BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/04/2011

Brown Automotive Group

Find a Location

Phone: (419) 531-0151Fax: (419) 536-1318View Additional Phone Numbers5625 W Central Ave, ToledoOH 43615-1505

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Selling new Honda, Mazda, Mitsubishi cars, crossovers and suvs and new Isuzu medium duty trucks. We sell any make or model used vehicles including cars, trucks, suvs and class 3-8 trucks. We also service, repair & provide parts for any make/model!

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/04/2011

BBB has determined that Brown Automotive Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service9
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Brown Automotive Group

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (11)
12/11/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Vehicle I purchased having same unsafe problem of power loss while driving. Water problem fixed but not main problem
Drivers side floor board soaked with a smell few days after purchase then loss power after few weeks on express way. Water problem fixed but not power loss very dangerous, nobody knows what the problem is. I think Ford need to step up for many complaints that is left now on other dealerships are left with after these get dumped on them to deal with. They are trying to fix the problem but it's not working. I ask to be put in something else because problem continue and is dangerous will one day cost someone life. They soon didn't deny me but said I have to go through process all back over again and basically come with some money,credit when I'm just getting credit started back they know that's impossible, I gave what I had why do that I may as well go to another dealership if I had it like that, why deal with same place I got a piece of junk from if I was able to do it all back over again.I have not had vehicle in my possession a whole month yet it stays in shop since I got it.

Desired Settlement
I now want to be done with dealership, vehicle, payments period. I wanted another vehicle at first but that's impossible the way they want to do it.

Business Response
Monique's vehicle was brought into service after purchase for a plug that became removed and water came into the cabin area. It did take a some time to pin point the issue and receive parts to fix this concern. the second issue as stated from a local certified ford dealer ship was "bad ground connect" code p2805 and the problem has been resolved. Monique was supplied with transportation for both times the vehicle was in for service and not charged to resolve issues for her concerns. She has picked the vehicle up days ago and currently is driving her car. As for wanting to get out of the vehicle we offered a trade in option that we would have to obtain another bank approval to get her into another vehicle and she has elected not to proceed. any further questions please contact me directly.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The same problem happen again, today 11/06/2015 so nothing is solved, now I have to pay for tow to have it towed back to the lot at Brown Mazda

Final Business Response
this vehicle has been taking to two local ford dealerships and reviewed by their certified mechanics to come to the same conclusion on each occasion that there is no issues present. they even kept the vehicle for a few extra days and road tested without any issues with the vehicle. we have directed her that if there was any further issues to contact the ford dealer directly. as for the extended service contract we supply all copies of documents at time of signing if another copy is needed we will be glad to supply the information that is needed from our finance office manager randy r******. any further questions please feel free to contact me.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Problem solved, with all of Brown Mazda and BBB teamwork they finally got me into a nice,reliable,safe,brand new vehicle 2015, same payments as before. Thank you all! Merry X-Mass!!!!!

04/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I personally brought my car in to get a written estimate. I also discussed this estimate with the manager named *****. ***** gave me a price of $551.00 for painting my front fender. When I dropped the car off on Thursday March 27, 2014, I confirmed the price again with ***** and at that time the price was exactly as ***** and I had discussed. ***** also had it written down as well. When ******** called me on march 31, 2014 at 3:33pm to notify me that the car was ready, and that they were only open for an additional 2 hrs closing at 5:30pm, ******** gave me a price that was much greater than what was written. I then told ******** that she has given me a price that is greater than what I had. She (********) placed me on hold and put **** ****** on the phone. **** basically told me that they didn't notice the type of paint that was needed at the time of the estimate and physical inspection of the vehicle. The manager ***** was present for the inspection of the vehicle. **** has decided to charge what we wanted to charge and disregard the written estimate and agreement that the manager ***** and myself had. **** had originally charged me too much from the original estimate and the manager ***** changed the price.

Desired Settlement
I am willing to pay what I agreed to pay with the written estimate and what the manager ***** quoted me. I want to be refunded the extra charges placed by *********** and ***** paint and body shop has just lost a returning customer.

Business Response
RE: Case # ********: ********* *******

With regards to this complaint received 4/3/14, I personally reviewed the file. I spoke with Ms ******* on 4/1/14, during our conversation I informed her of the reason for the additional charges, an error on the estimating system of not calculating with Tri-coat a process that the OEM Manufacturer uses.

The additional charges for Tri-coat were added to the file without prior contact. I informed her we would refund her the money by company check. I also informed Ms ******* that it may take 2 to 3 weeks to process the refund check. The request for refund was sent to the main office for processing 4/2/14 and the check will be sent direct to the customer for the difference between the original estimate and the final bill. Total refunded to the customer $71.26 exactly the difference between the original estimate and her charges.

I apologized to the customer for her inconvenience and for our billing error. We have repaired her vehicle several times in the past and always with complete customer satisfaction. I would like for Ms ******* to give ***** Body and Paint Centre another chance if our services are ever needed again.

***** Body and Paint Centre

04/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

i was not told wouldnt get any kind of payment book or bill each month when payment is due. was told i could pay monthly.
i bought a ***************** on X-XX-XX from ***** automotive. the check engine light was on, they said they would fix it and it would only take about an hour or so, that was on wed. feb. 12th, i didnt get a call that my car was done until monday, feb.17th. when i got the car back the check engine light was still on, they told me if i took it to auto zone and they told me what was wrong they would fix it, so i did. again, they told me they would only need my car for about an hour, only this time, they told me they no longer provide loaner cars. there was a lady at the desk right next to me waiting for her loaner car to come in, but i was told they no longer loan cars out. the check engine light came back on so i again had to drop the car back off on the 19th, i had to make arrangements to leaving my car there. at this time, i still have not received any information about my payment. i did make a payment on the 3rd of march when my car wouldnt start and i called in to the auto dealer to find out when my payment was due. when i spoke with *****, she kept telling me i had to make a bi-weekly payment and i told her that i had set it up to make one monthly payment. she continued to argue with me about when and how much i had to pay, then out of nowhere, tells me that my payments are due on the 28th of each month. if i have to pay bi-weekly like she was insisting, then where did she come up with the 28th of each month for a payment due date? i asked if i could get a payment book and was told no that i would not get a monthly bill nor would i get a payment book. so there is nothing to remind me of my payments coming due. they do not send out reminders of any kind about your payment. i asked for a confirmation number for my payment and she couldnt even give me that, only a receipt number. this is the most unorganized, way to do business. i have ALWAYS received a bill for anything i have ever purchased, in store, online, in person, thru the mail, etc.. peoples lives get busy and hectic, we depend on those paper bills to remind us that we have a payment due on a certain day. i think they need to change the way they do their in house financing and billing. i need to have the paper bill, or the payment book, not just to remind myself to make my payments, but to keep track of all the payments i make.

Desired Settlement
either a payment book for the remainder of my loan or a paper bill every month.

Business Response
First and foremost allow me to apologize on behalf of the dealership for the service issue. Due to recent weather and unavailable technicians we were not able to complete the work in a timely matter as this is not the norm for our dealership. We did supply a vehicle for ****** to drive during the first time that the vehicle was in, which we normally only supply for New vehicle customers that purchase a ******************* under factory warranty. That is why she was told we couldn't supply one the second time from her appointment due to other arrangements made for other customers that where scheduled for service on their vehicle. As to the payment, the contract she signed at time of delivery states when the payments are due bi-weekly and if she needs an additional copy we will be glad to supply another one. We do not offer payment books as we use a vehicle reminder payment system that when the vehicles payment is due the box that is installed in the vehicle "beeps" as a payment reminder. Due to overhead cost, and additional expense that would be required to send out payment books and follow up on payments that are late we decided this was the most cost effective for our customers so we did not have to charge additional fees or cost to each transaction and keep the vehicles they purchase from us affordable for their budget. If ****** needs any additional help with anything please have hear contact me directly since this is the first time we were brought aware of any issues. Any further questions please feel free to contact me direct. thank you for your valuable time

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
when i bought the car the salesman told me my first payment would be due in 45 days, not 2 weeks. a far as the box goes, it was explained to me that if my payment was late my car would not start, never was anything said about it "beeping" to remind me my payment is due. that is the silliest thing ive ever heard from a dealership. i am highly dissatisfied with the way this whole transaction went down, i will never deal with ***** automotive group again and i will let others know not to deal with them either. how much extra would it really cost to send a text message or e-mail to do a payment reminder? this sounds like poor business practices to me. i am not satisfied with their response.

Final Business Response
Yes under normal credit situations payments can be extended out to 45 days. However as explained by the finance manager and the contracts ****** signed her credit did not allow the 45 day grace period and as stated on the contract that was signed by ****** payments would start on the 28th of February and be due biweekly until contract is paid in full. We put everything in writing so there is no misunderstanding of any document and do not conduct poor business practices. We believe in customer satisfaction and the only way to make sure there is no miscommunication we put it in writing or print on contracts before a customer takes deliver. As stated earlier we do not offer text or email payment reminders and if ****** needs a generic payment book i would be glad to produce one as a friendly reminder.

06/10/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Car broke down within 5 weeks and 2000 miles of ownership. Had it looked at in a shop, told needed new engine. Brown honda refused to help.
I bought this car for about 4 grand. I was told that since it was a nissan that it would be reliable. I was driving for work to Indiana. I was coming back later in the day and the car then suddenly had the check oil light flickering. I pulled over and had it towed. It was inspected and said to be needing a new engine. I only had the car for less than 2000 miles and was told that this car would be very reliable and last a long time. So I was distressed when I called and heard that they refused to cover anything. Instead they told me I was out of luck. they said all they could do is try selling me a new motor and replacing it would run me about 3800 dollars. This was almost just as much as I paid for the car! This is not the definition of reliable that I'm aware of.

Desired Settlement
I would like them to replace the engine that they must of known was close to failure before selling it to me, for no charge.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Darek C********* Sales mg
Contact Phone: **********
Contact Email: *******************************
I spoke with the customer several times explaining that an as is car does not come with a warranty and that the dealer would not be able to pay for his repairs after over a month and almost 2000 miles of worry free driving. We have no way of knowing when a good running car could malfunction and as the customer stated to me on the phone "the car was running fine" till he had this problem several days ago. We offer 3 levels of warranties on all cars sold and also an as is/no warranty. This car came AS IS and the next level of warranty is a 1 month or 1000 miles engine and transmission dealer pays half and customer pays half. Even if this was the warranty that applied, which it did not, the customer would be over the time and miles allowed to file a claim. Although we are not able to pay for the repairs on the as is vehicle I did attempt to save the customer money from the $3000 quote he received from a different repair facility. I quoted the customer $900 for a used motor and $1500 to install the used motor. That was a savings of $600 off the quote he received from the other repair facility. The customer called me back asking me to pay for at least half of the repairs and I told him that that was not possible on an as is car. I did however tell him that I would check with the general manager to see if we could offer any other good faith assistance and that I would call him back the following day. I called back on Saturday and left a voicemail for the customer telling him to contact me to further discuss possible solutions and resolutions. I have not heard back from the customer since I left that message. I also attempted to reach the customer this morning and had to leave an additional email.

