing hardship. The front compressor would not work with a leak in the rear system due to a safety switch

I had to take the van to Charlie's Dodge in ****** and they confirmed the above and made the repair free of charge on 6/25/13.

Desired Settlement
I would like the $1,013.13 refunded.

Business' Initial Response
We serviced the air conditioner system on Ms. *******'s van last year on May 19, 2012. We had her stop back on June 2, 2012 to inspect for any leaks and did not find any leaks in the AC system. In April of 2013 she brought the van back in because the AC system did not work. We diagnosed the AC compressor to be faulty. We determined this through the pressure reading on the system. The air condtioner had refrigerant in system however the compressor would not come on and the reed valve readings were erratic. We replaced the compressor, receiver drier and expansion valve and then recharged the system. the system held a vacumn test for over 30 minutes indicating no major leaks at the time of service.When the van left it was blowing 42 degrees at the vents as indicated on our receipt. Ms. ******* brought her vehicle back June 22nd, 2013 because her air conditioner was blowing warm. We gave her a courtesy car and inspected her vehicle. We discovered that the rear air conditioner evaporator core was leaking. We also investigated the TSB for the rear evaporator and after contacting the ***** dealer learned the rear evaporator would be covered under warranty and there would be no cost to her. We provided her a car to use for an entire week since she was in the middle of a family crisis. Her van had two separate issues the first one was the compressor and then two months later a leak. When she left our shop after the AC compressor replacement the air blew 42 degrees.

Business' Final Response
I also would like to add that we have a great deal of experience and training in air conditioning and especially with the ******** rear evaporator issues. We look for leaks in known problematic areas when inspecting AC systems. We would have put more refrigerant in the system so she would not be without the AC system in the heat if it did not have such a large leak. We tried very hard to explain the AC system and it's different components to Ms. ******* however she had friends who were giving her false information. This created a very tense situation when she picked up her van.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Transmissions - Automobile, Towing - Automotive, Brake Service, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Renting & Leasing, Auto Electric Service, Auto Air Conditioning, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.