BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/06/1982

Gary's Heating & Air Conditioning

Phone: (806) 373-2537Fax: (806) 372-26382505 W 7th Ave, AmarilloTX 79106-6605

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

We have been in business since 1978. We are locally owned. We are a residential repair and replacement company.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/06/1982

BBB has determined that Gary's Heating & Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Gary's Heating & Air Conditioning's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Gary's Heating & Air Conditioning

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
08/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We held them to their 100%customer satisifcation policy which lead to them sabotageing our ac and causeing ruther damage and a major safety concern.
We called Garys out to fix our ac which they did and we were not satisfied. We called their office the next day to address the issue that we had. They became very rude and said that had a 100% customer satisifaction guaruntee policy. The employee lead us to believe that we did not matter and that we should let them remove the repairs that they had done and reinstall our old parts. They sent someone out that did remove the funcitioning parts, but for some unknown reason that employee cut some wires and didnt secure them in any fashion. Leading to the electric current passing ******* one of the said wires arching to the metal inside the unit causeing a short and blowing a fuse inside of our home. That fuse was inspected by the first repairman the previous day and to be found to be in good working order. We were told that the employee on the second day would be bringing our old parts back, he told us that he would put some old parts back on the unit but had no way to tell if they were ours or not, which is a safty concern on its own. I called their office and asked for an owner or manager,they let me leave a voice mail for the manager.Sometime later the manager called back and listened to my concerns that i had in reguards to condition that the second employee left our unit and to let him know that the actions of the second employee added to our original problems and left the unit unsafe. The manager voiced no concern for the situation and left me concerned for other customers hoping that other peoples unit an being left unsafe.

Desired Settlement
We like for the company to aknowledge that the second visit caused further damage a major safety concern to our unit. Leaving an unsafe place for my family and I.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** **** Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@garys.com
RE: **** ******** complaint about ****'s Heating and Air Conditioning prices.
According to PRAD, the home is owned by ***** ** ****** Estate % **** *********
3303 Patterson Amarillo, TX XXXXX

On 8-21-14, Deve McLemore contacted ****'s Heating and Air after hours (8:49 pm) due to air conditioning problems. Our on-call technician called her back to explain the after-hours price of $129 and she agreed on the price for him to come out that night. The technician performed a full system evaluation and found the capacitor and contactor in failure. The technician showed Ms. McLemore our Straight Forward Pricing guide and she agreed to the cost and signed for the technician to do the work. The work was done and the AC unit was working properly. The cost for the after-hours call and the work done came to $535 which Deve McLemore wrote a check and gave to the technician.
On 8-22-14, Deve McLemore called ****'s and wanted to talk to someone about our prices. Our Service Manager talked to her and made sure she was aware of the prices before she agreed to the work being done. She was explained the price but was now unhappy. The Service Manager explained our 100% satisfaction guarantee and asked what it would take to make her satisfied. She felt like the $129 for the after-hours call was fair but wanted her money back for the parts/repairs. Deve stated that her husband could go get the parts at a cheaper price and fix it himself. The Service Manager told her he would get a technician out there that day to remove the new parts and bring her check back. He explained that he would refund her 100% of the money because we want our customers happy. A technician went out that day and removed our parts and gave her back her original check of $535. In order to remove the parts, the technician had to de-energize (turn off the power) to remove the parts. He did not restore power afterwards due to the parts missing that make the system run correctly. The technician did not replace any partshe just removed the new parts we put on the night before. No wires were cut and the system was not left in an unsafe condition.
Two months later, Oct. 22, 2014, **** ******* called to talk to the Service Manager regarding Deve McLemore AC system. He felt like ****'s left the system unsafe by cutting a wire and caused an electric current to blow a fuse. The Service Manager explained that couldn't happen since the power was turned off in order to remove the parts and was not turned back on. The technician would have been severely shocked if he had removed any part with the power on. The power was left off by our technician.
Nine months later, July 20, 2015: complaint to BBB was filed by **** ******* (not **** *********
In Summary: ****'s was called out to repair an AC system due to no air. The system was repaired per code and per Deve McLemore's approval. The system was running and working when the technician left. Deve McLemore was unhappy the next day about the prices and was given 100% of her money back and our parts were removed. The technician did not replace the old parts due to failure. The system was left safe, with no power, and not working.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all thanks to the BBB for giving us the consumer an outlet to address these complaints. As stated in the original complaint to BBB the system was left in a unsafe condition and ****'s denies it. We are extremely thankful that ****'s does have a 100% satisfaction policy. I just came to BBB because of the unsafe nature that our unit was left in and the denial of any wrong doing by ****'s. We completely understood that they would come out and remove the working parts , but they said they would return to us our old parts which did not happen.

In summary if they would just acknowledged that there was wrong doing by the second technician, be it either from nefarious intentions or lack of experience we could have been satisfied. We even would have recommended them to others because their 100% customer satisfaction policy is became almost extinct among most of today's businesses. Our concern lied in these to areas.
1 Our unit was left unsafe and I sorry if that upsets the business but it's the truth and it's provable.

2 We were not given our old parts returned to us like we were told. In fact the second technician said they throw parts in a box so they would have no way to determine what exact parts were ours.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Duct Cleaning, Energy Conservation Products & Services, Air Conditioning Equipment - Room Units, Contractor - Insulation

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/01/1980Business started: 01/01/1978
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
920 Colorado
Austin, TX 78701
(800) 803-9202
http://www.license.state.tx.us

BBB records show a license number of TACLB002620C for this company, issued by Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. Their web address is http://www.license.state.tx.us. The expiration date of this license is 10/14/2016.

Type: Texas Department of Licensing & Regulations

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Gary Ward (President) Paula Ward (Vice President)
Number of Employees

21

Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Duct Cleaning, Energy Conservation Products & Services, Air Conditioning Equipment - Room Units, Contractor - Insulation

Products & Services

We provide Home Performance Audits" to help you save money on utilities!
Indoor air quality products
Duct Cleaning, replacement, repair
Humidifiers
Maintenance Agreements
Free Estimates

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

We offer 100% satisfaction guarantee and a 2 year test drive!

Service Area

We serve home owners within a 25 mile radius of Amarillo

BBB Program Participation
Gary's Heating & Air Conditioning participates in the BBBOnLine Program and has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.
Industry Tips
Air Conditioning

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Gary's Heating & Air Conditioning

2505 W 7th Ave

Amarillo, TX 79106-6605

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2505 W 7th Ave 

    Amarillo, TX 79106-6605(806) 373-2537

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Texas Panhandle. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Gary's Heating & Air Conditioning is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning

Air Conditioning
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.