BBB Accredited Business since

AAMCO Total Car Care of Florissant

Phone: (314) 831-0389 Fax: (314) 831-6285 View Additional Phone Numbers 1180 N US Highway 67, Florissant, MO 63031 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.aamcoflorissantmo.com/index.aspx?centerNum=3148310389&request=0 View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Automobile Maintenance and Repair. Transmission Service and Repair.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AAMCO Total Car Care of Florissant meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AAMCO Total Car Care of Florissant include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 17

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AAMCO Total Car Care of Florissant
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 19, 2011 Business started: 01/01/2010 Business started locally: 01/01/2010
Business Management
Mr. David Fuchs, President Ms. Pamela Fuchs, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Fuchs, President
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Air Conditioning Repair Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Suspension Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Tune-Up Brake Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems

Service Area
Saint Louis North County
Alternate Business Names
Aamco Transmissions DLFuchs Corp

Additional Locations

  • 1180 N US Highway 67

    Florissant, MO 63031 (314) 831-2681 (314) 717-0388 (314) 831-0389

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I own 2010 Volkswagen Jetta had linkage problems. I went to AAMCO in July 2015 and paid $1100 to get a new transmission linkage put in. They had it almost two weeks and then it was ready. Got the car back and it wouldn't shift. I made an appointment in September 2015 I made another appointment and took it back in. It still wasn't shifting right when I got it back so I took it in October and after that it would shift but it would get stuck in between gears. In December, I was driving to the driving it to doctor, went to shift gears and the whole handle (gear shift lever) came out. Made it appointment for Feb 4, 2016. Got there and dropped off the car. Went to lunch for 45 minutes. Car still hadn't moved. So I left without any repair.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $300 back, which was the labor charge for the car repair.

Business Response: Customer came in for appointment on Feb 4th to re-attach shift lever and went to lunch while vehicle was here. Came back an hour later and was upset that we hadn't looked at the vehicle yet. Manager told her we had been very busy and he would get it right in and check it for her. She demanded her keys back and was going to file a BBB complaint. Earlier repairs were not on the gear shift lever itself. We have, in good faith, worked with her on getting the earlier shifting issues resolved and were trying to offer continued service. We don't believe any refund for prior work is due and decline to refund any.

Consumer Response: 5/11/2016 4:00 pm I forgot about this complaint. I don't want them to work on my car again. I took back once after they had it for 6 days still not fixed. Took back second time and gear shift came off in my hand. I also found 3 screws in the car.  I cant take it in and wait since smoke is too thick in waiting area and shop.  I understand if I won't let them work on it there is nothing you can do.  Yes this is their only location.

1/26/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my vehicle to this shop due to 3 issues: 1. Vehicle not shifting gears while driving 2. Loud winding noise while driving & 3. Service engine soon light was on. When my mother took my vehicle into the shop for those concerns they stated I need to do a smoke test which I agreed to in order to be able to detect the exact problems. I was already informed it was my transmission from another shop, that's why I decided to take it to a transmission repair shop. After talking to **** the repair person he assured me after asking him multiple times, will the work he's suggesting to be done correct all three of my issues and he reassured me they will be. Which was to replace my lower intake module and not my transmission. So I agreed to the work. After taking my car back and forth for 3 days due to problem after problem. (My vehicle was hesitating, acting like it was going to cut off and shaking while driving.) He started working on parts of my vehicle without contacting me and charging me or they would not release my vehicle. So I had to pay for work on my vehicle that I was unaware was even being worked on until I came to the shop to pick it up. My vehicle's problems are still present & nothing has changed. I spoke to the owner about my concerns and what was told to me and he says, "Well, I'm the owner and I make all the decisions here and I would never say that." I stated to him it was not him that I spoke with, it was **** that told me that. After $1239.36 my vehicle is still not repaired for what I brought it to the shop for but the owner is very unprofessional and not customer friendly with concerns or issues. After so call replacing the intake module no changes in my vehicle not sure why that was replaced with my initial concerns with my vehicle's problems.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like a refund from this company since none of my problems have been corrected after they took all of my money. And my vehicle is still not repaired

