BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northwest and West Central Ohio and Southeast Michigan

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/13/2006

AAA Car Care Plus

Find a Location

Phone: (419) 724-1490Fax: (419) 724-1497View Additional Phone Numbers5606 Airport Hwy., ToledoOH 43615

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/13/2006

BBB has determined that AAA Car Care Plus meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised AAA Car Care Plus' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on AAA Car Care Plus

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
04/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Went in with a request to fix my car, the car still throws the same ECM code.
I took my care into AAA to have the following things fixed.
1.- Check engine light, code P0300 Multiple/Random cylinder misfire.
2.- Rough running / misfire.

They charged me to have the ignition coil replaced (parts plus labor) and front end components, which I did not take the car in for.

A couple of days ago, the check engine light came back on again, with the same code, P0300. It also still has an intermittent misfire / rough running issue. I took the car back in and they hooked up the scanner and told me a different code was set, (Fuel too lean) and tried to tell me that it might be an oxygen sensor. I never have seen any such new code myself, and anytime the check engine light comes on, I have it promptly put on a scan tool at ********. He said that I would have to drop the car off because they needed more time with it. I told them that I was prepared to wait, but they did not want to take a closer look at it and I was told to come back when the P0300 code came back. I left the shop and an hour later the P0300 code came back. I am quite upset paying them to fix the issues listed above and still having the exact same problems. I am tired of paying to have my car fixed multiple times when it should have been fixed right the first time.
I feel that I have been taken advantage of by AAA.

Desired Settlement
I want AAA to examine my car, acknowledge the P0300 code, and fix it and the rough running / misfire issue once and for all, without any further charge or hassle to me, or, provide me a refund of the price of the ignition coil and it's labor (Their choice). I do not want to be given the run around, and I do not want them to attempt to convince me that there is something else wrong with my car and attempt to charge me for it. I paid my money in good faith that the 2 above listed issues would be properly repaired, but I am back where I started when I took my car in for service. They were paid, and my car still is acting up.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@aaanwohio.com
March 31, 2014. We will contact Mr. ****** immediately and have him bring his vehicle in to be rechecked and corrected. We discovered that his initial complaint had gone to the incorrect department within our company accounting for the delay. We apologize for that and will correct it.

Thank you

Final Business Response
April 4, 2014. Here is an update on this customer complaint. The manager at the shop has made multiple attempts to contact Mr. ****** in the past week. We want to bring his car back in so that we can resolve his issue.

To date, he has not returned our calls. We will keep trying. Customer satisfaction is very important to us and we do not want this complaint to go unresolved.

Thank you. **** ***** Car Care Plus Operations

03/27/2014Problems with Product / Service
02/27/2012Problems with Product / Service
07/31/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Drove car to AAA on 6/16/2013 to evaluate battery after trouble starting. I was there more than 3 hours and finally the attendant informed me that the wait was related to the need for battery to be evaluated. Subsequently informed that battery was totally in need of replacement. Realized that I purchased the battery at another place, I decided to go there for possible warranty application. I drove the car to *****************************. where they had to perform another evaluation to use warranty and alas the test came back to show no need for a replacement at this time. Hasty's had to keep the car overnight on the 16th because it was near closing when I arrived causing me to be without transportation and missing event I had planned to attend that evening.
Product_Or_Service: Auto battery

Desired Settlement
One hundred dollars and an apology for my time and inconvenience.

Business' Initial Response
Mr. ********,
I do apologize for the wait to check your battery. The equipment we use does a load test on the battery and will let us know if the battery will hold a load or not. It is possible for a battery to check OK at one time and not OK another. The battery will most likely fail in the future if it failed once before.
We will not issue a refund at the time and we do apologize for the inconvenience that you incurred.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Continue to feel that your business was attempting to defraud me. Of course the battery may fail in the future as all do, however, my tech also put the battery on a tester and it was evaluated to be at 50% and continues to function properly without fail more than a month later. People need to know because because they trust the brand and often your service vehicles often first to arrive and recommend.

Business' Final Response
We again apologize for the wait that you had on your vehicle. AAA is not in the business of defrauding anyone. We follow industry dtandards for all of the diagnosis we provide.
There is in this case no refund to give. We do appreciate that you have shared your concern with us and we have double checked our equipment to makesure it is working properly.
Thank you

03/08/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Transmissions - Automobile, Tire Repair, Radiators - Automotive, Brake Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Detailing, Battery Charging Equipment

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/27/2006Business started: 01/01/2005
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bob Kazmierczak (Manager)Mr. Eric Johnson (Director, Automotive Services)
Number of Employees

23

Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Transmissions - Automobile, Tire Repair, Radiators - Automotive, Brake Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Detailing, Battery Charging Equipment

Industry Tips
The Hail Season is Here

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for AAA Car Care Plus

5606 Airport Hwy.

Toledo, OH 43615

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 308 New Towne Square Dr. 

    Toledo, OH 43612

  • 5606 Airport Hwy. 

    Toledo, OH 43615

  • 6158 W. Central Avenue 

    Toledo, OH 43617(419) 724-1490

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest and West Central Ohio and Southeast Michigan. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*AAA Car Care Plus is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (419) 897-4455 ext 3609
  • (419) 470-5665

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (419) 720-5919
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in Northwest Ohio and Southeast Michigan on 7/1/2012, in West Central Ohio on 1/1/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

The Hail Season is Here
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.