BBB Accredited Business since

B Dry Systems

Phone: (800) 966-2379 Fax: (618) 654-4774 View Additional Phone Numbers 11308 State Route 143, Highland, IL 62249 http://www.bdry.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that B Dry Systems meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for B Dry Systems include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on B Dry Systems
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 14, 2003 Business started: 10/01/2007 Business started locally: 10/01/2007 Business incorporated 07/12/2007 in IL
Business Management
Mr. Justin Whitmore, President/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Justin Whitmore, President/Owner
Business Category

Waterproofing Materials Contractors-Swimming Pool/Service & Supplies Foundation Repair & House Leveling Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Alternate Business Names
B Dry System Metro East B Dry System of Central Illinois B Dry System St Louis Paris Inc

Additional Locations

  • 11308 State Route 143

    Highland, IL 62249 (314) 645-3350 (618) 465-5771 (618) 451-0707 (217) 544-8554 (217) 429-2379 (217) 355-2379 (618) 654-4771 (618) 654-4778 (618) 266-7420 (800) 966-2379

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: B-Dry put beams in my basement to prevent the walls from bowing in any further. They drilled holes in the floor to bolt down the beams. They used no sealant around the bolts, so when it rains, water comes up around those bolts. I called them about this on March 28. On April 1, Brandon told me he didn'tknow what to do about it. He said he would talk to,some others to see if there is a solution and call me back. As of June 22, I have heard nothing. If they had told me up front this could happen, I would not have agreed to have the beams installed. B-Dry made my previously dry basement B-Wet!

Desired Settlement: Water that comes up through cracks in basement floors is stopped by sealing the cracks. These bolt holes should have sealant in them.

Business Response:

Paris Inc. preformed a foundation repair not a B-Dry Solutions waterproofing repair at her residence.  The office does not have any records of her calling about the alleged complaint.  ******* noticed a negative review on social media 6/22/16 and attempted to call her and she did not answer so he and left a message.  *** clearly had a water issue prior to the installation of the beams as shown by your current waterproofing system that was installed at her residence by another company. I apologize that the solution I offered her was not to their liking, however after speaking with the team that was the only solution the company came up with. We are sorry that she feels this way about this situation, please have her return *******'s call at her conveyance to come up with a possible solution.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
   ******* states they have no record of the complaint of my,call.  He knows they got it because he returned my call on March 31, so his statement is a lie.  He says I rejected the proposed solution.  This is also not true.  He has not offered me a solution.  If he h thinks he has, why does he not state in this response what that proposed solution  is?  .   He can contact me either through facebook, as he has before, or via phone.  I have voice mail.


Sincerely,

*** *******

Business Response:

The original response was written incorrectly.  What the respondent meant to say was that ***** *** had no record of your request to have the originally proposed solution preformed.  To get all the information straight and in order we will give a brief review of the sequence of events and our proposed solution that was provided.   

2-15-2015 & 12-16-15 - ***** ***orporated installed Grip Tite Wall Anchors and Wall Stabilizing I-Beams to prevent structural failure of your foundation walls.  No waterproofing was preformed, however it was noted that you had existing water issues and an existing base board waterproofing system was already installed at your residence.  For that very reason special "Double Beams" were installed so that the existing waterproofing system was not compromised.    

3-28-2016 - Ms. ******* called our office complaining of water leaking from the I-Beam anchor bolt holes. 

4-1-2016 - ******* ******* spoke with Ms. ******* and explained to her that she has hydrostatic pressure under her floor which is causing water to pressure up through the path of least resistance, in this case it happened to be our anchor bolts.  ******* told Ms. ******* that in order to relieve the hydrostatic pressure we would have to install our waterproofing system.  Ms. ******* stated that she was not paying for that system and that she wouldn't have done any of this work if she knew this would happen.  The problem is that Ms. ******* thinks that we knew she had hydrostatic pressure problems prior to our installation, which is incorrect.  No person could know ahead of preforming the work that she had a hydrostatic pressure problem under her floor.  It was not even evident that she had this issue until 3 months post our installation.  The main issue she has is that her baseboard waterproofing system (which was not installed by us) in her home does not relieve the hydrostatic pressure under her floor because it sits on top of the floor.  Her baseboard system is a make shift water channeling system.  Her hydrostatic water issue is completely unrelated to any work that was performed by ***** ***.  After Ms. ******* said that she would not pay for the waterproofing system ******* politely stated that there is nothing else he could offer but did make a statement that he would try to talk to some other guys at the office and see if they had any ideas for stopping the water.  ******* did ask the guys however they confirmed that the only solution, the right solution, is to put in our waterproofing system. 

