BBB Accredited Business since

Doc's Towing Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (314) 426-0110 Fax: (314) 429-7172 View Additional Phone Numbers 2810 Walton Rd, Saint Louis, MO 63114 http://www.docstowingstl.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Doc's Towing Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Doc's Towing Inc include:

  • 6 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Doc's Towing Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Doc's Towing Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 03, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1969 Business started locally: 01/01/1969 Business incorporated 01/08/1998 in MO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Paul Fox, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Fox, President
Business Category

Towing - Automotive Towing - Heavy Equipment Road Service - Automotive


Additional Locations

  • 2810 Walton Rd

    Saint Louis, MO 63114

  • 9408 Breckenridge Rd

    Saint Louis, MO 63114

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My vechicle was involed in an auto accident on Oct 3,2015. My vechicle was undriveable due to the accident. When my vechicle was picked up from Doc's Towing by another towing company my vechicle was driven to the tow truck for loading(again the car is undriveable). During the time my vechicle was stationed or driven while at Doc's Towing it was damaged on the right back passagener door. Doc's towing is denying that the damage was done at their tow yard. My vechicle's right side was not damaged due to the accident only the left side. The right side was in perfect condition when leaving the scene of the accident. I spoke with the manager at Doc's Towing and they stated that the vechicle only had damage to the left side. Upon picking up my vechicle from the collision center i noticed the damage.The collision center stated the damage was there when the vechicle arrived. My vechicle was only at Doc's Towing before it was transported to the repair shop. Doc's Towing damaged my vechicle and is refusing to take ownership

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I am wanting Doc's towing to cover the amout of the damage. Either by paying for the cost of repairs or by paying the deductable amount of $500.00 so that my vechicle can be repaired

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/11/02) */ We spoke with the owner of the vehicle and let her know when the vehicle was picked up by a tow company from are impound yard it is noted on the form there was damage to the driver side there was no damage on the right side when it left doc's towing. We at Doc's Towing have know way of knowing what happened to the vehicle while off are lot. We explained the tow company that picked it up could have caused damage or it could have happened at the body shop there is know way of knowing but we did our report when it left are lot and it was not damaged on the right side.

9/28/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my 2000 Dodge Intrepid towed on July 31st, 2015 from **** **** *** in Overland, MO to 2810 Walton Rd. It was towed & I was released from jail that very same night. I came back the morning of the 1st from the tow yard and when they brought it out I noticed her had difficulty stopping my vehicle. There was nothing wrong with it when I was arrested. The man said something was wrong with my breaks and there was no pressure when I hit the pedal. He was trying to rush me to leave, and I could not drive the car back. I went inside and said there was something wrong and they said yeah something must have happened when we pulled it out, but they are no liable for this. I said I know you didn't purposely do this but it was in your possession. I said you have to have some kind of insurance because you own a business. I then called the St Johns Police Dept, where the business resides, but they said we didn't have your car towed, so call Overland. I called them and they said after we have the cars towed, it is Doc's responsibility because they put it up on the tow truck and everything. I went back to St Johns and an officer came out and said nothing can be done. I asked for an official report. They said they do not do this. I wanted this done for my own records if I go to civil court about this. My car has since been repaired.

Desired Settlement: At this point I would like full reimbursement for my repair. I would like full reimbursement for whatever I need to do to fix this situation.

Business Response: The day the customer came in to pick up the vehicle the Manager on duty went outside to over look the vehicle and see what Mr. ******** was speaking about. The vehicle which is not even owned by Mr. ******** had a pin hole at the fitting of the break line. The pin hole was on the top of the frame which is no where near we even hook to a vehicle to tow it the manager let him know at that time that there is no way possible any tow service could have done that it was normal wear and tear on the vehicle.

10/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: October 24, 2014 I had an accident. I went to get my van and they were closed. It said they were open and I went there and they weren't. They closed half a day on Saturday and all day on Sunday. They charged me $30.00 per day for storage.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to credit me the $40.00.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/28) */ Our hours are listed on the front door Mon-Fri 8am-4:30pm Saturday 8am-12:30pm, the customers vehicle was towed at 4:22pm the customer could have paid at the time of our dispatch to the tow and had it towed some where he liked but did not. The vehicle was brought to our storage location on 10/24/2014 which was a Friday. If the customer came to our office Friday as he states he would of seen the hours listed then it should of been known what time to come Saturday. The customer called Saturday and was given the info on price and times to pick up vehicle he choice not to come pick it up Saturday and when he came in Monday he was charged storage just as every vehicle we store is.

9/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2003 cadilac cts 9/18/14 My 2003 Cadillac car would not start and I had it towed to ********** **** care for repair. I came to pick it up 9/23 and the rear spoiler was missing. the shop said there was no spoiler and I called Docs towing and they said the tow truck driver said the spoiler was there. I called and spoke to *** 9/23 around 2:00pm.

Desired Settlement: I would like the spoiler replaced.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/25) */ We towed the vehicle to the shop as the customer requested on September 18th 2014 around 1pm in the afternoon. When we dropped the vehicle at the shop they had us drop it on a side street not on their property at the time our driver dropped the vehicle there were no missing parts. The keys were in the vehicle due to a ignition problem so the car was left unlocked and unoccupied. When the customer called in we tried speaking to him to resolve the problem and help him as much as we could but he and a female called yelling and was not willing to listen to what we tried saying. We told him to ask if anybody in the area has surveillance cameras and to call the local police department because the spoiler was on the vehicle at the time we dropped the vehicle.

5/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/25/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Doc's Towing Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart