BBB Accredited Business since

Clayton Valet LLC

Phone: (314) 932-5748 Fax: (314) 932-5749 7533 Forsyth Blvd STE C, Clayton, MO 63105

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Clayton Valet LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Clayton Valet LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 22, 2004 Business started: 09/01/2000 Business started locally: 09/01/2000 Business incorporated 09/08/2003 in MO
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Chris Rodriguez, General Manager Bradley L. Kalish, President/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Chris Rodriguez, General Manager
Business Category

Valet Service Personal Services Transportation Services Wheelchair & Disability Transportation Parking Attendant Service

Additional Locations

  • 7533 Forsyth Blvd STE C

    Clayton, MO 63105


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: 9/4/2016 I utilized the Clayton Valet Service while dining at a local restaurant "*********r" **** ****** *** *** ****** ** *****. The valet took my vehicle and headed west on Sidney Street to park my vehicle. After dining at the restaurant I provided the valet with my valet ticket and he retrieved my car but not in the normal time it takes if he had parked close by. It took him over 20 minutes to bring back my car. When he arrived with my vehicle he parked back so we would have to walk towards the vehicle to get into our car and he was again going west bound on the 2 way street. It was dusk at this time and I drove directly home . I parked inside my garage all nite never going to the rear of my car. The next morning 9/5 (Labor Day) I went to the garage and looked at the rear of my car and found the damage the valet had done while in his possession. I contacted my insurance company immediately and asked for advice on how to handle the incident. I sent my insurance agent photos of the damage via my cell. His advice was to contact the Restaurant first and then get the contact information from them so that I could then make contact with the Clayton Valet Service General Manager. I drove back to the restaurant 9/5 and met with the Restaurant manager on duty who provided me with the contact information of the Valet service. Tuesday 9/6 I contacted Mr. ***** ********* to let him know about the incident. His response was" I will get back to you in a few days after I have had time to speak with the valet". He also said that "the valet ticket clearly states that they are not responsible for damage incurred if the patron leaves the premises". He also asked for photos which I texted him immediately for his review. 14 days later I still had not heard back from Mr. ***** ********* so I sent him a certified letter with the first repair document ($1150.00) and another set of photos to their address along with a copy to the *********r Restaurant and my insurance agent (****** Insurance) asking for resolution and response to our initial conversation that he would get back to me within a few days. Mr. ***** ********* sent me an email late that evening stating he was under the impression he was to call me only if his valet stated he was involved with the accident. He also stated he surveyed the area where my car was supposedly parked and he could see no damage. He also spoke with the valet who denied being involved in the incident. I was very disappointed in his response that it was clearly a backup into a city dumpster and would not have been visual in the supposed parking lot he said he surveyed. My insurance company has made several attempts to resolve this matter and Clayton Valet has not been responsive to get this issue cleared up currently a month after the incident.

Desired Settlement: My hope is that Clayton Valet will take responsibility for this incident and repair my vehicle back to it's original state. I have provided them with ample enough time to get this resolved. I have provided them with the repair bill, photos and my insurance agents name and information. The damage was so severe my trunk can not open. This was NOT a bump and the valet knew he did damage.

Business Response: This has been settled.  I would advise Ms. ****** to contact her insurance person.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


**** ******

7/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a brand new 2015 cheverlot camaro...I dropped it off with the valet at st marys hospital for less than 2hours. when it was return I had a huge scratch on it down to the metal. They accepted no responsibility and had no plans on resolving my issue. They said they are not responsible for anything after they park it. That is ridiculous and I don't recall seeing any signs that states this claim.

Desired Settlement: I want my car to be repaired back to the state in which i gave it to them.

Business Response:

I received an email from the complainant at 10:01am today and responded to her by 10:05am assuring her that I would look into this situation and get in touch with her today.  This complaint was placed less than an hour later.  Due to the complainant using this outlet to voice her concerns publicly, prior to me even having a chance to investigate for her,  I will use this method of communication to address her questions or concerns.  

There are four facts that were revealed during my investigation of this matter.  

1. The valet attendant drove the customer's vehicle across an unobstructed route less than 40 feet away into an open space.  There are absolutely no hazards to avoid in that short route.  There is nothing stationary that the valet could have hit to cause the damage.  

2. There were no other reports of any other damaged vehicles.  Had the valet struck another vehicle, there would have been another report.  

3. The vehicle was parked in an open lot, easily seen by guests, hospital staff, other valets and garage attendants.  Nobody reported an incident.  When asked today, nobody saw anything out of the ordinary on the date described.  

4. On the front of the valet ticket, the complainant received at the time of service, it is clearly stated that we can only be responsible for damage committed by our valets.  

