BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Amarillo Energy Savers

(806) 353-28554535 Canyon Dr, AmarilloTX 79109

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Amarillo Energy Savers is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Amarillo Energy Savers' rating include:

  • Failure to respond to one complaint filed against business.

Factors that raised Amarillo Energy Savers' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Amarillo Energy Savers

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
07/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

This company put a roof on our house last and it did not pass inspection. We were told it did last year.
In June 2014, we hired Energy Savers to put on a new roof. The roof was completed and an inspection by the city was ordered from this company. We were told it did not pass the inspection. No other inspection was conducted. We were later contacted in July 2014 by Energy Saver as they wanted their payment. We told them we were waiting for the roof to pass inspection. They then informed us it had passed the city inspection and we promptly made the payment. Last week, we were told by our real estate agent that it had not passed the inspection. We called Energy Savers and spoke to Jaime. She informed she had left the office for the day and would get back to us on Monday 06/29/2015. I called her about 9 am and she stated she would look into the file. She said she would let me know what happened. By about 12 pm, I called her back. She informed her documents indicate an inspection was never conducted and it was cancelled by us. I told her it was not. She seemed to make it sound like the city inspectors have some issues. She said she contacted them but was told no one would be able to call her back and let her know if it passed until about 4:30 pm today. However, I called the city- building safety. I didn't even have to given them my name. They told me the inspection did not pass due to some issues the roofing company needed to complete. I was told that Energy Savers is no bonded nor does it have liability insurance. Therefore, they (Energy Savers) would not be able to have an inspector come out to my home to inspect it because of this. I have tried to call her back and no answer. I do feel she is lying about not being able to find out why it did not pass the inspection and is avoiding our calls.

Desired Settlement
We need this company to fix the problems identified by the inspector and pass *** city inspection. We need this done ASAP. They lied to us and told us it passed when it did not. The job is incomplete! We are selling our home in two weeks!

Business Response
In response to Mrs. ******** complaint. I received a call from her and was told that the roof did not pass *** city inspection. Upon further investigation I discovered that the first inspection was cancelled by the homeowner, then the second was failed for not having a carbon monoxide detector (which was supposed to be supplied by the homeowner). As I explained to Mrs. ******** and her realtor, we do not have insurance for roofing anymore because hail season is over and we do not have a need for it but we were bonded and insured at the time her roof was done. If a roofing job comes up we subcontract it out to a roofer that is bonded and insured for roofing. As of July 1st Mrs. ******** roof was passed ** the City of Amarillo after she was required to contact them and let them know she had a carbon monoxide detector. Please see the attached document from the City of Amarillo showing the progress of the inspections.

11/20/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I was to get new siding and windows on my house. In 4 weeks of the time estimated. 4 weeks turns into 3 1/2 months. Still have not heard from them.
I was told they had to order windows. It would take another 2 weeks . And 2 weeks to get started. Asked them to please call me to keep me updated. Still haven't received a call or update from them.

Desired Settlement
To get siding and windows done . And not be told its gonna be another 4 weeks or 3 1/2 months to get it done.

Business Response
When our customers sign a contract we explain to them that the time frame we give them is an approximation and could be pushed back due to weather and other elements that are out of our control. Mr. ******* called to complain about the amount of time it was taking to get his windows and siding started. We explained that windows had to be ordered and that we would be getting to his job as quickly as possible. Mr. ******* told us to cancel his contract and informed us that he would be getting his work done with another company. We honored his wishes and cancelled the order. A few days later Mr. ******* called back to say that he was unable to get the work done with another company in a timely manner and wished to have us add his job back to our list. At this time we told Mr. ******* that this would place him at the end of the line as if he were signing a new contract, due to the fact that we cancelled his order per his request. He was told it would be another 5 to 6 weeks before we would be able to get to his house and he acknowledged that he understood and still wanted the work to be done by us. Before receiving this complaint we started the work on Mr. *******'s house approximately 6 weeks after his original complaint, just as we said we would. Currently the new windows have been installed and the siding is on hold due to the customer changing their minds about the color that they originally selected.

07/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

replaced windows in a house we own. were suppose to wrap the front door with siding as well as come back and redo several windows
We have called numerous time with no return calls.
This has been going on for almost 2 years.

Desired Settlement
AES needs tocome back and finish the job the started. They were paid in full and promised to come back and correct the problems

Business' Initial Response
We did do all that was asked of us per the original contract. The customers have asked us to come back and do some more work but we just have not had the time. ********* did call and ask us to redo some of the trim work around the windows because the hail had damaged them 2 years ago. This is all extra work to be performed over and above the original contract.
I will be glad to do anything they want to get done we would just have to agree on a price before we would be able to start. We can not warranty anything that the hail causes

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did specifically call him when he finished the job and told him several windows would have to have the wrap/trim redone as it did not cover the hole where the old windows had been. I called numerous times and he never came back. It then hailed and he was called to do that job. We certainly expected to be billed. He again never returned calls.

07/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

This contractor has failed to respond to daily calls, texts, email for out request to repair/replace incorrectly installed foreplace flashing.
Out new composite roof was installed in May 2013, after multiple attempts at request of the stone/brick layers- ***** ****- owner/contractor failed to send out his roofing crew to complete the flashing installation around the fireplace on the roof. He said it would be fine for him to install after stone work was completed. After many more multiple contacts for next few months he- ***** ****, came out in August 2013 and installed the flashing himself around the fireplace stone on top of the composite shingles. The first significant rainfall since moving into out new home in January 2014 occurred on 5-22-14, at that time we had water coming into our living room ceiling around fireplace. We have attempted to contact him for 3 weeks on a daily basis by call, text and email without ANY response. We have since had 2 roofing contractors out for estimate/ problem shooting and both have confirmed that the flashing devices installed by ***** **** are faulty and incorrect and is why the roof is leaking at that site.

Desired Settlement
Since we cannot contact this business owner for repair we will Have to hire another reputable roofing contractor to repair the faulty flashing so that we do not continue to have water leaks and damage with future rainfalls. We would expect that a contractor with integrity would evaluate and try to resolve the issue with a customer. They should have to cover out costs of having to repair their defective work.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Siding Contractors, Doors, Windows - Installation & Service, Roofing Contractors, Contractor - Insulation, Gutters & Downspouts

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 10/03/2007Business started: 06/01/1996
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

City of Amarillo
509 SE 7th Ave
Amarillo, TX 79101-2539
(806) 378-3000

BBB records show a license number of ZC0001323 for this company, issued by City of Amarillo. Their web address is The expiration date of this license is 01/06/2016.

Type: Roofing License

Check License Status: id=7195

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Peter Fehr (Owner) Ashley Ross (Office Manager)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Siding Contractors, Doors, Windows - Installation & Service, Roofing Contractors, Contractor - Insulation, Gutters & Downspouts

Industry Tips

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Amarillo Energy Savers

4535 Canyon Dr

Amarillo, TX 79109

To | From


1 Locations

  • 4535 Canyon Dr 

    Amarillo, TX 79109(806) 353-2855

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Texas Panhandle. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Amarillo Energy Savers is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Siding Contractors


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.