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2016/01/26) */ Vehicle was originally brought in on 12/22/2015. Customer had Check in Light on and requested a transmission check out. Our initial check out revealed several issue relating to engine performance but nothing relating to a transmission problem. Vehicle had a System lean bank 2 code, Evap. Leak code, engine oil not showing on the dip stick and Intake melted and leaking anti-freeze. We recommended Diagnostic time for the Lean code and Evap. Leak, and replacement of melted Intake. Customer declined service on this visit. Customer returned on 12/29/2015 for diagnostic and replacement of Melted intake manifold. Upon removal of intake manifold we found antifreeze and sludge in intake ports and thoroughly cleaned the ports prior to installing the replacement intake manifold. Also, seven of the eight ignition coils were original and the coil boots were deteriorated due to coolant leaking into the spark plug ports. We put everything back together and retested the vehicle. We found vehicle to be running better with evap. Code and lean code gone, however, vehicle had a random misfire. To correct this issue we replaced the eight coil boots (at our expense) and that resolved the issue at that time. Customer's mother pickup the vehicle and return a short time later with the engine running rough. Upon, inspection the #4 ignition coil was failing. We replaced the coil, only charging them for the part and the vehicle was returned to the Customer's mother. Customer brought vehicle back again on 1/4/2016. Vehicle was once again running rough and Check engine light on. Inspection revealed Cylinder 6 was misfiring due to failing coil. Talk with customer about the age and mileage on the other 6 coils (193,515 miles and 13 years) that they will probably continue to fail and that Ford recommends replacing the coils all at once. Customer didn't want to replace all of them at this time and we agreed to replace the #6 coil at only the cost of the part. Once repaired we recheck the vehicle, no code or misfire were present. We test drove the vehicle and it ran great, also we took the Customer's mother on a test drive with us prior to delivering the vehicle and everything was working fine. We dealt with the mother and daughter on all issues and feel we did a quality job. We don't believe that a refund is due.

11/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car in on 9-11-15 and was told that I needed a new transmission. Once they did the repairs it was still not fixed so they reordered the parts. They said they would have everything done by the end of last week, Oct. 16th. The business has never called me or communicated to me without me calling them. I called them today to find out the status of my car and I have heard nothing back from them. They quoted me $6764.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to cover the $926 cost of labor because of the length of time they have had my car.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/11/23) */ We have been working on Ms ******* 2004 Saab 9-3 convertible. It has had an issue with the transmission that we were unable to correct. After 3 rebuild/repair attempts we ordered her a Remanufacture Transmission in that has resolved the issues. Between the 3 rebuilds and the ordering and waiting for the replacement unit it has taken us a tremendous amount of time to get her vehicle returned to her. We have compensated her with some new tires and some no-charge parts to correct a cooling system issue and have refunded her $250 as well.

11/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I started having issues with AAMCO about three weeks ago. We brought the 2007 Chevy Equinox to them under warranty and AAMCO said they would run a diagnostic test and contact our warranty company. They did not contact the warranty company, ******, and I had to. They were supposed to fix a transmission leak, remove the nail from the tire and patch, air bag warning on the car, check engine light. The next day the tire burst while I was driving and the check engine light came back on. So we took it back to them a second time on Oct. 21st and AAMCO said they had contacted our warranty company- again they did not call them. We were waiting for them to order a part for the car and we were not called when it came in. I dropped the car off yesterday morning for a third time for them to put the part in my car we were waiting on and my car has still not been fixed. ****** paid AAMCO on the 8th for the services so I have to keep using this company or else I would have taken my car somewhere else.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to communicate to me what is going on with my car. I am without a car and I do not want to keep calling the warranty company and AAMCO to get updates when they should be proving me with them.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/11/23) */ We work with extend warranty companies regularly! There is a process to repairs with them and it takes more time then working directly for the customer. That being said Ms **** needs her vehicle and can only leave it for short periods of time. Her last visit, we did not get to her vehicle the afternoon she dropped it off but did look at it the next morning. The vehicle ended up being sent on to the Chevy Dealer for computer related issues.

