BBB Accredited Business since

Darr's Tree Service

Phone: (314) 895-5942 735 Lindsay Ln, Florissant, MO 63031


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Darr's Tree Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Darr's Tree Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Darr's Tree Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 05, 2000 Business started: 09/05/2000 Business started locally: 09/05/2000 Business incorporated 06/17/2014 in MO
Business Management
Clint Darr, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Clint Darr, Owner
Business Category

Tree Service Tree Service - Pruning Hauling & Clean Up Services Snow Removal Service Snow Removal Service - Commercial Stump Removal & Grinding Landscape Contractors Landscaping Clean-Up - Spring & Fall

Alternate Business Names
Darr's Tree Service Storm Damage Relief Team

Additional Locations

  • 735 Lindsay Ln

    Florissant, MO 63031 (314) 895-5942

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Clint Darr cursed me, screamed at me, and threatened to put a lien on my house because I would not pay him immediately upon completion of the job on 4/8/16 (within 10 minutes). His bid said when he removed trees, stumps, and existing fence it would be ready for the fence people to install the fence. I told him I wanted the fence people to verify the area was ready. They were called and later that same day said the ground was OK. I took him a check because he was so hostile and cursing me I was afraid of what he might do. The other issue is: he advertises a 20% discount for seniors in the City of Florissant Senior Resident Golden Age Discount Program Business directory. He refused to honor that discount or give any discount. I have paid him $5000 for removing the trees and then removing the stumps and existing fence. He dented my downspout (about 8 months old) and refused to pay for it. This man made me afraid and also does not honor his commitments. I have notified Florissant of this also.

Desired Settlement: I would like for him to apologize for his irrational behavior and believe I am entitled to some sort of compensation. If he is going to harass me because of this, I will notify the Florissant police.

Business Response:

Ms. *****,

I am writing in response to your complaint filed on 04/15/16 subsequent to the work performed on your property located at # * ********* ****** *********** *** *****.

I am asking that you please accept my profuse apology for my conduct wherein I cursed and screamed at you in addition to making unwarranted threats toward you.  My actions were completely unprofessional and I deeply regret them.

In regard to your not receiving a 20% discount off your bill due to being a senior citizen, the only explanation I can offer is that at that time I was in the process of changing administrative assistants so when the bid sheet was written up for your job there was initially no mention of applying any discounts.  When I was asked to do so after the fact, I regrettably became unreasonably upset and stubborn.

Ma'am, I am very sorry for the way the entire course of events transpired.  If you are willing, I would like to offer you in way of compensation $500.00 in free landscaping or other tree maintenance services to be used in the future at your discretion.

Again, I do hope you will accept my apology.

Sincerely,

***** ** ****
Darr's Tree Service

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********
I am rejecting this response because:

In response to your correspondence dated June 7, 2016 referencing my complaint filed the with Better  Business Bureau, your offer of “…compensation $500.00 in free landscaping or other tree maintenance services to be used in the future at your discretion”  is unacceptable. 

 

I am a 69 year old woman, who you completely traumatized by your admitted actions of screaming, cursing, and making unwarranted threats toward.

 

Your advertisement in the City of Florissant Senior Resident Golden Age Discount Program Business Directory states senior citizens receive a 20% discount. Senior citizens are a very vulnerable group of people who can least afford to pay an additional 20% when they are led to believe they will receive the discount.  If your intention is to not honor this discount, it should be immediately removed from your advertisement in the directory. 

 

In addition you failed to offer me compensation for the damaged gutter, for which I had to absorb the cost of replacing.

 

In lieu of everything that has previously transpired I feel that you should honor your advertisement and issue me a check for $1000.00.

 

Sincerely,

******* *****

 




Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Darr's Tree Service
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart