BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/08/2010

Ace Appliance Inc.

Phone: (419) 382-6077Fax: (419) 389-5156

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service10
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints11

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (11)
06/12/2015Problems with Product / Service
02/05/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Repaired dryer but producing inadequate heat
Repaired/clothes dryer after repeated assurance by repairman that 24yrs old dryer will be better than "new ones are not made as well"?

Their ad stated that repairman will advise if something is worth repairing. I told the man that I have been looking for a dryer and found one at ***** on Airport Highway for $379.00 plus tax, delivery etc for less than $100. But after his repeated assurance I agreed to have my 24yrs old dryer repaired which was not producing enough heat. After repairing it did not produce anymore heat than before. After complaining he came back in couple of days later & said the exhaust was clogged which I cleaned & there was strong flow from the exhaust opening the flap all the way.He wanted me to have it done by professional cleaner which would have been another $75+ over and above his $270 charge. He also charged at least 40% more for the same parts this company sell on line.

I am 80 yrs old & I think that my age is disadvantage.

Desired Settlement
Refund of charges except the service call and difference in price charged & on line price of the parts or put back the original parts. The dryer was still working before repair.

Business Response

Customer called Ace Appliance on 12/18/15 for service on 12/19/2016. Customer's complaint was that the unit was not heating at all and was making noise. An Ace technician went out to the home on 12/19/2016, diagnosed the unit needed several parts including a gas valve coil kit. This failed part is what caused the dryer in question to not heat.

The customer used a Group On Coupon at the time of the visit and did not want the work to be performed. On 12/21/2016 the customer called in complaining about the pricing and wanted additional discounts, customer was not happy all that our discount offers read "One coupon or discount per repair", she felt she was entitled to more of a discount. The consumer then wanted to argue pricing she can get over the phone and online for the parts in question. We reviewed with the customer that Ace Appliance does not sell any parts all parts sales are through parts distribution companies we work with and these companies can sell her the parts at a discounted rate if they want to do the repair on their own. The consumer did not like this answer and did not schedule at that time.
The customer then called back in later that same day and chose to have the work performed by Ace Appliance at the agreed rates. An Ace technician went back out to the customer's home that same day and installed parts. The dryer was no longer making noise and heated up to correct temperatures.
The customer called in 2 days later stating the dryer was not heating up enough. The technician went back out to the customer's home at no charge, showed the customer the failed components and explained how the new ones worked. The dryer again heated up to the correct temperatures. The technician later inspected the vent line and found that the vent did need cleaned and this may be causing the dryer to shut off early in the cycle. The vent line did go through restricted areas where a normal cleaning with a vent brush wouldn't work so Ace recommended a local company to have her vents cleaned. At this point the customer became very upset and demanded we clean the vents for her at no charge. The technician attempted to review with her that we do not have the tools for the job she needs done and the customer found this unacceptable. At that time the Ace technician offered to pull the parts he installed and issue the customer a refund. The customer refused this option, wanted both for a reduced rate and asked our technician to leave the home.
Customer spoke with the office manager at Ace after that demanding we "make things right, and we need to do a better job of making customers happy". The situation was again reviewed with the consumer she still felt at that time we were wrong and threatened to cancel her credit card if we did not do what she demanded. As is company policy we let her know if she has another company out and they found Ace had done anything wrong on the repair we would issue a refund for her. The consumer again stated that the way she has been treated is unacceptable, she will not have another company out, she is not paying any more money for anything. We then apologized over the phone for not being able to help her any further and wished her a good day.
Ace will not issue any refund at this time, if the customer has an alternate company out and finds any fault with the work performed by Ace Appliance we would be more than happy to issue a refund at that time. Thank you for your time and attention to this matter.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First part of response is nonsensical. First of all it is untrue that dryer was not heating at all.It was not producing enough heat.Secondly, the vent was cleaned with a vacuum cleaner, the path is not complicated. It went straight down the basement and out side through the wall.I repeatedly asked the repairman if 24 yr old dryer is worth repairing,and the difference between new is only couple of hundred dollars. But he assured me again
Thirdly, the response contradicted itself: if the vent was blocked how did he determine that it was heating right.Dryer never shut off early. We never asked him to clean the vent.Fourthly,it is their on line ad about the prices of the parts and not a different company's ad. We are not upset. We just want to have it right. Oh!I forgot to cancel the credit card payment. I will do it today.

Final Business Response
Ace will not issue any refund at this time, if the customer has an alternate company out and finds any fault with the work performed by Ace Appliance we would be more than happy to issue a refund at that time. The defective parts have been left with the consumer and the consumer can easily have an alternate service company and confirm the parts in question were bad. When the valve coils go bad the dryer will continue to run, but will not heat. I am not sure why the consumer added " Dryer never shut off early". When the valve coils go bad the dryer will continue to run, but will not heat. I am not sure what the consumer is trying to get across with the rest of their response. The consumer is now apparently choosing to cancel their credit payment for the work performed; it appears this is how they are choosing to resolve their complaint. Thank you for your time and attention to this matter, if the BBB has any further questions please contact our office directly.

09/29/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We want service call refund of $89.99 which resulted in the firm's inability to repair. Also, they denied damaging the product during inspection.
We have a Viking stove top ventilator model ********** purchased from ********* ******* ******* ** on 11/28/10. We paid $1029. on the invoice #XXXXXX for the purchase. We called Viking technical support because the unit (which rises up when in use) began to rise up on its own. Sometimes it would go down on its own and other times it would make a humming sound although the fan itself never came on by itself. Viking gave us three options for this behavior: the on switch, the micro switch on the motor shaft or the main control board. They gave us the number of the approved Viking repair Ace Appliance Service so that they could determine which of the three problems we had.
We called Ace and conveyed ALL this information-including the fact that the problem was intermittent. The serviceman ***** came on 8/26/15 (invoice #XXXXXX paid with our Visa card) and told us that it could be the on switch, the micro switch on the motor shaft or the main control board. In other words, he told us exactly what we already knew and had told them.. ***** stated about ten times that the problem was intermittent so there was no way to know which part to replace. But we HAD TOLD THEM IT WAS INTERMITTENT when we placed the original phone call. We paid $89.99 to be told exactly what we had already told them when we called Ace. The replacement cost for the parts is for the main control board is $1022, for the micro switch on the motor shaft is $672, and for the on switch $57. The cost of replacement for an entire new unit is $1129.
In addition, I observed ***** set the finished stainless steel top of the unit upside down on the iron stove top grates. I got a towel to put under the unit but saw that it had already been scratched. ***** denied scratching it but it was not scratched before he started to work on it. We wrote Ace a letter stating our complaint and received a response which said FU and you can have a $20 "courtesy discount" for our "distress."

Desired Settlement
Refund of $89.99.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ********** ( Owner )
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@aceapplianceinc.com
We can only give a correct diagnoses when the unit is in the failed position. We cannot guess on what part is bad. If a specific part was defective we can troubleshoot it and give an exact estimate. There is no appliance repair company that could give an exact estimate on an intermittent issue. Our firm's inability to repair was not the issue that the ******** claimed. We simply cannot fix something that is working. I also am very transparent with my technicians and let them know about damage. There are no consequences to our technicians if they accidentally damage something. Ace will pay for 100% of the damage and make it whole with the customer. We service 16,000 customer's per year and mistakes are inevitable with the volume we do. I tell them to be honest and transparent with me so we can fix it. I also tell them Ace will stand behind them 100% if we did not do the damage. ***** ** is a senior technician with over 18,000 service calls completed with Ace. He is as honest as the day is long and he said there is no possible way he scratched the unit. In fact he immediately after leaving the ******** home put notes in the service ticket. We are in business and are entitled to the $89.99 travel & diagnostic charge. We could have done nothing different and I am sorry if the customer is not happy with the $20.00 courtesy discount we offered.

