BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/16/2010

Kistler Ford Inc.

Phone: (419) 531-9911Fax: (419) 380-1096View Additional Phone Numbers5555 W Central Ave, ToledoOH 43615-1512

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

New and used automobile sales, service, and body shop.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/16/2010

BBB has determined that Kistler Ford Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Kistler Ford Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Kistler Ford Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
08/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
New engine installed in my ********. Multiple trips to shop because of issues. Transmission failure because engine was not installed properly.
Feb 2013 New engine installed. Brought back to shop numerous times due to issues of smelling gas and missing when idle and check engine light coming on. This process went on for over 10 months.There were times when they would have my car for more than 2 weeks at a time and no one could tell us what was wrong with it. I picked my car up in December 2013 after another trip to shop. Was told it was running like a swiss watch. The next day my family and I were left stranded on the side of 75. Called dealership, vehicle was towed in. Called two days later to tell me I needed a catalytic converter. Was told it would cost $750. Went to pick up the car and the bill was over $1200. After much conversation and reminders of what we were told we paid $750 for new catalytic converters. Engine light came on within 24 hours of leaving shop. Kept car for 2 weeks, installed a computer, but would not give any paperwork. Called numerous times, finally received bill, with little to no details. Within a month of last trip to shop transmission failed. Transmission shop said it was because the engine was not properly aligned to the transmission when installed. Door at back glass was cracked by dealership. Brought it to they're attention, no response. My New Engine that we paid for has cost us $750 for catalytic converters that did not fix the problem. We have a broken back glass and we had to replace the transmission. The transmission shop is more than happy to explain why it failed and the specific reason. As it it is currently, the dash board light that should indicate engine problems or even the seat belt light no longer work after our last trip to Kistler when they installed out new computer at what they called " no charge" .

Desired Settlement
I would like them to refund my money for the catalytic converter and pay for my transmission replacement that failed because of the way the engine was installed.

Business Response
The converter failed because the computer failed which cased the engine to run rough and plugged the converters. The transmission failed 12 months after the engine was installed. We feel this is not a related issue. The vehicle had over 237,000 miles on it when it was brought to us in XX-XXXX and we feel that the transmission failed due to age/mileage of vehicle. We feel we were very fair throughout the repair process and gave the customer a free loaner and discounts on the repair.

Consumer Response
I agree with Kistler. My vehicle does have a lot of miles, but has been well maintained and repaired whenever there was an issue. When we first brought our vehicle to Kistler is had 224025 miles and we had a new transmission installed at just over 179,000 miles. Never any problems. It had been in the vehicle over a year. We agree a year passed from the time the new engine was installed until transmission failure, but less than 10,000 miles was put on the car.The transmission shop said the transmission is a sealed unit and there is no way to check the level unless you drop the pan. They said when the engine was bolted up to the transmission it was not properly aligned. That caused the seal to warp, the transmission to start leaking and caused our failure. My vehicle based on just the mileage has been driven very little over the last year because of all the issues. I have rented cars more than a half a dozen times for my trips home to *** because I cannot trust the new engine. I sent the service manager at Kistler pictures of a leak under our car and asked him to check it when we brought it in. he said they found nothing. I am sending those pictures.The engine in my vehicle has never worked correctly. It still misses and will cut off if it idles too long. I am afraid to bring it back because of all the issues I have had whenever my vehicles was there. I was given loaner vehicles on occasion, but also went many days with no car. I also have no knowledge of ever being given a discount. For the record, the old engine in my ******** had never given us any problems. It did not burn oil or leak. I needed to replace the three timing chains.The service manager said that the engine had to be pulled to do so, because of the way **** designed it. It said it would be over $3000 to replace the chains and he would suggest that given my engine had over 200,000 miles that I should spend the extra money and put in a new engine at the same time and given how well my vehicle had been taken car of I would be good to go for a few years. I wish that had been the case and that I had not had to spend all this extra money for repairs because of the way the engine was installed. I am more than happy to have the mechanic at the transmission company speak to you or write a letter stating what happened. The Catalytic Converter failed because we kep driving it and the mix was too rich. That is why we kept smelling fuel and bringing it back to you. A couple of months passed before your shop was finally able to resolve that problem and in the mean time we had to pay for new Catalytic converters. **** ********


Business Response
We stand by the workmanship of the engine installation. There is only one position that the trans can be bolted to the engine and there is no alignment possible, therefore we do not feel that we are at fault for the transmission failure.


