BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/17/2013

Montoya Custom Homes, Inc.

Phone: (806) 433-5266Fax: (806) 457-04594108 SW 45th Ave, AmarilloTX 79109-5518

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/17/2013

BBB has determined that Montoya Custom Homes, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Montoya Custom Homes, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Montoya Custom Homes, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
04/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Had a contract to build a home, was denied a mortgage loan from two different lenders. Submitted denial letters to Mr. Montoya.
We entered into a contract agreement with Mr. Montoya to build a home for us. One of the stipulations was the sale of our home and able to obtain financing. I was given verbal approval for the amount but due to a problem with the house I was selling the approval was revoked resulting in denial of credit. I submitted the letters to my broker who in turn gave them to his broker. I spoke with Mr Montoya on two separate occasions and he verbal agreed that he would refund the earnest money and that he simple forgot to have the check sent. After the second verbal committment from Mr Montoya he stated he would send the check out on Friday and we would recieve it by Monday. Two or three days past monday he then stated that he wasn't going to refund the money and that it was his to keep. His arguement was that we violated the terms of the agreement. I kept checking with my broker about the terms of the contract to ensure that we complied with the terms which they stated we had.

Desired Settlement
All I'm requesting is the return of the earnest money ($1000).

Business Response


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In response to *******'s comments. There were two contingents on this contract. One was to obtain financing and the other was to sell the home in south Texas. We had ever intension of purchasing this home from Mr. ******* but because of one late payment and the change in funding rules we were denied a loan. I submitted the required notice of Termination document to Mr. ******* along with two letters stating denial of credit from two separate lending companies. Those documents were sent to him on the 27th of Jan. The other contingent document was the sell of the other property and it was not expecting to close until sometime in Feb. According to the addendum for the sell of the other property I had the option to waive the contract if done before the 21 of Feb. I spoke with Mr. ******* twice after submitting the letter of denial for credit to him and he stated that he would refund the earnest money on both occasions and when he learned during our last conversation that the other property had sold he told his agent that the earnest money was his. If this is indeed the case Mr. ******* should have stated his intensions during the first conversation and not led me to believe that he was going to refund the earnest money. I couldn't have purchased the house even with the sell of the other property because of the denial of credit and I received no proceeds from the sell of my house since it was a short sell. It seems that Mr. ******* is forgetting that he agreed to refund the earnest money on two occasions even stating that he had forgot to send the check out on both occasions. This was before he had learned of the sell of the other property. The other half of this issue is having a realtor who kept telling me we were fine contractually and that I had until the 21 of Feb to cancel the contract. When I received the denial for credit and not knowing if the house would close I elected to cancel the contract between us based on the information I was given.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Builders, Construction & Remodeling Services, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Painting Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/22/2011Business started: 10/13/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

City of Amarillo
509 SE 7th Ave
Amarillo, TX 79101-2539
(806) 378-3000
http://www.ci.amarillo.tx.us/

BBB records show a license number of ZC0000368 for this company, issued by City of Amarillo. Their web address is http://www.ci.amarillo.tx.us/. The expiration date of this license is 08/11/2016.

Type: City of Amarillo

Check License Status: http://www.amarillo.gov/?page id=7195

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Contact Information
Principal: Baltazar Montoya (owner) Teresa Montoya (Co-Owner)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Home Builders, Construction & Remodeling Services, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Painting Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts

BBB Program Participation
Montoya Custom Homes, Inc. participates in the BBBOnLine Program and has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.
Industry Tips
Roofing

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Montoya Custom Homes, Inc.

4108 SW 45th Ave

Amarillo, TX 79109-5518

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4108 SW 45th Ave 

    Amarillo, TX 79109-5518(806) 433-5266
    Fax: (806) 457-0459

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Texas Panhandle. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Montoya Custom Homes, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Home Builders

Roofing
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.