BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 04/23/2002

Certified Waterproofing and Tuckpointing Company

Phone: (314) 352-2080Fax: (314) 544-4779

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
05/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Apoxy surface sealed with improper seal causing buckling and cracking. More improper material used for repair of original mistake.
In the summer of 2012 Certified did some tuckpointing on my home and while there sealed my exposed aggregate sidewalk and also sealed the epoxy stone I had on my steps and entrance way. When the second coat of seal was applied to just the epoxy stone, the surface cracked and buckled. I complained, and they added more seal to "fix" the areas affected. The result was a mess with pools of solution left hardened on the surface. When I said that it was unacceptable, their next proposal was to remove the entire concrete steps and entrance way to my home and replace it with new concrete amounting to a job of $7,700 and give me credit for $700. I would owe the $7,000. They have the information on file as to the dates they were here for tuckpointing. I don't have the paper work on hand. It is obvious that the seal they used on the epoxy was the wrong kind.

At this point I just want to be reimbursed for the stoneware surface that needs to be done on the steps and flat surfaces on my entrance way. I have a gentleman who will do the work. He has been in touch with Certified.

Desired Settlement
I have a gentleman who does reseal and repair work, and I would like to be reimbursed for the cost of his labor and materials in repairing the surface of my steps and flat surfaces leading into my home.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******/owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****
Certified originally proposed replacing the pebble stone porch, however our customer did not want to spend to replace the porch that was in poor condition originally.So we offered to apply a sealer to the porch to try to give the customer more time before it would have to be replaced.The first coat was applied and everything was okay, but when we applied the second coat in the 100 degree weather it buckled and became unsaveable.We then sent our rep. to give a price to redo entire porch and rails and sidewalk so all would match for a price of $7000.00 on 10/23/12.But never heard back from customer until her contractor called us a week ago.We have agreed to pay the $1000.00 to her contractor at St.Louis Reseal & Repair because we value our relationship with our customers and Better Business Bureau.

03/08/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

I hired this company to repair and seal a crack in my basement wall. they came out and looked at it and confirmed that was exactly where the water was coming in and they guarantee their work. they even put supports under the front porch to prevent any future leak.I paid them $3500 for the porch and the crack repair. They did this and finished the work on 11/04/12. when it rained on 10/25/12 the crack leaked again. i called them out they said they would take off the paneling to inspect it. when a different person (not the person who did the original work) showed up, he looked at it and didn't take the paneling off at all, said "you need a pump" and that will cost extra $4800. I said i paid them already for the repair and i still have the same problem, they offered to take off $500 and i still said that wasn't fair then he offered to make it $1000 off.
I feel I depended on them and their experience to get the job done. i feel it was their mistake if they fixed the wrong problem or didn't see the whole situation. I felt cheated and betrayed by this new person who didn't inspect the original work to see if it had failed. I feel that the $3500 I paid them should be applied to any other problem if that's the case, but i would still like the original crack inspected first before installing a sump pump. I trusted this company to properly fix the leak that's why I agreed to pay them $3500, I'm not made of money why would they want to charge me more than I have already paid. I feel I still have the same problem after giving them $3500 to fix it.

Desired Settlement
I would like the warranty honored and them to fix the leak at no additional cost. if there is a separate leak, i was not aware and they didn't find it either.

