BBB Accredited Business since

Aamco Transmission

Additional Locations

Phone: (618) 222-2626 Fax: (618) 239-9137 PO Box 3002, Fairview Heights, IL 62208 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Aamco Transmission meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Aamco Transmission
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 24, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1999 in NJ Business started locally: 01/01/1999
Business Management
Ms. Tami Louis, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Tami Louis, President
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Air Conditioning Repair Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Suspension Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Tune-Up Brake Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems

Additional Locations

  • 5609 N Illinois St

    Fairview Heights, IL 62208 (618) 222-2626

  • PO Box 3002

    Fairview Heights, IL 62208


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/12/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fairview Heights, ILLINOIS. April 1, 2016 I was 100 miles from St. Louis, MO, when my transmission failed. Eventually, my car was towed to AAMCO Transmissions in Fairview Heights, IL, on April 2. I get there on Monday, Apr 4, and asked about my options. After the diagnostic they told me that the transmission needs to be replaced. "How is that?" I asked. "You are a transmission company, can you just repair it?". And you know what? NO! THEY CANNOT REPAIR! They can only rebuilt it! And rebuilding will cost $3500. And they told me, that it would be better just to put in a used transmission. "Ok. Do you have one?" asked I. They told me that they will find a used transmission for me. After few hours of waiting they told me that they've got a used transmission for $1100. I asked about the warranty on this transmission and this ***** the manager told me that it is 90 days parts and labor warranty. I thought it was a very great deal and I agreed. He made a photo copy of my credit card information. As I stuck in Fairview Heights with my wife and child, I had not much options to choose from. I left my car there at AAMCO and asked my friend to pick us up. And that day, 04-04-16, we left for our home in Omaha, NE. On 04-06-16 my card was charged for $1100 for a transmission. The next day ***** called me to tell the car is ready but they cannot charge my card because of some issues. I told him that I will be there on Friday, Apr 8, and pay in person. I took a bus to get to St. Louisand than an Uber to get to Fairview Heights. Everything seemed to be good, I paid $900 for labor in cash, except I noticed that in AAMCO receipt there is not a single word about the transmission itself. I asked this ***** about it and after that he gave me an invoice for this transmission assembly from Something Auto Parts to *****'s and AAMCO name. After that I managed to drive back safely to Omaha. In two weeks this transmission failed. I brought the car to local AAMCO in Omaha with all the papers from Fairview Heights AAMCO and left. The next day they calld me and told that Fairview Heights AAMCO refused to pay for this warranty repair because I HAD BOUGHT THE TRANSMISSION MYSELF and THERE IS NOW WARRANTY FOR THE LABOR!!!! I tried to explain that I didn't bought anything by myself, I ordered a comprehensive transmission service. But all was useless! The local AAMCO manager said he doesn't care about anything! It is my problem to solve with Fairview Heights AAMCO shop! I tried to call Fairview Heights AAMCO several times. And the only thing I hear that I bought it myself and it's my problem now! This AAMCO shop just scams people by installing (expletive removed) parts, taking money for labor, and then reinstalling them again and again! Taking money for labor again and again! That's quite a business! And you know what they include to their "parts and labor warranty"?? WARRANTY FOR TRANS.OIL AND OIL FILTER!!! And when I decided to get my car back from local AAMCO shop, manager told me that I got what I deserve because didn't want to rebuild my transmission and just wanted to save some money! THEY ARE JUST BIG FAT SCAMMERS!!! Filing a claim to the court.

Desired Settlement: They supposed to keep up their warranty other than scamming people. And now I don't want any of these shops to do anything with my car. I want them just to give my money back.

Business Response: Mr. ****** had his vehicle towed into our shop and we did a diagnostic on the vehicle.  The vehicle had an internal transmission problem.  There is no repairing an internal transmission problem.  The transmission either has to be rebuilt or replaced.  Mr. ****** did not want to spend the money to rebuild the transmission.  Since replacing the transmission with a remanufactured transmission would have been more expensive than rebuilding his transmission, the only other option was to find a used transmission.  My manager, *****, called several salvage yards to find a used transmission.  To keep the cost at a minimum for Mr. ******, we suggested that he use his credit card and purchase the used transmission directly.  If we buy the used transmission, we must mark up the price to cover our overhead and warranties.  Mr. ****** talked to the salvage yard and purchased the transmission with his own credit card while he was in our front office over the phone.  Any decisions about what type of warranty is a discussion between Mr. ****** and the salvage yard.  (******* Auto)  Never at any time did we make a photocopy of Mr. ******'s credit card. (When ***** called Mr. ****** to let him know that the vehicle was ready for pick up, Mr. ****** gave ***** a credit card number over the phone, but when we tried to charge the card, the transaction would not go through.)  ******* Auto shipped the transmission to us and we did a labor only installation.  That means that our warranty extends to the labor of taking the transmission out and replacing it with the used transmission.  When Mr. ******'s transmission failed once he returned to Omaha, the warranty was through ******* Auto.  They have offered to ship another used transmission to Omaha.  Mr. ****** did not purchase a used unit with labor warranty, so only the transmission itself is under warranty.  In talking to the AAMCO Center in Omaha, and AAMCO's Corporate Office, we have decided that it is only good customer service to replace Mr. ******'s transmission at no cost, even though we are under no obligation to do so.  We have arranged for ******* Auto to ship their replacement transmission to the AAMCO Center located at **** ** **** *** ** *****, and they will replace the transmission and bill our center.  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

