This business is not BBB accredited.

Whittle Shortline Railroad

Phone: (314) 882-3101 448 E Clinton Pl, Kirkwood, MO 63122 https://woodentrain.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Whittle Shortline Railroad include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Whittle Shortline Railroad
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 22, 2013
Business Category

Toys - Retail


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    448 E Clinton Pl

    Kirkwood, MO 63122 (314) 882-3101

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Order Placed, Card charged...nothing delivered!! I placed an order on April 21, 2015 for a train. My card was charged $67.45 on April 25, 2015. I never received anything. I sent an email with the invoice number and my information and all of my order details, I received no response. I call and leave messages and get no response. Basically my money was stolen and nothing was delivered! Invoice# XXXXXXXXXX Invoice Date: 04/21/2015 16:24:41 UP Frt Set Union Pacific Freight Train Set $59.95 $59.95

Desired Settlement: I am requesting my money be refunded at this point. My sons birthday was April 23, 2015 and we are well past that without a single response from this company. Its sad because my son really enjoys wooden trains. I wish they could deliver the product they steal your money for! But at this pointer I am really looking for a refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/15) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********* Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX Contact Email: ********@gmail.com We were in the process of expanding and moving our location. We announced so on our web site and told our visitors that orders placed between 1 April and 15 May may be delayed due to the interruption in production. Our move is now complete and all orders placed during that period will begin processing this weekend. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/05/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There was nothing saying there was a delay due to moving on the website. In addition I just received a message from someone named "*****" from whittle saying that the reason I didn't receive any train was there was a delay in the wood shipment. 2 different explanations why I never received anything. As of yet I have still not received anything, due to the 2 different explanations and still not receiving any product but the money was deducted over a month ago. I do not feel comfortable closing this complaint until either I have received what i was charged and ordered over a month ago for, or refunded the money.

3/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Placed an order on 7/29 for a train set. Have not received a shipping confirmation as of yet. I've called 4 times and emailed 4 times no response. I placed an order for a train set for my son on 7/29 through the company's website. The website indicated that there were 4 sets available at time of my order and currently 2 sets are still available as of 8/23. I received an email immediately after ordering with order confirmation #XXXXXXXXXX and my credit card was charged immediately. After a week passed with no shipping information I sent a contact me request through the company's website and received a response on 8/4 that he was not in the shop on that day but he would check on it the next day and he said he expected it should ship on 8/5, still never received a confirmation, this was the last response of any kind I received from the company. Have since emailed the company 3 more times and have received no response also have called the phone numbers listed on website and have left messages with no response. I have even sent a request to the company if they weren't going to ship the order to just refund my credit card.

Desired Settlement: At this point I would like to have the item either shipped or to just refund my credit card.

Business Response: Consumer's Final Response /* (-5, 6, 2013/09/05) */ Thank you for your assistance. The shipment has been received, the above case can be closed. Thanks Submit: Send

8/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged $169.85 8/5 on my credit card and have no idea when or if the products were shipped. I've called and emailed 2x, no answer from company. I placed an order for three train sets for our son via their website on 8/2/13. The site showed that the train sets were available. I was sent an email confirming the order and was told I'd receive an email when they shipped. I found out that my credit card was charged the full amount on 8/5/13 and I have yet to receive my shipping email. I tried calling several times and always get a recording to just leave a message. I emailed twice with no response. Whenever I ordered from an online company (in the past)and they didn't have an item, I was always advised of it and was NEVER charged until it was shipped! If I just received the trains and there was a problem with one, how am I as a customer supposed to talk to anyone when you always reach an answering machine?

Desired Settlement: I would like my order cancelled and a full refund. I thought the items were in stock or else I wouldn't have ordered them. The website is misleading. If they do not have an item available, it should state it. To charge a customer for a product before it is available to be shipped is bad business and I do not want to spend my money on such a company.

Business Response: Consumer's Final Response /* (-5, 5, 2013/08/19) */ I never heard back from the company, but my items all arrived today via USPS. Please close my complaint. Thanks


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Whittle Shortline Railroad
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)