BBB Accredited Business since

Champion Window Co of St Louis

Fax: (314) 692-0080 View Additional Phone Numbers 92 Soccer Park Rd, Fenton, MO 63026 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.championfactorydirect.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Champion Window Co of St Louis meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Champion Window Co of St Louis include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 24 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

24 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 9
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 24

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Champion Window Co of St Louis
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 21, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1995 Business started locally: 01/01/1995
Business Management
Mr. Coy Chester, Divisional Manager Paul Bauza, Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Coy Chester, Divisional Manager
Customer Contact: Angela Weber
Business Category

Windows - Installation & Service Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction Doors - Installation Windows Windows - Replacement Soffit & Fascia Gutters & Downspouts Patio & Deck Builders Roofing Contractors Roof Repair Services Siding Contractors


Additional Locations

  • 92 Soccer Park Rd

    Fenton, MO 63026 (800) 739-8777 (314) 692-2616 (314) 692-7300 (888) 711-9135

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a new kitchen window 11/12/15. On 12/10/15 I called my sales rep to quote a price on a bathroom window for sure and the rest of my house for future knowledge. She was new and had to call for assistance to put an addendum on my prior contract. this addendum would save me $200 but it would delay my installation for 6 weeks. I ordered a block window for the bathroom. 2/2/2016 I received a call stating my window was in. I called back the next day (cant use my phone at work) and told the representative there should be 2 windows. She had to check into it. 2/12/16 I received a call stating my block window was not ready yet. 2/23/2016 received a call stating my windows should be in by March. 2/26/2016 I called to talk to the manager about how long this has taken and how dissatisfied I was. I told her if I hadn't put half the money down I would cancel. I wanted my windows for the winter. She told me that the block windows were made somewhere else and that it has been within the allotted time. 3/1/2016 I received a call stating my windows were being shipped and set up 3/11/2016 for installation. The installers (private contractors) arrived promptly. I was very impressed by ** and could he knew what he was doing. The kitchen window is beautiful but when I looked in the bathroom at the block window I was taken by surprise. The blocks are not the same size all the way across. There are 3 rows the same size and a row in between that is noticeably larger. I asked the installer about it and he stated that they cant cut the blocks so it had to be made that way. I called Champion while he was there and asked for the manager who called back and I told her of my disappointment. I have clear shower doors and you can see the block window very clearly. She said the same thing as the installer and transferred me to the installation manager who stated the same thing. Bottom line of my complaint is it took 3 months to get my windows (told 6 weeks) and if my sales person would have told me there was a remote possibility the blocks would be different sizes I wouldnt have ordered it. I dont think my sales person knew enough and I think my addendum was forgotten. I asked the manager for a discount, she said no that they were installed within a reasonable time frame.

Desired Settlement: I would ask for a replacement but am afraid they will say the same thing to cover themselves and not do a good job.

Business Response: I spoke with Mrs. ***** on 4/1/2016 to review any issues with the install of her two new Champion windows. Mrs. ***** spoke highly of our install crew. She was very pleased with his product knowledge and professionalism. After going through the time line of the job, including the addition of a glassblock window 1 month after the original contract date, she agreed the time frame from Contract to install was reasonable. Her only remaining issue is with the appearence of her glassblosk window located in the bathroom. She is not satisfied with the two diferent size blocks used to construct the window. I shared with her, that in the process of fitting the window to the opening, standard blocks of diferent sizes are used to custom fit the opening. In manny cases there will be two different size blocks used depending on what was needed to fill the opening. Mrs. ***** understood but was not completely satisfied. I said there wasnt anything we could do about the configuration and offered, as a gesture of good will a refund of $100.00 .  She accepted and a check will be put in the mail for next week. Mrs. ***** Thanked me for the call and appreciated the responce.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me, although I still will not ever use Champion again. I still have to look at this window everyday. I urge everyone to do their homework and ask questions about what you are ordering. I only accepted Bob's offer because he said there was nothing he could do.

Sincerely,

****** *****

4/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2009, I had Champion but in a window. It was about $4600. About a year after it was installed, it started sagging and bending out. It caused the vinyl to dilapidate, and there are gaps causing air to come into the house. I called them and they came out and measured it and said it was a manufactures’ defect. Re-measured and ordered all the parts for it. I called them back because I hadn’t heard from them.They called me once about a date but I couldn’t accommodate them with that date. I never heard from them again. I saw the sales guy like a year later, and told them they never got back with me. Now they want to charge me a $99 fee. The first two years you don’t have to pay the fee. I feel I shouldn’t have to pay the fee since I first did call within the 2 years. They threw away all the info they had from when they came out. Crew is no longer there or the sales guy. They also threw out the framework that they custom made for my window.

Desired Settlement: They should come out to fix the issue for free, without the $99 charge.

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau

Fax- ************

Re: Complaint# ********

To Whom It May Concern:

We installed a window for the customer on 1/22/09.  We offer a life time warranty, however after the first two years a service fee applies.

The customer called us on 1/4/10 because the glass cracked.  We replaced it free of charge on 5/11/10. 

The customer called again on 10/26/10 and stated the window was delamination.  We ordered a replacement.  We tried calling the customer several times to schedule an appointment to install the replacement window but was unable to reach him.  We also sent him a reminder card in the mail.  In August 2011 the customer told us his wife was very ill and he would call us back when he was ready.  We did not hear from the customer again until 3/14/16.  We no longer have his replacement window in our warehouse and a new one will need to be ordered and since it has been seven years since installation, our service fee ($99.00) applies. 

Thank You

****** *****

Office Manager

Champion St Louis


2/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted them early July about warranty service for broken seals on a patio door and 6 windows with broken seals. They send someone immediately to confirm problem and collected the service fee charge on 7/9-15. I contacted then numerous times from the end of July (approximately 8 times or more about where they stand on the replacement windows. A number of times they promised me a call back and ***** and ****** didn't call. When I did get to talk with *****, I keep getting the same story that they can't get information on my order from their factory. My last conversation with ***** on 10-5,I told him if I didn't get some satisfactory answer by 10-12 that I will file a complaint with your office. I don't know why so many seals broke other than the quality isn't good, the warranty is questionable and the service stinks. I don't know who is at fault but think others should be aware of these problems. Product_Or_Service: 10 windows and 2 lite slider doors

Desired Settlement: They need to honor their warranty with a quality product in a reasonable time and upper management needs to resolve the service issues provided to customers.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/10/29) */ We apologize for the inconvenience and take full responsibility. We had changed the plants which we receive our windows and services from and orders got mixed up. We have the others on order and will get the customers taken care of as quickly as possible. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2015/10/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am right back to where I started. They don't follow up with the customer and I still have no idea of if or when I would get the replacement windows / door and fix a problem on the patio door. I will only accept their response when the job gets done to my satisfaction.

2/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed a contract on 9-25-15 to have our sun room remodeled. At that time the salesman/office told us they were behind and would start the job in December, 2015. I called them in mid December to see when they were going to start and they said we are backed up and we will start in January. I called again in mid January and was told we are backed up and will start in February as there are still TWO jobs ahead of you. I said we have hear nothing from Champion unless we call. He responded saying he was sorry and he'll be in touch in early February. We CALLED again this past Saturday the 6th and asked the scheduler to call us Monday the 8th, and we told the person answering the phone we will start calling people to complain if we don't hear something by the 9th. We have already paid in excess of $4,000.00 and have nothing to show for it. My wife and I are quite upset, we have almost 30 windows in our house that will need to be replaced in the next few years....I don't think Champion is going to be considered. Product_Or_Service: Sun Room

Desired Settlement: Get moving on getting the sun room done or give us the money back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/02/12) */ I spoke with Mr. ****** on 2/11/2016 for an update on his Patio room build. I explained the weather delays and apologized for the delay in getting his project started. I promised a weekly call to keep him informed of the project status. His project is scheduled to start at the end of February barring any further weather delays.

1/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called Champion 800 number for replacement window first part of Nov.wasn't given a date. I waited about a month,called back and was advised takes up to 8 weeks. I called this morning Dec.30 now the 800 # says they are closed. Product_Or_Service: new windows for entire house Account_Number: cust.#****

Desired Settlement: A courtesy call would be nice and explain the delivery process up-front.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/01/06) */ We contacted the customer this morning and advised her of the estimated time of delivery on her product. Our office was closed last week due to flooding Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2016/01/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I did receive the call from Champion,explaining the ordering,shipping and delivery date,with a promise to call when delivered. I order this replacement window almost 2 months prior to the flooding. I appreciate the call today,but wished someone would of done this earlier.

12/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a door over 10 years ago that came with a mailbox slot. I've had issues with the mailbox slot from the start. Over the years I've had it repaired or replaced. I called about the mailbox slot over a month ago and was told it would be replaced today, December 9th, between 1-3PM. However, I received a call earlier in the day saying the mailbox slot was not in.

Desired Settlement: I would like the mail box slot replaced.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/14) */ Mrs. ********* bought an entry door from Champion in 2003 and is having issues with the finish on the mail slot in the door. The door is still under warranty and the mailslot has been ordered. The incorrect slot was ordered initially, and had to be reordered. We appologized for the delay and assured her the mail slot woud be replaced. We will contact Mrs. ********* when it arrives and schedule the required service. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/12/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The Champion Window gave me a date the second time and then the day of the scheduled appointment, which was the date that I filed the complaint, they called and said the slot was not available. Why did they make the appointment if they didn't have the slot. Backward management!

11/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In May, 2015 we contacted Champion Window regarding three windows that were showing signs of being defective. We were told *****, who was in charge of service, would give us a call back. He never did! We called again after about a week and finally got to talk to *****. He said he was short-handed. However, how long does it take to make a phone call?? We set up a date in June to have him come out to inspect, measure and get our new windows ordered. He came out on June 9th. On July 28th, he came back to install our three windows, however, upon arrival, he only had ONE window, not THREE!! He told us he had apparently forgotten to order the other TWO! WHAT??????????? He told us it would be another 6-8 weeks and they would call for a new install date. Approximately, on September 28th, we called to inquire about the windows. They told us they would get back to us. They never did, so we AGAIN called on Wednesday, September 30th, and she told us they would get back to us by the end of the week. She called back and told us she did not have an answer for us although they supposedly had been ordered on August 4th!! which is six days after the measure was taken. She said she would have to call the factory and find out from the factory and she would call back IN A WEEK, no later than Friday, October 9th!!Again, why the delay in these calls? So, here it is October l4th, and still no idea where our new windows are or when to expect them. The customer service has been ATROCIOUS!! Also, when ***** came out, we told him about an issue with our bathroom window we had shortly after we had the windows originally installed. The screen never fit properly and the technician they sent out told us to JUST TURN THE SCREEN UPSIDE DOWN and it should be OK. Would you consider that a satisfactory resolution?? However, we did not pursue that. ***** told us he would have to check on that. STILL no resolution to that problem neither. PLEASE, all we want are our new windows. Product_Or_Service: Windows Account_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement: We want our windows replaced as per our warranty and also a new screen that fits properly for our bathroom window. We feel that we continue to get the "run around" everytime we call as no one seems to have any sense of "urgency" to help us.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2015/11/23) */ Customers product is in and is scheduled for the 4th of December. We truly apologize for the inconvenience with manufacturing and delivery and communication. It is truly unfortunate that this slipped through the cracks. I will be waiving the service fee for the inconvenience.

10/12/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing you today regarding my deck cover contract (enclosed) and the displeasure I have encountered with your Champion outlet in Fenton, MO as well as your corporate team in Cincinnati, OH. Brief timeline of events is listed below. 6/12/15: Signed contract with *** ******** Factory Representative.7/10/15: Called *** ******** and asked for an update on where we stood with an installation date. He never called me back. 7/17/15: Called the Fenton, MO Champion and spoke to ****** asking for an update on installation date. 7/22/15: Tech. called and asked to arrange a time to come out and do a final walk thru of project. 7/25/15: Met tech at my home and he walked the project with me and my wife. I asked for an installation date. I was not given one. 8/19/15: Called the Fenton, MO Champion and spoke to ****** about why no one had contacted me about an installation date. 8/21/15: *** called from the Fenton, MO Champion and explained that my project was still in engineering and would have to go to county after that for permits. 9/22/15: Called the Fenton, MO Champion and spoke to ****** and once again voiced my frustration on why no one is contacting me. As of today I still have not heard from anyone from the Fenton, MO Champion from this phone call. 9/24/15: Called Champion corporate office in Cincinnati, OH. ****** answered the phone and sent me to ******s voice mail. ****** called me back later that day. She told me this situation would be resolved in 24-48 hours. I still have not heard back from anyone at your corporate office. My contract stated that my deck cover would be installed in 8-9 weeks. It is now one day shy of 16 weeks since I signed the contract. Due to the refusal of your company to complete the work that was agreed upon our contract is null and void. I am demanding an immediate and complete refund of my $4,000.00 deposit (cashed check enclosed). I will be retaining legal counsel if this is not resolved immediately. Cordially, ***** *****

Desired Settlement: Refund of deposit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/06) */ We do regret that the rain and weather in June have pushed our services back. We did send out letters informing our customers of the situation. We have gotten caught back up however, we had to take care of our customers on a first come first serve basis. Our contracts states approximate dates and may be haulted by weather. As a company we take full responsibility and hate to lose any customers business as we build some of the best sun rooms and patio covers in the industry. We have honored the customers request and refunded his money. Check has been sent to the customer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/10/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

8/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: SUPPLIES FOR SIDING DELIVERED 2 MONTHS AGO. NEVER SHOWN UP TO DO THE WORK.MADE SEVERAL CALLS AND ALWAYS GOT EXCUSES- NO ACTION SUPPLIES WERE DELIVERED FIRST WEEK OF JUNE. NEVER HAVE SHOWN UP TO DO WORK . CALLED SALESMAN ***** ****** AT XXX-XXX-XXXX AND PROJECT MANAGER *** ********** AT XXX-XXX-XXXX SEVERAL TIMES AND WAS TOLD EXCUSES AND PROMISES THAT NEVER MATERIALIZED. OUR GRASS IS DEAD FROM THE SUPPLIES STACKED ON THEM. WE KEEP BEING TOLD THE CREW WILL BE THERE 1ST THING TOMORROW OR AT A SPECIFIC TIME AND NO ONE EVER SHOWS UP. WE HAVE NO ISSUE WITH OUR SALESMAN,*****. THE ISSUE IS WITH THE PROJECT MANAGER AND HIS CREW NEVER SHOWING UP TO DO THE JOB AND THE PROJECT MANAGER NEVER CALLING TO LET US KNOW THEY ARE NOT COMING, OR ANYONE FROM CHAMPION CALLING US.

Desired Settlement: WE WANT OUR SIDING STARTED AND COMPLETED AS PER THE CONTRACT WE SIGNED

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/06) */ Champion always wants to provide the best customer service possible. That is how we have stayed in business serving customers as long as we have and our customers continue to come back to us year after year. We have been delayed especially by weather and it effects all of our customers. We had the 2nd highest record for rain for St. Louis in June and it put us back significantly in regards to our siding, roofing, and sun room installations. We do sincerely apologize for the delays and lack of communication however as our contract states we cannot be held liable for weather delays or acts of God. Unfortunately we are trying to get to customers completed in order of contract date. We sent letters out in June to many of our customers letting them know we were delayed and apologized for the inconvenience. I do not know if these customers received that letter and do apologize if they did not. We will get the customers siding completed and immaculate and as according to contract as soon as we possibly can weather permitting. We will also take care of the dead grass which the material may have caused.

7/29/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered windows through this company's Fenton, Mo offices. I was told ( by ***** ******* the windows would be manufactured and ready to install in 6-8 weeks. This put my estimated install date in April 2015. The total of the windows plus install ran approximately $4000 of which I paid a deposit of $2500.In late April, I had not received any calls from the Company. I called the Fenton office and after much delay, I was told that my window order had been cancelled. I spoke with my salesman, the local installation manager (*****) and the local Division Manager (***). A promise was made to have my windows manufactured and shipped to St Louis within two weeks. Both the Division Manager and the Installation Manager instructed me to deal with only them. I called their Corporate Offices in Cincinnati to speak with their National Customer Service Manager, ***** ******* She did not return my phone call until I demanded to speak with her boss. She was of absolutely no help.I waited two weeks and spoke with *****. He stated my windows missed that weeks shipment but would be in the following week. I called the following week and spoke with *** again. He assured me that my windows were coming in the following Monday, 8 June, and he scheduled me for the installation, 12 June.I cleared the areas around the two windows to prepare for the installation. By 0900 (Central) on 12 June, there has been no calls from the Company regarding my installation. I placed a call to their corporate offices and requested three times to speak with ***** ********* boss and was denied. I asked to speak with ***** ****** and was denied. Every one that I asked to speak with were unavailable.I called the Fenton office again and demanded to speak with *** but was told he was out of the office. I had to demand that he call me but the receptionist hung up on me.*** did call me to advise me that he is personally looking into this matter. I informed him that this is his final opportunity to make things right.During the course of my inquiries regarding my windows, I have offered them the option to return my deposit if they weren't going to install my windows. They have chosen to "install" the windows rather than refund my deposit.

Desired Settlement: At this point in time, if they choose to install the windows, I request that they waive the entire outstanding balance of $1400. If this is not amenable to them they should return my deposit and we will no longer do business.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/07/29) */ We have not received the complaint once again. Regarding Mr. ******** I dealt directly with Mr. ******** and got his windows in and installed and customer satisfied over a month ago and to my knowledge pleased with our resolution to his problem.

7/17/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Original work and materials were of inferior quality. Subsequent warranty claim has been delayed over the last 8-10 months. Endured constant change in assigned project managers and crews. Currently, warranty work is half completed with yet another change in managers. Have contacted Division Manager and have not yet received a reply.

Desired Settlement: Complete the remaining work and correct some of the deficiencies by the prior crew who did not receive proper support from Champion. Want the work done as promised and in a timely manner. The gutter issue needs resolved immediately or potential flooding of basement could occur.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/07/17) */ Mr ***** showed up to the office at 7am on the 9th of June To find me. He spoke with my install manager and I was told Mr ***** was ok and we were going to fix his issues from the year prior. My Install Manager was in communication and we were delayed due to a record month of rainfall in June. We had crews out there this entire week. See my Install Managers response. We have been there all week. He is fine and doesn't want anyone but *** and *** working on his house. Seems to be fine and should be done Tuesday. Thank you, *** ********* Production manager

1/8/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Windows were installed 8/29, heavy rain week of 9/8 windows in lower level leak. ***** 9/12 to arrange for someone to look at windows. Nothing done. payment to date approx $3000 balance due $350 as sales person did not leave total due as asked. I will be holding this payment.

