BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/23/1990

Scottco Service Company

Phone: (806) 359-9541Fax: (806) 359-8507

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
07/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
bad installation from 2011
Scottco installed a condenser motor in my outside unit in Aug 2011. This month the motor stopped and tech admitted bad wiring done by previous tech, did not wrap any wires and left to the elements. I watched as the wires from fan to motor crumpled. I spoke with Scottco, ****, he said we gave you a discount, if the previous tech in less than 2 years did a bad job why was I charged and put off for days. Tech that came out gave me a discount but if bad wiring I watched how bad why was I charged?

Desired Settlement
Just the $210 refund and if wiring wrong again no charge on fan blades and condenser, because of wiring by Scottco. I rarely file complaints but tired of paying a lot and charged because of admitted failure. I also filed one for************* but dang I paid at time of service and expect the work too last longer than less than 2 years because I would not buy extended and then wiring done after.

Business' Initial Response
On 07/26/2013, Scottco attempted to contact *********** by phone to inform her of a resolution. Scottco has taken ***********'s complaint into consideration and has decided to refund $210.04 for the service provided on July 8, 2013. Scottco appreciates ***********'s business and it is our hope that *********** is satisfied with the resolution.

03/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We were selling our house at **** ** *******. The party buying our house contracted scottco to do a static sewer line test. Scottco came out and supposedly tried to test the sewer line from the clean out. Scottco said the sewer line clean out was broken and had to be fixed to do the job. I think they were just trying to bill some extra time and charges to fix the problem. However, I called another plumber, Dependable Plumbing, to check out the problem. They dug up the clean out, and it was not broken or even cracked. No problems at all. It ended up costing me about $150. to find out there was no problem. It was worth it to deal with an honest company like Dependable Plumbing. This happend back in June. I think people should know what crooks they are dealing with when they do buisness with scottco.

Desired Settlement
I think its only fair they refund me the $150. that I had to pay to find out there was no problems and they just do crappy work.

Business Response
This correspondence is in response to BBB Complaint # XXXXXXXX. Please note, this is the first time Scottco has been notified about any issues with the work performed at **** ** *******.
On July 21, 2014, Scottco performed a static test, water test and gas test at the above address as requested by ***** ********* As noted by our ******** *********** the sewer test failed. The Technician was unable to test the sewer properly due to water not holding in the sewer line cleanout. Due to the amount of buildup and sludge, it was suggested that they have the line cleaned out and then retested. The Technician noted that the cleanouts were sunk in, which also made it impossible to run a camera. The existing system had a single pipe cleanout; therefore, our Technician did recommend having double-sweep cleanouts installed for proper cleaning and retesting. It was never communicated to the customer that the cleanouts were "broken", but that they were "sunk in". Scottco was never contacted with any issues, concerns or call-backs regarding the work performed on July 21, 2014. Per the complaint, Mr. ******* chose to have another Plumbing company come out. Per the complaint, Dependable Plumbing also deemed it necessary to dig up the cleanouts, as was originally suggested by our Technician.
Furthermore, the work performed by Scottco was billed to Lawyers Title Company and was paid by the buyer and current owner of the home, ****** ******* Please be assured that Scottco takes any and all complaints seriously. We understand that Mr. ******* is currently dissatisfied with our Company, but it is our belief that Mr. ******* is not due a refund for the above referenced complaint.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all the cleanout was NOT sunk in. Dependable Plumbing had no problem running the tests and there was no build up or sludge in the line. It passed on the first try without needing cleaning out. I would not have had to pay Dependable Plumbing to come out and do scottco's work for them if they had done it right the first time. Thats why I am out the $150. scottco does shoddy work and I will never recomend anyone use scottco for anything.

Final Business Response
This correspondence is an additional response to BBB Complaint #XXXXXXXX. It is our understanding that Mr. ******* did not accept our initial response dated 02/25/2015. Please be assured that we make every attempt to address and resolve customer complaints to the best of our ability; however, we do not feel that Mr. ******* is justified in requesting a refund in the amount of $150.00. As previously stated, Mr. ******* never notified Scottco of any issues regarding work performed in July. Furthermore, the work performed by Scottco was paid by the buyer of the home - ****** ****** Mr. ******* should not be granted a refund for services paid by another customer. Furthermore, the buyer, Mr. Regan, contracted Scottco - it was Mr. *******'s decision to contact another plumbing company to perform the same work that Scottco previously suggested. Again, we do not feel that Mr. ******* is due a refund for services paid for by the buyer of the home.

06/30/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Scottco was aware of a refrigerant leak but negligent in identifying the source as a defective cooling coil.
They refused to honor the warranty.