Conclusion: Either the vehicle was damaged prior to using valet or it was damaged while parked.  If the latter is the case, we recommend the complainant file a police report as it would be treated as any "hit & run" case.  Our best guess at what could have happened is that a guest or patron of the facility parked in the same area as the valet, struck the vehicle and left without telling anyone.  We can not be responsible for damage we did not cause.  




5/4/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Clayton Valet parked my 2007 Range Rover, with the windows up, 12/31/15 at 10p.m. while I attended an event at ***** **** *** **** ********** **** When I attempted to retrieve my vehicle at 1:30 a.m. from the same valet who parked me it was never brought to me. At 2:30 a.m. the valet asked me to point out my keys so that he could go and get the truck. I picked up the keys handed them to the valet with a $20 tip and waited another hour, but still no car. When the valet returned again without the car I asked where it was he told me it was missing and walked away. 30 minutes later I asked again where was my car he again said "it and the keys to it were missing" & that he"gave the keys to the other valet who took off with my car and all the monies collected for the evening. I called the police who later found my vehicle with the rear windows down and no keys. The police said it was a civil matter and had the valet call his supervisor, ******. She arrived at 4 a.m stating her company would take care of everything as I explained to her those were the only set of keys I had to the vehicle. They towed the truck to my home & have yet to replace my keys. The vehicle arrived with damage to the front passenger side tire and wheel well indicative of someone joy-ridding in the car. They have been very rude & insist they are only going to do the minimum to make me whole; stating they will only replace my ignition key & that there is a 1 in a billion chance that their driver will attempt to steal/joy ride my car again. They have given false info regarding ***** ****** and it's staff as well as how the re-key process works for a foreign car, claiming that ***** ****** would come to my home to make repairs and that a full re-key is not necessary. I personally had my vehicle towed to *****($170) the approx cost to re-key is $2000-what they suggest since the only set of keys to the vehicle were "lost". Clayton valet has given me many different lies about this situation and refuses to take responsibility.

Desired Settlement: I would like Clayton Valet to return my vehicle in the same condition it was given to them for valet service- with no damages to the passenger side wheel and wheel well, me (the owner) having the only set of ignition, door and trunk locks keys. I would like them to cover the full cost of the re-key which is estimated by ***** ****** to be at least a $2,000 job, cover all towing and storage expenses as they left the back windows down on the car in the dead of the winter, and any repairs.

Business Response: We have apologized profusely for the inconvenience of this situation. We have made every reasonable effort possible to resolve this matter and can not meet the unreasonable demands of the guest. We had a manager on site at the bar the guest was located immediately upon hearing of the situation. The manager stayed until 6am, long after the guest went home, to ensure the vehicle was towed to the location the guest requested. We covered all costs of that. We attempted to work with 2 separate locksmith experts to have a new key cut immediately on site and unfortunately, that was not possible due to the make and model of the vehicle. We have offered to replace the missing key fob and key along with all the programming charges associated with the incident, as well as any additional tow expenses to get the car to the dealership for reprogramming. We attempted to order the replacement parts and schedule the reprogramming service and even negotiated for the dealer to come to the guests home to reprogram the key, to expedite the resolution of this incident. We offered to cover all of these costs. The guest refused to have us handle the situation and decided to take care of it herself. She continuously made baseless accusations and was unwilling to resolve this matter reasonably with management. The demands of the guest are not in line with what is actually required to resolve this situation adequately and we can not be responsible for the charges that she incurs for seeking additional services that are unnecessary. There was no claim or mention of any damage to any part of her vehicle through that evening or the following days while we attempted to resolve this matter. We feel we have made every effort possible to resolve this and encourage the guest to contact us for reimbursement for what we have already expressed we would pay for.

Consumer Response: Clayton Valet has yet to pay the dealer and/or reimburse me for the damage their company caused to my vehicle- including losing the only set of keys to the truck. I have now gotten my vehicle back from the dealer, having to pay for all repairs . The total time frame to have key delivered from UK, reprogram the ignition and door locks,replace the right passenger side tire, and repair the wheels clearly damaged by either the valet or the tow company they used to tow my truck to my residence. The total dealer cost was $2,959.59 and an additional $160 for the tow to the dealer. These were required repairs to even use my vehicle again after dealing with this valet company. As I only have liability insurance, this is an expense I had to pay out of pocket-money I had to borrow from my mother in addition to overdrawing my account just to regain transportation! I am beyond upset and in an extreme financial hardship thanks to this company. My mortgage payment is due in 6 days and I have no idea how I'm going to pay it thanks to Clayton Valet!

10/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used there valet service Saturday evening. My truck was returned to me broken into. The outside was fine but the inside was tore apart. My middle console was broke and stuff everywhere. I called the valet service and they where very rude and had no remorse.

Desired Settlement: a detail and my middle console fixed

Business Response: It was never our intention to come across as rude. For that, we apologize. However, we can not be responsible for the crime that occurs within our city. It is clearly stated on your valet ticket, the contract that you accept when you decide to valet your vehicle, that we can not be held liable for damage that we did not cause. Of course we make every effort to park in a safe environment but again, can not be held liable for vandalism. This is a matter for the police to follow up on along with your insurance company. We are more than happy to assist with providing any information necessary to either of those entities.

7/29/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In February of 2015, a driver from Clayton Valet driving a **** Automotive Courtesy Car struck my Wife's vehicle that was parked at *** ***** *********** Hospital Parking Garage. Despite an eyewitness account as well as my wife's account of the accident, Clayton Valet has refused to work with us and our insurance to resolve this matter. A police report was filed as well as photographs of the license plate of the vehicle that struck my wife's car. They have ignored my calls as well as those of ****** my insurance company.

Desired Settlement: I want to be reimbursed for the repairs to my wife's vehicle. I would like to be contacted by Clayton Valet an an apology for their refusal to repair our vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/28) */ To whom it may concern, Mr. *********** was not a customer of Clayton Valet. I request that this complaint be removed, as we have never done business with him. His claim that one of our drivers damaged his wife's vehicle is unsubstantiated. This incident allegedly occurred in February of 2015 and 7/26/15 is the first I have ever heard from Mr. ***********, where I replied to his email inquiry immediately. We have researched his claim, researched our parking logs, interviewed the staff present that day, spoken to his insurance company, emailed him, spoken to our client and reviewed the police report. There is no evidence that one of our drivers were involved in this proposed incident. We have never ignored his calls, or ignored the calls from his insurance company. They simply did not like the response they received. If the police department that issued a report would like to investigate further, we would be more than happy to cooperate as we wouldn't want a driver of ours acting in this manner either. I don't agree with his accusations of not cooperating as we have done everything we can to research the situation and communicate with him. I was notified months after the proposed incident by his insurance company; not the police or even him. They simply emailed me claiming that we owed them for damages that were caused by our driver along with an estimate for repair and an accident report that doesn't implicate Clayton Valet or any of our drivers. Below is the ONLY interaction we have had with Mr. *********** directly which shows that he just made an attempt to contact us on 7/26 and was responded to immediately. We have been responsive and cooperative. On Sunday, July 26, 2015, ***** ********* <*****> wrote: ****, I have received your email. I was made aware of the alleged incident some time after the date you referenced. I have reviewed the police report, been in contact with Children's Hospital, reviewed our parking logs and interviewed the drivers that worked the day in question. I have also spoken to a representative from ****** By no means have I proven to be uncooperative. We log every car, patient's name and notes for the vehicles we park. Nothing in our records indicates that our drivers were involved in the incident you described. Our drivers were present and accounted for the entire day in question. Had they been responsible for a "hit and run", any interested party would have easily been able to locate the attendants immediately, at their station, directly in front of the garage exit, next to the security office. To my knowledge, there was nothing reported to *********** Hospital at the time, by the police or any other party, as they were unaware of any incident also. The conclusion is that our drivers were not involved. Had they been involved in a situation like this, it would have been addressed immediately. If any of the above referenced parties have any questions, I am available anytime. I'm sorry this occurred but can not find a way to assume it was our driver. I will happily cooperate with any investigation, as I can assure you that we would not want any of our drivers acting in this manner. If we found this to be the case, we would assist in any way possible to search for an adequate resolution. If you have any further information to forward, you may send it to my attention. Thank you, ***** ********* On Jul 26, 2015 4:05 PM, "**** and *** ***********" <*********************> wrote: *****- one of your drivers struck my wife's Chevrolet Suburban at *********** Hospital Parking Garage. The incident was witnessed and reported to STL Police. The vehicle your car was driving was a *** **** Courtesy Car. Not only did your driver strike my wife's car, your drive verbally assaulted her as well as using vulgar sign language. I have had my car repaired and my insurance company, ***** has received no cooperation from Clayton Valet in attempting to resolve this matter. *****, please provide for me the proper contact name to receive legal paperwork on this matter. I will also be sending to the **** Automotive Network as well as *********** Hospital. It is unfortunate that it has come to this but be assured I will use all avenues available to ourselves to resolve this. *********** Hospital was also notified of the incident as well that afternoon. I would appreciate prompt attention to this matter. **** *********** XXX-XXX-XXXX

1/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
12/11/2013 Delivery Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Clayton Valet LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart