BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 04/25/2002

Brondes Ford Lincoln Maumee Ltd.

Phone: (419) 887-1511Fax: (419) 897-2450

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
07/01/2014Problems with Product / Service
07/09/2013Problems with Product / Service
08/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Misdiagnosis
Originally I took my **** ******* *********** to ******* in maumee regarding several issues, my vehicle was not going into reverse, my car would not start by the key only by remote start and I had a bad rear wheel bearing, I also complained about a noise that sounds as if I were driving over rough roads.******** diagnosed it in around 2 hrs and said my main issue was the transfer case and said I needed to go to the Ford dealer, I was informed that the transfer case was going to cost quite a bit of money that I may not want to put the money into the other repairs due to the cost of the transfer case. So I took my car to Brondes Ford in maumee the last week of June 2015. I worked with ******* the service advisor and I gave him the paper from ******* stating all the things that was wrong with the vehicle including the transfer case. I specifically told ******* that I DO NOT want to fix the other issues if in fact it was the transfer case because I could not afford to do everything. After having my car for the day ******* said his tech checked the transfer case and that it was NOT the transfer case that what I was experiencing was coming from the rear wheel bearing, I said are you sure because like I said I do not want to fix the other issues if it is due to cost. He said again it was NOT the transfer case, so I told him to go ahead and fix the wheel bearing, the solenoid body (reverse issue) and a pat sensor ( I believe that's what its called, that was the issue with it not starting) I spent $1900.00 on fixing those issues, mind you at this point they had my car for 3 days. After I picked it up and was driving I noticed that the noise and issue in which I originally complained about was still there. I immediately called ******* and told him what was going on and stated how I was NOT happy!! He told me to bring it in, After them having it another day (now 4 days) he called me with the news that it was in fact the transfer case. I expressed to him that I was beyond mad that I had brought it in because of the transfer case and they said it was not it and I spent $1900.00 on the other repairs in which I stated I couldn't afford If I had to fix the transfer case. He said he understood my frustration and would see what he could do. Later that day he came back with a cost of $1735.00 for the repair of a rebuilt transfer case stating they took $400 off the cost for my inconvenience. He told me it would come with a 3 yr 100,000 mile warranty. Or I had the option to buy a used one at the cost of $900 with only 3 month warranty and 110, 000 miles on it (not the warranty). I told ******* that I could not afford the cost like I originally stated before they misdiagnosed my vehicle. he said he understood and left it at that. I should not have to pay any cost for the transfer case due to the fact I wouldn't have spent the $1900.00 on the other repairs had they properly diagnosed it and considering tire man had diagnosed it originally as the transfer case Brondes should have properly diagnosed it as well knowing is was diagnosed as such. Considering they are the dealer and supposed to specialize in their own vehicles this issue should have never happened!

Desired Settlement
replace the transfer case with the rebuilt transfer case that comes with the 3 yr 100,000 mile warranty at no cost to me. The $1900.00 I paid for the other repairs would have covered the cost of the rebuilt transfer case had they properly diagnosed the vehicle knowing I didn't want to pay for other repairs if in fact it was the transfer case.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ********
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *************@brondesfordmaumee.com
Customer brought her vehicle in for a noise concern and stated that another repair facility told her that the transfer case was bad and needed to be looked at by a Ford dealer. When we checked the vehicle in for inspection we were not aware that the transfer case concern was an intermittent concern, so when our technician checked out for the noise concern we heard a lot of noise coming out of the right rear wheel bearing ( this is a common concern with this year ********* and ************ ). So we replaced the bearing and retest drove the vehicle and the noise was no longer present. Also replaced the transmission solenoid assembly for the reverse concern that was also fixed. We could not duplicate the starting concern at that time. The customer then returned for the starting concern and at that time we found the PATS transceiver was faulty and replaced that and rechecked the noise concern. At that time we did hear a noise coming out of the transfer case and advised the customer of the repairs. We offered a discount for the inconvenience to the customer and she didn't want the repair done at that time. We are willing to assist the customer and give some discounts for the repairs but not willing to do the repairs for free. The wheel bearing was a constant noise and the transfer case was an intermittent noise.

Final Business Response
Brondes has called the customer back and offered to replace the transfer case at no labor charge to customer, just the customer has to pay for the part. Customer approved assistance for replacing the transfer case with a remanufactured 3 yr/ 100,000 mile warranty.

09/08/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
For the time and parts involved I was overcharged for the service provided.
I am writing about the amount of money I paid for the service that was done on my ************** on Saturday, July 19, 2014. While traveling in Ohio, my "Check Engine Light" came on and of course I was concerned being several hundred miles from home and needing to find the severity of the problem. After going to ******** for a diagnosis, it was determine that I had an engine "misfire" on spark plug and coil #5. After consulting with two other companies about the cost for locating and fixing the problem just after 7:00 AM, I did not feel comfortable letting other than a **** dealership fix my truck so I found ******* **** in Maumee, OH. I arrived there at 8:00 AM and waited until they opened at 9:00 AM, being the first in line, though others were there in the second lane without drivers, to discuss with them my problem. Being on the road and wanting to continue my travel, I spoke to the service advisor and was told that the technician had one of car before me and should be able to diagnose my problem quickly.
After waiting in the customer lounge for approximately one hour and thirty-five minutes (10:35 AM), the advisor finally spoke to me and said that the technician would be able to look at my truck soon and he (advisor) would get back to me in ten minutes when the technician had made a diagnosis and ten minutes later the technician did come back at about 10:45 AM and showed me the condition of the spark plug in question and after a brief conversation, I agreed to have them replace all eight.
Since I had been waiting for so long, I asked them if they had a "loaner" car which they did not and then I asked did they have a courtesy car to take me to a friend's house to wait for the call to let me know when the service was complete. He advised me that it would take an hour to fix and replace the coils and plugs. The courtesy car came at 10:55 AM took me to my cousin's house in Toledo arriving there fifteen minutes later at about 11:10 AM. At 11:** AM, the advisor called my cell phone and told me that the they car was ready and the courtesy car would be there shortly and fifteen minutes later the car arrived to take me back to the dealership.
Admittedly, representatives of the dealership were very nice and courteous from the advisor to the driver but I am very concerned about the cost of the service. I did ask the advisor if they charge ***** hundred dollars per hour because from the time of the diagnosis to the completion of the service was just a little over an hour. He said the labor included the diagnosis and service time; even with that explanation, the completed project was basically replacing spark plugs and ignitions coils.
I do appreciate them dropping a small amount from the total charge but still the amount to complete the job was extreme, with parts being a total of $117.83, there is still a high charge for the job. I have no problem paying what it is worth but I have a hard time comprehending the effort and the amount of money I paid.
I am truly a***** fan, owning ***** **** automobiles and do realize that payments are important for the dealership but as a senior citizen, payments are important to me as well. Please look at the situation and if appropriate, make an adjustment to me. Again, **** is my brand and I do believe the company will do everything possible to satisfy a long time customer that is contemplating purchasing a new **** vehicle in the very near future.
Sincerely,
****** ******
** ****** Lane
********* XXXXX
Email: ********@aol.com
Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
PS: The other two companies quoted me a price approximately, $150.00 less than the final price I paid at *******.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a $100.00 refund.

Business Response
We are going to reimburse customer $150.00.

08/12/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Brake Service, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Tires - Commercial Sales & Service, Tire Dealers, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.