7/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They did work on my air conditioner in my car. They said they did not have the proper tool to insert the freon. They worked on the the retro fit A/C system, and a month later it started going hot again.I had to bring it back into them. They also did a transmission pan and filter service. They worked on my car May 23, 2015. Yesterday 6/11/15 was the 4th time I had to take it back to them for issues on the work they did. They said I needed to pay them $840 dollars for more work.I have brought my car back to them numerous times, and they are just now figuring out that the car needs more major work. I just do not understand. I paid them $329.32 for the A/C system and the transmission issues. I want my money back. They refused to give me the name of the owner. Was really nasty to me, and he called me a liar.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back because they did not properly fix my car

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/07/07) */ Ms. ********** brought her vehicle to us on May 23, 2014 for A/C System check out and a Transmission Fluid service. Her 1992 Chrysler New Yorker had an A/C system with R-12 refrigerant and the system was not operating due to lack of refrigerant. Upon inspection we found no obvious leaks and determined that we would need to recharge the system and add dye to be able to find any leaks in the system. To recharge an R-12 system we are required to convert the system to use the newer, more environmentally friendly R-134. We charged her $169.99 to convert (retro-fit) her A/C system and recharge with R-134 refrigerant. The system worked after the conversion with no leaks noted. Ms. ********** returned August 15th, 2014 with the A/C system not working. We inspected the system again and found a fitting that appeared to be seeping, we replaced it and recharged the system with refrigerant. We did this at no charge to Ms. **********. In October she returned again, we found no leaks and again re-charged the system at no charge to Ms. **********. May 29, 2015 she returned again with the A/C System not working. We checked the system again and we found no leaks in any of the visible parts of the system. We explained to her that the leak had to be in the condensing unit that is inside the dash of the car, but we would recharge the system with dye one more time, again at no charge to her. Apparently it stopped working again and on June 11th, 2015 returned again and we again rechecked the system for leaks and found no external leaks. We then quoted her the cost to replace the condensing unit inside the dash. We feel we have been fair in our treatment of Ms. ********** and that we have tried to help resolve her very slow leaking A/C problem.

7/1/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The end of 2014 my 2007 Pontiac Grand Prix was towed to your shop for multiple problems and I was given an estimate. You offer 90 day interest free financing and I applied, but was denied and was not able to have my car repaired. Recently I came in with a neighbor that brought a vehicle in. I explained to your representative about being denied approval for financing and the representative encouraged me to apply again, which I did and was approved. My Grand Prix was towed in June 11, 2015 for repair. The repair was $2410 and the financing was $2460. However, after agreeing to the financing talone is $3900 totaling $6400. I was not aware of the finance charge.

Desired Settlement: I would like the finance charge removed $3990.75

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/07/01) */ On June 10, 2015 ******** ********* had her 2007 Pontiac Grand Prix towed into our shop. Ms. ********* was interested in financing, and wanted to apply for our 90 days interest free option. Unfortunately the customer was denied for that financing option, so we had to look at further options. I explained our other financing options to Ms. *********, and from there she applied for ******** ***** ******** Ms. ********* was approved for up to $2475.00, and her total bill was $2,410.38. On June 11, Ms. ********* came back in to pick up her vehicle, and to discuss the terms and conditions of the financing loan. Ms. ********* was explained that the loan was 10% interest per month, but she can always pay the loan off early. The loan is for approximately two years, and has to be paid in full by June 9, 2017. If the loan is paid off early, there is no penalty, and it will drop off the remaining months of interest. Ms. ********* was not happy about the interest fee, but decided this was the only way that she could afford to repair her vehicle. After going over the loan with Ms. *********, she signed paperwork, and the paperwork was faxed over. Financing loans are not finalized and funded until all required documents have been signed and faxed over. The customer agreed to the loan, and signed the required paperwork. The Loan agreement is between Ms. ********* and ******** ***** ******** Interest is only due on the loan balance that is outstanding. Paying off the loan early and making extra payment will reduce the interest that accrues. There was no upfront loan fee or total interest due immediately, the only interest is the 10% per month on the amount that is then currently outstanding. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (1500, 8, 2015/07/01) */

5/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car was taken in for service on April 3, 2015, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT was on. I was told the part won't be in until Saturday, April 4th. Fine. April 4th I received a call from the mechanic informing me, my vehicle is ready for pick-up, closing at 12:00pm. So, I picked up my car. As I proceeded into traffic on Lindbergh, I did not get 2 blocks and the light came back on. I immediately headed back toward the auto shop. Well, when I got there I was informed the mechanics had gone for the day and will not return until Monday. I was given the choice to leave my car or drive it home and bring it back. I chose to leave my car. I was also informed Mondays and Tuesdays are the busiest days so my vehicle will not get looked at until Wednesday, April 8th. The entire week passed without anyone contacting me informing me of the status. I called the week of April 13th and was told to be patient, as there was a wire shortage and they were trying to locate. Fine, i wanted my car repaired correctly. Well the week of April 20th, guess what nothing. I still have not received my car. Instead I have been threatened if I can not wait, I am more than happy to come pick up my car, "as is". This is no way to treat a paying customer! I am very frustrated and my patience is no more. This is totally unacceptable! I will never conduct business with this establish or any other Aamco. I only have harsh words to describe my service with this company. Everyone I know and those I don't, will know my experience. Product_Or_Service: service obtained

Desired Settlement: Refund for my time and loss of transportation. But first and foremost I want my vehicle currently repaired, without fear of further damage done to my vehicle for retaliation. If you can't fix it, take it to the dealer. Give me my money back and let me deal with the problem. I can't do no worse that what has already been done.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/05/14) */ Apparently there was a communication problem, as we were communicating with Ms. ******'s Son regarding the tracking down of the wiring issues with her vehicle. We were working on this around other jobs at our shop to try and keep the cost down for them rather than just bring it in and work on it and billing them by the hour. Her vehicle was here for a number of weeks and we talked to her Son at least once a week regarding our progress. Upon receipt of this complaint we contacted Ms. ******* and her Son. We discussed options for repair/returning the vehicle, we then offered to refunded the money she spent with us on the sensor that hadn't fixed the problem and they could come get the vehicle. At that point everyone felt that was for the best. So a refund of $392.61 was issued on April 29th, 2015 and they came too picked up the vehicle and the Check.

3/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I dropped my vehicle off at this location at about 8am on the morning of February 02, 2015. I was picked up at about 8:45 am. i called the shop twice to check on my vehicle and so info was given until the second call. after i picked my son up from school i just headed to the shop with hopes of the test being done and price for services given. As I'm approaching the shop I see my vehicle stopped at a light about 4-5 blocks from the shop. I enter the shop and let them know I'm here to pick up my vehicle not disclosing I just saw it. The cashier asks my name and phone number. She then shuffles around on her desk and check the back. The manager then steps out and show me a replacement part for my vehicle . I then say no thats ok I just want my car, he says ok its in the back give me a moment. I see him pacing and then tell him you can't find it because I just saw it down the street. he says no that wasn't it. We then start to argue and he walks away to the back of the shop and i look to my left and I see my vehicle turn the corner. I then yell out that the car thats suppose to be in the back just turned the corner. I state to him that thats some bs because I trust you with my vehicle and you let someone drive it.(A employee). At anytime did he state this was a test drive but he couldn't because no work was suppose to be done . I was just getting a diagnostic test ran. Order_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund on the services because I feel as if they used my car for their services and not mine.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/17) */ Customers 2005 Trailblazer was in our shop for diagnostics on February 2nd, 2015. Customer was very upset that we would drive her vehicle for any reason as it was only here for diagnostics. Most vehicles that are in for diagnostics are test driven at some point to verify the issues being diagnosed or repaired. Her vehicle was test driven to verify if all Check Engine Light codes remained after a broken wire was found/repaired. We provided the diagnostic service and estimates for repair that we were requested. We don't feel that a refund is due.

12/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This particular company does not stand by their word. Price Changes, unprofessional behavior by the manager ****. Told us if we complain doesn't matter because they are independently owned. The car in question is my daughters car and she has two babies (4 yrs and 13 months) and wqe want them safe. Even though my husband and I do not make a lot of money we assumed taking the car to a well known repair shop we would not have any issues, but we were wrong. The way we were treated by **** was degrading. Car went in for exhaust to quite it down, which they did but motor came back ticking and speedometer was not accurate (which both these had no issues when car went in). We were told it was an engine cluster for speedometer which we were also told they don't fix. Engine cluster was replaced and this still did not the problem. This is the second time we have taken car in to be repaired (two different issues) but each time we still come out of our pocket to fix something they messed up. The first time we overlooked it but this was the last straw.

Desired Settlement: $5000.00. Still Issues with car

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/11) */ On Sept 26th, 2014 we repaired an exhaust leak and some engine mounts on customers 2000 Pontiac Bonneville. Customer came in on Oct. 7th, 2014 with a complaint of the speedometer not working, and immediately blamed us stating the repairs we made caused the speedometer to stop working. Obviously we know that isn't possible but to make them happy, we offered to do a quick check-out. Upon a quick visual inspection, we stated the instrument cluster could be bad. But we needed to do more diagnostic to verify it. They took the car after they claimed we should pay for it and we declined. Apparently, they have since had a cluster put in elsewhere and it did not fix the problem. We don't know if they had any further diagnostic's done either before or after the cluster replacement! We would be willing to recheck the cluster issue if they would like, but in no way are we responsible for the problem they are having.

8/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/15/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: September 25, 2013 I took my car in for a transmission light that was on. They told me that I had a problem with the pump and converter. They said they would have to break down the transmission. When they did that they said I had to have them rebuild it or get a used one. I asked them to give me my transmission and all the bolts back and put a used one in. I got a used on and they charged me $1,723.00 with a 90 day warranty. October 3, 2013 I called them to let them know the transmission light came on. Mr. ******** (service manager)said that there is nothing wrong with the transmission. He said it was the converter. I told him it was all to be fixed and he said no. He said nothing about the converter being bad and didn't fix it. He lead me to believe that putting the transmission in would take care of the car problem. He was rude to me. I asked him to give me the bolts to my transmission and he said forget it. He wanted to charge me for a converter.

Desired Settlement: I want them to fix the car. Everything should be covered.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/15) */ Store Managers response to Mrs. Complaint: When Mrs. originally came in she had 5 codes (check engine light) in the vehicles computer system, 4 of the 5 were transmission codes. The 5th code was for a Catalytic Convertor (exhaust) deficiency. It was explained to her that fixing the transmission would resolve most of the issues and that we would reset the codes to "see" if the catalytic convertor code would come back after the transmission repairs were made. At that time she seemed fine with that. After opting for a used transmission and that transmission being installed, she called and requested the old transmission unit to be returned to her. I told her then that there was a core charge that she would have to pay. She refused, but to make our customer happy we boxed up the transmission and put it in her trunk. She picked up the vehicle and left with the transmission working great. Several days later she came in with a check engine light on. We checked it out and the Computer code was again for Catalytic Convertor. I started to tell her she needed to replace the Catalytic Convertor. At which point she snatched her keys out of my hand and said "I know where this is gonna go". Before I could reply she became very agitated and disrespectful, she was then asked to leave our store. We repaired what we were authorized to and that repair is not the customer's current complaint.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on AAMCO Total Car Care of Florissant
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)