BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In The Texas Panhandle

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Amarillo Roofing

Find a Location

Phone: (806) 372-7887Fax: (806) 372-70601701 N Forest St, AmarilloTX 79106-7023

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Amarillo Roofing is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Amarillo Roofing's rating include:

  • One complaint filed against business that was not resolved.

Factors that raised Amarillo Roofing's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
06/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Repairs resulted in additional damage

Complaint: Shabby repair work to our roof resulted to extensive damage to the inside. Therefore, we are asking for our money back to repair all damages.
March 16, 2012:
A proposal was presented to fix a leaky roof from the staircase to 2 bedrooms.
March 27, 2012:
Was invoiced for $4200.00
Work that was to consist of "Sweep back & reflood roof. Rework parapet wall area. Remove all debris off roof."
This work was conducted within approx. an hour with 5 workers. We didn't think they were done until we received a bill. ***** questioned how could they be done within an hours time and want that amount of money? Regardless, we paid $3200 on April 12,2012. On April 26, we paid $600. Reluctantly, we paid the balance of $400 on May 18, 2012. We never did feel that the job was complete.
May 2012:
Had another contractor come in to repair ceiling damage from the leaking roof. Paid $800.00.
December 26, 2012:
Had a long dry spell until the heavy snow fall on Christmas. The day after Christmas the roof was leaking very heavily. Contacted ******* with Amarillo Roofing immediately. He told us that it was vacation time and they couldn't do any thing about it cause it was too wet. The roof continued to leak causing all the work done by the ceiling contactor to be ruined. Not only ruined but worse than ever before.
A month later it snowed again. Contacted ******* again. That was when the owner, ****, came out and inspected. He stated that it was a prior claim. We have proof that all inside work was completed prior to the snow in December. Amarillo Roofing still didn't fix the roof.
March 2013:
Contacted ******* again and demanded that our roof be repaired. Also asked that they repair the inside damages. A crew was sent out approx. 3 weeks later and was here for about 45 minutes on the roof.
April 2013:
Our roof was still leaking in the exact same area. Continued to cause more damage.
******* was contacted the end of April and again the beginning of May with no response.
May 2013:
Hail storm hit the end of May. We had another roofing company come out. Was informed by the insurance adjuster that the roof repaired by Amarillo Roofing was not damaged from hail. Our leaks are from the roof not being repaired properly. Furthermore, the repairs that Amarillo Roofing supposedly did on our roof was not done up to code.

Business' Initial Response
On March 16, 2012, Amarillo Roofing salesman ***************, submitted a proposal to the ******* to repair their roof. Mrs. ****** signed the proposal. The proposal was for 4200.00, we would sweep back and reflood roof and rework parapet wall. We completed the repairs on March 19, 2012. The proposal requested payment be made once work completed. On april 12,2012 we received 3200.00 payment, on april 25, 2012 with received 600.00 and on may 18, 2012 we received the final 400.00. On March 19 we spent about half the day repairing the roof, some of the crew left to go get more material and this may be why the ******* thought we work only 1 hour. During the Christmas holiday I went to inspect the roof due to it leaking from the 2in of snow received on Christmas day. The roof apparently didn't leak during the 20in received earlier in month. Mr ****** stated that ******* had told him that we would remove roof, install a pitch on roof and then reroof retire roof. I asked Mr. ****** if he had the proposal from us stating this, he said didn't know were proposal was, but ******* had told him we would do this. I know this statement by Mr. ****** was untrue. He also stated that all interior damage was a result of the 2in snow. I inspected the interior damage back in March and the stains on ceiling were the same stains I saw back in March, the stains were old and didn't see any new wet areas. I felt Mr. ****** was stating false information about what ******* said and about the interior damage being new. We went back twice after this in attempts to repair the roof. When we inspected roof in March, we explained to the ******* that we would attempt to repair the roof. The roof is a flat tar/gravel roof, no attice space and the roof adjoins the neighbors roof. We would do our bests but there was no way we could guarantee we could fix. Since no attic, we could not see were roof was leaking. The roof may be leaking on neighbors side and running to the ******* side. The only way we could guarantee was to replace the entire roof on their part and the neighbors part. I feel we did the best job we could to repair. I'm not sure the leaks are from the ******* roof, it could be running from the neighbors side. We have made several attempt to repair at no additional cost to the *******, I'm not sure way interior damage was done if the roof was still leaking. I know the ******* are frustrated, but we did the work we proposed, we have been back several times to attempt to repair. Its impossible to determine were roof is leaking without tearing off the entire side on the ******* and the entire roof of the adjoining neighbor. The roof is of poor design and has not been maintained properly. We did the work we proposed to do, we have been back several times repairing other areas not included in original proposal at no cost to the *******. I know they are not satisfied, but they elected to repair roof and were informed we would try to fix leaks but could only do so much with the amount they wanted to pay. I have the proposal and the paperwork on file, if the BBB wants to see.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No, we do not accept the response from Amarillo Roofing.

No work was done to parapet walls. No hot tar was used. Only Cold Process cement. All of the rock was moved to our neighbors roof and left there. The rock was never put back.

We called ******* to let him know that the skylight was still leaking. We paid $4200.00 to Amarillo Roofing and the leak was not fixed.

No permit was ever pulled.
No inspection was ever done.

On June 19, 2013, we had a tarp placed over our roof (not our neighbors) to help prevent more damage. No leaks since.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to resolve the complaint issues through BBB voluntary and self-regulatory process.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/06/2000Business started: 02/15/2000
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

City of Amarillo
509 SE 7th Ave
Amarillo, TX79101-2539
(806) 378-3000
http://www.ci.amarillo.tx.us/

BBB records show a license number of ZC0000182 for this company, issued by City of Amarillo. Their web address is http://www.ci.amarillo.tx.us/. The expiration date of this license is 02/17/2015.

Type: Roofing License

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Karrh (General Partner)
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

Roofing Contractors

Industry Tips
Roofing

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Amarillo Roofing

1701 N Forest St

Amarillo, TX 79106-7023

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1701 N Forest St 

    Amarillo, TX 79106-7023(806) 372-7887

  • PO Box 19024 

    Amarillo, TX 79114-1024

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Texas Panhandle. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Amarillo Roofing is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

Roofing
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.