As of 4-1-2016 ***** ***. has no record of Ms. ******* calling to request service or request for the proposed solution (the waterproofing system) be installed in her home. We have no record of any further issues with any work we performed. 

6-23-16 - Rather than calling our office and speaking with anyone, Ms. ******* simply wrote negative reviews on our facebook page and started this BBB Complaint.  As soon as ******* saw her review on facebook he immediately called her to see what her issue was.  Ms. ******* immediately hung up on ******* when he called.  He then proceeded to call her again only to get her Voicemail, in which he did leave a message.  ******* also contacted her Via facebook and asked her to contact our office, she has yet to return any calls as of today 6/28/2016   

The bottom line is that ***** ***orporated did not install any waterproofing system in Ms. *******'s residence.  ***** *** made no claims nor executed any contracts to relieve the hydrostatic pressure issue she has at her residence.  ***** *** would be glad to try some simple sealants on the anchor bolt holes if that is the request of Ms. *******, however the proper solution to relieving her hydrostatic pressure issue is to install a waterproofing system.  Regardless of what Ms. ******* would like us to do we cannot do so without her contacting us or returning our calls.   We have employees available to field her calls anytime between 8:00 AM and 5:00 PM Monday-Friday…yet we have not received one since 3/28/2016. 

5/23/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My basement was having a flooding issue about 6 months ago. I had B-Dry (**** ******) come out and take a look and give me an estimate and asked for a deposit up front for $1700. They said they wanted to come out in January, but I was unavailable so they said May. By then, I ended up going with another company over this one. I asked for my deposit back and they are not willing to give it to me. They indicated it has been too long.

Desired Settlement: I would like my deposit back since they didn't do the job. I would be willing to allow them to have a small portion of the deposit for any inconvenience that may have caused.

Business Response:

******* ***** signed a contract and submitted a deposit in the amount of $1700 on 10/1/15 for B-Dry Waterproofing to waterproof 136' Lineal feet of his foundation.  We scheduled his work to be completed on 1/11/16 and ******* canceled as he stated in his complaint.  We offered several schedule dates to him and he elected to have it booked out until May 2016.  A week before his job was scheduled he called and wanted to know if he had work still scheduled to be completed by us because he couldn't remember and we responded that we had him scheduled for the following week and then he proceeded and stated he had another company preform the work and that he wanted to cancel and get his deposit back.  Per his contract ******* ***** had to cancel within 3 days of the acceptance of the contract.  The reason for the forfeiture of deposit after the third business day is due to materials and commissions already paid out and ordered along with retainage of blocking out a schedule time and lining up for the work to be preformed that results in a loss the company sustains. We offered to keep the job scheduled for him or to reschedule another date that would work for ******* and he refused and had another company do the work and didn't notify us within the proper time frame per the contract.  I have attached a blank version of a B-Dry Contract that clearly states the Notice of Right to Cancel on the bottom of page 2.

6/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
9/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My basement is filed with mud. I have called D-dry to complain and I was told they would come to my home and never did. I've had the waterproofing system for several years. At least once a year my basement had flooded and B-dry would come out and try to repair the system; at least that what they claimed. I have had mold problems that I never had before. This system has not worked. In the past the previous owner had to come to my home on many ocassions because of flooding in my basement. He eventually had to pay me for furniture and clothing that were destroyed by water. He also paid to mold proof only part of basement (I thought he had done the entire basement). He supposedly repaired the system. And, he cut out three feet of dry wall throughout the entire basement and left it for me to repair. I had to pay a contractor to replace the drywall. My basement is still flooding and I had to have the drywall and flooring removed because of mold. I gut my basement. The new owner came to my house once and argued with me that the owner paid me for the basement damage when he only paid for my belongings. I have a life time guarantee for the life of my home so the system and any damage it causes should be covered. I called him to come to my home on several occassion and he has showed up. I am calling him today August 26, 2013 because the mud that was there the last time I called. It is now a couple of inches thick and cover most of the basement. I am losing money by not being able to rent my home because of the water problems in my basement. In fact,I can't stay in the home because of the water problems. I have documented disabilities that proclude me from living in the house with the moisture. I had the entire basement gutted and mold proofed again at my expense to get rid of the mold and to save my home. The basement has been mold proof a couple of tiemes to ensure the mold is gone. The new owner refuses to do anything to assist me with the problems that this waterproofing system has caused me. It is my opinion that he bought this problem; a problem that has been apparent and ongoing since the system was installed. I am assuming should have known of the life time guarantee on the installation and functionality of the system that the previous owner installed. Mr. ******** the previous owner is well aware of the issues with my basement. He has tried to repair the system several times and it continues to fail, leaving me with a flooded basement. I have had to deal with this for over ten years and I have concluded the B-dry system just doesn't work. I paid nearly $5000 dollars for system that doesn't work. I've have had to paid to replace dry wall that had been cut out three feet high to do mold proofing that Mr. ******* paid for. The problem is he had the guy spray a few area of the basement. The rest of the basement became mold infested when it flooded again. Last year I had to remove my entire basement that cost over $15.000.00 to remodel because of water and mold. The water continues flood my basement, and now I'm having a mud problem. There is a 2 feet hole at the base of the wall where the waterproofing system is. The mud and water are coming through the hole everytime it rains. B-Dry has done nothing but cause me problems with my basement. I can't move back in my house because of these problems. No one can live in the house. I have turned down potential renters inthe past because of the mud in the basement. I am paying a mortgage on a house that is uninhabitable. The new owner, ******, refuses to acknowledge there is a problem. He has not returned to my home to make repairs. And, he is not honoring my life time guarantee, which constatute breach of contract because the guarantee was purchased as part of the contract. I want my basement fixed and it needs to be done immediately before I lose my house to mold or even worst. My basement wall could collapse or something that could destroy my house. I a nearly 60 years old and can not buy another house or lose this one. It is my retirement home that I would like to move back into now.

Desired Settlement: Anthing allowed under the law. Ultimatley,I would like to recover the cost of any lose I suffered due to the failing system that have not be covered. The system repaired and made functional or the cost I paid for the system.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/09) */ ** ******** **** "Properties, Acquisitions, Rentals, Investments, Services" **** ***** ********* **** *** *** ********* ** XXXXX Tel: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Fax: (XXX) XXX-XXXX September 9th, 2013 Better Business Bureau *** ** ********* **** **** ***** *****, ** XXXXX To whom it may concern: The original B-Dry System Franchise The Dannet Corporation installed the B-Dry System in consumer's home on 01/17/95. From the research I have done there have been numerous customer service requests throughout the years and all of them have been address or resolved. ***** **** purchased the local franchise in October of 2011. Consumer called me from Florida back on in the spring of 2012. She could not meet us but said a ******* Cleveland could. We looked at the premises with ******* and there were numerous exterior problems with the homes gutters full of debris and downspouts are not properly drained away from the home and the dirt against the foundation wall is washing away and filtrating thru cracks on the foundation which is causing mud to fill our interior drainage tile and causing to fail. This is not covered under any B-Dry System warranty. Back on 11/2/07 The B-Dry system paid $500 in flooring replacement, $700 for mold removal and another check for $3800 for damages. Attached is a copy of this statement for review. The B-Dry System owner typed a letter explaining all of this and had consumer sign it stating B-Dry had rectified the problem and wishes to no longer be contracted about this matter. At this time Paris Inc. the new owners have not done any work for consumer. Paris Inc. dba B-Dry Solutions the new Franchise owner went out and met ******* Cleveland again since consumer wasn't available on 9/6/13 and cleaned out the interior B-Dry System drain tile again and rocked around the tile to slow down and try to stop the mud from infiltrating all for no charge to consumer. We added dirt to the exterior sink hole as well to try to re-channel the water on the exterior of the house. The Sump pump was back in the house sump pit and ******* Cleveland refused to have us replace it and said he was going to replace it himself. If the B-Dry system fills up with water and they do not replace the pump the basement will flood and that is also not covered under any B-Dry System warranty. The system was water tested before the foreman left the job and everything was re-poured back. Consumer did not make B-Dry Solutions aware of her contact with the Better Business Bureau and hopes that her concerns have been addressed. B-Dry Solutions prides itself on customer satisfaction and we feel that we have gone above and beyond to try to satisfy consumer. Sincerely, ****** ** ******** ***** ********* President


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on B Dry Systems
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)