I bought a complete heating and air-conditioning system with maintenance agreement on March 15, 2007 from Scottco.
Model: ************ - High Efficiency Coil # *********** Serial # XXXXXXXXX
Invoice: XXXXXX-XXX dated 3/27/2007
Cost of job including humidifier and first year of maintenance agreement: $7,860.53, paid by check.
I was told on June 2, 2010 by Scottco that the unit was not cooling because it was low on freon.
That same reason was reported by Scottco in subsequent years with promise to isolate lines to determine source of leak.
It was not until April 24, 2014 that a Scottco technician isolated the lines and found the leak in the cooling coil copper line.
I was informed that the warranty on coil was for only five years. Cost to replace it would be $1,530.36.
Even though the coil became defective within the 5-year warranty period Scottco would not assume responsibility.
By recharging the unit yearly without a thorough test to isolate and fix cause of leak caused the warranty period to expire.
Expiration of the warranty period was due to Scottco's neglect.
I would like to recover the coil replacement cost.

Desired Settlement
The settlement I seek is the amount that Scottco wanted to charge me to replace a cooling coil that was in warranty when it failed. Amount $1,530.36

Business Response
This correspondence is in regards to BBB Complaint Case #XXXXXXXX. First, Scottco would like to apologize for any inconvenience suffered by Mr. ******. It was never Scottco's intention to withhold services and let his warranty expire.
On March 15, 2007, Mr. ****** purchased a complete HVAC system with a maintenance agreement. The warranty for the HVAC system consisted of the following: 1 year on the furnace and 5 years on parts. On June 2, 2010, Scottco HVAC Service Technician ****** ***** was dispatched to the home of Mr. ******. At the time, the A/C unit was not cooling and the system was found to be low in Freon. The Technician proceeded to recharge the system with Freon. To determine if Freon was leaking from the system, Scottco would have needed to complete a Leak Test in order to isolate the area. After recharging, the system was found to be cooling properly. The customer, Mr. ******, was not ready for a Leak Test at this time.
Refrigerant leaks, especially "small" or "pin-hole" leaks, are often inaccessible and/or hard to detect until the leak becomes larger and detectable with an electronic leak detector which would lead a Technician to its exact location in a system. When the system was first found to be low on refrigerant in 2010, and if it could have been detected, the coil would have been warrantied by the manufacture. The manufacturer would have provided a coil, free of charge. Mr. ******; however, would have been responsible for the labor and material to replace the coil as Scottco warranties its labor in workmanship for 1 year from date of installation. The coil itself leaking is a manufacturer warranty. Since we have now pin pointed the leak and now know exactly what needs to be repaired, Scottco would like to offer the following solution: Scottco would be willing to absorb the cost of the evaporator coil ($610.00) with the understanding that Mr. ****** would be responsible for labor and materials. Another resolution would be to have a new coil delivered to Mr. ******, at no charge. Mr. ****** could then seek the services of another company to replace the coil for him at his expense.
On June 20, 2014, *** ****** Technical Training Coordinator, called Mr. ****** to discuss the issues with the coil. Mr. ***** apologized and explained the process of finding a pin-hole leak. Mr. ***** informed Mr. ****** that if Scottco had found the coil leaking in 2010, the warranty would have only covered the coil and that he, Mr. ******, would have been responsible for the cost of labor, materials and installation. Mr. ****** stated that he understood and that he was never provided with that option. As a resolution, Mr. ***** offered: 1.) to provide a new coil at Scottco's expense if Mr. ****** would pay for the installation or 2.) Scottco would provide a coil at no charge and he, Mr. ******, could seek a company of his choice to perform the installation.
At this time, Mr. ****** informed Mr. ***** that he had already had the coil replaced by another company at a cost of $1100.00. Mr. ***** then offered Mr. ****** a refund of the cost of the coil, $610.00, asking him if he thought that was fair. Mr. ****** stated that he was looking to get a refund of $ 1500.00. He further stated that he had estimates of $1100.00, $1500.00 and $2300.00. Mr. ***** reminded Mr. ****** that he had stated that he knew he would have to pay for the installation and that the retail price of the coil was $610.00 no matter who installed it. Mr. ***** stated that he believed it was fair to defer the installation cost of $1100.00. Mr. ***** informed Mr. ****** that Scottco wanted to refund the cost of his coil ($610.00). Mr. ***** would allow Mr. ****** time to think about it over the weekend and instructed Mr. ****** to call him on Monday June 23, 2014 with his decision.
Mr. ***** not hearing from Mr. ******, called him Monday June 23, 2014 at 4:45. Mr. ***** left a message to call him back.
As of 3:30 June 24, 2014, Mr. ***** has not heard from Mr. ******.
Scottco believes it fair to cover the cost of the coil, $610.00, as a resolution for the inconvenience suffered by Mr. ******.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
June 29, 2014



Re: BBB Complaint Case XXXXXXXX
Correspondence from Scottco dated June 24, 2014

Mr. ******** resolution is to pay $610.00 with total denial of any responsibility whatsoever. He bases the amount on what he claims is the retail price of the coil. He says it would be to cover the inconvenience I have suffered. His offer was made on a Friday with insistence on my decision the following Monday.

