BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northwest and West Central Ohio and Southeast Michigan

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/09/2009

AccuTech Automotive Sales & Service Inc.

(419) 693-83241102 Starr Ave, ToledoOH 43605-2434

0TRUSTS
0 People Trust AccuTech Automotive Sales & Service Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/09/2009

BBB has determined that AccuTech Automotive Sales & Service Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised AccuTech Automotive Sales & Service Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AccuTech Automotive Sales & Service Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
09/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: took ** ****** in for oil leak was told rear main seal needed repaired.


Took my 94 ****** ***** in on 03/01/2013 for repair of the rear seal & oil pan replacement. Repair cost of 1,180.68 car continued to leak oil after repair returned on 03/08/2013 **** told me it's not the rear main seal leaking it's the head gasket i said no it's the rear main returned again on 03/22/2013 with same complaint **** again told me it's the head gasket leaking oil and would cost 1,980 to fix. Returned to Accu tech on 04/12/2013 to complain again. **** said he'd repair the rear main again. Picked car up on 04/13/2013 drove it, and it continues to leak oil from rear main seal. Returned on 04/19/2013 again he said it was the head gasket leaking ....returned home where the car set. I then took the car to ***** ***** ********** on July 3rd in which they determined it was the rear main seal leaking. During the course of the repair it was also determined by ***** ***** ********** that the rear main seal was NEVER REPAIRED by Accu Tech.That the transmission was NEVER removed from the car to make the necesary ************ ***** ********** replaced the rear main seal and the car HAS NOT LEAKED any OIL what so ever from the rear main seal, head gasket or anywhere else on the car.
I was also informed by ***** ***** ********** that, the head gasket was fine and not leaking oil. Since the work by ***** ***** ********** was done the car has been driven back and forth to ******* on a daily basis without one drop of oil leaking.

Initial Business Response
ON 03/01/2013 MR **** ******* CAME IN TO ACCUTECH AUTOMOTIVE AND INFORMED US THAT HE WANTED A REAR MAIN SEAL DONE ON HIS CAR AND HE STATED THAT ONE OF HIS FRIENDS A ****** MAN THAT WORKED FOR A DEALER SHIP TOLD HIM THE REAR MAIN SEAL WAS LEAKING. WE GAVE MR **** ****** A PRICE FOR THE REPAIR AND HE TOLD US TO GO ON AND FIX IT EVEN THOUGH THAT WAS NOT OUR DIAGNOSES FROM THE START, WE STARTED THE REPAIR AND AS WE GO ON WITH THE REPAIR AND TAKING THE TRANS A PART ON HIS **** ****** ***** WE NOTICED THAT THE OIL PAN HAD A PIN HOLE AND LOOKS LIKE IF THE CAR WAS BOTTOMED OUT AND DAMEGED WE INFORMED MR **** ****** ABOUT HIS OIL PAN AND HE TOLD US TO REPLACE IT, WE DID.AS THE TRANS WAS REMOVED TO REPLACE REAR MAIN SEAL WE NOTICED THAT HIS HEAD GASKETS WERE SWALLED UP ALONG THE HEAD AND THE ENDINE WHERE THEY COME TOGETHER AND LOOK AS HE HAS SMALL SEEPING FROM IT BUT NEVER DONE ANY REPAIR TO HIS HEAD GASKET, A REAR MAIN SEAL WAS DONE AND MR ****** GETS HIS CAR BACK. AROUND A MONTH LATER MR **** ******* CAME IN AND TOLD US HE STILL HAD OIL LEAK AND HIS ****** BUDDY TOLD HIM THAT IF AN OEM SEAL WASNT INSTALLED SOMETIMES AFTER MARKET SEALS WILL LEAK ON THOSE CARS. I TOLD MR ****** HAPPLY THAT I WILL TAKE HIS TRANS OUT AND PUT AN OEM SEAL ON IT WITH NO CHARGE AS IF THE PART WAS A DIFFECT HE HAS A 1 YEAR PARTS AND LABOR WARRANTY HE TOLD US YES THATS WHAT HE WANTS DONE AND WE TOOK IT A PART FOR THE SECOND TIME AND PUT AN OEM REAR MAIN SEAL ON IT JUST TO MAKE THE CUSTOMER HAPPY. WE TOOK THE TRANS OUT FOR THE SECOND TIME OUT EVEN THOUGH OUR BELIVE IT WASNT THE REAR MAIN SEAL FAUL WE SAW OIL SPOTTING AROUND THE SEAL THAT WE INSTALLED THE FIRST TIME WE LOOKED FURTHER INTO IT AND WE SAW THAT THE CRAKSHAFT WHERE THE SEAL MEATS WAS WORN OUT AND THATS WHAT WAS CAUSING THE OIL SPOTTING AND THERE IS NO REAL PERMANENT FIX TO THAT UNLESS U REPLACE THE CRANK. WE INSTALLED THE NEW OEM SEAL AND IT WAS TIGHT AROUND THE CRANK MUSH TIGHTER THAN THE AFTER MARKET SEAL. THE CAR WAS PUT BACK TOBETHER AND TESTED AND EVERYTHING SEEMS TO BE OK. WE INFORMED MR ****** THAT EVERYTHING WAS OK HIS CRANKSHAFT DOES HAVE WEAR ON IT AND ITS A NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR FRON THE SEAL BECAUSE THE SEAL RIDES ON THE CRANKSHAFT AND THAT HE MIGHT HAVE PROBLEMS DOWN THE ROAD BUT AT THIS TIME THE OEM SEAL IS MUCH TIGHTER THAN THE AFTER MARKET AND HOPFULLY THAT WILL BE IT. WE TOLD MR ****** TO LET US KNOW IF THAT TOOK CARE OF IT AS WE DIDNT SEE AND LEAKS AT ALL. WE DIDNT HEAR FROM MR ******* COUPLE MONTH. MR ****** CAME IN 4 MONTH LATER WITH THE SEAL THAT WE INSTALLED ON HIS CAR AND TOLD US THAT HE WAS TOLD THE SEAL WAS NEVER REPLACED WHEN THE SEAL IS BRAND NEW. HE ASKED IF HE CAN GET HIS MONEY BACK HE HAD SOMEONE ELSE LOOK AT IT AND THEY TOLD HIM THEY NEED TO TAKE IT A PART TO FIND OUT WHERE ITS LEAKING FROM AND HE TOLD THEM OK TAKE IT A PART AND THEY TOLD HIS THAT HIS CRANK IS WORN OUT AND THEY CAN PUT SOME RING AROUNG THE CRANK AND REPLACE THE SEAL AND THAT MIGHT FIX IT SO HE TOLD THE TO DO IT AND AFTER IT WAS DONE HE CAME TOLD US THAT HE SPENT MONEY ON HIS CAR TO RE DO THE SEAL HE WANTS HIS MONEY BACK WE SAID SORRY WE CANT BUT WHAT WE COULD HAVE DONE FOR U IS, IF THE SEAL WAS A FAILIER WE ARE RESPONSIBLE AS PART STORE WILL PAY US TO TAKE IT BACK A PART WITH PARTS AND LABOR ARE COVERED TO US AS AN AUTOMOTIVE SHOP WITH ZERO DOLLARS OUT OF MR **** ****** POCKET FOR 1 YEAR. BUT HERE AT ACCUTECH AUTOMOTIVE WE SAW THAT HE HAD A CRANKSHAFT FAILIER WHICH CAUSED THE SEAL TO WEAR/NOT FIT SNUG AROUND THE CRANKSHAFT WHICH CAUSED A OIL LEAK. THANKS.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
1.Concerning the oil pan I was told the oil pan had RUSTED through not that it bottomed out causing the leak.
2. I never saw the old oil pan to determine what was actually wrong with it. Which I believe is a violation of **** code.
3.**** told me the transmission did not have to be removed from the car in order to make the repairs it only had to be separated from the motor.Which come to find out is the wrong way to change out a rear main seal.
4.When I returned the car to Accutech **** insisted it was the head gasket leaking oil.For the amount of oil leaking and the location of it, it could not be the head gasket.Two other mechanics looked at the car and said it was not the head gasket leaking.
5.After 30 minutes of talking and **** insisting it's the head gasket he agreed to install a second rear main seal.
6. I returned the car after the second rear main was installed still leaking oil from same location.Again **** insisted it was the head gasket. Price for new head gasket $1,980 .
7.Then decided to take car to ***** ***** **************** thing they did was to degrease the engine so they could get a better idea of where oil leak was coming from.Which Accutech never did.
******* ***** determined that the leak was in the rear main seal.They also determined that the head gasket was not leaking as stated by **** at Accutech.
9. I athorized ***** ***** to make the repair to the rear main seal at a cost to me of $624 .
10. As a result the car is no longer leaking ANY OIL what so ever due to the fact it was repaired correctly at ***** ******
11.I paid my bill in full to Accutech Automotive **** had no problem cashing my check .
12.If the said repair was beyond his knowledge or skill he should have said so instead of trying to take me for another $1,980.00 I would taken my car elsewhere for the repair.
13.**** and or Accutech owes me $849.00 for repairs that were never done!
14. I'am VERY DISSATISFIED with Accutech Automtive!
15.I threatened to take him to small claims court he laughed and said I'd never get any money from him guess he's been there before and knows how small claims court works.






Final Business Response
Sorry there in nothing we can help mr **** ****** with at this time because, if and only if the seal had failed, the seal has 1 year parts and labor from the day it was replaced the first time. So if another shop said his seal failed then he should have brought the car back and informed us like he should (because) its under WARRANTY, we would have looked into the matter and replaced the seal at no charge.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company provided proper verification that indicated there was no obligation to resolve the issues of the complaint.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/09/2009Business started: 01/15/2007
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Fadi Ramadan (Owner)
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Industry Tips
The Hail Season is Here

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for AccuTech Automotive Sales & Service Inc.

1102 Starr Ave

Toledo, OH 43605-2434

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1102 Starr Ave 

    Toledo, OH 43605-2434(419) 693-8324

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest and West Central Ohio and Southeast Michigan. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*AccuTech Automotive Sales & Service Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in Northwest Ohio and Southeast Michigan on 7/1/2012, in West Central Ohio on 1/1/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

The Hail Season is Here
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.