BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
St. Louis, MO

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/06/2004

Waterproof Solutions & Enviro Tech Roof Consulting Services

Phone: (636) 343-4379Fax: (888) 217-25941679 Springdale Blvd, FentonMO 63026-5577 Send email to Waterproof Solutions & Enviro Tech Roof Consulting Services

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Residential Basement Waterproofing and foundation repair. Commercial Roofing Consultation and Roofing Asset Management.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/06/2004

BBB has determined that Waterproof Solutions & Enviro Tech Roof Consulting Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Waterproof Solutions & Enviro Tech Roof Consulting Services' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Waterproof Solutions & Enviro Tech Roof Consulting Services

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
03/20/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: I had them come give me an estimate to get my basement dry after seeing them promoted on Channel 2. They brought the thermal gun, as demonstrated on Fox 2 and was unable to find a crack. To avoid removing my drywall,****** (who is no longer with the company) told me that he seemed to think that if I redirected the water away from the house, it would keep it dry. I paid $3000 for a new drain installed in front of my garage (I already had one there but they replaced the drain and repoured new concrete), had gutters replaced (which water still flows over in front of the front door) and some bushes removed and replaced with concrete to direct the water to the drain.

My basement still leaks and my garage still floods. I had had them out on multiple occasions to try to fix it and after the last contact, I was told that if they come out again, that I won't be able to get it fixed for nothing (it wasn't nothing...I paid $3000!). I paid $3000 to keep my basement and my garage dry. Neither of which are. My garage after the last flood still had standing water in it, ruining items.

After taking the drywall down, we discovered a HUGE crack that runs the length of my basement (will attach pictures if necessary).

I have quit responding to the company. They have mI paid $3000 to have my basement & garage dry. I ended up with new gutters, a new concrete patio and a new french drain . Both are still getting wetade me feel like I am bothering them. I do not recommend them.

I have paid money for stuff that wasn't necessary, apparently. They are the professionals and should've figured all this out before I forked out the money that I did.

I will have a new drain tile system put in my basement and it appears that I will have to have some structural work done too. I will go to another company and this time, I will do my research and my homework and hope I find a better company this time around.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@waterproof-solutions.net
First of all, our company recognizes the importance of making our customers and clients happy. We have belonged to the BBB for over 10 years without a complaint and I assure you that we will try every avenue to satisfy this disgruntled customer. We do not take this lightly. Our reputation is very good and we want to keep it that way.
We try to please everyone, but sometimes there are circumstances where we may unintentional fall short of expectations.
Facts as we have reviewed and documented:
On March 15th, 2011 our customer requested an inspection and estimate from Waterproof Solutions. Our representative at the time was sent to the potential customerï申s residence to evaluate her situation and to recommend solutions to correct the basement and garage water drainage issues.
Our representative observed several problems with the home that were factors contributing to the homeï申s drainage issues. The house had numerous issues that needed attention. It was explained to the homeowner that to do all of the repairs necessary would run into the tens of thousands of dollar range. Because of the homeownerï申s financial situation, not all of the recommended repairs could be made at one time. The representative recommended to the homeowner that they break the recommendation down into small projects, with the goal of the process of elimination, could possibly solve the water problems without having to achieve all of the recommended repairs.
Alternative corrective recommendations were discussed with the homeowner and a plan was agreed upon with focus on removing the existing drywall from the basement walls where problems were suspect. After consideration of removing the drywall and the costs involved, the homeowner decided not to remove the drywall for a visual inspection. As an alternative, our representative offered to utilize a Thermal Imagining camera ï申Infraredï申 as a tool to try to discover hidden moisture avenues in the concrete wall behind the drywall. Under the direction of the homeowner, our representative evaluated the property with the thermal imaging equipment as well as provided a visual inspection of the property at no cost to the homeowner.

Continuedï申
Our representative reported the following:
1.The existing exterior ï申channel drainï申 had failed
2.A large ï申gapï申 between the floor and garage was present.
3.Concrete slabs were failing.
4.Existing Interior drain tile system could possibly be failing.
5.Gutters were no longer functioning properly.
Thermal imagining MAY detect an ï申activeï申 leak in the wall of a foundation that is not exposed but there are many factors to consider. First of all this is a diagnostic tool used to find variances in temperatures (anomalies) of an object or structure. It records and identifies differences in temperatures, it does not detect water per say. Typically active water is colder than its surrounding environment in this case, the concrete wall. The reading on the camera will detect the temperature variance and show as a ï申Blueï申 color indicating a colder temperature than a wall which would typically show up as a warmer color or yellow.
Things that can affect accurate readings
1.The leak must be active. If not active at the time of the evaluation, it will not show as a temperature variance.
2.Temperature variations of the structure or object being evaluated. The interior of the basement must be warmer than the concrete wall. If the wall temperature and the interior temperature of the basement is the same or close, there will be no detection of a temperature variance.
3.Other non controllable conditions such as insulation on the back side of the drywall which would create a barrier to block the camera from an accurate reading.
To be cost effective, our Representative recommended the following solutions:
1.Replace the existing interior drain tile system /or test the system to ensure it was working properly.
2.Replace the failing channel drain to properly collect / direct water away from home
3.Remove and replace a concrete slab of driveway and sidewalk to redirect water away from the home.
4.Replace the existing gutters to properly handle water and direct away from home
5.Repair the gap between the garage floor and wall, to prevent water from entering in the crack.
The homeowner explained to our representative that she was limited on funds for this project. To keep her costs down, the homeowner instructed our representative to install the new channel drain at the garage, replace a slab of concrete on the driveway and install a new side walk.
At this time our representative informed the homeowner that without installing or properly inspecting the interior drain tile system, the basement/ garage area may still leak. In good conscience, knowing that the homeowner did not have the budget to properly fund all of the repairs needed, we offered her a complete inspection of the interior drain tile system for $500.00. If the system was found to be working properly, the homeowner could purchase a limited warranty from Waterproof Solutions ï申as ifï申 we had originally installed the system for an additional $250.00. If it was discovered the system had failed the homeowner would have received a $500.00 credit for installing a new system. The homeowner chose not to do the test on the existing system or the limited warranty offer.
We performed the proposed repairs for $2,350.00. During the time of the repairs the homeowner also requested that her gutters be replaced. We recommended a company for her and they charged her $450.00. We initially paid the gutter bill for her and homeowner paid the company back.
Follow-up:
We are only aware of 3 calls that the homeowner had placed to our company.
Call one: Our customer called and stated that her garage was leaking. Our Sr. Field Supervisor was sent to her home to determine the cause of the leaks reported. It was discovered that homeownerï申s new gutters and grate over the channel were clogged with leaves and other debris. Our Field Supervisor, as a no cost courtesy, cleaned the gutters and grate. He also informed her of the importance of keeping the gutters and drains clean of debris.
Call two: Our customer called and stated her garage was leaking. Our Field Supervisor was again sent to her home. Her gutters and grate over the channel were again clogged with leaves and other debris. Again, our Field Supervisor, as a no cost courtesy, cleaned the gutters and grate. He again informed her of the importance of keeping the gutters and drains clean of debris.
Call three: Our customer called and stated her garage was leaking again. The area of the garage that was wet was at the garage door entrance. It was discovered that there was no weather stripping on the bottom of the door to keep water from flowing under the door. On or about 7/13/2011 as a courtesy we purchased a weather strip for the homeowner and we installed on the garage door for further prevention at no additional costs to her.
Our customer has not called the company since we installed the weather strip. Until we received this notice we were completely unaware of any issues that the homeowner is experiencing. We would be more than happy to re-evaluate our customerï申s waterproofing issues and come to a mutual agreement.
Please feel free to contact our office with any additional questions or comments.
Sincerely,

****** ****** / CEO
Enviro Tech Services, LLC / Waterproof Solutions

Industry Comparison| Chart

Waterproofing Contractors, Building Inspection, Windows - Wells & Covers, Concrete Reinforcements, Roofing Service Consultants, Foundation Repair & House Leveling, Foundation Contractors, Drainage Contractors, Concrete - Custom, Concrete Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/06/2004Business started: 01/01/1997
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Terry Ping (CEO)Customer Contact: Mr. Stephen Burton (President)
Business Category

Waterproofing Contractors, Building Inspection, Windows - Wells & Covers, Concrete Reinforcements, Roofing Service Consultants, Foundation Repair & House Leveling, Foundation Contractors, Drainage Contractors, Concrete - Custom, Concrete Contractors

Products & Services

Basement Waterproofing & Repairs. Residential Foundation Repairs, wall cracks, piering and wall bracing and alignment.

Service Area

Greater St. Louis area

Alternate Business Names
Enviro Tech Services, LLC, Waterproof Solutions
Industry Tips
Invest in a Home Inspection

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Waterproof Solutions & Enviro Tech Roof Consulting Services

1679 Springdale Blvd

Fenton, MO 63026-5577

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1679 Springdale Blvd 

    Fenton, MO 63026-5577

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern Missouri & SouthernIllinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Waterproof Solutions & Enviro Tech Roof Consulting Services is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 2, 2010.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Waterproofing Contractors

Invest in a Home Inspection
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.