***** service technician...Customer made a comment that I scratched the top cover of her downdraft unit. I told here there is no way I could of scratched it the way I had it laying. It was laying briefly on the cook top GRATES nowhere near where the scratches were she pointed out to me. I put it on towels she provided to protect it. She seemed to understand this and said nothing more about it.

09/18/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On July 26th ACE appliance provide repair service to fix my Washing machine the charge was $298.00 plus $69.00 for the service call.
ACE charge me to replace a damping rod, however that did not fix the existing problem. They have a 30 day policy to come to your home free of charge I the problem exist. Yesterday I schedule an appointment for a technician to come out and diagnose the problem that never got fixed in the first place. I got a call this morning from the business manager (*****) this morning and he told there is nothing he can do for me unless I give him my credit card number to secure the appointment. The contract states ACE will come back to the home to make sure the problem is fixed within the 30 days at no service call cost to the consumer. On July 26th I paid $298.00 to replace the damping rod and $69.00 for the service call. The manager was very RUDE not once did he took the time to carefully listen to me he did not care that his technician did not diagnose and fixed the real problem. Now I have to seek the help of another company.

Desired Settlement
To uphold their Mission Statement and I would like a reimbursement for the cost of repair that my washing machine did not required.

Business Response
The consumer's figures are inaccurate. Our standard service call rate on the brand the consumer has is $64.99 not the $69.00 they state. Ace Appliance did visit the home on 7/26/15 and found the unit needed suspension rods for several off balance issues the consumer was having. Ace Appliance gave a total estimate of $294.28 for the work to be performed. Ace also gave the customer two discounts in the estimate they did not mention, one reducing the service call fee down to $49.99 from $64.99 and Ace also gave a $15.00 off the parts cost discount. Consumer agreed to have work performed for that estimate; they were only billed once for the amount they agreed upon not twice as they state.
Before work was performed the consumer tried to talk Ace Appliance into installing additional parts, a transmission, for them. Consumer stated they still had a warranty through "Crosley" on the transmission and felt it needed to be replaced too. The unit did not need the additional part and the consumer was very unhappy we would not "just do it" for them even though our technician determined it was not needed at that time; they wanted to have it replaced because they could get it for free.
Ace Appliance later installed the parts for the agreed upon amount. Customer stated they heard a sound they did not like, and stated it must be the transmission. Our technician could find no other problems with the unit, did not hear any sounds other than the sounds of the unit functioning properly. The unit produced no error codes and the technician could not find any problems with the unit. This was unacceptable to the consumer. Ace then did send a different technician out to the home at no charge to the consumer, ran every test possible on the machine and could not get the unit to fail or make any sound that were unusual. Both technicians are factory certified by this particular manufacturer, and Ace Appliance has won two national awards from this manufacturer for outstanding service.
Consumer called in again with the same complaint, the call was reviewed the manufacture's technical assistance line and they also stated we have done all the correct steps and feel the unit is running properly. Upon scheduling yet another visit to the home the consumer was told that if we cannot find any defect in the product or in the work performed by Ace Appliance they would be charged a service call for the additional visit. However, if there is a defect in the product or with the work that was performed they will not be charged. Consumer refused to put a credit hard on hold to reserve that time slot, and felt we should provide better service. Ace Appliance let the consumer know if they have another factory certified company out and we were incorrect on our diagnosis or in the work performed we would return the service call Ace charged to the consumer. Ace would need a written invoice from that company stating what was misdiagnosed.
Ace Appliance has received no correspondence since that phone call.
Thank you for your time and attention to the matter, we fulfilled every part of our service contract with the consumer, there will be no refunds issued unless we do receive information that the service provided was inadequate from another factory certified company.
Ace Appliance


06/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My dishwasher and fridge were not working correct. I called them out to fix them both.
I called to ask about my dishwasher being looked at because it wasn't cleaning the dishes the way it was prior. The tech came out and looked at my fridge and my dishwasher. He said the dishwasher looked ok but maybe the pipes in the basement needed to be looked at and changed, he said it appeared to be getting water but maybe just not enough. He asked me to start the dishwasher and waited for a few min and then he opened the door and looked at the water level in a cup that was upside down. He added a few glasses of water to the washer while it was running and then closed the door. He then opened the door again and checked the sprayers in the unit and cleaned them. He told me that the dishwasher wasn't positioned correctly on the floor and that he would unscrew it from the counter and move it to make it correct. He moved the machine around and then screwed it back into the counter top. He instructed that he couldn't think of anything else it could be unless the water lines in my basement were needing replaced. I explained that I would have someone look at them. When he left the dishwasher was finishing up. Once it was done. It was still dirty. I tried 1 more time the next day to run it and the same problem. Completely dirty. This past Saturday morning I noticed water laying on the floor between my kitchen and utility room. I wiped it up and assumed it was from 1 of my kids or dogs. I tried again on Saturday to run the machine. I turned it on and walked outside to get the mail, when I came back in my house smelled like it was on fire. I walked all over the kitchen and found the smell was coming from the dishwasher. I opened the door and immediately smoke came out of the machine and it smelled burnt. I figured I would call Ace on Monday and ask them to come out and check it again. On Sunday I woke up and went into my utility room to turn off my outside lights and noticed another puddle in the door way. Then I noticed that the hard wood floors in my kitchen had water coming up from in between each hard wood plank in the majority of my kitchen. I called Ace appliance and she said it sounded like we need a plumber and that she would send someone on Monday between 4 and 6 to look at the machine. I called a local plumber and he was here within 1/2 hour and he looked under the sink and in the basement. In the basement all of the copper pipes looked good, although we have a ceiling tile that fell and had water on the floor there. Under the sink was completely dry. He said only other alternative is under dishwasher...he felt under the dishwasher and said it was wet. He unscrewed it from the counter and pulled it out. Once he had it out you could see that underneath it was covered in water and that even the electrical wires were wet. Laying in the water, under the machine was the hose that goes into the appliance to send the water into the machine. It was not in the machine, but under it. It had to have been knocked loose while it was being adjusted. I am now concerned that 1) my floors are warped and damaged and 2) that my dishwasher may be burnt up from running it without water. I contacted them today and they said that when we signed on the receipt with them that we signed away our right for damages on our floors. The tech told me to sign so that it showed that he had been here and that we had a 30 day warranty on repairs. I can't believe that they would try to say they can't help a customer that has a problem after they were here. We had problems with it before that's why we called them. But there was water coming out before and now there's not. I hope to have them come look and the damage to my hard wood floors and to make sure my appliance is ok.

Desired Settlement
I Would like my floors fixed and I would like my dishwasher checked to make sure its not going to catch on fire from being so hot without water in it. I hope the motor in it didn't burn up.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ********** ( Owner )
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@aceapplianceinc.com
Ace was called out on 5-5-15 on a dishwasher that had major installation issues and advised the customer to get an installer to fix the leveling issue, and also call a Plumber for the low water pressure that is coming into the dishwasher. The customer stated she had a handy man that could do this for her. Our technician charged the customer only $29.99 for service charge because we did not do any repair. On 6-2-15 almost a month later the customer calls and wants Ace Appliance to pay for her floor, she states she now has water damage. Ace went out on 5-5-15 because she had no water coming into the dishwasher and the complaint was (The dishes were not getting clean). It was because of low water pressure. She claimed the Plumber said Ace left a hose off the dishwasher and gave us the plumber's phone number. Ace called the plumber with a recorded line, and has a recorded message on the correct story of what happened. The plumber said a hose came off the inside of the back wall of the unit and Ace could not have taken off the hose unless the unit was uninstalled. Our technician never uninstalled the unit and we have a singed invoice from the customer on what our technician did, and he NEVER removed the unit. If this customer had a water leak it would have shown up within 27 days after Ace left. And why did they wait 27 days to call a plumber? Ace will not pay a dime towards a floor and will file a countersuit for damages and time taken to address this ridicules frivolous claim. This is coming from the owner **** ********** if this is pursued I will file a counterclaim and I don't care how it costs.

12/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A negligent service technician came to my house twice to fix my frig drain, in doing so impressed two dents into my freezer door, moving back in place
9/29/14: Service call placed by Whirpool on my behalf for the replacement of a faulty drain part.
10/2/14: ACE Appliance repair scheduled & completed.
10/3/14: I called Ace back & I demanded to come out to fix the freezer door that had a magnetic screw driver that I did not see and level my frig so the door would close on its own. Freezer was not freezing with this tool obstructing the door all day long.
10/18/14: Discovered 2 dents in the front freezer door at knee level.
10/20/14: Called Ace to file a compliant. Spoke to *********. Service manager was to call me back. No call back.
10/23/14: I called to inquire about my compliant to ***** ** He told me the service tech said, "I helped him push it back into place". This is a total farce. ***** requested I send pictures. He claimed he passed the issue onto Whirpool.
10/24/14: Filed a compliant on Whirpool's website.
10/31/14: Whirpool rep called me to inquire about the compliant. I was then passed onto Assurant Insurance to file a compliant. A supervisor was to call me back on 11/4/14. No call back.
11/11/14: Call Assurant Insurance back spoke to ***** who stated, "This is NOT our responsibility. It is Ace Appiance responsibility to fix THEIR damage."

No receipt was ever given to me for the two visits.

Desired Settlement
I want the freezer door replaced at their expense for damaging it.

Business Response
The consumer's first statement is false; the drain issue was fixed in one visit, the consumer had coverage through the Whirlpool Corporation in regards to the repair that needed performed and the repair was completed on one visit on 10/2/2014. Ace Appliance did made a return visit to the home the consumer stated Ace broke the door hinges on her refrigerator customer demanded it be fixed for free we damaged the unit. Ace returned on 10/3/2014 found the hinges were not broken. At no charge Ace re-leveled the refrigerator for the consumer; the consumer had several shims of wood holding up part of the refrigerator. Shimming is not a recommended installation procedure for a refrigerator, over time the unit can become warped and tweaked out of shape causing doors not to open and close properly, and will eventually lead to additional problems. Ace Appliance fixed this problem at no charge to the customer. Whirlpool's contract does not cover installation issues technically the consumer should have been charged for the work performed however as a courtesy to the consumer the technician performed the work. The consumer assisted the technician in putting the appliance back in place. The consumer called in on 10/20/2014 stating there are -2- dents in the unit where the technician used his knees to push the refrigerator back in. The technician involved has been with Ace Appliance for over 30 years and quite honestly is incapable of using his knees to "push in" the appliance. Ace requested pictures of the alleged damage be sent in, and did call Whirlpool to let them know what their customer was claiming. The consumer did not submit any photos to Ace Appliance and Ace Appliance was cleared by Whirlpool. It is unclear what the company Assurant has to do with her complaints.
Ace Appliance installed a part as a third party on the consumer's appliance, no receipt is given to customer, our contract is with Whirlpool they are responsible for releasing that information to the consumer. The repair was completed same day and the unit is working fine. The consumer claimed Ace Appliance broke parts on their appliance, Ace returned to the home, found we did not. Ace Appliance performed an installation repair for the consumer at no charge. Three weeks after the visit to the home the customer phoned in and complained of "dents" in her appliance. Ace requested pictures be sent in showing the supposed damage, none were sent in. Ace Appliance recorded the complaint with the company the consumer had a contract with, Ace Appliance was cleared by that company. Ace Appliance has not heard from the consumer nor the contract holder since.
Thank you for your time and attention to this matter, if any further documentation is needed let us know.

Sincerely,
Ace Appliance


Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Appliances - Major - Service & Repair, Washing Machines & Dryers - Service & Repair, Appliances - Small - Service & Repair, Appliances - Installation, Air Conditioning Repair, Refrigerators & Freezers - Service & Repair, Appliances - Major - Parts & Supplies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.