BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/11/1991

Frank's Repair Plumbing, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (806) 355-5697Fax: (806) 372-22604112 NW 10th Ave, AmarilloTX 79106-7002

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/11/1991

BBB has determined that Frank's Repair Plumbing, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Frank's Repair Plumbing, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Frank's Repair Plumbing, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
05/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They failed to provide the services paid for
In early January I called *****'s plumbing about a slow draining shower. On January 7 , '14 two men came and advised me that it would cost me $378.98 to get this fixed, $349.48 for running the line and $29.50 for the 'diagnosis'. This was roughly twice what I had paid in the 45 years I have lived here but It was crucial we get it done so I approved the charge, these men were here about 1 to 1 ½ hours and left.
About 3 weeks later we had the same problem. In the early afternoon of February 4, '14 I called again to tell them the problem had returned. I believe it was the next day that a worker showed up around 5 to 5:30, flushed the commode 3 to 4 times, announced that the shower was still backing up but, due to the snow on the roof he would have to come back some other time. After waiting almost 6 weeks for him to come back I called yet again. On March 18, '14 two different men came, looked it over and said it would cost me $260.00 to fix it, I think you can imagine my response to that. '***** 'called the office then announced they wouldn't charge me. They seemingly ran the same 100' of cable through the same vent and got the same results, except this time he told me if this didn't work and I had to call back it would cost me $745.28 to have them install a 'clean out'. To no one's great surprise it didn't work and I was not going to keep pouring good money after bad so I called another plumber. This one showed up around 4 pm on April 22, '14 and left a little before 8 but only after flooding my discharge lines with water from the commodes, showers and clothes washer at the same time to make sure the lines were cleared, then charged me $313, $65.98 LESS than *****'s did after they made 3 trips out here taking over 100 days. I called *****'s, talked to a lady there explaing that I felt *****'s owed me a full refund, that my spending over 3 months gauging when to flush, when to shower and when to wash clothes was ridiculous when it was obvious it could have been done in 3 hours. She said she would have someone call me. I got home on April 16 to find a message from '****' at *****'s plumbing advising he had tried to call but would call back. Not hearing anything I called back on the 21 of April and left a message for **** who they said was on a job, the last contact I had from *****'s was the 24th when I got home from work I saw where someone from *****'s had called but left no message, that was my last contact with them. I feel that I have gone considerably further than that 'extra mile', that putting my off for over 3 months while trying to keep charging me more was unprofessional to say the very least..

Desired Settlement
$378.98

Business Response
Our service manager, **** ******, spoke with Mr. ****** on May 7th. They discussed Mr. ******'s concerns. It was agreed that a refund would be given to Mr. ****** because of the inconvenience Mr. ****** experienced and we sincerely apologize. *****'s always stands behind the work we do and it is always our desire to leave a customer's home with them completely satisfied. We look forward to working with Mr. ****** in the future.



Consumer Response
VERY PLEASANT DISCUSSION WITH MR. ****** AND THE ISSUE WAS RESOLVED SATISFACTORILY IN JUST A FEW MINUTES. I APPRECIATE THE HELP OF THE BBB IN THIS MATTER TOO.

05/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to fulfill commitment and change contract prior to completing the bid job. As well as billing for services not done by their company.
Franks accepted a bid on full completion of all heating/air as well as plumbing on our new home construction. Their commitment to honor contract/bid 45-60 days prior to completion of the house, they changed their pricing on all labor and fixtures when 98-99% of the job was complete. Hard to say exactly how much, as they hide all costs to homeowners through "change orders." and totals versus individual itemized bills. They pick cheap fixtures they buy truck loads of and offer to builders and when you change to what you want in your home, they give you the difference or upcharge so you never know what you pay for or the price until they refigure the bid.

Throughout the project, their company has hidden costs to us as the homeowner. This is a company that is loyal to builders and convinced after talking to ownership that they are financially supporting and or rebating builders to secure their work. Multiple conversations with ownership is that their customers are the builder and not the home owner who pays the bills.

They billed us for gas to our fireplace, which is not a "gas burning fireplace". They also billed us for a water line from our water well to our house, of which, another contractor did the work turn key. We were simply trying to ensure we got credit and did not pay his company for work they did not do. When we questioned, they were not only rude and extremely unhelpful but told us they would not issue any credits period. Yet, they won't prove and or issue me a credit?

This is the most unprofessional ownership of any contractor I have ever dealt with. In my opinion, they need a full review of their pricing and hidden costs to homeowners.