Business' Initial Response
See attached document

Business' Final Response
Finished work 10/4/12, reported leak 10/26/12, service ran 10/31/12 and then returned 11/6/12 to run hose to make area leak & locate to inspect.
The company owner, sold customer work based on where he was told basement was leaking. The interior wall was covered with paneling, customer told him wall crack behind paneling was the cause. So problem was addressed from the exterior. We were hired to dig down along front of foundation,seal the exterior foundation & install support to keep porch from moving any further.The solution to the problem was based on the information provided.The guarantee of 7 years was furnished on the foundation crack company repaired,however after returning to run hose & saturate 11/6/12, it was found that water seepage was not coming from crack but from cove where wall & floor meet due to hydrostatic pressure from up under the floor in area 6 feet away from repaired crack & traveling across floor, therefore service proposed an additional drain tile system & sump pump be installed to keep water off floor.This would normally be a $4800.00 installed, but due to these circumstances, service dept. offered to install for $3500.00, discounting $1300.00 off.
When Certified originally sold the contracted work on 10/2/12 in the amount of $3500.00, the front porch had been sinking and cracking & needed support & the front foundation wall was cracked on the exterior, it was on the customer to tell us where the interior was leaking because it was impossible for us to see through the fully paneled wall. The problem was addressed from the outside. The foundation crack our company repaired is not leaking. The quarantee we have provided is on this foundation crack. When the exterior was excavated, contractor could not run hose & fill hole with water, this would have filled area with standing water & mud & would have prevented the installation of bentonite panel.Home owner did not want the paneling in her finished basement removed.And in reference to sending back the first man that came out he was sick due to phnemonia.

Consumer Response
Consumer supplied email: ************

Consumer Response
*** and two other people did remove some of my paneling and they removed some dirt from the front of the house to show me the crack that was causing the problem of the leak. *** told me that the porch was moving and if I don't have that repaired it would crack more and leak again and void the contract. (Where would I get the information about my porch sinking and needing support? *** the professional told me this would fix the problem I was having.) *** did all of this before he wrote up the contract. *** said "I see where the leak is coming from." With him being the owner I trust that he knew what he was doing. They say that I didn't want the panels removed. That's false information given to you. Someone name *** came to my house 10-31-12 and said he need to take the panels of to see if it's coming from the crack or the floor. He said someone would call me from the office and schedule a day. A lady from the office called me 11-05-12 and told me *** was coming out to remove the paneling 11-06-12 9:00 am. When *** came he didn't remove the panels. NOT ONCE DID I TELL HIM NOT TO REMOVE MY PANELS. He is lying to you and me. The water is coming from the same spot that it was coming from when *** the owner diagnosed the problem the first time! The company made a mistake and don't want to own up to it. If it was my mistake I would have no problem paying to have the problem fix. They know they are lying. *** did nothing to show where or what was causing the problem. Why did he choose not to remove the panels? I showed *** the panels that *** removed the first time when he diagnosed the problem. They are lying! I want the problem fixed or a refund.

Consumer Response
02/12/2013: I agreed to the $500 because the company required special cement to guarantee my warranty. Before hiring the company I got a second opinion stating the leak was caused by a crack in foundation. After repairing the crack and the leak continuing the company told me the leak was probably not caused by the crack in foundation but pressure across the floor, requiring a pump to fix. I am currently using was able tiles to prevent damage from the leak. I want a full or partial refund or the company to dig up the crack and check it was completely sealed or remove the basement paneling to test whether the crack is the cause of the leak; if so, dig up the crack and seal it completely. I do not want the company to install the pump. If necessary I will get estimates from other companies.

02/19/2013: Mediator called consumer but there was not answer and was not able to leave message.

02/21/2013: It is related and I did tell them about the area of the leak, but also told them that it was possibly traveling along the walls and they would not investigate this. They failed to diagnose the entire leak. They need to fix it. I will send documentation.

03/04/2013: Mediator left message for consumer requesting documentation.

03/05/2013: Mediator left message for consumer requesting documentation.

Business Response
02/19/2013: She told us where the problem was so we dug down and found a crack, we fixed it. About 1-2 weeks later we went back out. We ran some test. We ran a hose outside and tried to reproduce the leak, we were successful. The homeowner and ourselves all noted that the leak was in a completely separate part of the home, unrelated to our work. The water moved across the floor and settled long the floor, in the area where we had worked. Right then everyone knew this was unrelated. When we saw this we made a suggestion to remedy the problem and even offered a $1,300 discount.

06/06/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Waterproofing Contractors, Basement Waterproofing, Tuck Pointing, Foundation Contractors

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.