BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In St. Louis, MO

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/31/2000

Build A Bear Workshop Inc (Headquarters)

Phone: (314) 423-8000Fax: (314) 423-8188

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues2
Problems with Product / Service9
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints13

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (13)BBB Closure Definitions
11/27/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Advertisement misrepresented a service

Complaint: Numerous request to be removed from the email advertising have been made. I continue to get emails several times a week. The first several requests received a response stating they would remove immediately. They did not. The last two requests including notification that the BBB would be contacted did not receive a response.

Initial Business Response
Build-A-Bear Workshop apologizes for the problems our Guest experienced with opting out of our communications. We take opt out requests seriously and feel confident we have removed all records and opted our Guest completely from our communications. We have notified our Guest by email and are sending a gift card to her by mail to use for a future visit to Build-A-Bear Workshop.

09/25/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized credit card charges

Complaint: Build a Bear Workshop (XXXX) charged my CitiBank credit card for $100.00 USD on May 3, 2013.I have nothing to do with this charge. I did not make it. I have never purchased anything from Build a Bear. I do not live in Moussouri, have any children, or purchased any toys in at least 30 years.I do not know from where this fraudulent charge comes. There have been no other fraudulent charges on this account.Although I have contacted them at this number: XXX-XXX-XXXX; no-one has responded. They have not responded to CitiBank's dispute resolution attempt, either.I want this money returned to my account.
Product_Or_Service: none
Order_Number: n/a
Account_Number: n/a

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX x. ****
Contact Email: ******@buildabear.com
Build-A-Bear Workshop wants to assist and upon receiving notice of this complaint, has made at the phone number listed on the complaint as more information is needed from consumer in order to resolve. We have also emailed consumer at the email address provided in this complaint and have not received a response. We are unable to provide a satisfactory resolution until we have the opportunity to obtain more detail from consumer. If consumer responds back to us, we will be happy to assist her.

Final Consumer Response
9/20/2013: This matter has been resolved.

Final Business Response
Thank you for your communication to Build-A-Bear Workshop about complaint by ***** *** ****. As you will see in our response filed with you, ***** *** **** has not responded to our emails or phone calls to allow us to provide assistance. Her complaint did not provide sufficient detail in order for us to investigate and bring her complaint to a resolution. We will appreciate any effort you can make to facilitate contact between us. It may be that she will have a different email or phone number you can obtain for us.

Please be assured we are most eager to be cooperative and helpful to close this out for the benefit of all parties involved. We will be watchful for your contact with us and request that you work with me as I am the point of contact for Better Business Bureau issues.

Sincerely yours,



03/20/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: Tried to order online from Build A Bear they would not honor free shipping on any order which is posted good until Feb. 14, 2013.Plus the coupon codes on their website was not working, plus the $10 gift card that you get for $5 with a $20 purchase wasn't working. Called 800 number. (NAME) didnt care and didn't help. This is the 5th time I had problems with BuildABear.com
Order_Number: couldn't complete on

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title:
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX,
Contact Email: *****@buildabear.com
Build-A-Bear Workshop appreciated the opportunity to respond back to consumer to further assist. We have issued a gift card which she indicated was satisfactory resolution. Please close this as resolved.

Business' Final Response
Dear Better Business Bureau,

We had received this report and resolved earlier. I am sure I had submitted a response back to you advising that we contacted our Guest to assist and that the issue was resolved to her satisfaction. I have again submitted a response and want to just check in with you to ensure it was received. Please let me know if you do not have the response from me in this complaint.

Sincerely yours,

04/11/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: I have tried their unsubscribe link and even emailed them.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: *********** Mgr Guest Svc
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX. 5204
Contact Email: *****@buildabear.com
We are sorry for the problems that Mr. experienced with unsubscribing from email with Build-A-Bear Workshop. We received the notice of complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau and have investigated in detail. We can report that the email *****@mchsi.com was opted out of our email on 2/18/12. This is the only history we have for this email address. We also checked the physical address and found another email address registered in a name other than Mr. name. However, that address has been opted out since 4/2/2011. We believe that person is probably a previous resident at the same physical address as the last names are different.

We have emailed Mr. that the email address has been opted out and have advised that if he receives any further email from Build-A-Bear Workshop, it may for a different email address than what he provided to us. We have asked him to let us know if that happens and if he has other email addresses that we can research for in our records to ensure they are also opted out.

We feel confident we have responded to opt out this email address. We request that this report be closed based on our actions and response back to Mr.
Please contact ***********, Manager, Guest Services for Build-A-Bear Workshop if you have questions.

*****@buildabear.com
www.buildabear.com

02/23/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Inappropriate behavior by customer service personnel

Complaint: Early this morning I attempted to place an order for a BuildABear Bear. Upon checkout I kept receiving errors that my card was declined, card declind: merchant override, and then just declined again. I assumed I typed my debit card information wrong as I was certain the funds were available. I tried this a few times always getting the same error.

I opened my bank account and found that I had been charged three times for $76.09. I waited until Customer Service was upon and called for help. I was told rudely that no order(s) were found and that all I could do was wait for the charges to disappear but the agent would be happy to help me place the order over the phone, yet again.

Having using a debit card, this "transaction" has cost me $228.27 for who knows how long. I was supposed to go out of town today to visit my partner, whom the bear was/is for and is terminally ill but alas, I cannot because my funds are being held - who knows where - for an order that doesn't exist.

While I understand that errors happen with POS transactions from time to time, to be treated in such a rude way for (what is to me) a rather large amount of money for both the bear itself and the transaction total being held on my card is unacceptable. And then to be offered to place the order, yet again, was absurd. I do not feel like I was treated as anything but "a number" (as the saying goes) and the only reason I attempted so many times to do this order online is because the bear I want/need is not available in stores.

Surely this is not how BuildABear likes to present itself; with both a lack of understanding and lack of apology for HUGE inconvenience this has created. Having contacted my debit card issuer, I must wait at least 72 hours and hope that the charges do not clear, otherwise I must file a dispute for the total amount and lord only knows how long that will take. I receive a very small amount of money per month for disability and have about $11.00 to my name until this matter is resolved. Hopefully someone can address this gross customer service issue.

Since there is no record of the transaction in your system, I do have a copy of the pending charges from my bank to show this matter is true.

Thank you.
(NAME)

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@buildabear.com
Build-A-Bear Workshop appreciated the opportunity to contact to provide assistance with his order. We made contact by phone and then followed through to place and ship an order at no cost for Mr. . Mr. responded back to us on 2/6/12 by email to report that he was very pleased with the apology, service and help he had received and he would be closing out the report with the BBB as satisfied. Please do not hesitate to contact ****** at *****@buildabear.com if you need any additional information. We are hopeful this will be closed in full satisfaction to our Guest.

Page 1 of 3
11/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor refund, exchange or credit policies

Complaint: My son purchased a bear in July, had a horrid experience and the customer service from Build a Bear was next to nothing for care of his experience or my money being spent there and less than a month later, the $8.00 sound broke, I contacted Build a Bear and after several unresponded to emails, they finally stated to bring it back into the store to get it fixed. We went to the store last week to get the bear 'fixed' and the WHOLE STORE is under construction. As the corporate dept of Build A Bear this information should have been provided to me. This company DOES not respond timely to complaints or concerns or urgent matters. I have yet to have a resolution to my issue that I started emailing Build A Bear with on 9-5-13. I have bought from Build a Bear for years, but not after this.Also, my son wanted to purchase one of the face sleeping masks for the bear he was making since he saw that on tv, but sadly the Overland Park store didn't have that in stock. Which really upset my son as he knows I use one when I sleep and that he had just saw a commercial with the sleeping mask featured. I just believe if you are going to show off an accessory so much that it should be stocked in the stores.
Product_Or_Service: Build a Bear with a Sound
Order_Number: XXXXX-X/22/XXXX X:XX
Account_Number: XXXXX-X/22/XXXX X:XX

Initial Business Response
We have provided a full refund by check and have assisted to obtain the product that was not in the store on the day of the visit. In addition, we have resent new product to include a new sound. Guest has indicated she is satisfied with resolution. Please close as resolved.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was contacted by Build a Bear last week without the knowledge that it was about the BBB claim against them. I was informed that they were following up, so to me it seemed that it was b/c they were wanting to go back and fix errors, I feel misinformed about the situation completely!

Industry Comparison| Chart

Toys - Retail

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.