Desired Settlement: Repair or replacement of non leaking windows.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/26) */ Champion installed two slider style windows in this customer's basement at ground level. The husband told us after the install that 5 or 6 surrounding yards drain into their yard and the water backs up onto these windows (sometimes as much as 2"). Our windows are designed with weep holes to allow water to drain from around the frame, but if water is standing higher than those holes then water will back up into the frame and leak into the basement. We have explained this to the customer and have agreed to go back after a big rain and see if we can offer any options. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/10/07) */ This issue has not been resolved to my satisfaction as the sales person informed myself and my 33 year old son that the windows would take care of the water issue and he did view the windows. The sales person missrepresented the windows and thus the company. The windows in question are not ground level there is at least 2 - 4 inches and a drain below it. (haven't gone out with a ruler) There has been no explaination to the customer and nothing ever said about weeping. Someone came out and looked at the window, found a ding which is being replaced. No one has been out to address the windows and water not even after last weeks down pour. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 17, 2014/12/12) */ 12/16/14: Mediator called consumer and left voice mail message. 12/18/14: Mediator called consumer and left voice mail message on cell phone. 12/22/14: Mediator called consumer and left voice mail message on cell phone. 12/23/14: Mediator called consumer and left voice mail message. Consumer Response /* (3000, 25, 2015/01/05) */ I was out of town and am now are available and would like the complaint reopened. My contact information is accurate.

12/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My windows I bought from Champion developed moisture between the panes Three windows were replaced at no charge , but the forth window which developed moisture recently will be replaced but with a trip charge of seventy five dollars.The windows have a life time warranty so I don't think there should be a charge . I will have sixty miles round trip to pick up a window that has a lifetime warranty that is defective because of no fault of my own.

Desired Settlement: Payment for my having to go sixty miles to pick up my window and install it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/04) */ Our warranty is a lifetime warranty and covers all parts, labor and materials. However, it clearly states on our warranty that after 3 years a $75 trip charge will be charged for services...that is the ONLY thing we charge customers during the entire lifetime warranty.

11/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This all started on 4-8-14 when ****** roofing and I decided to let Champion Windows/Siding and door replace the damaged siding on the south side of my home which was caused by ****** early in the year. I made an appointment with Champion to come out the day after I received a courtesy call from ******** and set a time. Mr. ***** *****, siding manager, come and checked damage, and at that time he asked to walk around my home, he could see on east side of home a window in my bathroom a seal failure. These windows where installed 8-31-06 by Champion and warrantied for life. He explained window sashes would be installed at the same time siding is done at no cost. He said he would write up a contract and mail it to me. He said it would take 4 weeks. Did not receive contract or siding or sashes in four weeks. 5-12-14 I spoke to ******* ******* Din Support Specialist He said he would call St Louis office at 4:30PM he called and said he would have St. Louis measure and send estimate. It's funny in may they sent an email ***** ****** (See copy enclosed) On 5-16-14 at 9:08 AM I called ***** ***** and left a message concerning estimate. Later the same day left another message. Please call me. One 5-20-14 a different message set an appointment with me for the same day and he measured siding and sashes and filled out a contract. I paid $343.50 for work to be done CK ***** (this was half) He stated 4-6 weeks for installation. One August 20, 2014, I spoke to ******at 2:40 PM. She stated she would get back to me the next day. On August 22, 2014, a Don called and stated everything was in for your order and they would call to set up installation for the week of Aug 25th. Finally, I received a call and arranged for installation on 9-2-14. Two brothers came to install siding. I asked about sashes. They called the office and disconcerned they for got them. They asked if they could bring them by on 9-31-14. They showed up at about 12:00 I first noticed that the sashes were not obscure and the size was too large. The name on the sashes was *****. These had been measured twice. At this time, the installed ******* measured and took photos with his phone. he states he would take sashes measurements and photos to office after he left my home. on 9-2-14 I called ******* ****** Divisions Support Specialist, and complained. He said he would call St. Louis to find out what was going on. At 1:44PM a Him from St. Louis called and apologized. He said he needed paperwork and photos from *****. How many times do they need to measure my windows. They should have the measurements from the original order. 9-5-14 3:59 PM I called and spoke to ***** asking for ***. I was put on hold. ****** returned and she stated that *** was gone for the day. 9-5-14 Received a call from ***. He left a message on my cell phone. *** states sashes are ordered and will be in three weeks or less. he will call me on 9-25-14 to keep me informed. He did not call me 10-2-14 I called and spoke to ******. She said she would check system and get back to me. 10-3-14, ****** stated she would have a concrete answer. 10-3-14, during this conversation I stated I was fed up and stated I should not pay the other half of bill $343.50 and I am making a complaint to the BBB. She stated to go right ahead, have a good day and goodbye. I called BBB right after that. I received complaint form on 10-9-14. On 10-7-14, 8:38 AM I received a voice mail from ******** at Champion in St. Louis, she stated sashed will be leaded from Ohio on Mon 10-13-14 and received in St. Louis on 10-15-14. She would call on 10-17-14 and set installation date. Date set for 10-23-14 between 8Am-12:00 PM

Desired Settlement: Not to pay last half of payment (343.50) please note I paid remaining half of payment on 10-23-14- CK **** 343.50 out of courtesy to the employees that deserve it- ********, *** F

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/11/17) */ We have worked hard to get this resolved with this customer and while it took some time we fulfilled the contract. It is not our policy to refund money but we will reach out and offer her some sort of resolution.

