Student of Ethics Awards
High school juniors resident in this BBB's region may apply for the BBB's Student of Ethics award in the spring of their junior year.

For High School Students Graduating In Spring 2016

Better Business Bureau Serving Eastern Missouri & Southern Illinois Student of Ethics Award Program recognizes juniors in high school who personify high ethics demonstrated through leadership, community service, overall personal integrity, and academic history.
Four students will be selected by an independent panel of judges to receive scholarships of $2,500 each, sent on their behalf to any accredited college or trade school of their choice. Scholarships must be used within three years of receiving the award, and will be distributed to the student’s college or trade school upon verification of enrollment. The scholarship must be applied toward school-related expenses, including: tuition, books, room and board or other related items.

Award certificates will be presented to recipient students at the BBB’s TORCH Awards event in October. BBB will pay for the student to attend this luncheon banquet and will rovide two additional tickets for the student’s parents or guests.

: Winners will be selected by independent judges chosen by BBB. Judges will select the scholarship recipients based on their leadership, contributions to their communities and schools, personal integrity, academic accomplishments, letter of reference and written essay. Decisions of the judges are final.

The applicant must be a U.S. citizen and a legal resident of Illinois or Missouri. The scholarship program is open to qualified, high-school juniors in the 92 counties in Southern Illinois and Eastern Missouri served by St. Louis BBB. Entries should include the completed entry form (at the link below), a one-page essay written by the student, and the student’s high school transcript. One letter of reference for the student (e.g. from a teacher, school official, church official, employer, etc. – no family members, please) should be included. The letter of reference should be no longer than 100 words.

All submitted entries become the property of BBB and cannot be returned. Winning students will be notified via email in early July. All non-winning students will be notified via e-mail after winning students are contacted.

The deadline for applications is May 30, 2015. Apply online at this linkClick here for a printable application. 

Underwritten by:
Student of Ethics sponsors

About BBB

BBB is a nonprofit, business-supported organization that sets and upholds high standards for fair and honest business behavior. All BBB services to consumers are free of charge. BBB provides objective advice, free BBB Business Reviews on more than 4.7 million businesses, 11,000 Charity Reviews, dispute resolution services, alerts and educational information on topics affecting marketplace trust.  Please visit for more information.