BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/1988

DeClue & Sons Tree Service Inc

Phone: (636) 464-5181Fax: (636) 464-7673View Additional Phone Numbers3500 Telegraph Rd, ArnoldMO 63010-4287

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/1988

BBB has determined that DeClue & Sons Tree Service Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised DeClue & Sons Tree Service Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on DeClue & Sons Tree Service Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
11/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
DeClue & Sons Tree Service was hired by my subdivision that removed 2 trees and damaged the fence in my backyard. I was out of town and believed it happened July 31, 2013. When I called Declue & Sons about the damage, I was told it will be handled by their insurance company. I have not heard back from anybody.

Desired Settlement
I would prefer the fence be repaired or replaced to my satisfaction by a professional.

Business Response
We had done some work for a subdivision, a common ground area. The guys were working behind this home. They said that we damaged their fence. I sent my son over, he was the one who was running the job. He called me back and said there were black marks along the bottom but it was nothing we did. He said there were white scratches but some wd40 got them right off. There was no other damage. I went over personally and stopped by the hardware store and picked up some stuff specifically for vinyl fences. I went over and saw nothing but some small scratches possibly from a lawnmower. I was able to rub off some minor scratches. The lady called me back and I explained there was nothing there and she started threatening to sue me and used foul language. The president of the neighborhood called and apologized that this situation had come up.The consumer was wanting a whole new fence. We go above and beyond to satisfy our customers. The consumer wanted $1,300-$1,600. I agreed to meet her husband over there and explained his wife was rude and threatening and I would not work with her. I called him and told him I was on my way and specifically told him again I would not talk to her. I went up and knocked on the door and then backed away from the door. The first thing that happens is her coming barging out the door and pointing to her neighbors house saying we damaged their siding. I asked her to show me the fence and she showed me the same scuffs. This consumer got extremely belligerent and started screaming at me. I got in my car and left and her husband called me asking where I went. I told him that I already explained I wasn't working with his wife. I told him I apologize for any inconvenience and we did nothing to his fence and told him to have a good life. I already offered to give her $50-$100 to resolve this but then she wanted thousands.

09/26/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We had a contract with this company to trim the trees in our neighbors yard, which joins in our yard leaning over our fence. We were told this was legal and we even got permission from the neighbors. He told me he needed to have the money as soon as they were here. They trimmed the tree and before they were finished with all details of contract, the owner came and wanted me to write a check before they were even finished. He was giving pressuring me into giving him the money immediately. I made a check out to him personally per his request. I called him the following week to tell him he missed some. He told me it was common ground. Its not, its the same fence and hanging the same way and was in the contract. He told me he didn't know what he was going to do. I told him I needed it taken care of. He told me he would get back with me in a couple weeks. Its been a month. He called me last week and told me he would be here Saturday to finish the job to make me happy. I told him that it wasn't about making me happy, it was because its on the contract. He didn't show up. I called today and asked if they would come today because I am having yard work done tomorrow. They came this afternoon and showed them what needed to be cut. They said they already knew. They put their ladder against our fence, which was broken prior but repaired, I told them they could go in our neighbors yard because I would hate to have anything to happen to the fence because I had already paid to repair it. At that, they left without doing any work. I called the owner and he told me I was being unreasonable and was yelling and screaming and telling me I should not have went out there. He then tells me I have been threatening them, which I have not. Whenever I wrote the check out to him and was speaking to his son about the $2,000 bill, his son seemed shocked as if he had been told something else.

Desired Settlement
I would like for the tree to be trimmed according to the contract that they agreed to.

Business' Initial Response
we would like to report that this was a emergency service due to storm damage, but it was for her neighbors tree not hers. but she paid us, we did what the owners of the trees asked us to do.
I told her that i would send guys over to clean up the branches that she requested extra. we have gone over and above our call of duty. she wants us to cut her neighbors trees, but we cannot as we have to get their permission first. we feel this is a invalid complaint. I told her that it was overtime as it was on a Saturday. we have done everything according to the contract and more. she kept harassing my tree crew and she wasn't being reasonable to anything we have done.
she wants us to cut the neighbors trees that aren't even hanging over the fence, we don't even want to go back to this persons house after that experience. we have bent over backwards to satisfy this customer but to no avail. the job is done to our knowledge the limb she called about wasn't on the contract. we went out and did more work and she would let us, by being unreasonable.

Consumer's Final Response
The neighbors tree was damaged to the extent that limbs feel across the fence over to our yard. Their trees were old and branches were going way over the property line and we hired them. The day they started, he asked to be paid about about an hour after they started. He needed the money to pay his workers. I gave him a check and he left. They started finishing up about 1:30 and I brought it to their attention about finishing the work, they packed up and left. I called about the work and he said they would come back, a month later they returned. They were putting a big latter on my fence and I asked them not to damage it and they packed up and left. I did not ask to clean up branches or anything extra.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Tree Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/23/1996Business started: 01/01/1978
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Tina DeClue (Vice President)Mr. Ralph DeClue (President)
Business Category

Tree Service

Alternate Business Names
DeClue's Tree Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

DeClue & Sons Tree Service Inc has received 5.00 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for DeClue & Sons Tree Service Inc

3500 Telegraph Rd

Arnold, MO 63010-4287

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3500 Telegraph Rd 

    Arnold, MO 63010-4287(314) 968-9944
    (314) 968-9940
    (314) 993-4340
    (636) 464-5181
    Fax: (636) 464-7673
    Fax: (636) 464-7673
    Fax: (636) 464-7673
    Fax: (636) 464-7673

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern Missouri & SouthernIllinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*DeClue & Sons Tree Service Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (314) 968-9944
  • (314) 968-9940
  • (314) 993-4340
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 2, 2010.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Tree Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.