Business Response
As a gesture of goodwill, we are willing to offer Mrs. ******** **** towards her repairs. If she accepts, we would like her to sign a waiver that she will not make any additional claims against Kistler Ford regarding the repairs we performed. She can contact ******** ***** at XXX-XXX-XXXX.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Good Morning,
I appreciate your response, but do not accept your proposed resolution.I see your answer as to the why so I wanted to make sure I had my information correct. We called back to the transmission shop that installed our transmission to ask why again our fairly new transmission failed and this is what they said.
There are at least 2 possible motor to transmission alignment considerations when reinstalling the motor.
1) The studs on the torque converter must line up with the holes in the flywheel. If this alignment is not correct, the torque converter will be forced up against the hydraulic pump which could damage the seal on the torque converter or the pump.

2) Improper stud torqueing could cause misalignment and damage the seal on the torque converter. There is a required sequence of torqueing the studs that must be followed.

Our seal failed as a result of the new engine being installed and one or both of these above problems happening. The transmission shop has no vested interest in this case, other than to tell us what happened and why our seal leaked.
We have talked this over and are willing to accept the cost of the new transmission. We paid ******** for the last transmission. We are willing to accept the cost of the Catalytic Converter as we may have had to replace it at some point, but given the fact that our transmission had recently been replaced and the transmission shop says it was because of the new engine installation that our seal leaked we feel it is only fair to ask Kistler Ford to reimburse us for our cost. We are willing to accept ******** and agree to sign a waiver against any additional claims. **** ********


Business Response
We still stand by the fact that we did not cause the transmission to fail based on the reasoning that it can't be misaligned. Our mission at Kistler Ford is complete satisfaction for our customers, therefore we will give you the ******** you have requested if you are willing to sign a release of any further claims.

07/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I took the car in for one repair and another repair was performed,causing me to be able to start my vehicle,because the anti theft lock system comes
My anti lock system now prevents me from starting my car because says doesn't recognize my key belong to car. Had no electrical problems before vehicle was sent in, didn't authorize any problem with electrical, now I'm inconvienced.

Desired Settlement
Fix it properly and no charge or discounted for inconvience.

Business Response
The customers issue was that the key would not turn in the ignition. The customer called us the morning of XX-XX-XX and informed us of this issue. Over the phone, we walked her through resolving the issue, and also asked her to come in later that day, which she did, to make sure it was corrected. The ignition issue was caused by the steering wheel being placed in unusual position at the time she placed it in park. To our knowledge her concern has been taken care of.

09/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
tried to return car morning after sale less than 24 hrs. there are much needed repairs thay wont fix. they charged gap coverage when I didnt need it.
i tried to return car within 24 hrs and I wasnt satisfied how the whole sale went and all the necessary repairs needed since i paid retail for the car. it has a dent on drivers side rear fender that looks like someone punched thae car and all kinds of scratched on the bumper that need touch ip paint and buffed. the salesman promised tint as a courtesy to all my incovenience then stated he would only pay half which was 150$ when i can go to *** or ******* and pay 200$ full price for tint! i also was charged gap coverage that I want off my loan and $500 down returned since their was no money down! overall I want out of this car

Desired Settlement
return car because not satisfied with price and necessary repairs

Business Response
We have bee n in contact with the customer, the GAP per his request has been cancelled and the credit applied to his loan. The tint comments are incorrect or a miscommunication we are willing to assist with tinting his vehicle if he wishes but the charge thru our discount with the local vendors would make his portion only $75.00.
We are resolving this customers concerns and yes we agree it seems like he does not want the vehicle but we have processed everything and did everything paperwork and delivery fully transparent with the customer. We do not have any 24 hour return policy.

