BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/08/2007

Integrity Motors

Phone: (806) 331-5646Fax: (806) 331-2661

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
11/05/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchase vehicle from Integrity Motors. Vehicle was not repaired as agreed along with numerous discprencies with vehicle upon further investigation.
On October 5, 2013 my wife and I went to Integrity Motors to look at a truck that Mr. **** ******* said was going to be received that previous week. Mr. ******* told me that he received this truck on a trade-in from an individual that he knew personally by the name of ***** and could personally vouch for the truck. My wife and I both took the truck for a test drive, where I noticed that the check engine light was on and at idle the truck had a slight shake or shimmy to it. Upon our return to Integrity Motors I informed the salesman Mr. **** ****** about the check engine light and shimmy or shake that the truck had when it was just idling. Mr. ****** then asked another employee, Mr. *** Vargrosky to put the OBDII reader on the truck to see what code or codes the truck was giving. When Mr. ********* put the OBDII reader on the truck to read the codes the OBDII reader would not operate while plugged into the OBDII port on the truck. Mr. ******** stated that more than likely it was probably spark plugs or a coil that was causing the check engine light to come on. At that time I stated to Mr. ****** that I was interested in the truck but was concerned about the check engine light being on and not knowing what was causing it to come on. Mr. ****** then asked me to go inside so we could talk with Mr. *******. Mr. ****** informed Mr. ******* about the check engine light being on and the rough idle that was on the truck. Mr. ******* then told me that if I purchased the truck he would take it to "his mechanic" and have him go through it and fix what was causing the check engine light to come on and the shimmy the truck had at idle. At that time I agreed to purchase the truck from Mr. ******* since he assured me that he would have "his mechanic" fix the reason why the check engine light was on and the idle problem. So I purchased the vehicle and left the truck at Integrity Motors so they could take it to the mechanic to have him fix the problems. On October 8, 2013 I received a call from Mr. **** ****** stating that my truck was ready to be picked up. That evening I went to pick the truck up after work. When I went inside to get the keys to the truck, I spoke with Mr. ******* about the truck and asked him what the mechanic did to the truck. Mr. ******* said "they (the mechanic) replaced the spark plugs and plug wires and read the code and cleared it". Mr. ******* did not state what the code was and the shimmy during idle had been fixed after replacing the spark plugs and wires. Mr. ******* also informed me that "his mechanic" looked the truck over real good...brakes, oil, transmission and transfer case and everything looked good. Mr. ******* handed me the key to the truck and stated that it was a very good truck, just had a lot of miles on it. At that time I left Integrity motors with the truck in my possession, I noticed that the truck had twenty more miles on it than when I left it. n October 12, 2013 the check engine light came back on while driving home from work and the shimmy during idle returned. When I got home I plugged my OBDII reader into the OBDII port to read the code but could not get the OBDII reader to power on. So I removed the panel to the fuse box and found that the cigarette lighter 20amp fuse was burned out. After replacement of the 20amp fuse the OBDII reader proceeded to have power to it. This explains why Mr. ************ OBDII reader would not power on when he plugged it in. This also made me question the validity of how "his mechanic" read and cleared the code for the check engine light when; the OBDII port on the truck did not have power going to it. According to the Ford dealership here in Amarillo the only other way to clear the code would be to remove the negative battery cable from the battery for an extended period of time. The code that was read from my OBDII reader was a P0420 "Catalyst System Efficiency Below Threshold (Bank 1)".

The above complaint is not complete in is entirety.

Desired Settlement
Requesting dealership to pay for cost incurred after purchase of vehicle for the repairs and labor listed in complaint.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****************@yahoo.com
This really suprises me that their is a complaint. I had no idea there was an issue after Mr ***** ******* Picked up his vehicle from Integrity Motors. We did take the vehicle to ******** Automotive which is located at *** ***** grand approximatley 8 miles away from Integrity Motors. I did tell Mr ***** ******* we would fix the plugs and the ruff idle. ******** automotive charged Integrity Motors $303.00 for the repair. When Mr ***** ******* picked up his truck I handed him the keys. I did state the mechanic said it was a good truck but since it had almost 200,000 miles on it the catalyst convertors may give him some issues down the road.
- I wish Mr ***** ******* would have contacted me first before he contacted the BBB. I am pretty easy to get along with and if there is an issue I am always glad to work to figure it out. Its easy to fix things if I know there is a problem. Pretty hard to fix something if there is no communication on the issue. The mechanics I use stand behind their work and I would be glad to take it back and have it fixed correctly.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is the continuation from the initial complaint. Due to the limited of number of characters allowed for the complaint description I was not able to include it.

So after researching possible solutions to the fix of this problem, I replaced the two downstream oxygen sensors at a cost of $80 total. While underneath the truck I noticed that the underside of the truck was wet and discovered it was antifreeze fluid. I proceeded to look for where the leak was coming from, but was not able to find it at that time.
The next day while driving the truck, I began to notice what smelled like burning oil coming through the vents in the dash when the truck was stopped. Again researching on the internet of possible causes for the smell coming in through the vents, many internet forum members recommended looking at the valve covers for leaking oil or intake manifold gaskets leaking. So I started looking at the valve covers for oil leaking and could not see any indication of them doing so. I then started looking all around the intake manifold gasket for leaks and found the intake manifold leaking in the rear corner passenger side which explains the antifreeze on the bottom of the truck and the burnt oil smell in the cab, which was antifreeze leaking onto the exhaust manifold and burning off.
At that time I decided I would replace the intake manifold gasket. Removal of the intake manifold is where I discovered that the transmission was missing the top two transmission mounting bolts that hold the bell housing to the engine. Upon an even further investigation, the two bottom bolts holding the transmission bell housing to the engine were not completely threaded into the holes along with a bolt that goes to the starter. If Mr. *******'s mechanic looked the truck over "real good", how did the mechanic not notice the bottom of the truck was wet with antifreeze, the loose transmission and starter bolts and the intake manifold leak? I do not believe that Mr. **** ******* ever took this truck to "his mechanic" or any mechanic for that fact. To have Mr. ******* personally vouch for this truck and then for it to have these kinds of problems is absolutely unacceptable for a customer to endure! To purchase a vehicle, although used and almost immediately have to start repairing the vehicle from a supposedly reputable business is absurd!

In response to Integrity Motors response to the complaint...

After calling Mr. ******* (Integrity Motors) multiple times and asking him to contact the previous owner to obtain the door code for the truck. Since Mr. ******* stated he knows him personally I expected a call back, but I never received a call back from him to tell me whether he was able to obtain the code or not. That action along with the vehicle not being properly fixed the first time led me to believe that this matter would be best handled with a mediator such as the Better Business Bureau since I was unable to get any response from you on such a simple matter as a door code.
After reading Mr. *******'s response I felt that he was literally putting the responsibility of the truck being fixed on ********** Automotive. If it wasn't done right the first time, what reason would I have to believe that if Mr. ******* was to take it back again to ********** Automotive, it would be done right the second time? I will not accept to have my truck taken to an automotive shop that is obviously incompetent to perform a simple job that was requested by a customer and then lies about the work that was performed. According to ***** at ********** Automotive they would charge me $425.00 for replacing the intake manifold gaskets. 4.4 hours of labor, $35 for Antifreeze and $50 for the intake manifold gasket. Since I am already in the process of replacing the intake manifold gasket I would accept the reimbursement of $425 for the time and cost incurred for the replacement of the intake manifold gaskets plus the $80 spent for the two downstream O2 sensors that had to be replaced and $6.16 for the two transmission bolts that are missing on the transmission. This would bring the amount to a total of $511.16.


Final Business Response
I will have a check mailed to you tomorrow for your repairs, $511.16. I will also include the receipt of the original repair at ******** automotive. The previous customer does not have the key code for the door. I do use good mechanics and I rely on them. I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Next time please contact me directly and I will be more than glad to assist and help anyway I can. Thank you **** *******

03/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was sold a 2002 grand voyager van I did not know that this vehicle had been wrecked I was charged to much for the vehicle.I was told there was nothing wrong with the motor.I paid 5000 for the vehicle.I Am now learning that the vehicle was sold to me noit knowing that it was salvage at the time of sell.Now at this time the vehicle is no longer driveable due to the fact the motor is complete and I am disabled and feel like I was totally taken advantage of under the Lemon Law as far as this vehicle is concerned.

Desired Settlement
or another vehicle that is Legit by Law.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *************@msn.com
Here are the facts in this issue.
1. ******* L ***** purchased a clean titled vehicle on 09/25/2012. She purchased this 2000 Crysler Voyager for $3998 plus Taxes. She put $700 down. Integrity Motors carried the note. Her pyms were $187 per mo.
2.Fact On June 11, 2013 ******* wrecked her vehicle and totaled it. Her insurance gave her the choice for them to keep it or her to keep it and give her some $and she would be able to keep the van but it would be a salvage title. Insurance gave her a check for $929.00 She keep the van. Integrity helped her fix a portion of the body damage with the $929 insurance $ and she was able to pay $ towards the van and pay it off. Claim paid 07/08/2013.
3. Fact 3- ******* ***** contacted on or about March 1st to purchase another vehicle. I told her she would need to put a $1000 down and we would give her a $1000 for her slavaged van that she totaled. the newer van was $5998 and payments would be $187.0
4. Fact 4- Her Chrysler van was in great mechanical condition at the time of purchase 09/25/2012. Integrity Motors was not aware of any mechanical issues until on or about March 1st 2015. Which is almost 3 years after her purchase.
5. Fact 5- Since Integrity Motors was the lien holder when ******* ***** totaled her vehicle, we helped her fix it and keep it.
6. Fact 6 Integrity Motors has always offered to help ******* *****.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.