BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Amarillo Roofing

Phone: (806) 372-7887Fax: (806) 372-7060

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
06/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Shabby repair work to our roof resulted to extensive damage to the inside. Therefore, we are asking for our money back to repair all damages.
March 16, 2012:
A proposal was presented to fix a leaky roof from the staircase to 2 bedrooms.
March 27, 2012:
Was invoiced for $4200.00
Work that was to consist of "Sweep back & reflood roof. Rework parapet wall area. Remove all debris off roof."
This work was conducted within approx. an hour with 5 workers. We didn't think they were done until we received a bill. ***** questioned how could they be done within an hours time and want that amount of money? Regardless, we paid $3200 on April 12,2012. On April 26, we paid $600. Reluctantly, we paid the balance of $400 on May 18, 2012. We never did feel that the job was complete.
May 2012:
Had another contractor come in to repair ceiling damage from the leaking roof. Paid $800.00.
December 26, 2012:
Had a long dry spell until the heavy snow fall on Christmas. The day after Christmas the roof was leaking very heavily. Contacted ******* with Amarillo Roofing immediately. He told us that it was vacation time and they couldn't do any thing about it cause it was too wet. The roof continued to leak causing all the work done by the ceiling contactor to be ruined. Not only ruined but worse than ever before.
A month later it snowed again. Contacted ******* again. That was when the owner, ****, came out and inspected. He stated that it was a prior claim. We have proof that all inside work was completed prior to the snow in December. Amarillo Roofing still didn't fix the roof.
March 2013:
Contacted ******* again and demanded that our roof be repaired. Also asked that they repair the inside damages. A crew was sent out approx. 3 weeks later and was here for about 45 minutes on the roof.
April 2013:
Our roof was still leaking in the exact same area. Continued to cause more damage.
******* was contacted the end of April and again the beginning of May with no response.
May 2013:
Hail storm hit the end of May. We had another roofing company come out. Was informed by the insurance adjuster that the roof repaired by Amarillo Roofing was not damaged from hail. Our leaks are from the roof not being repaired properly. Furthermore, the repairs that Amarillo Roofing supposedly did on our roof was not done up to code.

Desired Settlement
Asking for a cash refund:
$4200.00 for the roof never being repaired properly.
$800.00 for the ceiling repair that we paid for in May of 2012.
$200.00 for added damages to the inside.
For a total of $5200.00

We are asking this to be paid to us immediately so that we can have our roof repaired properly.

Business' Initial Response
On March 16, 2012, Amarillo Roofing salesman ***************, submitted a proposal to the ******* to repair their roof. Mrs. ****** signed the proposal. The proposal was for 4200.00, we would sweep back and reflood roof and rework parapet wall. We completed the repairs on March 19, 2012. The proposal requested payment be made once work completed. On april 12,2012 we received 3200.00 payment, on april 25, 2012 with received 600.00 and on may 18, 2012 we received the final 400.00. On March 19 we spent about half the day repairing the roof, some of the crew left to go get more material and this may be why the ******* thought we work only 1 hour. During the Christmas holiday I went to inspect the roof due to it leaking from the 2in of snow received on Christmas day. The roof apparently didn't leak during the 20in received earlier in month. Mr ****** stated that ******* had told him that we would remove roof, install a pitch on roof and then reroof retire roof. I asked Mr. ****** if he had the proposal from us stating this, he said didn't know were proposal was, but ******* had told him we would do this. I know this statement by Mr. ****** was untrue. He also stated that all interior damage was a result of the 2in snow. I inspected the interior damage back in March and the stains on ceiling were the same stains I saw back in March, the stains were old and didn't see any new wet areas. I felt Mr. ****** was stating false information about what ******* said and about the interior damage being new. We went back twice after this in attempts to repair the roof. When we inspected roof in March, we explained to the ******* that we would attempt to repair the roof. The roof is a flat tar/gravel roof, no attice space and the roof adjoins the neighbors roof. We would do our bests but there was no way we could guarantee we could fix. Since no attic, we could not see were roof was leaking. The roof may be leaking on neighbors side and running to the ******* side. The only way we could guarantee was to replace the entire roof on their part and the neighbors part. I feel we did the best job we could to repair. I'm not sure the leaks are from the ******* roof, it could be running from the neighbors side. We have made several attempt to repair at no additional cost to the *******, I'm not sure way interior damage was done if the roof was still leaking. I know the ******* are frustrated, but we did the work we proposed, we have been back several times to attempt to repair. Its impossible to determine were roof is leaking without tearing off the entire side on the ******* and the entire roof of the adjoining neighbor. The roof is of poor design and has not been maintained properly. We did the work we proposed to do, we have been back several times repairing other areas not included in original proposal at no cost to the *******. I know they are not satisfied, but they elected to repair roof and were informed we would try to fix leaks but could only do so much with the amount they wanted to pay. I have the proposal and the paperwork on file, if the BBB wants to see.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No, we do not accept the response from Amarillo Roofing.

No work was done to parapet walls. No hot tar was used. Only Cold Process cement. All of the rock was moved to our neighbors roof and left there. The rock was never put back.

We called ******* to let him know that the skylight was still leaking. We paid $4200.00 to Amarillo Roofing and the leak was not fixed.

No permit was ever pulled.
No inspection was ever done.

On June 19, 2013, we had a tarp placed over our roof (not our neighbors) to help prevent more damage. No leaks since.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.