BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/12/2009

Maumee Antique Mall

Phone: (419) 893-2468Fax: (419) 893-24971552 Reynolds Rd, MaumeeOH 43537-1602

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/12/2009

BBB has determined that Maumee Antique Mall meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Maumee Antique Mall's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Maumee Antique Mall

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
08/28/2012Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i rented a booth and next day manager ****** took ww2 dolls made in year 1999 and nascar collectable dart sets out my booth,rude i want rent moneyback
on 09/09/12 my wife and i rented a booth after seting it up with collectable ww2 army dolls in the box made in year 1999 & collectable nascar dart set in box and some antique furniture the manager ****** day after we rented it took the ww2 soldier dolls and nascare dart set and told us to pick it up we cant sale it that it hasto be 25 years old. we asked a worker for the owner number and they said the owner lets ****** do what she wants and dont get involved. we looked around other booths and lots of booth have bottle head dolls army dolls and nascar collectable cars and pictures and lots of other stuff made in as new as year 2010. very poor comunacation & people skills. not many customers know maumee antiques is a member or there would be alot more complaints..

Desired Settlement
i want our rent money back and the owner to know how the manager ****** runs the place and treats renters and customers and how her lack of knowledge with antiques and collectables is very poor.

Business' Initial Response
We are an antique mall, so clearly the majority of a dealer's merchandise needs to be antique or vintage. We do allow collectibles if they meet our standard, and occupy a small percentage of a dealer's total merchandise. If stock needs to be removed, and it occasionally does, we like to address the issue immediately. Items were removed from Mr. & Mrs. R's area, but there were other items that were acceptable. We try to keep the lines of communication open, which is why I contacted Mr. & Mrs. R. immediately after removing some of their items. I wanted them to be aware that items had been removed, and to explain why this action had been taken. We did not ask them to vacate, but to simply bring in merchandise that was a better fit for the store. At this time they expressed their dissatisfaction, said they would not be bringing in more merchandise and that they wished to vacate. We agreed to let Mr. & Mrs. R. leave when their prorate was over. This was done as a goodwill gesture, because technically they are financially responsible for the booth until the end of the month. The mall has been in business since 2004, has nearly 200 dealers, has over 200 occupied booths and we have hundreds of customers that patronize our store each month. We have also managed to sell more for Mr. & Mrs. R than they have paid us in rent. As requested, the owner has been made aware of this complaint.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
other booths have and sale as we speak newer items that are not antiques. like nasscar and bottle head foot ball players and many more. but my ww2 dolls made in 1999 and nasscar was removed. and when we rented the booth nobody told us we cant sale these items. they said collectables & antiques. and there is no bbb logo displayed so people know they are a member or they would have more complaints. i want my rental money back and. and the next day we rented we gave a 30 day notice that we are not staying. we hauled all this stuff to find out they are corrupt.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Antiques - Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/21/2005Business started: 11/01/2004
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bob Mix (Owner)Mr. Olivia Summers (Office Manager)
Number of Employees

7

Business Category

Antiques - Dealers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Maumee Antique Mall

1552 Reynolds Rd

Maumee, OH 43537-1602

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1552 Reynolds Rd 

    Maumee, OH 43537-1602(419) 893-2468

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest and West Central Ohio and Southeast Michigan. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Maumee Antique Mall is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in Northwest Ohio and Southeast Michigan on 7/1/2012, in West Central Ohio on 1/1/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Antiques - Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.