05/10/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

The company lured us in with the 25,000.00 Money Carlo game.I was under the impression that I had won 5000.00. I read and reread all the rules and info. and was sure I had won. still have the game ticket and flyer that it came with. So I went in to the dealership. while I was their, I noticed that there was several Senior Citzens being helped. One gentleman was aruging with a salesperson.about how he had won 5000.00,the guy kept telling him "No. you didnt the 5000. but, you have a chance to win a ohio lottery ticket. worth"50.00 a day for life". At this time my salesman was trying to convince me to buy a SUV instead of a Truck. Because he didnt have a 4 cylindar truck avaliable. When I confronted him about the ticket that said I won 5000.00, I was told "no" you didnt win 5000.00 that is promotional material. I told him that I understood that. But,it is misleading the public! And I dont deal with companies that use BAIT & SWITCH TACTICS. I TOLD HIM I WANTED MY INFO SHEET RETURNED TO ME, WHICH HAS MY SS# AND MY HUSBANDS SS#. I WAS TOLD NO HE WASNT GOING TO RETURN THEM, THAT THEY KEEP THEM ON FILE.AND WAS ASKED TO LEAVE.

Desired Settlement

Business Response
Rhonda and Michael I have researched your complaint and located the information that you are requesting. The information that was obtained from you is on file due to you supplying the social security number and signing the form that authorized for special programs to see what you may qualify for with trying to find a vehicle. It is correct that we have to keep this information on file in a secure location due to privacy policy and security reasons. I can supply the copies to give to you for your records if you still desire. as for the other since you still have the game piece with the prize code confirmation number that matches to the board I am unsure which prize that you have won. Every game piece that has a matching pull wins one of the prizes located to the right 25,000 or 5000 or 2000 or a ohio lottery ticket "$50.00 per day for life" scratch ticket for a chance to win. This information is disclosed in the disclaimer that as long as your pull card shows a match that you are the winner of one of those prizes that are insured by the american hole in one sponsor company. it states in the disclaimer "bring flyer to event location during sale dates listed compare your code to the prize board to determine your prize and the odds to winning. If you would like to further discuss this issue please feel free to contact me directly. I and the company of Brown Mazda Mitsubishi do not practice in business to take advantage elderly or disabled nor do we bait and switch any customer by advertising a vehicle that is not what it seems to be in advertising, we are local owned and operated since 1926 and we do care about our community and our customers.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The sweepstakes Money Carlo game was very misleading.As for the type of vehicles you sell,I cannot say. I didnt even look at one. However my prize was confirmed thru your hotline number# 419-954-0387. my code is ********. So you should have access to this information. As to my info sheet yes I would like a copy sent to me with my "Prize".Since you have my address on file you know where to send it. As a person with Medical Condtions it is hard for me to get back and forth to your dealership.

Final Business Response
Rhonda I will send the information out later this week, also based on the information we have it shows that you did win an Ohio lottery ticket with a chance to win $50 per day, which I will also send in the mail with your information. If there is anything else I can assist you with in the future please feel free to contact.
Thank you

Steve Y***
General Manager

08/08/2016Problems with Product / Service
06/13/2016Problems with Product / Service
02/26/2016Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Brake Service, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto/Truck Accessories and Parts, Truck Equipment & Parts, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 01/13/1941Business started: 01/01/1926
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Robert Brown (President)
Contact Information
Jim Freeworth (General Manager)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Brake Service, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto/Truck Accessories and Parts, Truck Equipment & Parts, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

This Company offers sales and servicing of cars, trucks, vans, SUVs and crossovers.

Alternate Business Names
Brown Honda Mazda Mitsubishi Isuzu Truck, Brown Motorsales, Brown Imports, Brown Mazda, Brown Mitsubishi, Brown Isuzu, Brown Isuzu Trucks

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Brown Automotive Group

5625 W Central Ave

Toledo, OH 43615-1505

To | From


2 Locations

  • 5625 W Central Ave 

    Toledo, OH 43615-1505(419) 531-0151
    Fax: (419) 536-1318
    Fax: (419) 578-0109

  • 6155 W Central Ave 

    Toledo, OH 43615-1839

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest and West Central Ohio and Southeast Michigan. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Brown Automotive Group is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 222-4099

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (419) 578-0109

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in Northwest Ohio and Southeast Michigan on 7/1/2012, in West Central Ohio on 1/1/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.