BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/14/1995

Paul Blake Enterprises, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (806) 655-3094Fax: (806) 655-7334View Additional Phone Numbers1501 4th Ave, CanyonTX 79015-3822

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/14/1995

BBB has determined that Paul Blake Enterprises, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Paul Blake Enterprises, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Paul Blake Enterprises, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
08/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Guaranteed he could fix a leak on our house. He sent a guy to do the work who did not fix the leak and now is charging us even though it was not fixed
Contacted **** ***** because we had a leak. He went up on the roof to look at it and guaranteed he could fix the problem for $350. He sent a man out to fix it which he arived when we were not at home against our request. Upon review of my camera system the man dropped a roof sealer in my yard and watched my dogs eat it even though it was a toxic chemical and he did not tell us, attempt to call us, or atempt to get the sealer away from my dogs. I found the sealer in my yard half eatten two days later which is what prompted me to review the video in the first place. I contacted the business and they did not care that they endangered my pets life and did not see it as a big deal. The next rain came and my roof still leaked a upon several calls he sent the same guy back out which didn't stop the leak. Then after several more calls the owner came out and said that it's a vent problem so we still owe him even though his "guaranteed fix" fixed nothing. The owner even called my husband ignorant on the phone. This company scammed money from us by telling us it was the roof when it was the vent all along. Please don't let them around your house especially if you love your pets like I do.

Desired Settlement
This company not only took money for a job they did not complete, they showed up at my house when they were not given permission then endangered my pets loves with no concern of there welfare or the pain my family would of went through of the poison in the container had killed them. Then they insult my husband calling him ignorant when we tell them about the problems we have with the "service provided".

Business Response
Number one there is no warranty on roofing repairs, expressed or implied, we only warranty complete roofs where all the components are replaced. We were contacted to repair around some vents, which we did in a professional manner, I have inspected the work myself. I called **** ***** the day I inspected their home and when I arrived their dogs were out in the yard which impeded my getting on their roof. Evidently it did no good to call before I went to their home in regard tho their dogs, one of which is extra large, probably in excess of 150 pounds.I must admit that i did not call ahead for my men that did the repairs for the roof. The repairs we did around the vents were done properly. We sent someone out to address the leak several times. I determined the the trailer house heater vent was probably faulty and had Adam's Air look at the vent and give the *****'s a price for replacing the vent, which he did, a price of $400.00. Mr ***** called me after that and thought I should pay for the heating vent,which was not in our quote. **** ***** was unreasonable about that expectation,that type of venting on a trailer should only be replaced by a licensed professional heat and air contractor.I told **** ***** that we would be glad to come back after the vent had been changed to repair the shingles around that vent. Mrs ***** has her timeline wrong on her complaint stating that they had paid for the repairs at the time they filed this complaint with the BBB,July 10th 2015 when in fact ****** ***** brought cash to my office and paid $340:00 of their $350 bill( we did not have change for cash so she short paid by $10)this was on July 15th five days after she filed the complaint.They still owe $10 on their bill. This is an inaccurate complaint and should be cleared from our record, which we have a very good record.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Myself and my husband both work so yes if you call before 4pm we normally are at work so are unable to take phone calls on a consistant basis. If a time had been set up I would have been glad to come home and retrieve my pets. I am aware my dog is large and that's why my husband insisted that nobody come over when we are not home because we want to secure our pets. Irregardless of size the roofer dropped a toxic substance in our yard and did not attempt to contact us, notify us, or retrieve the item. It was captured on camera that he watched the dogs chew it up and did not attempt to notify us, if he had I would have left work to retrieve the roof sealer so my dogs didn't get poisoned. I also tried bringing the cash more than once but your business was closed during lunch which is the time I had to bring it. There is no notification of the lunch hours on the door. When I was able to catch a person in the office I brought the full amount but your clerk could not cash a twenty. I have since hired a second roofing company who had fixed the leak by working on the roof and did NOT replace or adjust the vent. I can get a written statement from them as to the work performed by the company. They found the leak and fixed it without any work to the vent. I was unsatisfied with **** ***** and the "repairs" made to my house. The lack of concern for customers pets, inability to fix a roof properly, disregard for request of advanced notice before arrival, and the owner himself calling a customer ignorant is far from professional in any definition of the word.

Final Business Response
I called and talked to **** ***** myself to tell him I was going to his house to check on the leak, when I arrived Mrs.***** was there and the dogs had not been put away,it appears they were not too worried about the dogs being put away before I arrived. I am just refunding their money, this has not been a good experience for either party. PB

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Windows - Installation & Service, Siding Contractors, Contractors-House Leveling

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/14/1995Business started: 06/01/1973
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

BBB records show a license number of ZC0002973 for this company.

Type: City of Amarillo

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 1985, TX

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Blake (Owner)
Number of Employees

15

Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Windows - Installation & Service, Siding Contractors, Contractors-House Leveling

Alternate Business Names
Paul Blake Roofing Inc., Paul Blake House Leveling
Industry Tips
Roofing

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Paul Blake Enterprises, Inc.

1501 4th Ave

Canyon, TX 79015-3822

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1501 4th Ave 

    Canyon, TX 79015-3822(806) 655-3094
    (806) 670-3094
    Fax: (806) 655-7334

  • PO Box 1094 

    Canyon, TX 79015-1094

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Texas Panhandle. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Paul Blake Enterprises, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (806) 670-3094
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

Roofing
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.