****** ******

4/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my car towed to this location to have a transmission put in. I asked the owner, *****, how much he'd charge. He told me $625. I had gotten a transmission myself already. He told me to bring it in and they'd put it in. I took it in to him around the 7th of April. I received the car back on the following Thursday. I drove the car and within two hours the car started straining, repeating the same problem. I called him and told him my car was still doing the same thing. He told me to bring it back to him in the morning and he'd take a look. I took the car to him and he kept it for about 2.5 hours. I got back there to pick my vehicle up and he told me to take it to another place and have the transmission programed. I have a 740 IL BMW. He gave me a place to go to, a place I was familiar with, and he told me to bring it back to him Thursday. He told me to bring it in by 8 and he'd have it to me by 12 for $210. He called me by noon and said to come get my car, but he had bad news. He told me the transmission was bad. I picked up my husband and went to the shop. The transmission I purchased, I have the receipts and serial numbers. He never even put the transmission in my vehicle. Where I purchased the transmission at; they told me when they take my old one out to bring the old core back and I'd get $150 back. When Aamco finished my car my son went and picked the transmission up and that is still in my sons car because I haven't had a chance to take it back for the $150. I called the place I purchased the transmission and he asked for the serial numbers off the old part. I gave them to him and he told me I haven't even installed the part yet. Evidently the transmission in my car is the original and when I gave the man on the phone the serial number on the part I was given, he pulled up his part that he sold me. I was charged $810 by this man, over $200 by another transmission shop, and this man didn't even really replace my transmission.

Desired Settlement: I'd like to be refunded for all of my money so I can get my car repaired properly.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/15) */ Ms. ****** had her 1997 BMW 740il towed to this center on March 30th. It was towed in because the transmission had internal damage to the point that it would not move. Ms. ****** had already purchased a salvage yard transmission and asked us to install that transmission. We had to push the vehicle into our shop. That transmission was installed and Ms. ****** picked up her vehicle on April 2nd. She drove the car out of our parking lot. If we had not removed her transmission and installed the salvage yard transmission that she supplied, she would not of been able to drive the vehicle. Ms. ****** has a ******* type of transmission. That is not a serial number but that number is on a tag on the transmission. Both transmissions would have that number on the tag. When Ms. ****** brought the car back to us, the vehicle had a vehicle speed sensor code. We referred her to Ditzler's Automotive where they have more sophisticated equipment to deal with foreign vehicles. They did a diagnostic and determined that the computer in the vehicle needed to be reprogrammed and they did so. If Ms. ****** is still having problems with her new salvage yard transmission, her warranty is through the company she bought it from. We did not supply the transmission. Our repair order states: Towed in, no movement. Customer has their own used transmission. We performed an AAMCO minor service, component replacement. No warranty on customers own used transmission. Again, we would like to reiterate, that the vehicle did not move and had to be towed in and was pushed into the shop. If Ms. ****** was able to drive the vehicle away, then the salvage yard transmission had to had been installed. We performed the service that was asked of us, therefore we are not willing to refund this customer any money.

12/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had to go to Aamco a total of 3 times to get a check engine light repaired, I had to spend my entire Friday up there. My check engine light comes on I had an used engine put in on 3/14/14 and I brought it to Aamco on 3/21/14 because the check engine light came on. I had went multiple times to get fixed, I tried to get a refund from the shop who did my engine but they advised me that is not their responsibility. I am asking for repairs to my vehicle because my check engine constantly comes on and I have pay everytime it does. This is causing a hardship to keep doing repairing check engine lights.

Desired Settlement: I am asking for my money back because my check engine still comes on and I had to take off work a few times to get it repaired since they are not open on weekends. I have to get another check light problem fixed so I can pass my emissions test otherwise I can't get my new tags in January 2015. I have spent over $1627 on check engine light issues, 3 times at Aamco and another time at ******** in Fairview Heights because I needed a converter. I may need to get another car at this point.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/09) */ On 3/21/2014, Ms. ****** brought her 2001 Plymouth Neon, with XXXXXX miles to our center with a check engine light on. It showed a code of ****** We replaced a TCC solenoid. On 5/9/2014, Ms. ****** returned with a check engine light on and a code of ***** which is a common evap code. We replaced a leak detection pump. On 6/27/2014, Ms. ****** returned with a check engine light on and a code of PO441. This time we replaced an evap valve and a vacuum hose. Some things to note: This is a high mileage vehicle that had a used engine installed by another repair facility prior to Ms. ****** bringing her vehicle to us. There was 7 weeks between each of her visits here. It has been 5 1/2 months since we have last seen this vehicle. All of these repairs come with a 90 day warranty. Check engine lights come on for a multitude of reasons. There are dozens of sensors, solenoids, switches, and valves on this vehicle. Although we did these repairs, it is very possible that the check engine light in a vehicle with 215000 plus miles (in June 2014) and a used engine will come back on. For these reasons, we are denying Ms. ******* request to return her money.

5/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Aamco Transmission
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)