12/13/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
REFUND ON ORDERED CAR
ON SEPTEMBER 4TH 2012 I PLACED AN ORDER FOR A VEHICLE WITH *********** AT KISTLER FORD. PER THERE DIRECTION I WIRED $ 2500.00 TO THEM TO PLACE THE ORDER. I RECEIVED AND SIGNED / INTIALED THE BUYERS ORDER PER THERE REQUEST AND THE ORDER WAS PLACED. ALL OF MY INTENTIONS WERE IN PLACE TO PICK UP THE CAR AT THE DEALERSHIP WHEN IT ARRIVED IN EARLY DECEMBER. ON OCTOBER 29TH 2012 HURRICANE SANDY ARRIVED ON THE EAST COAST OF THE U.S. WHERE ALOT OF PEOPLE LOST EVERYTHING THEY HAVE INCLUDING MY SISTER. SHE WAS ONE OF THE UNFORTUNATE ONES. WITHOUT HESITATION I STEPPED IN TO HELP MY SISTER GET BACK TO HER HOME AND TO A " NORMAL " WAY OF LIFE. WHATEVER MONETARY HELP I COULD DO FOR HER WAS INSTANTLY GIVEN. MY FAMILY, INCLUDING MY SISTER ARE MORE IMPORTANT TO ME THAN ANY KIND OF CAR. ON NOVEMEBER 15TH 2012 I WAS IN TOUCH WITH THE SALESMAN ADVISING HIM THAT I WASNT GOING TO BE ABLE TO PICK UP THE VEHICLE DUE TO NOT HAVING TH MONEY WHICH WAS GIVEN TO MY SISTER. I KINDLY ASKED HIM TO SEE IF MY DEPOSIT COULD BE RETURNED TO ME SO I COULD CONTINUE TO HELP MY SISTER. A COUPLE OF DAYS WENT AND HEARD NOTHING. AFTER ANOTHER DAY OR SO THE SALESMAN RESPONDED TO ME THAT IT " DOESNT LOOK GOOD. BOSS WAS, WELL, LESS THAN HAPPY ". THIS BOSS, I'M SURE HAS NEVER BEEN IN A SITUATION LIKE THIS AND ONLY THINKS ABOUT THE BOTTOM LINE, WHICH IS MONEY ! HERE, I HAVE A FAMILY MEMBER WHO WAS LIVING WITH US WHILE HER HOUSE WAS SWEPT AWAY INTO THE ATLANTIC OCEAN. THIS OWNER AND ESTABLISHMENT HAS NO COMPASSION, FEELINGS OR EVEN A HEART TO TREAT ME LIKE THIS. THIS IS A VERY UN-FAIR BUSINESS PRACTICE THEY HAVE IN PLACE AND PLACES LIKE THIS SHOULD BE UNDER FULL INVESTIGATION. I AM TOTALLY PREPPARED TO TAKE THIS MATTER TO THE HIGHEST LEVEL POSSIBLE IF NEED BE.

Desired Settlement
$ 2500.00 REFUND

Business' Initial Response
We are sorry to hear about the situation, we will return the money to this person. Could we get verification of his address please.

03/23/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I went for credit. ******* said they were connected to all 3 agencies. I found out they werent even connected with one.
I went to ******* at Kistler because I needed credit plus a new vehicle. He told me I cane to the right place that they post to all three agencies once a month. A year later I found out my vehicle wasn't on my credit history. I called them and they said we are having issues that they are currently going through **********, that my previous payments would be posted soon. I find out a year from then it still didn't post. They said they were posting this week. I found out a couple months later when I got another vehicle it still wasn't on there. ***** said they hired a lawyer that it would be taken care of. This is over two years. They shouldn't have lied in the first place. They have wasted over two years of my time. Getting my credit score up was something very important to me and I came to them for that their lying has set me back for a long time.

Desired Settlement
I am asking for a refund on the price of the vehicle. They can take the vehicle. What they did was dishonest and kept me from getting a loan with another company without a cosigner or in someone else's name. I have a perfect payment history work automatic withdraw through them, I just can't believe they lied about something so big.

Business Response
We have spoke to ***** ****** and yes we have been working with trans union to resolve the reporting issues they have had with our files that we upload to them. Yes we have hired an attorney firm out of ******** that the OADA had referred us to speak with and they have also been in communication with ***** ****** We communicated to Ms. ****** that if she needed an internal reference for a credit union we would provide all documentation and explain the situation, we were never taken up on that opportunity.

We can provide communications as well from our attorney if needed.

We will have the payment history reported once the upload issue is solved.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Therefore you are agreeing to lying about never being with a credit agency in the first place. You are saying ********** but *** guaranteed all three. I am not satisfied because it does not help me now and hasn't for over two years. It is not right that I have to suffer for a simple lie. You did explain to me you would write a letter of recommendation to another car place but the ****** bank and trust said you can can write letters all day but my credit proves other wise...now look at the situation you put me in, I have to put my money into another vehicle and sign another contract just to start all the way over to fix my credit, but I shouldn't have to because right now if your company didn't lie in the first place i would already have the credit and be satisfied. I went to you to start credit so eventually I could pull a loan out for a house, now you are telling me after waiting over two year for something I already should have because I paid for it that I have to continue to wait.

Final Business Response
We would like to help resolve this for the consumer, I do not agree anyone lied to the consumer. We also agreed to speak with the bank in ****** along with providing proof of payment history. The bank can determine the loan rates and conditions since they are the direct lender so the terms should of been favorable.

In regards to the consumers request we would be agreeable to speak to her on resolution, she just needs to speak to me.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
****** did not agree to the terms she stated if it is not on my credit report it means nothing to her. I have called for far over a year when I found out and it's the same thing, which brought me to take action through the better business bureau. I believe if I continue to call you nothing will be resolved, it's sad that it is taking YEARS at all. *** refused to call me back which led me to contacting *****, his boss, in the first place so now you understand my frustration. You are clearly at fault for not posting to my credit, he was able to tell me he ran my credit which can have negative effects. A lie is saying you'll do something but doing the complete opposite meaning I was lied to. I'm worried I'll be left in the same situation if I leave this site and contact you, you have completely lost that trust.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Tire Dealers, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/01/1972Business started: 04/01/1962New Owner Date: 06/01/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 2011, OH

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bobby Jorgensen (Owner)Ms. Jennifer Moore (Contact/advert/Controller)
Number of Employees

65

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Tire Dealers, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

We are Toledo's premier Ford dealership, as well as providing customers with great deals on new and used cars of all makes and models. We also provide top-notch service and body work.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 09:00 AM to 09:00 PMTue: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMWed: 09:00 AM to 06:00 AMThu: 09:00 AM to 09:00 PMFri: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMSat: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PM
Service Area

Northwest Ohio, Southeast Michigan and beyond

Alternate Business Names
Kistler Ford Sales, Inc.

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

3 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Kistler Ford Inc.

5555 W Central Ave

Toledo, OH 43615-1512

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5555 W Central Ave 

    Toledo, OH 43615-1512(419) 531-9911
    (866) 597-3673
    (419) 380-1063
    Fax: (419) 380-1096
    Fax: (419) 380-1096
    Fax: (419) 380-1096

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest and West Central Ohio and Southeast Michigan. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Kistler Ford Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 597-3673
  • (419) 380-1063
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in Northwest Ohio and Southeast Michigan on 7/1/2012, in West Central Ohio on 1/1/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.