Desired Settlement
Again, because their cost are all hidden under categories with a total for entire job I don't know the total for the gas line and water lines they charged me for but did not do.

I want to be reimbursed $ 3,5000.00 or prove the true cost to run both the water and gas line above and reimbursed for that amount.

Business Response
We appreciate the opportunity to respond to Mrs. ****'s complaint. We would like to address the issue of not completing a contract for plumbing and heating work done on a residence, our original contract was with the builder and not directly with the homeowner, when the builder was no longer involved in the project that terminated our contract for the remaining work to be done, when approached by the homeowner to complete the work it was clearly stated that all previous pricing was no longer valid and the customer was given a new contract with the updated pricing in which they signed in agreement. Mrs. **** states that she thinks we are biased towards the builder, it is standard practice and well accepted in our industry as well as many others for price breaks to be given to customers that do repeat business with your company. Doing a job for an experienced builder cost our company less than doing the same job for an inexperienced customer and our prices must reflect that.

Mrs. **** states the she thinks our pricing is deceptive, we absolutely do not agree with that statement, we bid jobs in accordance with the accepted practices of our industry, with our price clearly stated, any customer is free to retain our company or decline our services. While we cannot satisfy every customer, it is always our goal to do a professional job at a fair price. We stand by our reputation that we have built over the last 60 years.

Regarding the work Mrs. **** maintains was not done, after speaking with the plumber on the job it was stated that while gas lines were not run directly to the fireplace, a gas line was run into the attic for future use, whether it be for the fireplace or the stove. He also stated that he had not run the water line.

Concerning Mrs. ****'s request for a refund we
will be happy to offer a refund of $100.00 towards the gas line and $600 towards the water line. We will make the refund payable to the builder, as he is the one who paid all invoices and the homeowner may request the funds from him.

We have received notice from the customer of the cancellation of the contract they had signed with us and we agree to that. We wish Mrs. **** and her family the very best and hope they enjoy their beautiful home for many years to come.


Consumer Response
We did not receive the e-mail from the BBB with the Business response until April 10th, due to the fact that **** didn't want to use his company e-mail address so he used an older e-mail address of mine (***) that I rarely check. Please send further communication to *******@cableone.net if possible.

As of Saturday, April 12th we have not received the refund from Frank's Repair Plumbing. Their response said they would send the check to the builder - knowing that the builder no longer works for us - but reguardless we have not received the refund they said they would give us for the work we were billed for that was not done by their company.

I am not in full agreement with their resolution due to the fact that the ONLY gas line run in the attic was necessary for the heaters. The only thing "extra" as far as the gas line is concerned was to install 2 "T's" allowing for easy tie for future use if ever needed/desired for the fireplace or stove.

At this point we will accept their resolution just to get this resolved.

Cordially,

*** ****


Consumer Response
We did not receive the e-mail from the BBB with the Business response until April 10th, due to the fact that **** didn't want to use his company e-mail address so he used an older e-mail address of mine (***) that I rarely check. Please send further communication to *******@cableone.net if possible.

As of Saturday, April 12th we have not received the refund from *****'s Repair Plumbing. Their response said they would send the check to the builder - knowing that the builder no longer works for us - but reguardless we have not received the refund they said they would give us for the work we were billed for that was not done by their company.

I am not in full agreement with their resolution due to the fact that the ONLY gas line run in the attic was necessary for the heaters. The only thing "extra" as far as the gas line is concerned was to install 2 "T's" allowing for easy tie for future use if ever needed/desired for the fireplace or stove.

At this point we will accept their resolution just to get this resolved.

Cordially,

*** ****


Business Response
We have not sent the refund check as of date as we were waiting on Mrs. ***'s response. In light of the fact that she did not view our response until April 10th and she states that she will accept our offer of resolution we will send a check directly to Mrs. *** this afternoon to the above listed address via certified mail.

We appreciate the opportunity to resolve this matter.

12/31/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Quoted 180 to replace cartridge in Fawcett, claimed fix didn't work, resulting in Fawcett replacement costing $500
2 weeks before Christmas, I called them out because my bathroom Fawcett was leaking pretty badly. They quoted me $180, and said that the cartridge in the moen Fawcett needed replacing. I said fine, fix it, well, they took out the old cartridge, showed me how worn it was and put in a new one. They called me back into the bathroom and showed me it was dripping worse than ever, and told me that I needed a whole new Fawcett... Almost $600! they didn't have the parts to do it then, so we made an appointment to do it in a couple of days, unfortunately, work got in the way and I had to cancel that appointment, at which point Franks started calling me daily, hounding me to get this Fawcett fixed, leaving really nasty messages on my phone, until finally I called and chewed them out, and told them I worked for a living and would call THEM when someone would be available to be home to get this fixed. Meanwhile, I found another plumber to come look at this thing, because quite frankly, something just didn't sit right. Yesterday the second plumber came out, I told him what had happened, and he said, well, lets just try this cartridge first, then take it from there... he takes out the cartridge, and guess what??? they had put the OLD cartridge back in, and told me that the new one didn't work, so that they could replace the Fawcett for $600 instead of replacing the cartridge for $180!!! they lied to my face and tried to CON me! the new plumber put in the new cartridge... drip is stopped!! his cost? $130!! apparently Franks guys work on commission, so the higher the bill, the more they make... so now they are CONNING people!! the sad part is, I've used this company for 18 years! so I have to wander how many repairs they've done were actually necessary??? I am furious! I am a long time loyal customer, and they did THIS to me... I will be looking for other repairmen, Franks are conmen! Thank heavens I haven't paid them for this "repair" nor will I be! how many elderly and fixed income people are they doing this to?

Desired Settlement
I want an apology, and I want them to rethink their business practice, I WILL share my experience far and wide!

Business Response
Our service manager, **** ******, contacted the homeowner and spoke with the husband regarding the problem with the faucet. He assured him that it is never our intention to sell unneeded work to our customers. There has been no charge to the customer. Regarding the phone calls, it is our policy to call the customer when we have the parts to set up an appointment, we apologize if the customer thought we were hounding them, there are times when customers don't think we try hard enough to get ahold of them. We sincerely apologize to the customer for any misunderstanding. We have been in business in Amarillo for over 60 years and are voted the Best Of Amarillo consistently, and we could not do that if we were in the business to cheat our customers. We absolutely regret offending a loyal and truly appreciated customer and would be glad if ever given the chance to win back their trust.

12/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I called *****'s Repair Plumbing to come give me an estimate on some repairs I need in my upstairs bathroom. They said they charge $29.50 for an estimate. They went in the attic to look at pipes and poured two 5 gallon buckets of water, one down the toilet and and one in shower to check for leaks, then plugged the shower drain for another leak check. I would have thought this was done to determine the amount on an estimate. They determined it was not a plumbing problem, and charged me $142.81 - of which $113.37 was to pour two buckets of water down the drain and look at the pipes in the attic. They were here a total of about 30 minutes, so that's $300 an hour!!! THAT'S RIDICULOUS!!!

Desired Settlement
I don't mind paying a fair amount for the service, but I feel if it was going to cost more than the amount I was told for the estimate, I should have been told this up front. I believe they should refund $113.31 - the amount I was charged for the "shower pan test".

Business Response
Our Service Manager, **** ****** spoke with Mrs. ********* regarding her concerns. He explained the pricing she was charged was accurate, our technician performed a shower pan test and inspection of her commode and found both to be leaking and it was recommended that the toilet be replaced. Mrs. ********* thought the initial $29.50 evaluation fee covered this work. After speaking with Mrs. ********* it was agreed that we would refund the 113.31 as a goodwill measure.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Heating & Air Conditioning

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/01/1968Business started: 06/01/1953
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

BBB records show a license number of M-777 for this company. The expiration date of this license is 09/30/2015.

Type: State Board of Plumbing

Check License Status: https://licensing.hpc.state.tx.us/datamart/detailsTXHPC.do?anchor=2a2d8f7.0.4

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of TACLA010501C for this company.

Type: Texas Department of Licensing & Regulations

Check License Status: http://www.license.state.tx.us/LicenseSearch/SearchResultDetail.asp?1=AIRREF00010501

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 1968, TX

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Frank Willburn (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Melissa Willburn (Secretary / Treasurer)Mr. Rick Dabney (Service Manager)Mr. John Willburn (Vice President)
Number of Employees

71

Business Category

Plumbers, Heating & Air Conditioning

BBB Program Participation
Frank's Repair Plumbing, Inc. participates in the BBBOnLine Program and has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.
Industry Tips
Air Conditioning

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Frank's Repair Plumbing, Inc.

4112 NW 10th Ave

Amarillo, TX 79106-7002

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 4112 NW 10th Ave 

    Amarillo, TX 79106-7002(806) 355-5697
    Fax: (806) 372-2260

  • PO Box 3160 

    Amarillo, TX 79116-3160

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Texas Panhandle. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Frank's Repair Plumbing, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Plumbers

Air Conditioning
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.