11/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sunroom was supposed to be 'completed' in June 2013, however not all of the problems have been fixed that were issues from the beginning, as of yet. I have to call every day/week to try and get issues fixed, every call I am told this week, but nothing ever is getting fixed/completed. They did fix the siding that fell off front of room, however it does not match the rest of the siding. The concrete has never been corrected it was poured terribly and there is gravel coming out from underneath what was poured as well as when they put in the new cement it broke the existing cement on patio apron. Gutters and down spouts look like a 2 year old put them up, they are all pieced together and not working properly. Caulking on inside and out looks terrible, we have supposed to have an appointment for next week, if they show. I have tried to text and email pictures to the new person that is trying to handle this, but he never seems to get them. On July 29, 2013 I called Champion to let them know that when the electrician pulled out the fridge to run electric into sunroom that he pinched the water line and it flooded the kitchen, ruined ceramic tile and flooded my laundry room that is directly under kitchen, at that time when I called I was told it 'wasn't our problem', then in fall of 2013 I was able to get someone to come out from cooperate office, was told all would be taken care of in spring. Too many appointments made, too many promises made and this room looks like it cost $600.00 instead of $60,000.00. Problems need to be fixed and I am tired of calling and getting pushed off and told this week, then no one shows up, or I am never called back to let me know when someone might actually get this completed correctly and timely Product_Or_Service: New Construction Sunroom Account_Number: XXXXXC

Desired Settlement: I WANT THIS SUNROOM FIXED THE PROPER WAY AND QUICKLY. I AM TIRED OF THIS COMPANY PLAYING GAMES, AND I AM TIRED OF CALLING, WAITING AND NOTHING BEING FIXED. I feel like I have been taken complete advantage of by a 'shotty' company.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/22) */ We are currently working closely with the customer to get her issues resolved. We had a major turnover in management here in St Louis, and this fell through the cracks. The room will be done to her satisfaction as soon as possible. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I accept what they are saying, they have been better to work with following complaint with BBB. There are still several issues that have not yet been completed as of yet. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2014/09/19) */ 9/19/2014: Mediator called consumer and left voice mail message. 9/19/2014: ******* ****** (daughter with Power of Attorney), stated that to date, they have replaced; sofit, gutters, concrete repairs, and calking. The two remaining issues are the siding and kitchen floor. The siding is 2 different colors, dinged, and dented from other repairs. The electrician ***** *********** kinked the water line to the ice maker, and water ran down the wall and into the sub floor. The ceramic tile is now popping up. ****** ***** (Champion Field Tech from corporate) visited my mothers home and he assured us that all issues would be taken care of to our satisfaction. I have requested and would appreciate if ***** ***** (Fenton, Mo) would drive out to view the remaining issues. 9/22/2014: Mediator called consumer and left voice mail message. 9/25/2014: ***** ***** did come to our home and surveyed the remaining issues. 10/03/2014: Mediator call and left voice mail message for consumer. 10/06/2014: We are now dealing with insurance companies. The electrician, ***** ************ ******** ****** should be out today. We got our own bid and it is $5000, due to the sub floor rotting where the water was standing. ***** ***** has made a commitment they will repair the siding. 10/13/2014: Mediator called consumer and left voice mail message. 10/14/2014: ******** ****** insurance sent out an adjuster and they need to speak to the man who installed our heating and air because that is when we found the water damage on July 29,2014. Champion has not followed through with ******** promise to repair the damaged siding. 10/16/2014: Mediator called consumer and left voice mail message. 10/21/2014: Mediator called consumer and left voice mail message. 10/21/2014: I had a call from Champion and they will be out on or before November 7th to repair the siding. ******** ****** insurance is telling me they are having difficulty contacting *** ****** ******* to get his feedback on finding the damage. 11/07/2014: Mediator called consumer and left voice mail message. 11/11/2014: Mediator called consumer and left voice mail message. 11/12/2014: Mediator called and left voice mail updating consumer on the complaint closing. Final Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2014/09/19) */ 9/22/2014 ****** ***** will be sent to the customers residence today or tomorrow to survey the remaining issues. 10/15/2014 Mediator called and left voice mail message for ***** *****. 10/16/2014 The capping around the patio wall was damaged and needs to be re-wrapped. I want to get the correct patio crew to complete the repairs to insure it is done correctly. We will be able to schedule the work for Tuesday Oct 21st.

9/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Please be advised that I represent Mr. and Mrs. ******* ************ with respect to all matters arising from their contract with Champion for the purchase and installation of siding at their residence. It is my understanding that due to a multitude of problems with Champion's inability to secure requested materials from your suppliers, as well as a revolving door of subcontractors who routinely appeared late, unprepared and without necessary equipment and materials, a routine was established whereby your staff scheduled an appointment for work to be performed on a date when Mr. ************ was present to inspect the work and materials in an effort to eliminate further errors. This pattern and practice has continued for almost one year. On or about September 3, 2014, after several months with no contact from your organization and work still left incomplete, Mr. ************ contacted ********* about the outstanding items. Mr. ************ provided ***** with a list of six items that require completion; 1. replacing warped wrap along eaves of the house 2. covering white nail heads 3. repair/replace anchor straps on downspouts (one was lost by Champion during installation while another was installed backwards) 4. repair or replace cracked front door threshold 5. install window wrap pieces; and 6. repair sagging soffits. During that conversation, ***** advised that there has been some stuff turnover, but assured Mr. ************ that all of the materials required were in and he anticipated having a crew out to the residence during the week of September 8th to complete all of the remaining work. Mr. ************ advised ***** that he would be working from home on September 11th, and that would be his preferred date for the crew to come complete the work. No one from Champion contacted Mr. or Mrs. ************ during the week of September 8, nor did anyone come to their residence on any date during that week to complete the work. On Friday, September 12, 2014, Mr. ************ again telephones ***** to inquire about the status of the work crew. During this telephone conversation, ***** indicated that not all of the necessary paperwork was completed. When Mr. ************ asked ***** what other paperwork was required, ***** indicated that Champion wanted him to sign a Customer Service Agreement. After asking for an explanation about the Customer Service Agreement, ***** informed Mr. ************ that it would be a list of the work that he (Mr. ************) wanted fixed, and that the ************* would be required to pay the balance in full after all of that work was done. Mr. ************ reminded ***** that they had executed Champion's contract during August 2013, and that document already specified the work to be performed and included the promise of the ************* to pay the balance on completion. At that point, ***** stated that he would check the file, but he was unaware of the ************* ever executing such a contract. He further stated that Champion would not complete the remaining work without the execution of the Customer Service Agreement, and should the ************* decline to sign the Customer Service Agreement, threatened that Champion will file a mechanic's lien against their property. Their conversation ended at that point. September 12, 2014, was the first and only time that anyone from Champion demanded payment from the *************. Prior to that date, previous installation supervisors (*** and ****** specifically) always were willing to work with the *************, as they were aware that Champion's work required corrections and was incomplete. To date, my clients have fully performed, and remain willing and able to perform, their obligations and duties under the contract executed with Champion during August 2013. Additionally, they have never refused to pay the balance remaining, they have merely asserted that the contract provides the conditions upon which that final payment is due. however, your company is breaching the terms of the agreement by failing to fully perform its obligations and duties. There has been no final walk through, confirming that all work ordered from Champion is complete; in fact, Champion is on notice of work that is outstanding and materials that have not been furnished. Further, you are aware from prior dealings with the ************* that they will pay the balance in full upon completion of the contract work; they did so less than a year ago, when they tendered payment in full for the front door and storm door (which were ordered by them at the same time the siding was ordered) after they were installed. The bullying by your representative for the ************* to execute a redundant agreement, that affords no additional benefit to them, is absurd and unconscionable. Be advised that any attempt by Champion to file a mechanic's lien against the *************' property for work that is not yet completed, and materials that have not been furnished, will subject your company to legal action, including but not limited to claims of break of contract, abuse of process and slander of title. Please have your legal representative contact me at his/her first convenient opportunity to discuss this dispute. I can be reached at any time at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ******** * ********* Attorney At Law

Desired Settlement: 1. replacing warped wrap along eaves of the house 2. covering white nail heads 3. repair/replace anchor straps on downspouts (one was lost by Champion during installation while another was installed backwards) 4. repair or replace cracked front door threshold 5. install window wrap pieces; and 6. repair sagging soffits.

Business Response: We are attempting to resolve this with the customer. What the writer of the letter is referring to - our Customer Service Agreement, is a simple punch list. We find that when people are disputing whether their job is done, or done correctly, it helps to have a list of items to address. Often a list of 6 items such as this customer as stated, turns into ten, then twelve and so on. The Customer will still have a full warranty with us, but if he has further issues they would be covered under this warranty. I am currently awaiting advice from my corporate legal department since the customer has involved an attorney who asks that our legal representative contact him. Until we are told otherwise we can not make direct contact with the customer.

9/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The best value Guarantee is not honored unless they feel like it or the price of the competitor is close to their price. I received an estimate from Champion for replacement windows and the salesman was nice enough. Before they leave they give you a slip that says 'Best Value Guarantee', which states they will deduct the price difference of a competitor's written estimate from their bid if you come to them with the difference within 7 days. Well I did receive another estimate for the same type of windows and it is the company's top of the line model. On 8/30/14 I went into Champion's showroom to see what price they could give me since I had a lower bid. Champion's bid was from 8/25/14 and the bid I received from ****** ***** was on 8/28/14 which is within their 7 days they put on the guarantee. At first when I went to the showroom I was met by a nice lady who opened the door since you have to be buzzed into their showroom and told her about my estimates and she said she would be right back since she didn't have the authority to make that decision. Less than 5 minutes later another woman walks out and says Hi I am """" (can not remember her name) but she said she was the district manager. She told me that they could not go that low and that she did not want to bash the other company, but their windows are much better. So, basically, because she thinks that her windows are better she would not honor the guarantee. After seeing both windows they are almost identical. No company likes to admit that and I understand that, but the numbers show how close they are. Champion windows U factor is .28 and Solar heat gain is .21 while ****** ****** windows U factor is .29 and solar heat gain is .19. So actually the window is very similar in performance and beats Champion's windows in Solar heat gain. These are the numbers and just because you may not like the competition does not justify claiming your company's windows are much better. This is not the way to do business. Do not say you will match the competitor's price when you will not even come close and just keep on stating your product is better. I would love to know what is so much better about the products to bid over $6,000 dollars more originally and then still be over $4,000 over the competitor's with what you say is your best price. With the project totally under $10,000 I believe $4,000 is a lot of money. Also I did not like how the second price given even though it was made to feel like it was a good deal because Champion stated it was the last day of the month so the second price was for today only. If you can give me that price today you should be able to give me that price tomorrow or the next day unless you are not a reputable company.

Desired Settlement: I would like you to stand by your guarantee or not offer it at all. I feel like it is a bait and switch move just to get you to come in to your showroom and not get a result except trying to be pressured with a sale that still does not come close to other bids.

Business Response: This person did not purchase from us and our Best Value Guarantee is for customers who have purchased from us. It states "Champion Mfg. Co. will deduct the difference of price from your order if you receive a lower priced written estimate from a quality company, with similar quality products OR WE WILL GLADLY REFUND YOUR DEPOSIT". Also, there is a lot more to a window than the glass. These include sash quality, frame quality, operational qualities and the fact that we offer a true life time warranty.

9/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The siding was installed December of 2013. Almost immediately pieces of siding began falling off the house. One wall is crooked, corners aren't installed correctly and many pieces of trim are missing. After repeated phone calls to the company, ***** the siding manager finally came out in the middle of May 2014. He said he would order the missing pieces and send out a new crew within a week or two. When no one came by the middle of July we called the company once again and setup an appointment for the new siding manager to come out and remedy the problem. On July 25th the new siding manager came out with ***** and said they had to hire a new crew and order the parts. He said they would be out on August second to make the needed repairs. On July 31st the new siding manager called and said the parts are back ordered and hopefully will be in by August 9th. The siding has come down from the soffits, and off the walls. This is an embarrassment as we live on a very busy street.

Desired Settlement: I either want my $14,400 refunded or my siding replaced immediately.

Business Response: On 8/4/14 my siding Manager called the customer to set up meeting time. He spoke to the customer and explained the plan of action. We sent our best installer out to fix the job, he informed us that we need to re-install the entire job. The Siding Manager has left messages for Mr *****, to schedule this. No response so far.

9/3/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Champion windows has had our deposit since March 13, 2014. Salesman said the job would begin beginning of June. The person who did the measurements stated that the job would begin the end of May 2014. We were told the project Manager would begin calling us weekly with the status of our project. He did not. We had to contact him repeatedly to get updates. The answer would be "it is in engineering". (We were told in March, engineering would take about two weeks.) The project Manager finally submitted plans to the Kirkwood Architectual Board in July 2014. Two ARB meetings did NOT pass the plans and both times sent the PM detailed list of what was required for project approval. The Kirkwood building commissioner stated that the PM basically kept submitting the same plans ignoring the ARB request for specifications and detail scale drawings. Repeated phone calls result in excuses with no progress.

Desired Settlement: Refund with interest and damages.

Business Response: My Sunroom Manager was in constant contact with this customer throughout the process. He DID respond to everything the Kirkwood requested of him. They did not seem to understand the nature of building vinyl sunrooms vs stick built rooms. I paid three different times ($1,500), a cost I could have passed on to the customer,to have this re-engineered to their specifications. Finally they asked us to do things that would void all warranties as it was beyond the scope of how we build our rooms. I refunded the ******' entire deposit.

5/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
5/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
2/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had siding, soffits, gutters and downspouts put on our home. Gutter work was not done properly and we had them come out to fix problem. The contractors who came out tore our shingles along the front and back of home to the point they need to be replaced. Gutters on front of home so crooked, they look like they are falling off home. This has been going on since March of 2013. Three months later and I can't get anyone to come out and fix without hiring another company to fix problem and hire attorney, which would cost us more money. Product_Or_Service: Siding and gutter work

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement We want the gutters/downspouts fixed to our satisfaction. The remaining balance owed to Champion will be dealt with by our attorney.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/07/11) */ Everything was done a week ago. The customer is fine. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 13, 2013/09/11) */ 9/11/2013: We had to get corporate involved but all issues are now resolved and case can be closed.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Champion Window Co of St Louis
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart