BBB Accredited Business since

Allen's Tree Service Inc

Phone: (636) 332-5535 Fax: (636) 327-8310 View Additional Phone Numbers 2755 W Pearce Blvd, Wentzville, MO 63385 http://www.allenstreeservice.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Allen's Tree Service Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Allen's Tree Service Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Allen's Tree Service Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 21, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1978 Business started locally: 01/01/1978
Business Management
Gary Allen, President Diann Allen, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Diann Allen, Office Manager
Principal: Gary Allen, President
Business Category

Tree Service Mulches Stump Removal & Grinding Stump Grinding Landscape Contractors Lawn Maintenance


Additional Locations

  • 2755 W Pearce Blvd

    Wentzville, MO 63385 (636) 946-2213 (636) 332-5535

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Back in May, I called Allen's Tree Service. I was referred to them by **** ****** on the radio. I met with someone from the company, *****, about maintenance or my lawn and plants. He came out in May gave me a proposal on 5/31/16. There were some plants that had died that I had from another nursery, but I had a warranty on the plants so they were replaced. He has those on his proposal. I called and told ***** I needed a new proposal. I never received one. I have been waiting all this time for them. I desperately need my lawn attended to. They have had me in limbo since May. I have called there at least 6 times and keep getting the run around. I spoke to the receptionist and she was rude and said he's been trying to reach me. I have nothing on my phone, no messages either. The only time he called was on 8/8 saying he would do the proposal yet I have heard nothing.

Desired Settlement: I would like a new proposal and for them to do the work.

Business Response: We/***** our Plant Health Care Mngr has called and left messages multiple times. There are 4 women receptionist in our office and 3 of them which have heard him leave her messages on different occasions on her answering machine or voice mail in the mornings when he arrives in our office. We spoke to ***** this morning on 8/17 and he said he resent her a new bid and mailed it out to her. We informed her of this on today 8/17/16 and she just kept insisting that we were not listening to her. Yes, we also informed her if she was not happy with our answers or responses and what we have been trying to accommodate her needs,  then yes, she should seek another company to do the work. We were only being honest with her, we have not lied to her, we have returned her calls many times, but are never able to reach her, and have left numerous messages. She kept saying she needs lawn services, which she needs landscaping services. I am sorry for this individual but I  believe this woman is confused and not sure what she really wants or needs. She sounds elderly on the phone and we try to explain what we have done to help her. Maybe a family member should step in, call us and do the scheduling of the work for her. She has not signed a contract or given any permission to do any work for her.

8/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I agreed to contract Allens tree service to cut down several trees and cut the trees into 5' sections. I have a large pile of limbs, brush, and partially cut trees now of which there are many large pieces that have not been cut. I've emailed and called for several months now to no avail. I received a profanity laced tirade from the principal of Allens Tree today and I'm done trying to resolve it. They are not interested in completing the job and I'll look elsewhere.

Desired Settlement: I'll hire another service to complete the job and subtract those costs from the Allens Tree invoice.

Business Response:

Initially on 3/21/16 Mr.***** contacted our office for an estimate concerning a tree struck by lightning. Our estimator bid his work on 3/23/16 which 1 tree was bid 3 different ways, so he could choose which price he wanted to get done. He chose to cut into 5ft sections and leave in the woods-where the tree was located. That is what our estimator written and Mr.***** also typed that on the contract as well. The estimator also given a bid to remove and haul 2 fallen trees behind a gazebo. Mr.***** had our crew cut those 2 trees up as well and throw that debris in the woods, without the estimator or office or owners knowing that which we just recently found out. And we feel we should be paid 1/2 of that portion which was a total of 1250.00 but we are wanting to be paid 625.00 for cutting that up and throwing that debris in the woods. When we mentioned it to him on the phone, he just laughs at us.

On this complaint, this is what occurred. Mr ***** called on 4/29/16 after high winds blew over another tree that fell and it was lodged in another tree. He requested service for a crew to come and take it down. He did not ask for an estimate, he just asked to send a crew. We normally will keep the time and bill accordingly. When the crew arrived at his house on 5/5/16, driving 19 miles away he demanded the laborers give him an estimate and they do not do estimates, they are not estimators, they are laborers. They gave him a price, but which was 800.00 too cheap. The crew was equipped with a specialty lift because it was a hazardous situation and the lift help minimize the situation. The lift had to be on site to get the tree down safely. It was not lodged in 1 other tree, but hung up in 4 other trees. The crew did what they and Mr. ***** agreed upon. They did it the same way as the first tree in the above paragraph-they cut it up into approx. 5 ft lengths and left everything in the woods.

Approx 2-3 weeks later the office accounting department contacted Mr.***** about his account that it was past due. He then sent back an email that he was not happy with the services because much of the debris was not cut into sections. He wanted a phone call, so the owner called him and they spoke. The owner told Mr.***** that he would send the crew back out within the next few days. Another job was scheduled nearby and the owner called Mr.***** and left a message at 7:00AM that the crew would be there the next day, which was the day after the day the owner talked to him on 6/10.

3 days later on 6/13, Mr.***** sent another email that he was still unsatisfied and requesting a call from the owner. So the owner called him and left a message that the owner wanted to come out and meet with him on a Tuesday eve @ 5-7  PM with 2 of the crew that was on the job, and we never received any verification to meet with Mr. *****. We emailed and called him 2 weeks in a row to meet with him asking to meet on Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday eve at 5:00, 6:00 or 7:00PM at his availability, making it as convenient for him as possible and Mr. ***** never replied to any email or phone call messages about meeting with anyone.

The crew did the job exactly like they did the first job and what Mr. ***** and crew agreed on and completed it that day. We feel that we should be paid for the extra work on the 2 previously fallen trees when Mr.***** had the crew cut up & throw that debris in the woods that the estimator bid on, without our knowledge of Mr. ***** having them do extra work.  It was 1250.00, but we fell he should be paying 1/2 of that. Which was not added to his invoice.

Mr. ***** offered to pay us 1500.00, and we will not accept that offer. He also stated that he wants to hire someone else to come and cut more debris up and take that amount off what he owes us and we will not accept that either. We did exactly what was agreed upon and the job is completed as discussed. We tried multiple times by phone an email to take a crew there to met with him, but he never replied back to us.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: That explanation is inaccurate and complete nonsense.



Sincerely,

**** *****

3/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service
12/7/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed a contract October 2, 2015 to prune and cut deadwood off a sweet gum tree. Before I signed the contract I asked when would service start and was told 2 or 3 weeks. However, no one has come out to service the tree. Each time I call I'm given an excuse when you can't get to my home. A neighbor that signed up two weeks ago and lives 5 minutes away had her service performed.

Desired Settlement: I would like the service provided by next week, if not I would like to cancel the contract for a refund and not be assessed the 20% cancellation fee.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/11/30) */ I have given this customer a call. Just so the BBB has on record. The scheduling dept. had called her 1 time that they can remember to inform her of service. The day we did the servicethe scheduling dept.always schedules nearby work orders in the same area or zip codeso that it makes sense to do other work that is nearbysince this is about 45+ miles form our location..That daythe very 1st customer added on additional work and they worked at the same house all day, so the crew was not able to make it to her home for the tree service and it was definitely explained to her that it does happen often (customers add work after we arrive) and did happen the day they did work in that area, and an apology was made. On this day on 11/25 when the work was to be donethe crew was at the job before her and they also added on another tree to pruneso the crew worked later than expected the day before a holiday and got back with trucks and equipment around 5:00 PM, which it was very near darkthey could not have done her work that day. There was not enough daylight to perform the work. The office mngr in the scheduling dept had already left for the holiday weekend by the time she called at about 4:00PM to find out why they were not coming on this day and Ms.****** was informed that she would receive a call on Monday 11/30which the scheduling dept has rescheduled her job to be donemore than likely on Wed 12/2 depending on weather if the rain moves out and looks like it will be. It should definitely be done on 12/2

7/9/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After sending the following email to Allen's tree service, ***** ********* called and said he is unwilling to work with me on pricing charged, in spite of the way the contract is misleading. I informed him that I asked three seperate people prior to my email and all read the contract the same way I did, which is to say the charges would be $375. The following is the email I sent in an attempt to avoid taking this matter to a third party: "Id like to ask that this be forwarded to a manager please. Im very dissatisfied with the way this contract reads. As someone who was referred to your company and someone who has referred others since, I feel mislead, whether intentional or not.It reads Fertilizing 3 pin oaks to improve vigor and system insecticide 3 Pin Oak for prevention of new stem galls each for $375 exactly, with no total at the bottom to indicate that these are separate, but coincidentally the same, charge. I was under the impression that they were both included in the one charge of $375. No one contacted me to go over the proposal, but just left a copy on my front porch.Had I believed the fee was $750 to perform this service, I would have gotten other competitive bids.We are not cheap people, nor are we without means to pay the bill; however, we believe very much in being treated fairly. In this case, we have not been treated fairly and do not believe we should be charged for the service we were not aware we were agreeing to because of the way the contract reads.Please advise ASAP so we can put this matter to rest."

Desired Settlement: Waiving of fees charged for second trip.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/09) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *****; VP Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@allenstreeservice.com In regards to the accusation that our contract was misleading: Allen's fulfills hundreds of plant health care contracts per year, and on every contract our services are itemized with a separate price to allow the customer to choose which services they would like performed. In this particular instance, the customer was offered 2 services, each with a different description along with their corresponding price. The customer has indicated that because the services had the same price, they assumed it was the total, despite the cost for each service being listed separately with no explicit wording indicating that there was a total. It is unfortunate that the customer felt mislead as it is our intention to satisfy every customer, but over the years we have written thousands of plant health care contracts in this manner and this is the first time we have had a complaint about the contract being misleading. We at Allen's feel that the customer simply made an improper assumption. In regards to being treated fairly: Allen's performed all of the treatments as described and agreed upon on the contract at a fair market value. We did not charge the customer any more for each service than we would have charged anyone else, therefore, we feel that the customer leaving negative feedback indicating that they were treated unfairly is not only inappropriate, but slanderous. Kevin contacted the customer as soon as we received the email and offered them a discount as a gesture of good faith, but the customer refused our assistance as they felt the charges should be dropped completely. Most of our customers are willing to make an appointment to meet with the estimators, but this customer opted not to be there at the time of the estimate. We will not waive the fee as charged.

6/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I feel that Allen's took advantage of my 90 year old father in their follow-up to a bid of a tree removal. We were in the process of obtaining bids. RE: male age 90,Lindenwood St., Ofallon. We were obtaining bids for tree removal, Allen's was $2400 with no stump grinding. We had another bid for $1800 with stump grinding. We are in process of getting new roof and told Dad to hold off on the tree until later. He was then contacted by Allen's and apparently then signed the contract. When they showed up later to cut the tree he tried to cancel but was told there would be a 20% fee. When I called the office the lady denied that they had contacted my father after the bid and stated that he signed it that day. I saw the unsigned copies at Dad's so she was untruthful. I feel that he was taken advantage of as a senior citizen.

Desired Settlement: I paid the bill, but after thinking about how the situation played out, I called the office and spoke to a lady who denied that they had called my father, that he had signed the bid on the day it was given, which I know he did not. An apology and an adjustment on the bill would be acceptable.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/06/17) */ First, I would like to state that we have been in business for over 36 year. We work for numerous older customers/citizens and we do NOT take advantage of them. It would be like taking advantage of our parents. You hear of that stuff on the news, and we don't do that and I do not want it to happen to my relatives. We do not appreciate that comment. We know older citizens are on fixed incomes. We are not "pushy" sales people. We do not make anyone sign a contract if they do not wish to. We do not call them and bug them over the phone as some companies do to try and make that sale. We have never done that and we did not do this with her father. We can and have offered them to make monthly payments, if it's something they need done and cannot afford to pay all at once. But this was not the circumstance, that we knew of. Mr. ******* called us on 5/5/15 for an estimate and informed the office staff that he had received a Money Mailer advertisement in the mail and that is how he contacted us for the estimate. We made an appointment with him for an estimator and certified arborist to go talk to him about his tree on 5/15/15, which he did. Our estimator given Mr. ******* the bid and Mr. ******* signed the contract right there on the spot to agree to have his tree removed by our company. Again, our salesman are not pushy sales people, nor do they attempt to make anyone agree to anything if they don't want to have the work done, we do operate that way. The scheduling department called Mr.******* the day before it was scheduled and informed him that the crew would arrive the day of 5/26 to remove his tree and he said it was okay with him. The crew arrived as stated and removed the tree and completed the work. The office sent him an invoice on 5/27 and it was paid on 5/29. Now we are receiving this complaint. Along with the invoice, we sent a copy of his signed contract in the mail. The daughter states that she saw the "unsigned" contract in his house. That can't be true. He signed the day the bid was given to him. I have the original copy if she would like to come by our office and see that he signed it in pen ink that day and it is an original copy. I will not give it to her, but can email her a copy of it as well. They were getting bids and had a bid for 1800.00. We didn't know anything about that bid, how were we suppose to know. But that wasn't our price and we couldn't have done it for that price either. We don't know if after he signed our contract if they were still getting bids or how all that took place. All we know is that he called for the bid, we gave him the bid, he signed the contract and we performed the work. We never made a "follow-up" call to him. We do not do that.As far as cancelling the work, upon arriving to his home. Yes there would have been a 250.000 trip charge fee (that is stated on the back of the contract), because there were 4 men on that crew, 2 trucks, a chipper, and a lift. All totaling about 268,000.00 worth of equipment sitting in front of his house, so we have to be paid something for taking all that equipment to his house and not being able to do the work and a 20% cancellation charge of the contracted amount of the work order. So both fees would have applied in the instance. But he agreed to let the crew go ahead and do the job since they were there, I assume. As far as an adjustment, there is no adjustment. We did what we were suppose to do and the amount we had given to him. As far as her being upset with us, maybe she should have been the person that met with the tree companies and received the bids from the different companies. As far as her being the POA for him, maybe she should make sure she knows what her dad is signing before he agrees to sign something. Maybe she should tell her father he can't sign anything for anyone if he is the person to seek the bids, and she should retrieve those bids from him and make the decision on who she will hire. I think that she owes our company an apology for this complaint and accusations she is making about how we operate. She does not work for us and knows nothing about our company. Because this complaint will stay on our record now for 3 years. Resolved or not.

3/12/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Allen's Tree Service; did not perform the services verbally agreed upon, subsequently they sent me an unjustified cancellation charge of $125.00 On September 25th, 2014 Allen's Tree Service sent ***** to provide an estimate for the following services: trimming of one oak tree, and the hauling away of brush and wood from that tree. The experience I received from ***** was great, he was polite, informative and reasonable, I chose Allen's Tree Service for the work to be completed based on my experience with him and signed the acceptance of proposal on October 2nd, 2014. On the 25th of September, ***** verbally communicated to me that the scope of work would be completed within 8-12 weeks from the date of the proposal being signed. ***** verbally communicated and assured me that the scope of work would be completed before December 25th, 2014; which puts the scope of work to be completed within a time frame of 12 weeks. After two weeks from the date ***** verbally communicated the scope of work was to be completed by, and as a result of not receiving one phone call, email or text message through out the entire process; I determined the verbal agreement established when signing the agreement with Allen's Tree Service to be void. Subsequently, I signed another agreement with another company to perform the scope of work I had initially agreed upon with Allen's Tree Service. Here's where things get out of hand and escalate, ironically I received a phone call from Allen's Tree Service one day after I had scheduled a date for work to begin with **** Tree Service. The secretary from Allen's Tree Service called to confirm the date of January 28th, 2015 for work to begin. I informed the secretary that her phone call was the first time I had heard from them regarding the scope of work that was to be completed by December 25th, 2014; and as a result of work not being completed by the date I was given by *****, and not receiving a phone call, email, text message, or any other form of communication I elected the services of another company. The secretary's response to my grievance was, and I quote "so you're telling me your canceling?" I assume this response was for confirmation in regards to sending me an invoice with a cancellation charge of ($125.00) After receiving the invoice with the cancellation charge I contacted Allen's Tree Service and spoke with the secretary with the intent of explaining the reasons for why I elected the services of another company, hoping they would dismiss the cancellation charge as a result of realizing their mistake resulting from a poorly managed company. The secretary argued they were running behind the initial date given for work to be completed by December 25th, 2014 for many reasons. Additionally, she stated that someone in the scheduling department contacted me in the middle of December informing me they were running behind, and scheduled the next available date of January 28th, 2015. If what the secretary said was true I would not have elected the services of another company. In my phone conversation with the secretary from Allen's Tree Service, she was impolite, inconsiderate and overall just bad mannered. Overall, my experience with Allen's Tree Service has been disappointing and stressful to say the least.

Desired Settlement: Allen's Tree Service sent me an unjustifiable cancelation charge of 125.00, because of my awful experience with the representative(secretary) of that company I gave up on trying to communicate a compromise to their unjustified reasoning for sending me a cancellation charge, in all honesty I'd rather just pay the $125.00 and be done with it, however I cannot morally justify paying for someone else's negligent mistake as a result of their inadequate ability to properly manage their own company. I want Allen's Tree Service to retract their unsupported cancelation charge, and I want a letter from Allen's Tree Service showing that this charge has been settled. Thank you, **** ****

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/12) */ I would first state that the customer called on 9/25/14 and the estimate was given to him to deadwood and prune his oak tree off the house on 10/2/14. He was advised that the schedule for the crew to perform the services was running out about 8-12 weeks. Which would have put his work order to be scheduled at or around the first of December to the first of January 2015, with the exception of rain, precipitation, extreme cold weather, windy days, etc. The reason for this is because we work outdoors and depending on what kind of weather we have, it can put us behind or ahead. October through February are very uncertain times because of rain, winds, colder freezing temps etc. With our field of work we cannot specifically schedule a job each day because we depend on weather. If we do this and miss a day due to bad weather; we then have to call every customer and push them back however many days we just missed. This would be very time consuming and upset many people. The crew that our estimator felt needed to do the work had been scheduled out for months at the time when the contract was signed, and the customer was given notice of that and still agreed to the contract; which was signed while ***** was there on 10/2/14, and was entered into our system on 10/3/14. ***** did not and cannot make a customer a "promise" that the work will be done by a certain date due to the above reasons, therefore ***** could not have assured him that it would be done by Christmas; he can only give the time frame with the above exception kept in mind. There was a delay in that time frame due to weather as mentioned before, but we also experienced a higher than usual illness rate within our tree crews; being that they work closely together and use some of the same tools. The customer states there was no communication. The scheduling dept. spoke to him in mid-December. They informed him that they were a little behind with wet weather, a few very cold days and windy days that the crew chose not to climb trees on those days and sickness within the tree crews. She told him that she would contact ******UE to get the wire drop scheduled and get back to him with a date. When we call ******, we inform them of the work and the zip code that the customer resides. Depending on where that is, they tell us, when they can drop the line in order for the services, which we have no control of at all. After calling ******UE to set up a date; the scheduling dept. called Mr. **** on 1/15/15 and informed him, ****** given us a date of 1/28/15 for a wire drop in order to complete the pruning work. He told her that he decided to go with another company and they were to do the work on 1/29/15, the day after which we had already scheduled it. She talked to him and explained the situation and he still decided upon his own accord to cancel our contract. The customer states that after two weeks the Christmas date, he considered the contract to be void. Nowhere on our contract or policy does it state if the job is not completed by xxx date, the contract will be voided. He just assumed that. When a customer signs a contract, we count on that work to keep our crews busy all year round. We count on that work, and by signing a contract, means that the customer agrees to have the services performed. By his signature on the contract, it states that he agreed to all of our terms on our contract, which our contracts are outlined with all of our company's policies, such as our cancellation charges. After he told the scheduling dept. he was indeed cancelling the work order, yes we sent him an invoice for the cancellation charge. His comments about our secretary being "impolite, inconsiderate, and over all just bad mannered", is incorrect and should be treated as hearsay. We have 4 secretaries in our office; so we know who spoke with him, and know she was not any of those things during their brief conversation. We take pride in our overall customer service and their satisfaction. Our cancellation charge is not unjustifiable as proven by our statements above, and will not retract this invoice.

7/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
6/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Allen's Tree Service Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart