BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
St. Louis, MO

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

A J K Enterprise LLC

(636) 485-81782418 Highway 94 South Outer Rd, Saint CharlesMO 63303-8302

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A J K Enterprise LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered A J K Enterprise LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • BBB does not have sufficient background information on this business. BBB made one or more requests for background information from the business. BBB has not received a response from this business and/or has not been able to verify information received from this business.

Factors that raised A J K Enterprise LLC's rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on A J K Enterprise LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
07/19/2012Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Door to door representative offers to clean one area of your home for free with no obligation in the hope you will be a return customer.
On 7/12/12 a representative of AJK Enterprises appeared at my door with an offer to clean my carpet in one area of my home for free. She stated there was no papers to sign & no obligation to use the company. She also stated that this was strictly a marketing gimmic to get business for her company. I agreed to have my stairs cleaned, thinking that if they turned out fine I would hire them to clean the rest of my carpet. She said she would have her guys at my home in 15 min. I immediately came to the BBB site to check the company and their rating out. BBB gave them a A- (questionable). As promised two gentlemen show up in suits with a ***** vacuum. When I tell them that I was under the impression that they were a carpet cleaning company, they tell me that the ***** will shampoo my carpet and if I give them a chance to demonstrate they are sure I will want the vacuum. I tell them that I am not in the market for a vacuum purchase. They come back with please watch the demo, we have a chance for a trip to Las Vegas just for a demo of the vacuum. I agree but am sceptacle. 4 hours later, I am still refusing to buy the product and they are not packing up to leave. The young man at my home demonstrated the vac on everything - blinds, ceiling fans, carpet, tile. When I tell him I am done, he makes a final attempt to clean the promised stairs. He mixes a soap mixture and sprays my steps. It foams up so much that foam is floating around my home. He then spills the non watered down soap at the top of my steps. When I point it out he makes not attempt to clean it up. Since I won't buy the ***** they pack up without cleaning the soap off the steps. When I complain they tell me that I should let it dry and vacuum it up. The ***** would work better to do this but your ***** will be fine. It is now 24 hours later and I have vacuumed several times and the soap stains are still there. I have scrubbed the spots with water but can't get the soap out. I will have to call a professional carpet cleaner to clean this mess up. This is an additional cost I was not expecting to have. This is very upsetting due to the fact that I was in my home bothering no one and now I have to deal with this. I would never use nor recommend this company. I have also called my local law enforcement to make sure they are no longer prowling my neighborhood.

Desired Settlement
Pay to clean the area they soiled. (Staircase and soap spills) Stop the dishonest sales practices!!!!

Business' Initial Response
In response to case# XXXXXXX. We here at AJK Enterprise take great pride in our work and the satisfaction of each and every customer is our main priority. The type of behavior displayed at Mrs. residence is absolutely intolerable and is not an accurate reflection of how business is handled at AJK Enterprise. The proper reprimandable actions have been taken against the representative and we fully intend to satisfy Mrs. and resolve this matter promptly. We shampoo tens of thousands of carpets annually and this is in no way a reflection of AJK Enterprise's business practices. We promptly made contact with Mrs. and resolved the matter verbally.

12/08/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
09/10/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A van full of "new recruits" were dropped off in our neighborhood in Lake St. Louis. At 5:30 p.m. two young people knocked on the door and asked if they could clean our carpets free of charge with no strings attached. When we agreed, they waited outside until the van showed up and dropped off a new Kirby machine. I was told at the beginning they were accredited by the BBB and then later that was retracted. We should have known better at that point that "no strings attached" just became a 3 hour sales pitch. The others in the van came and went several times during this "cleaning". The crew leader (I assume that's what his title is) came back and quoted us a price of $2,486.00 AND then said we could get it that night for $1,250.00. Good deal,,, wrong. The "recruit" told us there was no taxes. When the leaders arrived. There were taxes. My husband was furious and left me with making the final decision to purchase or not. The crew-leaders apologized for the misunderstanding and decided for this misunderstanding they will "throw in" extra vacuumm bags, carpet shampoo, and extenders to clean our extended ceiling. Attempts to make an appt with the owner,*******, to come to our home to discuss failed. His wife *****, always wanted to handle over the phone with her. I called the office on 8/22/14 and asked what the office hours were. I was told they close at 5:00 p.m. I asked if ******* was available, was told he's in and out all the time. My husband and I went to the address that afternoon. No one at said office. Business Licence on door expired. Contacted St. Charles County business office and was told there is no listing for this company. Called the office again today and ***** said they would not take back the Kirby and I will need to take this up with United ******** ********* ********* I have a call out to them. We feel we were SCAMMED and should have called the Lake St. Louis Police when they knocked on the door. We will the next time.
Product_Or_Service: 7/24/14
Account_Number: X-XXX-XXXX - United

Desired Settlement
They come pick up the product and give us a 100% refund! I don't think this "business" actually exists other than cell phones, somebody's garage and very scripted language. These people and this so called company are at the very least shady and untrustworthy

Business Response
The two reps that approached Mrs. ********'s door were doing exactly their job. A free carpet cleaning is what our company offers in return to take a look at the New Kirby Sentria 2. The customers that we show are under no obligation to purchase a home care system. The crew leaders job is to negotiate price, our company allows certain discounts at time of cleaning, for certain household situations and premiums that are available at the time of cleaning. As for the taxes, The state of Missouri mandates that law. When purchase anything in the state of Missouri, you pay taxes. Mrs. ******** then decided to purchase the equipment and signed a legal binding contract to purchase the Kirby with ****** ******** ********* Services. All of the supplies that were promised, were delivered. The contract clearly states that the customer has the right to refund all money and equipment within 3 days of purchase. She contacted our office 25 days after the purchase and was requesting the owner of the company to come to her home to see what her and her husband were promised. Because of the husbands volitile attitude towards our salesmen at the time of purchase, the owner had the office manager try to defuse the situation with Mrs. ******** over the phone. Our office made contact with Mrs. ******** over the phone and it was explained to her that the contract was out of the cancellation period of her contract which released our company from any further obligation to refund. As good business practice, ******* ******(owner) was willing to meet with them at the office to let them voice their concerns. ******** ******, Office Manager spoke with Mrs. ******** several times to make an appointment to meet with Mr. ******, She kept saying she needed to speak with her husband to find a good time and day. Mrs. ******** then called the office on 8/22/14 to ask if Mr. ****** was available, and was told No. Our office does not keep regular business hours. As per city of St. Charles County code, they no longer issue stickers, hence the lack of one hanging on our door. Our business license with the city of St. Charles is up to date. Due to our recent relocation to the St. Charles area, we are in the process of re-establishing our relationship with the better business bureau. Our company has been in business since 2009 and our physical address is clearly stated on the top of the contract that Mrs. ******** signed. Upon their unexpected arrival at our office, to track down Mr. ******, I'm sure they noticed that our office is located in the middle of a business complex. The bottom line is Mrs. ******** invited us into her home, a demonstration was done for her of the home care system, the contract was reviewed with Mrs. ******** and she made the decision to purchase the equipment and of her own free will signed the contract. Which again, clearly stated that she had 3 business days to sign the cancellation notice and mail it into our office. All equipment that was promised to her, was delivered in a prompt and timely manner.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Vacuum Cleaner Sales & Service, Cleaning Supplies, Cleaning / Janitorial Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/19/2010Business started: 01/01/2009
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Anthony J. Kimber (President)
Business Category

Vacuum Cleaner Sales & Service, Cleaning Supplies, Cleaning / Janitorial Services

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for A J K Enterprise LLC

2418 Highway 94 South Outer Rd

Saint Charles, MO 63303-8302

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2418 Highway 94 South Outer Rd 

    Saint Charles, MO 63303-8302(636) 485-8178

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern Missouri & SouthernIllinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*A J K Enterprise LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 2, 2010.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Vacuum Cleaner Sales & Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.