The solutions and resolutions in the first part of Mr. ******** response are inferred as being presented to me on April 24, 2014 at a time when they might have been considered or accepted. That is a false statement. They came two months after I was told I would have to pay $1,530.36.

His statements that I knew the retail price of the coil and knew I had to pay for the installation are both false. I do not understand the sentence: "Mr. ***** stated that he believed it was fair to defer the installation cost of $1100.00."

I patiently allowed Scottco to postpone testing each year believing they would get it done when they weren't so busy. They repeatedly said that if system was low on freon the next season they would isolate and pinpoint the leak. They finally did the proper testing and found the source of leak - SEVEN-YEARS LATER.

On April 24, 2014 should I have accepted Scottco's "absolutely not in warranty statement" and the expected wait of 15 days or more for a replacement? Should I have resolved to endure the expected high temperatures during that period and immediately pay $1,530.36 for the privilege? Or, after Brad's second thought, pay the lower price that I had received in fair competitive bidding from two of his fellow competitors? "No, I think not!"

The company I chose replaced and recharged the system in less than one hour with two men. The coil came with a 10 year warranty.

I believe $1,530.36 is reasonable.

Sincerely,

*** ** ******

09/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Scottco quoted a total price of $2,300 to repair a collapsed sewer line. After drilling, they said they needed more money to guarantee no more floodin
On July 29, 2013, ******* from Scotto Mechanical ran a camera through my sewer pipes and informed me that I had 5 feet of iron pipe that held standing water and was the cause of frequent back-ups in my kitchen sink. I have a written quote for the work in the amount of $2,300. But wait! It was a "Bait & Switch" operation. After drilling a huge hole inside my home, they ran a camera and found MORE problems. I refused to pay more. They said I would have to sign a "release" if they stopped work at that point. I would not sign such a document. They stopped work and I paid them $2,300 for the work they did, with no guarantee of solving the problem.

Desired Settlement
I believe Scottco should refund every penny they charged me, so that I can hire another contractor to do the remaining work (replacing more pipe.) Each time digging is done, I also have to pay for new ceramic tile to be laid.

Business' Initial Response
On July 29, 2013, Scottco was called to Mrs. *********'s home to camera her plumbing lines due to her kitchen line continually backing up. Scottco's Plumbing Technician, Mr. ******** was able to narrow down the problem to a 5' piece of pipe. The Technician informed Mrs. ********* that the pipe was holding water and would need to be replaced. He also informed Mrs. ********* that we could potentially find other problems once Scottco uncovered the pipe and got further into job. Mrs. ********* signed a proposal to start work on August 7, 2013. The proposal included the original scope of work and stated, "Any unforeseen problems will be extra". That afternoon, Plumbing Supervisor, Mr. ********* received a call from the Technician on the job stating that another problem had been discovered in the bathroom area. Mr. ******** arrived at the property and explained the situation to Mrs. *********. Scottco Technicians went back to the property the following day removing the concrete and cutting out the bad pipe. At this time, it was discovered that the line had a crack in it, which could not be seen with the camera due to the pipe being full of water. The Technician notified Mrs. ********* of the additional findings, explaining that it would require additional work to repair the cracked line. The Technician informed her that if she did not want to continue, that she would have to sign an agreement stating that if problems happen in the future to the old cast iron pipe, Scottco would not be responsible due to the pipe having a crack in it. Mrs. ********* would not sign the agreement and told the Technician to finish what they had started and that she would pay us. Scottco got an inspection on the repairs that were made and backfilled and poured the concrete. Cleanup of the house was completed after all concrete had been done.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
What proposed resolution? I now know why Scottco's reputation in Amarillo is so shady. In fairness, I will say that their plumbers are first-rate. It is their business practices and their prices to which I object. I stand by my complaint.

Business' Final Response
On August 7, 2013, Ms ********* rendered the services of Scottco Mechanical Contractors, Inc. by agreeing to and signing an "Acceptance of Proposal" in the amount of $2300.00. The proposal included the following scope of work:
* Bust up concrete $785.00
* Replacing old cast iron pipe with schedule 40 PVC pipe $400.00
* Back fill with sand $315.00
* Pour back concrete $200.00
* Permit and inspection $100.00
* Dig down and haul off dirt $500.00
The proposal also stated: "Any unforeseen problems will be extra"; "Not responsible for sheetrock, painting, tile repairs, carpet repairs, carpentry, wall repair".
Ms. ********* was informed of additional problems discovered during the bust-up; however, Ms. ********* did not wish to have those additional problems addressed. Therefore, Scottco completed the original scope of work quoted in the $2300.00 proposal. In addition, Scottco backfilled a second whole and replaced the entire bathroom floor tile (an expense of $929.22) at no cost to Ms. *********.
At this time, Scottco feels that they have provided the services that Ms. ********* rendered as well as provided due diligence in providing repairs to the bathroom floor. It is our hope that Ms. ********* would agree.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Plumbers, Electricians

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.